This office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed October 3, 2024. Claims 10-12, 18-20, and 22-40 have been cancelled. Claims 1-9, 13-17, 21, 41 and 42 have been amended and are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 10/3/2024 and 10/17/2025 have been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9, 21, 41 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hosseini et al. (US 20220116153, hereinafter referred to as “Hosseini”).
Regarding claim 1, Hosseini teaches a method for a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information indicating whether downlink control information includes an indication of whether a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback for a HARQ process is enabled or not (abstract - the UE receives a RRC message configuring the feedback to be for less than all of the DL HARQ processes);
receiving, via the downlink control information, first information including the indication, in a case where the information included in the RRC message indicates that the downlink control information includes the indication ([0034] A base station may schedule DL data to the UE on PDSCH dynamically or semi-persistently. In dynamic scheduling, each time the base station schedules DL data on PDSCH (e.g. dynamic DL data), the base station provides a DCI that includes a resource assignment for that PDSCH. The base station may change the resource assignment in DCI every time new dynamic DL data on a PDSCH is scheduled. In contrast, in semi-persistent scheduling (SPS), the base station provides the UE an RRC message (e.g. an SPS configuration) including a configured resource assignment for scheduled DL data on PDSCH that persists over a period of time (e.g. SPS DL data). The base station may also provide a DCI that activates the pre-configured resources for SPS. After the UE receives the SPS configuration, the base station may send SPS DL data on PDSCH in the pre-configured resources (e.g. at SPS PDSCH occasions), without sending a DCI dynamically configuring a new resource assignment for every PDSCH. Thus, the base station may send dynamic DL data or SPS DL data to the UE.); and
determining whether the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process is enabled or not based on the first information and the information included in the RRC message ([0035] The base station may configure the UE with one SPS configuration or multiple SPS configurations. For instance, the base station may provide different SPS configurations including different resources for the UE to receive SPS DL data. For each SPS configuration, the base station may also provide a timeline (e.g. a set of slot timing values K1) for the UE to report HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback in response to the received SPS DL data. For example, if the base station sends a DCI activating an SPS configuration, the base station may provide a set of slot timing values K1 for that SPS configuration in the DCI based on the DCI format. Alternatively, the base station may provide the set of slot timing values K1 in an RRC message (e.g. by an RRC parameter named dl-DataToUL-ACK or another name).).
Regarding claim 2, Hosseini teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the RRC message includes feedback configuration information indicating whether the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process is enabled or not, and the determining is performed regardless of the feedback configuration information ([0036] In a given SPS configuration, the base station may assign a PUCCH resource associated with SPS PDSCH occasions, and the UE may provide HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback using the PUCCH resource. For example, when the base station provides a DCI to the UE activating configured resources in an SPS configuration, the base station may also provide a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) in the DCI from which the UE may determine the PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback. The PRI may indicate the PUCCH resource for a first PDSCH following the DCI. In another example, the base station may provide an RRC parameter to the UE (e.g. a parameter SPS-PUCCH-A/N or another name) from which the UE may determine the PUCCH resource. This RRC parameter may also indicate the PUCCH resource for other PDSCH occasions subsequent to the first PDSCH following a DCI.).
Regarding claim 3, Hosseini teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining is performed by overriding the feedback configuration information with the indication ([0128] The feedback may be for a current occasion of a HARQ process for which a preceding HARQ-ACK report on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) was canceled. For instance, referring to FIG. 13, the UE 1302 may report feedback 1316 for a current occasion of each DL HARQ process associated with an SPS data transmission (e.g., SPS data 1308 in SPS PDSCH occasions 702, 704, 706, 708 of FIG. 7) for which a preceding HARQ-ACK report on a PUCCH was cancelled, such as described above with respect to FIG. 7. For example, referring to FIG. 7, if the UE cancels HARQ-ACK associated with HARQ Process 0 for the first SPS PDSCH occasion 702 in the first scheduled PUCCH as described above, but in this example later receives a DCI triggering Type 3 codebook reporting in the third scheduled PUCCH (which occurs after the third SPS PDSCH occasion 706 also associated with HARQ Process 0), a conflict may arise regarding which HARQ Process 0 the UE may include when generating the Type 3-HARQ codebook: the new HARQ process 0 associated with the third SPS PDSCH occasion 706 or the old, dropped HARQ Process 0 associated with the first SPS PDSCH occasion 702. To address this conflict, the UE may drop the old HARQ Process 0 from the Type 3-HARQ codebook generation, and replace it with the one associated with the new (current) SPS PDSCH occasion. For instance, when reporting HARQ-ACK feedback in the third scheduled PUCCH, the UE may generate the HARQ-ACK/NACK bits for the Type 3 codebook with HARQ process 0 associated with the third SPS PDSCH occasion 706 and HARQ process 1 associated with the second SPS PDSCH occasion 704, while ignoring or dropping HARQ process 0 associated with the first SPS PDSCH occasion 702.).
