1. This communication is responsive to the application filed 10/3/2024.
2. Claims 1-22 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 15 and 22 are independent claims. This action is made Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 15 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Treptow et al (“Treptow” US 2018/0349524).
Regarding claim 22, Treptow discloses a graphical user interface for creation of a user-customized cable (see the Abstract; e.g., create a graphical fiber optic network design), the graphical user interface comprising:
a cable illustration portion including a cable representation, wherein the cable representation includes a representation of the user-customized cable (see figs 5-7; e.g., cable representations; also see paragraph [0059]); and
an indication portion (see paragraph [0074]; e.g., “the user interface component 304 may change the color of the two improperly connected data ports (e.g., to red, indicating an invalid connection), and render a text message indicating that the two indicated data ports are improperly connected together.”),
wherein the graphical user interface is configured to: determine an available fiber count corresponding to the creation of the user- customized cable (see fig 5, “fiber count”), wherein the user-customized cable includes a primary cable and at least one subunit cable, wherein the at least one subunit cable includes at least one end fiber, wherein the available fiber count is a theoretical number of end fibers available in the primary cable (see paragraph [0067]; e.g., trunk and patch cables; also see paragraph [0051]; e.g., fiber count);
receive at least one user input indicating addition or subtraction of a subunit cable on at least one of a first end of the user-customized cable or a second end of the user-customized cable (see paragraphs [0051] and [0067]; e.g., “the fiber channel verification system 302 allows the user to explicitly select components for inclusion in the optical network, and to arrange the components as necessary among the columns of network design screen 602.”);
determine a current number of end fibers of the user-customized cable (see fig 5, “fiber count”);
make a determination as to whether the available fiber count is less than the current number of end fibers (see paragraph [0060]; e.g., “if trunk cable 642 has been assigned to column 604 before fiber optic cassettes 608 and 644 have been selected, the fiber network building component 306 may filter the available fiber optic cassette selections such that only cassettes having complimentary fiber rear connector types can be selected for assignment to columns 624 and 606”); and
provide, based on the determination, an indicator within the indication portion comprising: an overutilization indication to indicate that the user-customized cable overutilizes end fibers; or an allowable utilization indication that the user-customized cable underutilizes the end fibers or utilizes each of the end fibers without overutilization (see fig 5, 516, colored highlight; also paragraphs [0050], [0064] and [0077]; e.g., “fiber network analysis component 310 can analyze the fiber specifications of the selected trunk cables, patch cables, and fiber optic cassettes included in the proposed design (by referencing the component definition files 322 for the selected cables) and generate a notification in response to determining that the use of one or more of these cables will violate this fiber diameter rule. If a violation is detected, the fiber network analysis component 310 can identify one or more components (e.g., patch cables, trunk cables, fiber optic cassettes, etc.) that can be replaced with an otherwise equivalent component having a fiber diameter that will mitigate the diameter mismatch.”).
Claim 1 is similar in scope to claim 22 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 2, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: provide the overutilization indication to indicate that the user-customized cable overutilizes the end fibers, when the determination returns that the available fiber count is less than the current number of end fibers (see fig 5, 516, colored highlight; also paragraphs [0050], [0064] and [0077]; e.g., “fiber network analysis component 310 can analyze the fiber specifications of the selected trunk cables, patch cables, and fiber optic cassettes included in the proposed design (by referencing the component definition files 322 for the selected cables) and generate a notification in response to determining that the use of one or more of these cables will violate this fiber diameter rule. If a violation is detected, the fiber network analysis component 310 can identify one or more components (e.g., patch cables, trunk cables, fiber optic cassettes, etc.) that can be replaced with an otherwise equivalent component having a fiber diameter that will mitigate the diameter mismatch.”).
Regarding claim 3, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: provide the allowable utilization indication to indicate that the user-customized cable underutilizes the end fibers or utilizes each of the end fibers without overutilization, when the determination returns that the available fiber count is not less than the current number of end fibers (see fig 5, 516, colored highlight; also paragraphs [0050], [0064] and [0077]; e.g., “fiber network analysis component 310 can analyze the fiber specifications of the selected trunk cables, patch cables, and fiber optic cassettes included in the proposed design (by referencing the component definition files 322 for the selected cables) and generate a notification in response to determining that the use of one or more of these cables will violate this fiber diameter rule. If a violation is detected, the fiber network analysis component 310 can identify one or more components (e.g., patch cables, trunk cables, fiber optic cassettes, etc.) that can be replaced with an otherwise equivalent component having a fiber diameter that will mitigate the diameter mismatch.”).
