DETAILED ACTION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “brushing girth means”; “girth resizing means”; “control means”; “hydraulic means”; “pneumatic means” in claim 20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-26 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creed (US 4,863,380) in view of Elbaz et al. (US 2010/0015567).
Creed discloses an interdental brushing system, comprising brushing girth means (37); and control means (13), a hydraulic means or pneumatic means comprising one fluid chamber (13) which is divided into reservoir region and girth region (33), which are collectively arranged such that control means, and wherein control means comprises a flexible material (col. 1, lines 60-65) which is positioned in, or surrounds, reservoir region, such that it can be squeezed using finger pressure to displace a sufficient amount of fluid from reservoir region into girth region (col. 2, lines 5-15). Creed does not disclose a girth resizing means wherein the girth resizing means is configured to expand or contract the girth to suit the different sizes of gaps in-between teeth. Elbaz et al. teach a dental hygiene tool comprising brushing girth means (26); and control means (105), a hydraulic means or pneumatic means comprising one fluid chamber (107) which is divided into reservoir region and girth region, a girth resizing means wherein the girth resizing means is configured to expand or contract the girth to suit the different sizes of gaps in-between teeth (Fig. 6; paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the brushing girth of Creed be able to resize by expanding or contracting as taught by Elbaz et al. to allow for accommodation of spaces inbetween teeth.
Regarding claim 21, Creed further discloses the system comprises a handle (17) which substantially surrounds control means (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Creed further discloses the fluid chamber comprises hydraulic means, and wherein the hydraulic means comprises a liquid (col. 3, lines 5-15).
Regarding claim 23, Creed further discloses the fluid chamber comprises pneumatic means, and wherein the pneumatic means comprises a gas such as air (col. 3, lines 15-25)
Regarding claim 24, Creed further discloses the fluid chamber is sealed (col. 3, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 25, Creed further discloses the fluid chamber is configured such that it can be filled, emptied and refilled via plug (col. 2, lines 65-70).
Regarding claim 26, Creed further discloses a mouthwash subsystem, which comprises: mouthwash chamber (13), mouthwash plunger (squeezable portion 13), and mouthwash dispensing means (39), which can comprise holes or permeable membrane (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Creed and Elbaz et al. disclose the brushing girth means comprises surface protrusions or bristles (4) (Elbaz Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 29, Creed discloses which the brushing girth comprises a brushing sheath (37) (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creed (US 4,863,380) in view of Elbaz et al. (US 2010/0015567) as applied to claims 20-26 and 28-29 above, and further in view of Kandelman et al. (US 6,669,475).
The combination of Creed and Elbaz et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a hinge to facilitate bending around the teeth and comprises a variation in material or a variation in geometry such as in bellows or a mechanical hinge. Kandelman et al. teach a dental device comprising a hinge (22) to facilitate bending around the teeth with a variation in material (col. 5, lines 15-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the combination of Creed and Elbaz et al. be made with a hinge as taught by Kandelman et al. to facilitate bending of the cleaning head around the teeth.
Conclusion
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
7/20/2026