DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-25 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (“Ji”) [PGPUB 2024/0014978] in view of Lee et al. (“Lee”) [PGPUB 2017/0257728].
Regarding claim 1, the Ji reference discloses a method for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: receiving a groupcast transmission [Ji; figures 3 and 5; paragraphs 0076, 0079, and 0086]; and
transmitting feedback for the groupcast transmission via a feedback resource in a set of feedback resources associated with the groupcast transmission [ie. ACK or NACK or both; Ji; para 0103-0107].
The Ji reference discloses basing the feedback resource being based on energy level or priority of the network node [Ji; para 0088, 0103-0104, and 0123] but does not specifically disclose the feedback resource being based on a “network node class” of the network node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Lee reference discloses the feedback resource being based on a network node class of the network node [Lee; fig 5; para 0007 and 0056-0058]. The Ji and Lee references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage acknowledgements from devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the network node classes, taught by Lee, into the system, taught by Ji. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine to used ACK based on harvesting or non-harvesting devices.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the set of feedback resources associated with the groupcast transmission includes a first subset of feedback resources for non-energy harvesting network nodes and a second subset of feedback resources for energy harvesting network nodes [Ji; para 0011, 0109, and 0123] [Lee; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the first subset of feedback resources includes one or more resource blocks in a different slot or a different sub-channel than the second subset of resources [Ji; para 0078—0079] [Lee; fig 4; para 0053-0054].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the first subset of feedback resources includes one or more resource blocks that are different than the second subset of feedback resources in a same slot or a same sub-channel as the second subset of feedback resources [Ji; para 0111] [ie. same slot; Lee; fig 2; para 0024 and 0051].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses receiving an indication, for each network node class in a plurality of network node classes including at least one energy harvesting class, a subset of feedback resources associated with the groupcast transmission; and selecting, based on the network node class of the network node, the feedback resource from the subset of feedback resources associated with the network node class of the network node [Ji; para 0011, 0109, and 0123] [Lee; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the plurality of network node classes comprises network node classes associated with different energy harvesting characteristics of energy harvesting class network nodes [Ji; para 0011, 0109, and 0123] [Lee; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the indication is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling [Ji; para 0107-0108].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the feedback resource in which the feedback is transmitted is further based on a network node class identifier associated with the groupcast transmission [Ji; para 0011, 0109, and 0123] [Lee; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the groupcast transmission is associated with a source identifier (ID) and a groupcast ID, and the feedback resource is based on the source ID, the groupcast ID, and the network node class of the network node [ie. source ID and group member identifier; Ji; fig 3; para 0078-0079] [Lee; fig 5; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the groupcast ID and the source ID are independent of the network node class of the network node [ie. source ID and group member identifier; Ji; fig 3; para 0078-0079] [Lee; fig 5; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the feedback includes one of: an acknowledgment (ACK) for an ACK-only feedback configuration, or one of the ACK or a negative ACK (NACK) for an ACK/NACK feedback configuration [Ji; para 0078-0079 and 0104].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses receiving control information for a second groupcast transmission; and transmitting an indication to request retransmission of the second groupcast transmission at a time based on a battery level of the network node [Ji; fig 5; para 0079, 0098, and 0109].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses transmitting an indication of the network node class of the network node [Ji; para 0114-0116].
Regarding claim 16, the Ji reference discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: transmitting a groupcast transmission for reception by one or more network nodes of a group of network nodes including different classes of network nodes [Ji; figures 3 and 5; paragraphs 0076, 0079, and 0086]; and
receiving feedback for the groupcast transmission from the one or more network nodes in one or more feedback resources [ie. ACK or NACK or both; Ji; para 0103-0107].
