DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The abstract ends with the phrase “(Fig. 2)” which should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites, “wherein the plugging assembly further comprises: an ejector rod, connected to the connection rod through the first plugging member or the second plugging member”. It is unclear what applicant means by “through” the plugging member as nothing is passing through applicant’s plugging members (52, 53, see applicant’s fig. 14, 55 does not pass through either of these).
Claims 5-7 are rejected based on their dependency on 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2019/208976).
For claim 1, Zhang discloses a cleaning robot (abstract and figs.), comprising:
a machine body (fig. 1), comprising an accommodating chamber;
a cleaning system, provided on the machine body and comprising a cleaning head, wherein the cleaning head is located in the accommodating chamber (para 0002 mop head);
a collection system, provided on the machine body and comprising a collection part (1) and a power part (must be present to create the vacuum), wherein the collection part comprises an inlet and an outlet (101 and 102), the accommodating chamber is in communication with the collection part through the inlet (see figs. and note all elements are in “communication with” one another), and the power part is in pneumatic communication with the collection part through the outlet (must be for the operation of the cleaner); and
a plugging assembly (fig. 4, element 3), provided on the machine body, wherein a position of at least a part of the plugging assembly is provided to be adjustable to close or release the inlet and the outlet (para 0022-0025).
For claim 2, Zhang further discloses wherein the plugging assembly comprises: a connection rod (31, 311); a first plugging member (41), provided on the connection rod (see fig. 5); and a second plugging member (42), provided on the connection rod (see fig. 5); wherein the connection rod is provided movably relative to the machine body, so that the first plugging member and the second plugging member close or release the inlet and the outlet, respectively (para 0025).
For claim 3, Zhang further discloses wherein the plugging assembly further comprises: a driving part (6), connected to the connection rod to drive the connection rod to rotate relative to the machine body, so that the first plugging member and the second plugging member synchronously close or release the inlet and the outlet (para 0022- 0025).
For claim 4, Zhang further discloses wherein the plugging assembly (50) further comprises: an ejector rod (5), connected to the connection rod (see figs. 4-5) through the first plugging member or the second plugging member (fig. 4-5), wherein the driving part is connected to the ejector rod (5) to drive the connection rod to rotate relative to the machine body through the ejector rod (para 0032).
For claim 5, Zhang further discloses wherein the plugging assembly further comprises: an elastic member (32), sleeved on the connection rod (see fig. 5), wherein an end of the elastic member abuts against the first plugging member or the second plugging member (see fig. 5, 313, 312 and 41 may all be considered the first member) and another end of the elastic member abuts against the machine body (see fig. 1), so that the first plugging member or the second plugging member tightly presses the elastic member when the first plugging member and the second plugging member are driven by the ejector rod to release the inlet and the outlet (para 0032 0026); wherein the elastic member is able to drive the first plugging member and the second plugging member to close the inlet and the outlet (para 0022-0026, 0032).
For claim 6, Zhang further discloses wherein the elastic member is a spring (spring 32).
For claim 7, Zhang further discloses wherein the ejector rod penetrates through the collection part (fig. 3) and the plugging assembly further comprises: a sealing member located between the collection part and the ejector rod (fig. 3).
For claim 8, Zhang further discloses wherein the connection rod, the first plugging member and the second plugging member are of an integral structure (para 0027).
For claim 15, Zhang further discloses a control system, connected to the plugging assembly to control the plugging assembly to close or release the inlet and the outlet (at least drive 6 and rod 5 control the plugging assembly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of JP 2008529752 (provided herein, see English translation provided herein, hereafter referred to as JP ‘752)
For claims 9-10, Zhang is silent about wherein the cleaning head comprises a wet cleaning head, and the cleaning system further comprises: a liquid supply part, configured to feed a washing liquid to the wet cleaning head.
wherein the liquid supply part and the collection part are stacked up and down.
JP ‘752 teaches a cleaning robot (description and figs.) including a cleaning head comprising a wet cleaning head and the cleaning further comprises: a liquid supply part, configured to feed a washing liquid to the wet cleaning head, wherein the liquid supply part and the collection part are stacked up and down (see figs. 16-17 and description thereof, waste compartment D, liquid supply at indent 164, liquid storage S).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the liquid supply and container orientation of JP ‘752, into the robot of Zhang, in order to provide cleaning liquid to the cleaning head to clean the floor.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Arora (CN 215738677, cited by applicant).
For claim 11, Zhang further teaches the machine body comprises a forward portion the cleaning system is provided in the forward portion (see figs.).
Zhang is silent about the forward portion is substantially of a rectangle shape.
Arora teaches a cleaning robot with a forward cleaning portion of substantially rectangular shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the cleaning robot of Zhang have a forward rectangular shape, as taught by Arora, in order to help clean corners.
Claim(s) 12-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lilie (CN 106491044, cited in IDS, provided by applicant).
For claim 12, Zhang is silent about wherein the cleaning system further comprises an auxiliary cleaning head the machine body comprises a forward portion and the auxiliary cleaning head is provided at a corner position of the forward portion.
Lilie teaches a cleaning robot (abstract and figs.) including an auxiliary cleaning head (8, figs. 1-5) wherein the auxiliary cleaning head is provided at a corner position of the forward position (figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the cleaning robot of Zhang include an auxiliary cleaning head in the corner in order to collect dirt in tight locations and help direct it to the bin.
For claim 13, modified Zhang further teaches (see Lilie):
a driving system (2), wherein the machine body further comprises a backward portion, at least a part of the driving system is provided in the backward portion (figs. 1-5), and the driving system comprises a first driving wheel module (2) and a second driving wheel module (2) provided along a transverse axis of the machine body (see figs. 1-5); wherein the transverse axis is perpendicular to a movement direction of the cleaning robot, and a preset angle is formed between the cleaning head (5) and the transverse axis (see figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further include a driving system in the backward portion of Zhang, as further taught by Lilie, in order to direct and drive the robot.
For claim 14, modified Zhang further teaches wherein the auxiliary cleaning head is provided on a side of the cleaning head tilted backwards (8 of Lilie, see figs.).
For claims 16-17 modified Zhang is silent about wherein the preset angle is an acute angle.
wherein the preset angle ranges from 5 degrees to 70 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the preset angle between 5 and 70 degrees, in order to effectively clean the surface and since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
For claim 18, Zhang further teaches wherein a part of the auxiliary cleaning head extends beyond the machine body (see fig. 1, 2, or 4 of Lilie).
For claim 19, modified Zhang further teaches wherein the part of the auxiliary cleaning head extending beyond the machine body is less than a part of the auxiliary cleaning head provided below the machine body (see fig. 4 of Lilie).
For claim 20, modified Zhang further teaches wherein a part of the auxiliary cleaning head overlaps with the cleaning head (see fig. 1 of Lilie).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited prior art of record is noted as it pertains to liquid cleaning robots.
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642