Regarding claim 5, Hosseini teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information includes information per Transport block (TB) and/or data packet for the HARQ process; and the determining is performed by determining whether the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process is enabled or not per TB and/or data packet based on the information ([0083] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart 500 depicting an example process of Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook generation at the UE. First, at 502, the UE initializes a number of downlink cells (N.sub.cells.sup.DL), a number of HARQ processes (N.sub.HARQ,c.sup.DL), a number of transport blocks (N.sub.TB,c.sup.DL), and various indices (c, h, t, and j) respectively corresponding to a current cell, a current HARQ process, a current transport block or a current HARQ-ACK bit in the codebook. For example, the UE may (1) set N.sub.cells.sup.DL to the number of configured serving cells; (2) set N.sub.HARQ,c.sup.DL to the value of nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH for serving cell c, if provided; else, set N.sub.HARQ,c.sup.DL=8; (3) set N.sub.TB,c.sup.DL to the value of maxNrofCodeWordsScheduledByDCI for serving cell c if harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUCCH is provided and NDI.sub.HARQ=0, or if harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUCCH is not provided, or if maxCodeBlockGroupsPerTransportBlock is provided for serving cell c; else, set N.sub.TB,c.sup.DL=1; (4) set c=0 (serving cell index); (5) set h=0 (HARQ process number); and (6) set t=0 (TB index).).
Regarding claim 6, Hosseini teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the RRC message includes the information per TB and/or data packet, and wherein the determining is performed per TB and/or data packet in a case where the first information includes the indication of whether the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process is enabled or not per TB and/or data packet ([0083] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart 500 depicting an example process of Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook generation at the UE. First, at 502, the UE initializes a number of downlink cells (N.sub.cells.sup.DL), a number of HARQ processes (N.sub.HARQ,c.sup.DL), a number of transport blocks (N.sub.TB,c.sup.DL), and various indices (c, h, t, and j) respectively corresponding to a current cell, a current HARQ process, a current transport block or a current HARQ-ACK bit in the codebook. For example, the UE may (1) set N.sub.cells.sup.DL to the number of configured serving cells; (2) set N.sub.HARQ,c.sup.DL to the value of nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH for serving cell c, if provided; else, set N.sub.HARQ,c.sup.DL=8; (3) set N.sub.TB,c.sup.DL to the value of maxNrofCodeWordsScheduledByDCI for serving cell c if harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUCCH is provided and NDI.sub.HARQ=0, or if harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUCCH is not provided, or if maxCodeBlockGroupsPerTransportBlock is provided for serving cell c; else, set N.sub.TB,c.sup.DL=1; (4) set c=0 (serving cell index); (5) set h=0 (HARQ process number); and (6) set t=0 (TB index).).