Regarding claim 4, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: provide an indication that the user-customized cable underutilizes the end fibers, when the determination returns that the available fiber count is greater than the number of end fibers (see fig 5, 516, colored highlight; also paragraphs [0050], [0064] and [0077]; e.g., “fiber network analysis component 310 can analyze the fiber specifications of the selected trunk cables, patch cables, and fiber optic cassettes included in the proposed design (by referencing the component definition files 322 for the selected cables) and generate a notification in response to determining that the use of one or more of these cables will violate this fiber diameter rule. If a violation is detected, the fiber network analysis component 310 can identify one or more components (e.g., patch cables, trunk cables, fiber optic cassettes, etc.) that can be replaced with an otherwise equivalent component having a fiber diameter that will mitigate the diameter mismatch.”).
Regarding claim 5, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: provide an indication that the user-customized cable utilizes each of the end fibers without overutilization when the determination returns that the available fiber count is equal to the current number of end fibers (see fig 5, 516, colored highlight; also paragraphs [0050], [0064] and [0077]; e.g., “fiber network analysis component 310 can analyze the fiber specifications of the selected trunk cables, patch cables, and fiber optic cassettes included in the proposed design (by referencing the component definition files 322 for the selected cables) and generate a notification in response to determining that the use of one or more of these cables will violate this fiber diameter rule. If a violation is detected, the fiber network analysis component 310 can identify one or more components (e.g., patch cables, trunk cables, fiber optic cassettes, etc.) that can be replaced with an otherwise equivalent component having a fiber diameter that will mitigate the diameter mismatch.”).
Regarding claim 6, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: provide the indicator by performing at least one of: sending a signal having the indicator; presenting on a display the current number of end fibers; presenting on the display a number of end fibers associated with a representation of a subunit cable; presenting on the display a symbol that indicates the current number of end fibers; or presenting on the display an item in a first color (see fig 5, “fiber count”; also see paragraphs [0037], [0073]-[0079] and [0096]; e.g., notifications and recommendations).
Regarding claim 7, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: provide an indication of the current number of end fibers (see fig 5, “fiber count”).
Regarding claim 8, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: provide the indication of the current number of end fibers by performing at least one of: sending a signal having the indication of the current number of end fibers; presenting on a display the current number of end fibers; presenting on the display a number of end fibers associated with a representation of a subunit cable; presenting on the display a symbol that indicates the current number of end fibers; or presenting on the display an item in a first color (see fig 5 and paragraphs [0050], [0064], [0067] and [0074]; e.g., trunk and patch cables; also see paragraph [0051]; e.g., fiber count).
Regarding claim 9, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: provide an indication of a current number of end fibers for the first end of the user- customized cable; and provide an indication of a current number of end fibers for the second end of the user- customized cable (see fig 5, “fiber count”).
Regarding claim 10, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: provide a recommendation indication of a new available fiber count for the primary cable that does not result in overutilization, when the determination returns that the available fiber count is less than the current number of end fibers color (see fig 5, “fiber count”; also see paragraphs [0037], [0073]-[0079] and [0096]; e.g., notifications and recommendations).
Regarding claim 11, Treptow discloses wherein the available fiber count is initially set at a count of seventy two end fibers, wherein the new available fiber count is set at a count of ninety six end fibers when the current number of end fibers is between seventy three end fibers and ninety six end fibers (inherent feature).
Regarding claim 12, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: increase the available fiber count automatically when the determination returns that the available fiber count is less than the current number of end fibers (see paragraphs [0063], [0067] and [0090]; e.g., automatic).
Regarding claim 13, Treptow discloses wherein the at least one subunit cable includes a breakout cable and at least one leg cable within the breakout cable, wherein each leg cable of the at least one leg cable includes a plurality of end fibers therein, wherein the current number of end fibers at the first end of the user-customized cable is determined by adding a number of end fibers in each leg cable on the first end of the user-customized cable together (inherent feature).
