DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on October 3, 2024. Claims 1-2, 4-13, 15, and 25-26 are pending and being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
III. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Allowable Subject Matter
IV. Claim 4 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
V. Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the determining includes” in line 2 and “the receiving includes” in line 4.
It is unclear what “determining” the limitation is referring to because claim 1 recites both “determining…a position of the satellite” and “determining a location of the UE”.
It is unclear what “receiving” the limitation is referring to because claim 1 recites both “receiving…measurement information” and “receiving…assistance information”.
The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the second network node” in li ne 2. It is unclear what second network node the limitation is referring to because the claim does not earlier recite a second network node. The limitation renders the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination, the examiner will treat the following quotation from claim 13, “the second network node” as “the access network node”.
The following prior art rejection is based on the best possible interpretation of the claim language in light of the above rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
VI. Claims 1-2, 5, 12-13, 15, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2023/0094902 A1) in view of Edge et al. (US 2013/0252630 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Ma teaches a method performed by a Location Management Function (LMF) node in a network comprising a non-terrestrial network portion (see paragraphs [0080]; [0083]; [0091] and Fig. 2, Wireless communication system that supports techniques for GNSS positioning including location server 240 and NTN Node 210-a reads on method performed by a Location Management Function (LMF) node in a network comprising a non-terrestrial network portion), the method comprising: receiving, from an access network node, measurement information corresponding to a measurement of user equipment (UE) via a satellite of the non-terrestrial network portion (see paragraph [0080], The UE may transmit one or more reference signals to a NTN node (e.g. satellites). The NTN node may take measurements of the reference signals and may send the measurements using a positioning protocol message to a location server. This reads on receiving, from an access network node, measurement information corresponding to a measurement of user equipment (UE) via a satellite of the non-terrestrial network portion); determining a position of the satellite (see paragraph [0080], The location server may know the locations of the NTN nodes. This reads on determining a position of the satellite); and determining a location of the UE based on the position of the satellite and the measurement information (see paragraph [0080], Based on the measurements of the reference signals and the positioning of the NTN nodes, the location server may determine the position of the UE and may indicate the position of the UE to the UE (e.g. via the base station, the NTN node, or the second UE). This reads on determining a location of the UE based on the position of the satellite and the measurement information).
Ma does not teach receiving, from an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, assistance information for determining the position of the satellite; and using the assistance information to determine the position of the satellite.
Edge teaches receiving, from an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, assistance information for determining the position of the satellite and using the assistance information to determine the position of the satellite (see paragraphs [0010] & [0018], Assistance Data (AD) messages (see paragraph [0006]) may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location server may obtain location Assistance Data (AD) associated with a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). The location AD may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location AD associated with the GNSS is positioning and timing information and allows for the precise orbital position of satellites to be determined. This reads on receiving, from an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, assistance information for determining the position of the satellite; and using the assistance information to determine the position of the satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make determining a position of the satellite in Ma adapt to include receiving, from an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, assistance information for determining the position of the satellite; and using the assistance information to determine the position of the satellite because it would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for the location server to know the locations of the NTN nodes (see Edge, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 2 Edge teaches wherein the assistance information indicates an ephemeris of the satellite (see paragraphs [00651], Assistance data including GNSS ephemeris assistance data reads on wherein the assistance information indicates an ephemeris of the satellite).
Regarding claim 5 Edge teaches receiving, from a second network node (see paragraph [0050], Assistance Data contains orbital data for multiple satellites and this reads on second network node), time information indicating a time at which the measurement was performed, and wherein the determining the position of the satellite includes determining, using the time information, the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed (see paragraphs [0010] & [0018], Assistance Data (AD) messages (see paragraph [0006]) may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location server may obtain location Assistance Data (AD) associated with a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). The location AD may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location AD associated with the GNSS is positioning and timing information and allows for the precise orbital position of satellites to be determined at an exact time. This reads on receiving, from a second network node, time information indicating a time at which the measurement was performed, and wherein the determining the position of the satellite includes determining, using the time information, the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed).
Regarding claim 12 Ma teaches wherein the measurement is based on a reference signal transmitted by the satellite (see paragraph [0090], The UE may receive signals (e.g., positioning reference signal (PRS)) from one or more NTN nodes. This reads on wherein the measurement is based on a reference signal transmitted by the satellite).
Regarding claim 13 Edge teaches the access network node includes at least one of an access network node, a transmission and reception point, TRP, a core network node for mobility management, and an operation and maintenance, OAM, node (see paragraph [0018], assistance data obtained using operations and maintenance (O&M) signaling reads on a network node including an operation and maintenance, OAM, node).