Regarding claim 9, Hosseini teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the RRC message indicates whether the indication of whether the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process is enabled or not per TB and/or data packet is applied to per UE or per HARQ process ([0083] FIG. 5 illustrates a flowchart 500 depicting an example process of Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook generation at the UE. First, at 502, the UE initializes a number of downlink cells (N.sub.cells.sup.DL), a number of HARQ processes (N.sub.HARQ,c.sup.DL), a number of transport blocks (N.sub.TB,c.sup.DL), and various indices (c, h, t, and j) respectively corresponding to a current cell, a current HARQ process, a current transport block or a current HARQ-ACK bit in the codebook. For example, the UE may (1) set N.sub.cells.sup.DL to the number of configured serving cells; (2) set N.sub.HARQ,c.sup.DL to the value of nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH for serving cell c, if provided; else, set N.sub.HARQ,c.sup.DL=8; (3) set N.sub.TB,c.sup.DL to the value of maxNrofCodeWordsScheduledByDCI for serving cell c if harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUCCH is provided and NDI.sub.HARQ=0, or if harq-ACK-SpatialBundlingPUCCH is not provided, or if maxCodeBlockGroupsPerTransportBlock is provided for serving cell c; else, set N.sub.TB,c.sup.DL=1; (4) set c=0 (serving cell index); (5) set h=0 (HARQ process number); and (6) set t=0 (TB index).)..
Claim 21 is similar to claim 1, but from a perspective of a network node. It is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 41 is similar to claim 1, but from a perspective of UE. It is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 42 is similar to claim 1, but from a perspective of a network node. It is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 8, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini in view of Jeon et al. (US 20210410181, hereinafter referred to as “Jeon”).
Regarding claim 4, Hosseini does not teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the RRC message includes a bitmap, respective bits of the bitmap indicating feedback configuration per HARQ process.
Jeon teaches wherein the RRC message includes a bitmap, respective bits of the bitmap indicating feedback configuration per HARQ process ([0120] Configured SCells for a wireless device may be activated or deactivated, for example, based on traffic and channel conditions. Deactivation of an SCell may cause the wireless device to stop PDCCH and PDSCH reception on the SCell and PUSCH, SRS, and CQI transmissions on the SCell. Configured SCells may be activated or deactivated, for example, using a MAC CE (e.g., the MAC CE described with respect to FIG. 4B). A MAC CE may use a bitmap (e.g., one bit per SCell) to indicate which SCells (e.g., in a subset of configured SCells) for the wireless device are activated or deactivated. Configured SCells may be deactivated, for example, after (e.g., based on or in response to) an expiration of an SCell deactivation timer (e.g., one SCell deactivation timer per SCell may be configured).)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the RRC configuration of Hosseini to employ a bitmap having a respective bits corresponding to respective HARQ processes, as taught by Jeon, because a bitmap is a well-known and predictable technique for efficiently representing Boolean configuration while minimizing RRC signaling overhead and allowing independent configuration of individual HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 7, Hosseini does not teach the method according to claim 5, wherein in a case where a downlink transmission for the HARQ process is for transmission in a cell of a non-terrestrial network, the first information includes the indication of whether the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process is enabled or not per TB and/or data packet, and wherein the determining is performed per TB and/or data packet in a case where the first information includes the indication of whether the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process is enabled or not per TB and/or data packet.
Jeon teaches wherein in a case where a downlink transmission for the HARQ process is for transmission in a cell of a non-terrestrial network, the first information includes the indication of whether the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process is enabled or not per TB and/or data packet, and wherein the determining is performed per TB and/or data packet in a case where the first information includes the indication of whether the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process is enabled or not per TB and/or data packet ([0206] Small and/or infrequent transmissions (e.g., data packets, payloads, etc.) may be required for a variety of applications. Such small and/or infrequent transmission (which may be referred to herein as small data transmission (SDT)) may comprise, for example, traffic generated from smartphone applications and/or any wireless device application, Instant Messaging (IM) services, heart-beat/keep-alive traffic from IM/email clients and/or other apps/applications, push notifications from various applications, non-smartphone applications, wearable devices, positioning information/service (e.g., vehicle-to-everything and/or location service), sensors (e.g., for transmitting temperature, pressure readings periodically and/or in an event triggered manner), smart meters and smart meter networks sending meter readings, multicast broadcast multimedia service (MBMs), and/or any other wireless device that communicates with one or more other devices (e.g., in a communication network). The SDT may comprise transmissions via satellite (e.g., a geostationary equatorial orbit, low earth orbit, and/or medium earth orbit satellite system) and/or non-terrestrial networks (NTN), for example, for a connection of remote areas and/or airborne and/or seaborne platforms (e.g., airships, unmanned aerial vehicles, and/or blimps).).