Regarding claim 14, Treptow discloses wherein the plurality of computer-executable instructions are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: determine a first number of end fibers at the first end of the user-customized cable; determine a second number of end fibers at the second end of the user-customized cable; make a first determination as to whether the available fiber count is less than the first number of end fibers; make a second determination as to whether the available fiber count is less than the second number of end fibers; and provide, based on the first determination and the second determination, the indicator comprising: the overutilization indication to indicate that the user-customized cable overutilizes the end fibers; or the allowable utilization indication that the user-customized cable underutilizes the end fibers or utilizes each of the end fibers without overutilization (see fig 5, 516, colored highlight; also paragraphs [0050], [0064] and [0077]; e.g., “fiber network analysis component 310 can analyze the fiber specifications of the selected trunk cables, patch cables, and fiber optic cassettes included in the proposed design (by referencing the component definition files 322 for the selected cables) and generate a notification in response to determining that the use of one or more of these cables will violate this fiber diameter rule. If a violation is detected, the fiber network analysis component 310 can identify one or more components (e.g., patch cables, trunk cables, fiber optic cassettes, etc.) that can be replaced with an otherwise equivalent component having a fiber diameter that will mitigate the diameter mismatch.”).
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 22 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16, Treptow discloses further comprising providing the overutilization indication to indicate that the user-customized cable overutilizes the end fibers, when the determination returns that the available fiber count is less than the current number of end fibers (see fig 5, 516, colored highlight; also paragraphs [0050], [0064] and [0077]; e.g., “fiber network analysis component 310 can analyze the fiber specifications of the selected trunk cables, patch cables, and fiber optic cassettes included in the proposed design (by referencing the component definition files 322 for the selected cables) and generate a notification in response to determining that the use of one or more of these cables will violate this fiber diameter rule. If a violation is detected, the fiber network analysis component 310 can identify one or more components (e.g., patch cables, trunk cables, fiber optic cassettes, etc.) that can be replaced with an otherwise equivalent component having a fiber diameter that will mitigate the diameter mismatch.”).
Regarding claim 17, Treptow discloses further comprising: providing the indicator by performing at least one of: sending a signal having the indicator; presenting on a display the current number of end fibers; presenting on the display a number of end fibers associated with a representation of a subunit cable; presenting on the display a symbol that indicates the current number of end fibers; or presenting on the display an item in a first color (see fig 5, “fiber count”; also see paragraphs [0073]-[0079]; e.g., notifications and recommendations).
Regarding claim 18, Treptow discloses providing an indication of the current number of end fibers (see fig 5, “fiber count”; also see paragraphs [0050], [0064], [0067] and [0074; e.g., trunk and patch cables; also see paragraph [0051]; e.g., fiber count).
Regarding claim 19, Treptow discloses providing the indication of the current number of end fibers by performing at least one of: sending a signal having the indication of the current number of end fibers; presenting on a display the current number of end fibers; presenting on the display a number of end fibers associated with a representation of a subunit cable; presenting on the display a symbol that indicates the current number of end fibers; or presenting on the display an item in a first color (see paragraphs [0050], [0064], [0067] and [0074; e.g., trunk and patch cables; also see paragraph [0051]; e.g., fiber count).
Regarding claim 20, Treptow discloses further comprising providing an indication of a current number of end fibers for the first end of the user- customized cable; and providing an indication of a current number of end fibers for the second end of the user-customized cable (see paragraph [0067]; e.g., trunk and patch cables; also see paragraph [0051]; e.g., fiber count).
Regarding claim 21, Treptow discloses wherein determining the current number of end fibers in the user-customized cable involves determining a first number of end fibers in the user-customized cable at the first end of the user-customized cable and determining a second number of end fibers in the user- customized cable at the second end of the user-customized cable, wherein making the determination as to whether the available fiber count is less than the current number of end fibers involves making a first determination as to whether the available fiber count is less than the first number of end fibers and making a second determination as to whether the available fiber count is less than the second number of end fibers, further comprising providing, based on the first determination and the second determination, the indicator selected from a group consisting of: the overutilization indication to indicate that the user-customized cable overutilizes the end fibers; or the allowable utilization indication that the user-customized cable underutilizes the end fibers or utilizes each of the end fibers without overutilization (see fig 5, 516, colored highlight; also paragraphs [0050], [0064] and [0077]; e.g., “fiber network analysis component 310 can analyze the fiber specifications of the selected trunk cables, patch cables, and fiber optic cassettes included in the proposed design (by referencing the component definition files 322 for the selected cables) and generate a notification in response to determining that the use of one or more of these cables will violate this fiber diameter rule. If a violation is detected, the fiber network analysis component 310 can identify one or more components (e.g., patch cables, trunk cables, fiber optic cassettes, etc.) that can be replaced with an otherwise equivalent component having a fiber diameter that will mitigate the diameter mismatch.”).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andrus et al (US 2022/0043226).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174