Regarding claim 15 Ma teaches a network comprising a non-terrestrial network portion (see paragraphs [0080]; [0083]; [0091] and Fig. 2, Wireless communication system that supports techniques for GNSS positioning including location server 240 and NTN Node 210-a reads on a network comprising a non-terrestrial network portion), the method comprising: wherein measurement information corresponding to a measurement of a user equipment (UE) is transmitted from an access network node to a Location Management Function (LMF) node via a satellite of the non-terrestrial network portion (see paragraph [0080], The UE may transmit one or more reference signals to a NTN node (e.g. satellites). The NTN node may take measurements of the reference signals and may send the measurements using a positioning protocol message to a location server. This reads on wherein measurement information corresponding to a measurement of a user equipment (UE) is transmitted from an access network node to the LMF node via a satellite of the non-terrestrial network portion); and wherein measurement information is used by the LMF node with a determined position of the satellite to determine a location of the UE (see paragraph [0080], The location server may know the locations of the NTN nodes. Based on the measurements of the reference signals and the positioning of the NTN nodes, the location server may determine the position of the UE and may indicate the position of the UE to the UE (e.g. via the base station, the NTN node, or the second UE). This reads on wherein measurement information is used by the LMF node with a determined position of the satellite to determine a location of the UE).
Ma does not specifically teach an operation and maintenance (OAM) node transmitting, to the LMF node, assistance information for determining a position of the satellite and wherein the assistance information is used in determining a position of the satellite.
Edge teaches an operation and maintenance (OAM) node transmitting, to the LMF node, assistance information for determining a position of the satellite and wherein the assistance information is used in determining a position of the satellite (see paragraphs [0010] & [0018], Assistance Data (AD) messages (see paragraph [0006]) may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location server may obtain location Assistance Data (AD) associated with a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). The location AD may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location AD associated with the GNSS is positioning and timing information and allows for the precise orbital position of satellites to be determined. This reads on an operation and maintenance (OAM) node transmitting, to the LMF node, assistance information for determining a position of the satellite and wherein the assistance information is used in determining a position of the satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the determined position of the satellite in Ma adapt to include an operation and maintenance (OAM) node transmitting, to the LMF node, assistance information for determining a position of the satellite and wherein the assistance information is used in determining a position of the satellite because it would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for the location server to know the locations of the NTN nodes (see Edge, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 25 Ma teaches a Location Management Function (LMF) node in a network comprising a non-terrestrial network portion (see paragraphs [0080]; [0083]; [0091] and Fig. 2, Wireless communication system that supports techniques for GNSS positioning including location server 240 and NTN Node 210-a reads on a Location Management Function (LMF) node in a network comprising a non-terrestrial network portion), the LMF node comprising: at least one memory (830, Fig. 8) storing instructions; and at least one processor (840, Fig. 8) configured to process the instructions (see paragraph [0158] and Fig. 2 & Fig. 8) to: receive, from an access network node, measurement information corresponding to a measurement of user equipment (UE) via a satellite of the non-terrestrial network portion (see paragraph [0080], The UE may transmit one or more reference signals to a NTN node (e.g. satellites). The NTN node may take measurements of the reference signals and may send the measurements using a positioning protocol message to a location server. This reads on receive, from an access network node, measurement information corresponding to a measurement of user equipment (UE) via a satellite of the non-terrestrial network portion); determine a position of the satellite (see paragraph [0080], The location server may know the locations of the NTN nodes. This reads on determine a position of the satellite); and determine a location of the UE based on the position of the satellite and the measurement information (see paragraph [0080], Based on the measurements of the reference signals and the positioning of the NTN nodes, the location server may determine the position of the UE and may indicate the position of the UE to the UE (e.g. via the base station, the NTN node, or the second UE). This reads on determine a location of the UE based on the position of the satellite and the measurement information).
Ma does not teach receive, from an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, assistance information for determining the position of the satellite; and using the assistance information to determine the position of the satellite.
Edge teaches receive, from an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, assistance information for determining the position of the satellite and using the assistance information to determine the position of the satellite (see paragraphs [0010] & [0018], Assistance Data (AD) messages (see paragraph [0006]) may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location server may obtain location Assistance Data (AD) associated with a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). The location AD may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location AD associated with the GNSS is positioning and timing information and allows for the precise orbital position of satellites to be determined. This reads on receive, from an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, assistance information for determining the position of the satellite; and using the assistance information to determine the position of the satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make determining a position of the satellite in Ma adapt to include receiving, from an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, assistance information for determining the position of the satellite; and using the assistance information to determine the position of the satellite because it would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for the location server to know the locations of the NTN nodes (see Edge, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 26 a network comprising a non-terrestrial network portion (see paragraphs [0080]; [0083]; [0091] and Fig. 2, Wireless communication system that supports techniques for GNSS positioning including location server 240 and NTN Node 210-a reads on a network comprising a non-terrestrial network portion), wherein measurement information corresponding to a measurement of a user equipment (UE) is transmitted from an access network node to a Location Management Function (LMF) node via a satellite of the non-terrestrial network portion (see paragraph [0080], The UE may transmit one or more reference signals to a NTN node (e.g. satellites). The NTN node may take measurements of the reference signals and may send the measurements using a positioning protocol message to a location server. This reads on wherein measurement information corresponding to a measurement of a user equipment (UE) is transmitted from an access network node to the LMF node via a satellite of the non-terrestrial network portion); and wherein measurement information is used by the LMF node with a determined position of the satellite to determine a location of the UE (see paragraph [0080], The location server may know the locations of the NTN nodes. Based on the measurements of the reference signals and the positioning of the NTN nodes, the location server may determine the position of the UE and may indicate the position of the UE to the UE (e.g. via the base station, the NTN node, or the second UE). This reads on wherein measurement information is used by the LMF node with a determined position of the satellite to determine a location of the UE).
