DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,739,439) in view of Manson (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0042580).
Regarding claim 1, Weber et al. discloses a deck (10, Figs. 1-10) comprising a plurality of deck planks (14) providing an upper surface; a structural support system (12, 16, 94, 138, Fig. 10) underneath the deck surface and raising the same from the ground, the structural support system further comprising a plurality of joists (12) fitted with joist end caps (18/84, Fig. 8), each end cap featuring a boss (26), at least one structural support (96) having a plurality of slots (Fig. 15) to receive bosses of the joist end caps (82), at least one of the structural supports being a beam (96); at least one post (136, indirectly) supporting the at least one structural support (96). Weber et al. does not disclose the deck planks together providing at least one upper water control trough beneath the upper surface and at least one lower water control trough resident beneath the at least one upper water control trough, the lower water control trough being in fluid communication with the at least one upper water control trough and at least one water ejection port. However, Manson teaches that it is known to have a deck with a drainage system (101, Figs.1-7) where the deck planks provide at least one upper water control trough (102, Fig. 2) beneath the upper surface and in fluid communication with at least one lower water control trough resident (110) beneath the at least one upper water control trough and at least one water ejection port (170) to help prevent and direct any accumulation of water away from the structure.
Regarding claim 2, Weber et al. further discloses further discloses a plurality of deck edge caps (80, Fig. 10) that extend beyond a perimeter defined by the structural support system (12, 16, 94, 138) the deck edge caps further comprising a flange (60/62, Fig. 10) extending beneath an upper surface of the deck edge caps and interfacing with at least one beam; a slot (various slots Fig. 13) located forward and proximate the flange for receiving a deck apron.
Regarding claim 3, Weber et al. further discloses at least one hanger shield resident (104, Figs. 1 and 16) proximate a ledger board (108, Fig. 16) and having a plurality of slots (approximate 12) to receive a boss of at least one end cap.
Regarding claim 4, Weber et al. further discloses a wall transition structure (38) which also provides at least one upper water control trough (approximate 38).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633