Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
In claim 1, “a communication unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 1, “a processing unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 2, “a posture estimation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 2, “a load estimation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 2, “a high load determination unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 2, “an information generation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 3, “an upper arm state estimation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 3, “a waist state estimation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 4, “a waist state estimation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 4, “a knee state estimation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 6, “a communication unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 6, “a processing unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 12, “a reception unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 13, “a communication unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 13, “a processing unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 14, “a posture estimation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 14, “a load estimation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 14, “a high load determination unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
In claim 14, “an information generation unit”. However, the specification does not recite corresponding structure to the claimed element. Issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are raised which will be addressed below.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As noted above with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of the claims, the noted limitations of claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, 13 and 14 lack corresponding structure in the specification. Therefore, the claims are rendered indefinite. The dependent claims, inclusive of the limitations of claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, 13 and 14, are also rejected with their base claims. The examiner suggests amending the claims to positively recite claimed elements that are structurally supported by the specification. In this action, all of the noted elements from claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, 13 and 14 will be treated as generic computing/processing units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (hereafter Sato)(US PgPub 2021/0335114).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a load recognition device (Figure 1, Element 100) comprising: a communication unit configured to receive and transmit a signal (Figure 1, Element 110 and Paragraph 0062 where the communication portion receives and transmits signals); and a processing unit configured to process the signal received by the communication unit (Figure 1, Elements 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116 and Paragraphs 0063-0067 where all of the processing portions process signals received from sensors), wherein the processing unit processes signals received by the communication unit from a plurality of posture sensors mounted on a workwear worn by a worker, estimates a posture of the worker, and determines a high load state of the worker based on a temporal change in the estimated posture (Figures 1-2, Paragraphs 0063 and 0078-0094 where the processing portions process signals received from the sensors and estimate a posture of a worker and a high load state of the worker based on changes to posture), and the communication unit receives the signals from the plurality of posture sensors mounted on the workwear worn by the worker, and transmits information on the high load state of the worker determined by the processing unit (Figures 1-2, Elements 100, 200, Figures 7A-7B, Figure 14 and Paragraphs 0062, 0066 and 0140-0144 where warnings are provided to a user when poor posture/high load is detected).
Regarding claim 2, Sato discloses wherein the processing unit includes a posture estimation unit that processes the signals from the plurality of posture sensors received by the communication unit and estimates the posture of the worker, a load estimation unit that estimates a load on the worker based on the posture of the worker estimated by the posture estimation unit, a high load determination unit that determines the high load state of the worker based on a temporal change in a state of the load on the worker estimated by the load estimation unit, and an information generation unit that generates
information to be notified to the worker when the high load determination unit determines that the worker is in the high load state (Figure 1, Elements 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, Paragraphs 0063-0067 and 0078-0094 where the processing portions determine posture, load and compare the load to a threshold to determine that the worker needs to be notified and/or warned).
Regarding claim 3, Sato discloses wherein the posture estimation unit includes an upper arm state estimation unit that detects a rotation angle of an upper arm of the worker with respect to a shoulder of the worker, and a waist state estimation unit that detects a bending angle of a waist of the worker (Figure 2, Figure 4, Element 11 and Paragraphs 0070, 0071, 0072, 0073, 0082, 0090, 0091 and 003 where the shoulder and waist load and posture are determined relative to determined angles of the body parts).
Regarding claim 4, Sato discloses wherein the posture estimation unit includes a waist state
estimation unit that detects a bending angle of a waist of the worker and a knee state estimation unit that detects a bending angle of a knee of the worker (Figures 2, 4, Element 11 and Paragraphs 0070, 0073, 0078-0094 and 0125 where the sensors detect waist and knee state relative to determined angles of the body parts and estimate posture).
