DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
In the preliminary amendment filed on October 2, 2024, claim 12 has been cancelled, claims 13-21 have been newly added and claims 1-11 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-11 and 13-21 are currently pending for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(o) because Figure 2 requires suitable descriptive legends for understanding of the drawing. 37 CFR 1.84(o) reads as follows:
(o) Legends. Suitable descriptive legends may be used subject to approval by the Office, or may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-10, 13-16 and 18-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-10 recite "A method according to" which is supposed to be “The method according to”.
Claim 8 recites “wherein it is determined whether …” which is supposed to be “further comprising determining whether ….”.
Claims 13 and 16 recite "A computer program product according to claim" which is supposed to be “The computer program product according to claim”.
Claims 19-20 recite "An apparatus of claim " which is supposed to be “The apparatus of claim”.
Claims 14-15 recite "A computer program according to claim" which appears to be a typographical error of “The computer program product according to claim”.
Claim 18 recites "An apparatus claim" which appears to be a typographical error of “The apparatus of claim”.
Claims 21 recites "A computer program product according to claim 20" which appears to be a typographical error of “The apparatus of claim 20” because claim 20 is an apparatus claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11, 13-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 11, 13-16 and 21 is drawn to a “computer program", per se, therefore, fail(s) to fall within a statutory category of invention.
A claim directed to a computer program itself is non-statutory because it is not:
A process, or
A machine, or
A manufacture, or
A composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svedberg et al. (Svedberg: US 20100182142) in view of Hsia (US 2013/0282233).
Regarding Claim 1, Svedberg teaches a method for determining the severity of a deflation of at least one tire, the method comprising:
receiving wheel speed signals from at least one wheel speed sensor (Par 19, the obtained data may include measuring data directly obtained from vehicle's sensors, such as rotational speed sensors (as existent in the vehicle's ABS) which indicate the angular velocity of the rotating wheels. And see also Par 23);
determining a first indicator value based on the received wheel speed signals, wherein the first indicator value is indicative of at least one tire-related quantity (Par 25, outputs a tire pressure signal based on data from WRA unit 5);
determining whether the first indicator value satisfies a first condition (Fig. 2, P<(Pcal-ΔP0) and Par 27);
outputting, in response to determining that the first indicator value satisfies the first condition, a preliminary deflation alarm (Par 32, different alarm types (e.g. "yellow", …) may be issued by the warning unit 10 for the first threshold value .DELTA.P.sub.0 is exceeded after the minimum time period .);
determining a second condition in response to determining that the first indicator value satisfies the first condition (Par 32, during the minimum time period .DELTA.T.sub.min, the pressure signal P decreases with a rate greater than a predetermined rate);
determining a second indicator value based on the received wheel speed signals, wherein the second indicator value is indicative of at least one tire-related quantity (Par 25, outputs a tire pressure signal based on data from WRA unit 5 and Par 32, Pressure signal P is monitored);
determining whether the second indicator value satisfies the determined second condition (Par 32, during the minimum time period .DELTA.T.sub.min, the pressure signal P decreases with a rate greater than a predetermined rate .DELTA.P.sub.0/.DELTA.t.sub.0.); and outputting, in response to determining that the second indicator value satisfies the second condition, a severe deflation alarm (Fig. 5 and Par 32, different alarm types (e.g. ""red",) may be issued by the warning unit 10 for the three cases, namely that … the predetermined rate .DELTA.P.sub.0/.DELTA.t.sub.0 is exceeded within the minimum time period .DELTA.T.sub.min.).
Svedberg does not explicitly disclose recording, in response to determining that the first indicator value satisfies the first condition, the first indicator value; or determining a second condition from at least the recorded first indicator value.
Svedberg further teaches determining a second condition i.e. pressure decreasing rate greater than the predetermined rate in response to first condition (Par 32, during the minimum time period .DELTA.T.sub.min, the pressure signal P decreases with a rate greater than a predetermined rate).
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of tire pressure monitoring. Hsia teaches a system and method for monitoring tire pressure having calculating module, which is in turn configured to calculate a rate of change of the tire pressure (abstract) and further teaches recording the tire pressure value i.e. the first indicator value; and determining a second condition from at least the recorded first indicator value (Par 20-21, a rate of pressure change or variation is calculated by having at least two or more values of the tire pressure sensed and stored in the memory device 110. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to record the tire pressure value and determine the rate of change of pressure in order to enable the user to initiate appropriate measure before a total tire deflation (Hsia: Par 31).
