DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fuel feeder” and “fresh air feeder” in claims 14 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 18 and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by US 20070000242 A1 to Harmon et al. (Harmon).
In reference to independent claim 14, Harmon discloses:
A burner for an exhaust-gas aftertreatment system (10), comprising:
a housing (30) forming a combustion chamber (18), the housing having an outlet connected or connectable to an exhaust-gas line (32) of the exhaust-gas aftertreatment system (10);
a fuel feeder (22) configured to feed fuel into the combustion chamber (18);
a fresh air feeder (28) configured to feed fresh air into the combustion chamber; and
an ignition unit (20) configured to ignite a fresh air-fuel mixture arranged in the combustion chamber;
wherein the ignition unit (20) has a glow plug (see [0019]), which is arranged in the combustion chamber in such a way that a longitudinal center axis of the glow plug is oriented obliquely to a cross-sectional plane of the combustion chamber (see Fig. 1).
In reference to dependent claim 18, Harmon further discloses: the glow plug (20) is oriented in such a way that the longitudinal center axis of the glow plug (20) and a longitudinal center axis of the combustion chamber (18) lie in a common imaginary plane (see Fig. 1 of Harmon is annotated below).
In reference to dependent claim 25, Harmon further discloses: the fuel feeder (22) and the fresh air feeder (28) together form a two-fluid nozzle (see Fig. 1; mounted on the combustor head 16).
In reference to dependent claim 26, Harmon further discloses: the fresh air feeder (28) has a sleeve-shaped fresh air feed chamber (16) (see Fig. 1 and [0017]), wherein the fresh air feed chamber (16) radially encloses the housing (30) (see Fig. 1), and wherein the ignition unit (20) protrudes radially through the fresh air feed chamber (see Fig. 1).
In reference to independent claim 27, Harmon further discloses: An exhaust-gas treatment system (10) comprising the burner as that recited above (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harmon.
In reference to dependent claim 15-17, Harmon is silent regarding the glow plug (20) being a ceramic glow plug and the angle between the longitudinal center axis of the glow and the cross-sectional plane of the combustion chamber being between 20o and 80o or 50o and 80o.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a ceramic glow plug for use in the system of Harmon as ceramic glow plugs are well-known to have the benefit of heating up more quickly and attaining higher operating temperatures.
The ignitor/glow plug (20) of Harmon is oriented at an angle with respect to the center line of the combustion chamber (see Fig. 1). It would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tried different angles based on suitability for the desired system and operation, absent criticality or unexpected results. See MPEP § 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 27, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the interpretations of “fuel feed device” and “fresh air feed device” in claims 14 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Applicant alleged that this amounted to rejections. It is noted that the limitations “fuel feed device” and “fresh air feed device” in claims 14 and 27 were interpreted as “means-plus-function” limitations and were not rejected. Moreover, even though the limitations in question were amended as “fuel feeder” and “fresh air feeder”, they were still interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (see above) because “feeder” is still a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning. More specifically, “feeder” merely amounts to a device that feeds and is not associated with any specific structure in the art. As such, the limitations “fuel feeder” and “fresh air feeder” remain under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
With respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, Applicant stated that Harmon does not disclose or suggest the claimed features of “the ignition unit has a glow plug, which is arranged in the combustion chamber in such a way that a longitudinal center axis of the glow plug is oriented obliquely to a cross-sectional plane of the combustion chamber”. More specifically, Applicant alleged that Harmon does not disclose the recited orientation of the glow plug (see page 6 of the Remarks). However, given the rejections above, specifically with respect to Fig. 1 of Harmon, the igniter 20 is oriented obliquely, i.e. neither parallelly nor perpendicularly, with respect to a cross-sectional plane of the combustion chamber. It is noted that since the claims do not specify the direction or orientation of the cross-sectional plane, the plane is interpreted to be a plane along any cross section of the combustion chamber.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799