Ma does not specifically teach an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, the OAM node comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor configured to process instructions; the operation and maintenance (OAM) node transmitting, to the LMF node, assistance information for determining a position of the satellite and wherein the assistance information is used in determining a position of the satellite.
Edge teaches an operation and maintenance (OAM) node (see paragraph [0010]), the OAM node comprising: at least one memory (2335, Fig. 23); and at least one processor (2310. Fig. 12) configured to process the instructions (see paragraphs [0167] – [0173] and Fig. 23); the operation and maintenance (OAM) node transmitting, to the LMF node, assistance information for determining a position of the satellite and wherein the assistance information is used in determining a position of the satellite (see paragraphs [0010] & [0018], Assistance Data (AD) messages (see paragraph [0006]) may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location server may obtain location Assistance Data (AD) associated with a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). The location AD may be obtained using Operations and Maintenance (O&M) signaling. The location AD associated with the GNSS is positioning and timing information and allows for the precise orbital position of satellites to be determined. This reads on an operation and maintenance (OAM) node transmitting, to the LMF node, assistance information for determining a position of the satellite and wherein the assistance information is used in determining a position of the satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the determined position of the satellite in Ma adapt to include an operation and maintenance (OAM) node, the OAM node comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor configured to process instructions; the operation and maintenance (OAM) node transmitting, to the LMF node, assistance information for determining a position of the satellite and wherein the assistance information is used in determining a position of the satellite because it well-known that a memory storing instructions and a processor for carrying out the instructions can be used to implement operations and the OAM node transmitting assistance information would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for the location server to know the locations of the NTN nodes (see Edge, paragraph [0018]).
VII. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2023/0094902 A1) in view of Edge et al. (US 2013/0252630 A1) and Cui et al. (US 2022/0086791 A1).
Regarding claim 9 Ma and Edge teach the method according to claim 5 except for wherein the time information is included in at least one of a measurement report message and a measurement response message.
Cui teaches time information included in least one of a measurement report message and a measurement response message (see paragraph [0050], Each of the access node (e.g., gNB) and one or more other access nodes (e.g., gNBs) measure and report to the location server a difference of transmit time and receive time. This reads on time information included in least one of a measurement report message and a measurement response message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the time information in the Ma and Edge combination adapt to include being reported in at least one of a measurement report message and a measurement response message because such message and an efficient and well-known technique for transmitting time information (see Cui above).
VIII. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2023/0094902 A1) in view of Edge et al. (US 2013/0252630 A1) and Keating et al. (US 2022/0210612 A1, including Provisional application No. 62/842,040, filed on May 2, 2019).
Regarding claim 10 Ma and Edge teach the method according to claim 1 except for receiving, from a second network node, location information indicating the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed, and wherein the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed is calculated by the second network node.
Keating teaches receiving, from a second network node, location information indicating the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed node (see paragraph [0098], The gNB reports measurements along with position of satellite at times of measurement to the location server. This reads on receiving, from a second network node, location information indicating the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed node), and wherein the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed is calculated by the second network node (see paragraph [0098], The gNB reports UL arrival timing measurements along with position of the satellite at times of measurement. This indicates the gNB has a calculated position of the satellite at the time of measurement and reads on wherein the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed is calculated by the second network node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Ma and Edge combination adapt to include receiving, from a second network node, location information indicating the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed, and wherein the position of the satellite when the measurement was performed is calculated by the second network node because the above location information can be incorporated into the Ma and Edge combination and would allow for an efficient mechanism to assist in determining UE location (see Keating, paragraphs [0098] – [0101]).
Regarding claim 11 Keating teaches requesting the second network node for the location information, and wherein the receiving is performed in response to the requesting (see paragraphs [0085] & [0098], The LMF requests the position of the UE; to facilitate the positioning process including the gNB reporting the measurement and satellite position information. This reads on requesting the second network node for the location information, and wherein the receiving is performed in response to the requesting).
Conclusion
IX. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davydiv et al. Pub. No.: US 2016/0205499 A1 discloses LTE-A systems and method of DRS based positioning including wherein a UE may use predetermined signaling from neighbor cells (i.e., eNBs) to derive an observed time difference of arrival relative to the serving or reference cell, wherein the UE may measure the time difference between positioning reference signals (PRS) transmitted by the neighboring cells during a predetermined period of time to estimate the time offsets between the positioning reference signals from the different cells, and wherein the location server may use the time difference estimates, the positions of the cells, and the transmit time offsets to estimate the position of the UE (see paragraph [0030]).
Kumar et al. Pub. No.: US 2022/0201583 A1 discloses methods and apparatus for positioning enhancements based on conditional reconfiguration and handover feature support including a location server and a base station (e.g. an eNB for LTE access or gNB) for obtaining position measurements and signals (see paragraphs [0033] – [0034]).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
September 17, 2026