Claims 11 and 17 are also rejected for the same reasons for claim 1 above. Svedberg further teaches a computer program product and an apparatus to perform the operations (Par 16, the system may be software-implemented or hardware-implemented and Par 17, software routine, CPU).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein said wheel speed signals are received continuously or repeatedly from a wheel speed sensor (Svedberg: Par 19, the obtained data may include measuring data directly obtained from vehicle's sensors, such as rotational speed sensors (as existent in the vehicle's ABS) which indicate the angular velocity of the rotating wheels. And see Fig. 2-5, the tire pressure signals are continuous over time).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a method according to claim 2, wherein said indicator values indicative of at least one tire-related quantity are determined continuously or repeatedly based on said continuously or repeatedly received wheel speed signals (Svedberg: Fig. 2-5, the tire pressure signals are measured continuously over time).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein determining whether the first indicator value satisfies the first condition comprises comparing the first indicator value to at least one first threshold value (Svedberg: Fig. 2, P<(Pcal-ΔP0) and Par 27).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a method according to claim 4, wherein determining whether the first indicator value satisfies the first condition comprises successively comparing the first indicator value to multiple first threshold values (Svedberg: Fig. 2, P<(Pcal-ΔP0) and Par 27 and Fig. 4, P<(Pcal-ΔP1) and Par 32).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein determining whether the second indicator value satisfies the second condition comprises comparing the second indicator value to at least one second threshold value (Svedberg: Par 32, pressure signal P decreases with a rate greater than a predetermined rate ΔP0/ Δt0 ).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a method according to claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose wherein determining whether the second indicator value satisfies the second condition comprises comparing the second indicator value to multiple second threshold values (Svedberg: Par 32, pressure signal P decreases with a rate greater than a predetermined rate ΔP0/ Δt0 and Par 33, threshold values are dependent on vehicle’s velocity … the system may use calibration values P.sub.cal that have been learned during a preceding calibration phase for different wheel speed intervals).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a method according to claim 1, wherein it is determined whether a change in the rate of change of the determined indicator values over time satisfies a third condition (Svedberg: Par 32, pressure signal P decreases with a rate greater than a predetermined rate ΔP0/ Δt0 and Par 33, threshold values are dependent on vehicle’s velocity … the system may use calibration values P.sub.cal that have been learned during a preceding calibration phase for different wheel speed intervals.).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a method according to claim 8, wherein determining whether the change in the rate of change of the determined indicator values over time satisfies a third condition comprises comparing the change in the rate of change of the determined indicator values over time to a sequence of third threshold values (Svedberg: Par 32, pressure signal P decreases with a rate greater than a predetermined rate ΔP0/ Δt0 and Par 33, threshold values are dependent on vehicle’s velocity … the system may use calibration values P.sub.cal that have been learned during a preceding calibration phase for different wheel speed intervals).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a method according to claim 8, wherein, in response to determining that the change in the rate of the determined indicator values over time satisfies a third condition, issuing an alarm (Svedberg: Fig. 5 and Par 32, different alarm types (e.g. ""red",) may be issued by the warning unit 10 for the three cases, namely that … the predetermined rate ΔP0/ Δt0 is exceeded within the minimum time period Δtmin).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a computer program product according to claim 11, wherein said wheel speed signals are received continuously or repeatedly from a wheel speed sensor (Svedberg: Par 19, the obtained data may include measuring data directly obtained from vehicle's sensors, such as rotational speed sensors (as existent in the vehicle's ABS) which indicate the angular velocity of the rotating wheels. And see Fig. 2-5, the tire pressure signals are continuous over time).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a computer program according to claim 13, wherein said indicator values indicative of at least one tire-related quantity are determined continuously or repeatedly based on said continuously or repeatedly received wheel speed signals (Svedberg: Fig. 2-5, the tire pressure signals are measured continuously over time).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a computer program according to claim 11, wherein determining whether the first indicator value satisfies the first condition comprises comparing the first indicator value to at least one first threshold value (Svedberg: Fig. 2, P<(Pcal-ΔP0) and Par 27).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a computer program product according to claim 15, wherein determining whether the first indicator value satisfies the first condition comprises successively comparing the first indicator value to multiple first threshold values (Svedberg: Fig. 2, P<(Pcal-ΔP0) and Par 27 and Fig. 4, P<(Pcal-ΔP1) and Par 32).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches an apparatus claim 17, wherein said wheel speed signals are received continuously or repeatedly from a wheel speed sensor (Svedberg: Par 19, the obtained data may include measuring data directly obtained from vehicle's sensors, such as rotational speed sensors (as existent in the vehicle's ABS) which indicate the angular velocity of the rotating wheels. And see Fig. 2-5, the tire pressure signals are continuous over time).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches an apparatus of claim 18, wherein said indicator values indicative of at least one tire-related quantity are determined continuously or repeatedly based on said continuously or repeatedly received wheel speed signals (Svedberg: Fig. 2-5, the tire pressure signals are measured continuously over time).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches an apparatus of claim 17, wherein determining whether the first indicator value satisfies the first condition comprises comparing the first indicator value to at least one first threshold value (Svedberg: Fig. 2, P<(Pcal-ΔP0) and Par 27).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Svedberg and Hsia teaches a computer program product according to claim 20, wherein determining whether the first indicator value satisfies the first condition comprises successively comparing the first indicator value to multiple first threshold values (Svedberg: Fig. 2, P<(Pcal-ΔP0) and Par 27 and Fig. 4, P<(Pcal-ΔP1) and Par 32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior arts cited for the record but not used in Office Action, are listed in attached PTO-892.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nay Tun whose telephone number is (571)270-7939. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Thurs from 9:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Steven Lim can be reached on (571) 270-1210. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Nay Tun/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2687