Before the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply non-terrestrial networks operations in order to indicate whether HARQ feedback should be provided per-transmission, per-TB, or per-packet basis to reduce unnecessary uplink signaling while maintaining scheduling flexibility. The modification represents the predictable application known in HARQ control mechanism to the known non-terrestrial network environments of its recognized benefits.
Regarding claim 8, Hosseini does not teach the method according to claim 7, further comprising: determining the cell is a cell of the non-terrestrial network based on system information broadcast in the cell. Jeon teaches determining the cell is a cell of the non-terrestrial network based on system information broadcast in the cell ([0206] Small and/or infrequent transmissions (e.g., data packets, payloads, etc.) may be required for a variety of applications. Such small and/or infrequent transmission (which may be referred to herein as small data transmission (SDT)) may comprise, for example, traffic generated from smartphone applications and/or any wireless device application, Instant Messaging (IM) services, heart-beat/keep-alive traffic from IM/email clients and/or other apps/applications, push notifications from various applications, non-smartphone applications, wearable devices, positioning information/service (e.g., vehicle-to-everything and/or location service), sensors (e.g., for transmitting temperature, pressure readings periodically and/or in an event triggered manner), smart meters and smart meter networks sending meter readings, multicast broadcast multimedia service (MBMs), and/or any other wireless device that communicates with one or more other devices (e.g., in a communication network). The SDT may comprise transmissions via satellite (e.g., a geostationary equatorial orbit, low earth orbit, and/or medium earth orbit satellite system) and/or non-terrestrial networks (NTN), for example, for a connection of remote areas and/or airborne and/or seaborne platforms (e.g., airships, unmanned aerial vehicles, and/or blimps).). The motivation to combine is the same as claim 7.
Regarding claim 13, Hosseini does not teach the method according to claim 2, further comprising: using the feedback configuration information to configure the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process for a procedure in which the UE performs data transmission to a network node in a RRC idle state.
Jeon teaches using the feedback configuration information to configure the HARQ feedback for the HARQ process for a procedure in which the UE performs data transmission to a network node in a RRC idle state ([0090] FIG. 6 shows example RRC states and RRC state transitions. An RRC state of a wireless device may be changed to another RRC state (e.g., RRC state transitions of a wireless device). The wireless device may be substantially the same or similar to the wireless device 106, 210, or any other wireless device. A wireless device may be in at least one of a plurality of states, such as three RRC states comprising RRC connected 602 (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED), RRC idle 606 (e.g., RRC_IDLE), and RRC inactive 604 (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE). The RRC inactive 604 may be RRC connected but inactive.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the HARQ feedback configuration technique of Hosseini to the RRC idle state data transmission of Jeon because it provides the same benefits as in connected-state operation, including controlling unnecessary feedback transmissions, thus reducing signaling overhead and improving resource utilization.
Regarding claim 14, Hosseini does not teach the method according to claim 13, wherein the data transmission to the network node uses a preconfigured uplink resource (PUR). Jeon teaches wherein the data transmission to the network node uses a preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) ([0213] A wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages indicating one or more uplink radio resources. The wireless device may use the one or more uplink radio resources in an RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise one time use resource(s) (e.g., for a single transmission) and/or resource(s) for multiple uses. The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise periodic resources (e.g., for one or more uplink transmission(s)). The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise preconfigured uplink resources (PURs). One or more uplink grants indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise configured and/or pre-configured grant(s). The configured and/or pre-configured grant(s) may comprise a plurality of types of grants, such as (pre-)configured grant Type 1 and/or a (pre-)configured grant Type 2. The one or more uplink radio resources determined (and/or indicated) by the (pre-)configured grant Type 1 may not require an indication of initiating/re-initiating (and/or activating/re-activating) the one or more uplink radio resources (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state). The wireless device may (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 1 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The one or more uplink radio resources determined (and/or indicated) by the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 may require an indication of (re-)initiating (and/or (re-)activating) the one or more uplink radio resources (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message indicating the one or more uplink radio resources). The wireless device may not (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources). The wireless device may (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the indication of (re-)initiating (and/or (re-) activating) the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The wireless device may receive the indication based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources. The uplink grant(s) indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may be referred to as (pre-)configured grant(s) with a particular type indicator (e.g., a (pre-)configured grant type 3, 4, or etc.). The (pre-)configured grant Type 1 and/ir the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 may indicate one or more (e.g., periodic) uplink grants in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The (pre-) configured grant Type 3 (and/or other types of (pre-)configured grant) may indicate one or more (e.g., periodic) uplink grants in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) because PUR is merely an alternative uplink transmission mechanism and HARQ feedback configuration is equally applicable regardless of whether the uplink transmission is dynamically scheduled or transmitted using preconfigured resources. Therefore, applying known HARQ configuration to PUR would have yielded predictable result of providing consistent HARQ behavior while reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 15, Hosseini does not teach the method according to claim 14, wherein the feedback configuration information is received from the network node in a case where the UE is in an RRC connected state.