Regarding claim 5, Sato discloses wherein the load estimation unit estimates a load applied to a waist of the worker based on a temporal change in the posture of the worker estimated by the posture estimation unit (Figures 1-2, Paragraphs 0063, 0070, 0073 and 0078-0094 where the processing portions process signals received from the waist sensors and estimate a posture of a worker and a high load state of the worker based on changes to posture).
Method claims 6-10 are drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claims 1-5. Therefore method claims 6-10 correspond to apparatus claims 1-5 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 12, Sato discloses a work support system (Figures 1-2) comprising: a plurality of posture sensors mounted on a workwear worn by a worker (Figure 2, Element 11 and Paragraph 0045); a load recognition device configured to receive output signals respectively from the plurality of posture sensors, determine a state of a load on the worker wearing the workwear, and transmit a result of the determination (Figure 1, Element 100 and Paragraphs 0063 and 0078-0094 where the processing portions process signals received from the sensors and estimate a posture of a worker and a high load state of the worker based on changes to posture); and a reception unit configured to receive the result of the determination transmitted from the load recognition device, and notify the worker wearing the workwear of the result (Figures 1-2, Elements 100, 200, Figures 7A-7B, Figure 14 and Paragraphs 0062, 0066 and 0140-0144 where warnings are provided to a user when poor posture/high load is detected).
Regarding claim 13, Sato discloses wherein the load recognition device includes a communication unit that receives and transmits a signal (Figure 1, Element 110 and Paragraph 0062 where the communication portion receives and transmits signals), and a processing unit that processes the signal received by the communication unit, the processing unit processes the signals received by the communication unit respectively from the plurality of posture sensors mounted on the workwear worn by the worker (Figure 1, Elements 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116 and Paragraphs 0063-0067 where all of the processing portions process signals received from sensors), estimates a posture of the worker, and determines a high load state of the worker based on a temporal change in the estimated posture (Figures 1-2, Paragraphs 0063 and 0078-0094 where the processing portions process signals received from the sensors and estimate a posture of a worker and a high load state of the worker based on changes to posture), and the communication unit receives the signals from the plurality of posture sensors mounted on the workwear worn by the worker, and transmits information on the high load state of the worker determined by the processing unit (Figures 1-2, Elements 100, 200, Figures 7A-7B, Figure 14 and Paragraphs 0062, 0066 and 0140-0144 where warnings are provided to a user when poor posture/high load is detected).
Regarding claim 14, Sato discloses wherein the processing unit includes a posture estimation unit that processes the signals from the plurality of posture sensors received by the communication unit and estimates the posture of the worker, a load estimation unit that estimates the load on the worker based on the posture of the worker estimated by the posture estimation unit, a high load determination unit that determines the high load state of the worker based on a temporal change in the state of the load on the worker estimated by the load estimation unit, and an information generation unit that generates information to be notified to the worker when the high load determination unit determines that the worker is in the high load state (Figure 1, Elements 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, Paragraphs 0063-0067 and 0078-0094 where the processing portions determine posture, load and compare the load to a threshold to determine that the worker needs to be notified and/or warned).
Regarding claim 15, Sato discloses wherein the reception unit receives the information transmitted from the communication unit, and notifies the worker wearing the workwear by a sound, an image, or both (Paragraphs 0114, 0118, 0128 and 0144).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Sato et al. (hereafter Sato)(US PgPub 2021/0335114) and in view of Patel et al. (hereafter Patel(US PgPub 2016/0249174).
Regarding claim 11, Sato does not specifically disclose wherein the information on the high load state of the worker transmitted from the communication unit includes information for prompting the worker to recover from fatigue. Rather, Sato discloses providing notifications relative to posture and high load. In the same field of endeavor, Patel discloses where information received from a wearable sensor is used to determine the fatigue of a user (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0154).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fatigue determination of Patel to the worker system of Sato, motivation being to detect user fatigue which can aid in preventing injury or harm. Furthermore, such a modification involves routine skill in the art, was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and would have been obvious absent of unexpected results.
Conclusion
/THOMAS D ALUNKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686