The Ji reference discloses basing the feedback resource being based on energy level or priority of the network node [Ji; para 0088, 0103-0104, and 0123] but does not specifically disclose the feedback resource being based on a “network node class” of the network node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Lee reference discloses the feedback resource being based on a network node class of the network node [Lee; fig 5; para 0007 and 0056-0058]. The Ji and Lee references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage acknowledgements from devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the network node classes, taught by Lee, into the system, taught by Ji. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine to used ACK based on harvesting or non-harvesting devices.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the different classes of network nodes comprise network node classes associated with different energy harvesting characteristics [Ji; para 0011, 0109, and 0123] [Lee; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses a set of feedback resources associated with the groupcast transmission includes a first subset of feedback resources for non-energy harvesting network nodes and a second subset of feedback resources for energy harvesting network nodes [Ji; para 0011, 0109, and 0123] [Lee; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses retransmitting the groupcast transmission if the feedback includes a negative acknowledgment that is received in the first subset of feedback resources; or skipping retransmission of the groupcast transmission if the feedback is received in the second subset of feedback resources and not in the first subset of feedback resources [Ji; fig 5; para 0079, 0098, and 0109].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the first subset of feedback resources includes one or more resource blocks in a different slot or a different sub-channel than the second subset of resources [Ji; para 0078—0079] [Lee; fig 4; para 0053-0054].
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the first subset of feedback resources includes one or more resource blocks that are different than the second subset of feedback resources in a same slot or a same sub-channel as the second subset of feedback resources [Ji; para 0111] [ie. same slot; Lee; fig 2; para 0024 and 0051].
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses receiving, for each of the one or more network nodes, an indication of a network node class from a plurality of network node classes [Ji; para 0114-0116].
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses transmitting an indication, for each network node class in a plurality of network node classes, of a set of feedback resources associated with the groupcast transmission; or receiving the indication, wherein the one or more feedback resources are based on the indication and the corresponding network node class of the one or more network nodes [Ji; para 0011, 0109, and 0123] [Lee; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the indication is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling [Ji; para 0107-0108].
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the groupcast transmission is associated with a source identifier (ID) and a groupcast ID, and the one or more feedback resources are based on the source ID, the groupcast ID, and the corresponding network node class of the one or more network nodes [ie. source ID and group member identifier; Ji; fig 3; para 0078-0079] [Lee; fig 5; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses the groupcast ID and the source ID are independent of the corresponding network node class of the one or more network nodes [ie. source ID and group member identifier; Ji; fig 3; para 0078-0079] [Lee; fig 5; para 0007 and 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses a first network node class of the one or more network nodes is associated with a first network node performing an energy-harvesting operation and a second network node class of the one or more network nodes is associated with a second network node not performing an energy harvesting operation, and wherein: for the first network node class, the feedback is one of: an acknowledgment (ACK) for an ACK-only feedback configuration, or one of the ACK or a negative ACK (NACK) for an ACK/NACK feedback configuration, and for the second network node class, the feedback is the NACK for a NACK-only feedback configuration [Ji; para 0078-0079 and 0104].
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses receiving, at a time based on a battery level of an energy harvesting network node, an indication to request retransmission of the groupcast transmission; and transmitting the retransmission of the groupcast transmission in response to the indication to request the retransmission of the groupcast transmission [Ji; fig 5; para 0079, 0098, and 0109].
Claims 10 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji-Lee as applied to claims 9 and 25 above, and further in view of Hui et al. (“Hui”) [PGPUB 2023/0262606].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses feedback resource is based on the source ID and the groupcast ID but does not specifically disclose “an offset value from a plurality of offset values associated with different energy harvesting classes”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Hui reference discloses an offset value from a plurality of offset values associated with different energy harvesting classes [Hui; fig 31; para 0327-0328 and 0336]. The Ji-Lee and Hui references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage acknowledgements from devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the offset values, taught by Hui, into the system, taught by Ji-Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been for the source device to know the battery level of the destination device.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Ji-Lee further discloses feedback resources are based on the source ID and the groupcast ID but does not specifically disclose “an offset value from a plurality of offset values associated with the corresponding network node class of the one or more network nodes”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Hui reference discloses an offset value from a plurality of offset values associated with the corresponding network node class of the one or more network nodes [Hui; fig 31; para 0327-0328 and 0336]. The Ji-Lee and Hui references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage acknowledgements from devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the offset values, taught by Hui, into the system, taught by Ji-Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been for the source device to know the class (battery level) of the destination device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Freda et al. [PGPUB 2024/0163962] describes HARQ feedback based on modes.
Blasco Serrano et al. [PGPUB 2024/0064564] describes sidelink transmission parameters based on congestion control metric.
Wang [PGPUB 2021/0385023] describes resource allocation for groupcast communication.
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458