DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. PGPUB 20180215641 to Kang et al. (Kang).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a melting step of heating and melting glass raw materials (Paragraph 0105) in a melting furnace by using a burner configured to burn fuel to form a flame (Figure 1 shows burners and a furnace), wherein a hydrocarbon fuel and a hydrogen fuel are used in combination as the fuel (Figures 3a, 3b, 5a, 5b, and at least 5e show CH4 and H2 going to the burners).
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches wherein the melting step comprises a step of adjusting a ratio of use between the hydrocarbon fuel and the hydrogen fuel (Figure 6 shows some adjustments of ratios as does Paragraph 0095. It is also noted that there will always be some adjustment during startup, shutdown, or some normal variation in ratios when the device is running which would read on the claim).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Kang teaches wherein the melting step comprises adjusting a water amount in a molten glass generated by melting the glass raw materials, by adjusting the ratio of use between the hydrocarbon fuel and the hydrogen fuel (Figure 6 shows some adjustments of ratios as does Paragraph 0095. It is also noted that there will always be some adjustment during startup, shutdown, or some normal variation in ratios when the device is running which would read on the claim. The adjustment of water amount in a molten glass generated is a result of the variation of the ratios and is taught by varying the ratios).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches wherein the burner is supplied with oxygen as a combustion-supporting gas (at least Figure 1 and Paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches a burner configured to burn fuel to form a flame (Figure 1); a melting furnace configured to heat and melt glass raw materials through combustion caused by the burner (Figure 1); a hydrocarbon fuel supply device configured to supply a hydrocarbon fuel to the burner as the fuel; and a hydrogen fuel supply device configured to supply a hydrogen fuel to the burner as the fuel (Figures 3a, 3b, 5a, 5b, and at least 5e show CH4 and H2 going to the burners).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of DE60213042 to Kobayashi et al. Kobayashi).
Regarding claim 6, Kang is silent on wherein a multistage combustion burner is used as the burner.
Kobayashi teaches wherein a multistage combustion burner is used as the burner (Paragraph 2 on Page 4 of translation, “Typical types of burners include concentric bodies wherein fuel and oxidizer are injected from concentrically located passages, and multi-stage burners in which fuel and oxidizer are introduced from adjacent ports and burn together”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kang with the teachings of Kobayashi to provide wherein a multistage combustion burner is used as the burner. Doing so would be a simple substation of parts and/or is noted as a typical burner used in glass melting per Kobayashi.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of U.S. Patent 9096452 to Charbonneau et al. (Charbonneau).
Regarding claim 7, Kang is silent on wherein, in the melting step, a batch layer corresponding to the glass raw materials supplied into the melting furnace and a foam layer formed along with heating and melting of the glass raw materials cover 80% to 100% of a surface of a molten glass.
Charbonneau teaches wherein, in the melting step, a batch layer corresponding to the glass raw materials supplied into the melting furnace and a foam layer formed along with heating and melting of the glass raw materials cover 80% to 100% of a surface of a molten glass (Figures 1c and 1e show 100% coverage and Col. 15 lines 6-13 disclose a reduction of 10 or 20 percent of total foam as acceptable for a glass furnace where at least two figures show 100% coverage). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kang with the teachings of Charbonneau to provide wherein, in the melting step, a batch layer corresponding to the glass raw materials supplied into the melting furnace and a foam layer formed along with heating and melting of the glass raw materials cover 80% to 100% of a surface of a molten glass. Doing so would impart desired characteristics on the glass and/or be a result of operation of the glass furnace prior to mitigation techniques.
Regarding claim 8, Kang is silent on wherein a batch layer corresponding to the glass raw materials supplied into the melting furnace covers 20% to 70% of a surface of a molten glass.
Charbonneau teaches wherein a batch layer corresponding to the glass raw materials supplied into the melting furnace covers 20% to 70% of a surface of a molten glass (Figures 1a, 1b, 1d, and 1f show between 20-70% coverage and Col. 15 lines 6-13 disclose a reduction of 30 percent of total foam as acceptable for a glass furnace where at least two figures show 100% coverage). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kang with the teachings of Charbonneau to provide wherein a batch layer corresponding to the glass raw materials supplied into the melting furnace covers 20% to 70% of a surface of a molten glass. Doing so would impart desired characteristics on the glass and/or be a result of operation of the glass furnace prior to mitigation techniques.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762