Jeon teaches wherein the feedback configuration information is received from the network node in a case where the UE is in an RRC connected state ([0213] A wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages indicating one or more uplink radio resources. The wireless device may use the one or more uplink radio resources in an RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise one time use resource(s) (e.g., for a single transmission) and/or resource(s) for multiple uses. The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise periodic resources (e.g., for one or more uplink transmission(s)). The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise preconfigured uplink resources (PURs). One or more uplink grants indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise configured and/or pre-configured grant(s). The configured and/or pre-configured grant(s) may comprise a plurality of types of grants, such as (pre-)configured grant Type 1 and/or a (pre-)configured grant Type 2. The one or more uplink radio resources determined (and/or indicated) by the (pre-)configured grant Type 1 may not require an indication of initiating/re-initiating (and/or activating/re-activating) the one or more uplink radio resources (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state). The wireless device may (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 1 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The one or more uplink radio resources determined (and/or indicated) by the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 may require an indication of (re-)initiating (and/or (re-)activating) the one or more uplink radio resources (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message indicating the one or more uplink radio resources). The wireless device may not (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources). The wireless device may (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the indication of (re-)initiating (and/or (re-) activating) the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The wireless device may receive the indication based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources. The uplink grant(s) indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may be referred to as (pre-)configured grant(s) with a particular type indicator (e.g., a (pre-)configured grant type 3, 4, or etc.). The (pre-)configured grant Type 1 and/ir the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 may indicate one or more (e.g., periodic) uplink grants in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The (pre-) configured grant Type 3 (and/or other types of (pre-)configured grant) may indicate one or more (e.g., periodic) uplink grants in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state.).
The motivation to combine is the same as claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, Hosseini does not teach the method according to claim 14, wherein the feedback configuration information is received from the network node in a case where the UE is in the RRC idle state.
Jeon teaches wherein the feedback configuration information is received from the network node in a case where the UE is in the RRC idle state ([0213] A wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages indicating one or more uplink radio resources. The wireless device may use the one or more uplink radio resources in an RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise one time use resource(s) (e.g., for a single transmission) and/or resource(s) for multiple uses. The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise periodic resources (e.g., for one or more uplink transmission(s)). The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise preconfigured uplink resources (PURs). One or more uplink grants indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise configured and/or pre-configured grant(s). The configured and/or pre-configured grant(s) may comprise a plurality of types of grants, such as (pre-)configured grant Type 1 and/or a (pre-)configured grant Type 2. The one or more uplink radio resources determined (and/or indicated) by the (pre-)configured grant Type 1 may not require an indication of initiating/re-initiating (and/or activating/re-activating) the one or more uplink radio resources (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state). The wireless device may (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 1 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The one or more uplink radio resources determined (and/or indicated) by the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 may require an indication of (re-)initiating (and/or (re-)activating) the one or more uplink radio resources (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message indicating the one or more uplink radio resources). The wireless device may not (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources). The wireless device may (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the indication of (re-)initiating (and/or (re-) activating) the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The wireless device may receive the indication based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources. The uplink grant(s) indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may be referred to as (pre-)configured grant(s) with a particular type indicator (e.g., a (pre-)configured grant type 3, 4, or etc.). The (pre-)configured grant Type 1 and/ir the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 may indicate one or more (e.g., periodic) uplink grants in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The (pre-) configured grant Type 3 (and/or other types of (pre-)configured grant) may indicate one or more (e.g., periodic) uplink grants in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state.).
The motivation to combine is the same as claim 14.
Regarding claim 17, Hosseini does not teach the method according to claim 14, further comprising: receiving the feedback configuration information from the network node in a preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration message; or receiving a PUR configuration message that indicates that downlink control information transmitted by the network node includes the feedback configuration information.
Jeon teaches receiving the feedback configuration information from the network node in a preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration message; or receiving a PUR configuration message that indicates that downlink control information transmitted by the network node includes the feedback configuration information ([0213] A wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages indicating one or more uplink radio resources. The wireless device may use the one or more uplink radio resources in an RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise one time use resource(s) (e.g., for a single transmission) and/or resource(s) for multiple uses. The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise periodic resources (e.g., for one or more uplink transmission(s)). The one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise preconfigured uplink resources (PURs). One or more uplink grants indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may comprise configured and/or pre-configured grant(s). The configured and/or pre-configured grant(s) may comprise a plurality of types of grants, such as (pre-)configured grant Type 1 and/or a (pre-)configured grant Type 2. The one or more uplink radio resources determined (and/or indicated) by the (pre-)configured grant Type 1 may not require an indication of initiating/re-initiating (and/or activating/re-activating) the one or more uplink radio resources (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state). The wireless device may (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 1 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The one or more uplink radio resources determined (and/or indicated) by the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 may require an indication of (re-)initiating (and/or (re-)activating) the one or more uplink radio resources (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message indicating the one or more uplink radio resources). The wireless device may not (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources). The wireless device may (re-)initiate (and/or (re-)activate) the one or more uplink radio resources based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the indication of (re-)initiating (and/or (re-) activating) the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state. The wireless device may receive the indication based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving the RRC message comprising the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 that indicates the one or more uplink radio resources. The uplink grant(s) indicating the one or more uplink radio resources in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state may be referred to as (pre-)configured grant(s) with a particular type indicator (e.g., a (pre-)configured grant type 3, 4, or etc.). The (pre-)configured grant Type 1 and/ir the (pre-)configured grant Type 2 may indicate one or more (e.g., periodic) uplink grants in the RRC_CONNECTED state. The (pre-) configured grant Type 3 (and/or other types of (pre-)configured grant) may indicate one or more (e.g., periodic) uplink grants in the RRC_INACTIVE (and/or RRC_IDLE) state.).
The motivation to combine is the same as claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng et al., US 12199778 - A user equipment (UE) and a method for wireless communication are provided, the method includes: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration from a base station (BS); determining whether a first parameter is configured in the RRC configuration; receiving first downlink control information (DCI) from the BS, the first DCI including a first field indicating a first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARD) process identifier (ID); determining that a number of bits in the first field is a default number in a case that the first parameter is not configured in the RRC configuration; and determining that the number of bits in the first field is a specific number greater than the default number in a case that the first parameter is configured in the RRC configuration.
Zhao et al., US 12484048 - bitmap of new radio uplink frequency domain resource allocation.
Shih et al., US 20200170069 releasing preconfigured uplink resources configuration in a wireless communication system.
ELSHAFIE et al., US 20240014947 - predetermined condition, such as a timeout condition, is configured for a user equipment (UE) to determine whether a HARQ-less feedback should be implemented in the UE. In a particular aspect, the predetermined condition may be a timeout period or some other condition where a UE will cancel or discard feedback if the UE is unable to respond within the timeout period or meet the condition imposed. Various conditions may be imposed and are communicated through either radio resource control (RRC) signaling or downlink control information (DCI) parameters.
ALINA BOUTAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2458
/ALINA A BOUTAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458