Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4 of claim 1 recites “fluoric acid”. It appears that this is a mistype of “fluroic acid”. The other claims depend from or incorporate claim 1 by reference and thus have the same objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/853889 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
It would be obvious to apply the cleaner composition for cleaning hard surfaces to other hard surfaces including dental appliances motivated by an expectation of cleaning the hard surface.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/853889 in view of Ahmadpour (US 2019/0297881).
‘889 teaches applying the composition (claim 1) to a wipe (claim 15). Ahmadpour teaches a similar composition (see 102 rejection below) and teaches that it can be used with a dispenser or a wipe para [0021]). The dispenser has a head (portion that releases the spray or foam) and a reservoir (the composition is packaged inside). The cleanser is capable of the intended use of cleaning a dental appliance. A foaming or spraying dispenser is capable of the intended use of dispensing a spray or foam of the composition.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have placed the cleanser composition in a dispenser as taught by Ahmadpour motivated by an expectation of successfully cleaning hard surfaces including dental appliances.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahmadpour (US 2019/0297881).
With regards to claim 1, Ahmadpour teaches an aqueous storage-stable cleanser composition capable of the intended use of cleaning dental appliances (abstract and para [0003]) comprising: (a) from about 0.05% to about 4% by weight of hydrogen peroxide (para [0008], [0045], (b) from about 0.01% to about 0.25% by weight of at least one acid selected from the group consisting of salicylic acid, furoic acid and formic acid (para [0011], [0053), (c) from about 0.05% to about 2.00% by weight of an anionic surfactant (para [0009]-[0010]). Example 5 (para [0111]) anticipates the claimed composition with hydrogen peroxide at 1 wt%, salicylic acid at 0.12 wt%, and lauryl sarcosine (an anionic surfactant) at 0.16 wt%.
With regards to claim 2, Ahmadpour teaches that the pH is 3.2 in solution 22 of example 5 (para [0111]).
With regards to claim 3, the solution has a means for adjusting the composition pH (methane sulfonic acid to adjust pH in example 5) and maintaining pH (buffering agents; para [0013], [0062]-[0066]).
With regards to claim 7, the acid is salicylic acid (para [0011], [0053], example 5).
With regards to claim 8, the hydrogen peroxide is at 1 wt% (para [0111], example 5).
With regards to claim 12, various sensory components can be added including dyes, fragrances, softeners, etc. (para [0051]). Example 5 includes sodium xylene sulfonate which is a surfactant which adds soapy feel and bitter taste.
With regards to claim 13, the composition is capable of the intended use of being used in a method of cleansing dentures.
With regards to claim 14, the cleanser composition is capable of the intended use of being used in a method of killing microorganisms such as Candida albicans on the surface of a dental appliance comprising, contacting the microorganisms on the surface of the dental appliance with the composition for a period of time sufficient to kill the microorganisms (it is a disinfectant).
With regards to claim 15, for the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising." (MPEP 2111.03 III.)
Ahmadpour teaches the composition of claim 1 (example 5) as above. The composition can be in a foam or spray dispenser (para [0021]). The dispenser has a head (portion that releases the spray or foam) and a reservoir (the composition is packaged inside). The cleanser is capable of the intended use of cleaning a dental appliance. A foaming or spraying dispenser is capable of the intended use of dispensing a spray or foam of the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadpour (US 2019/0297881).
With regards to claim 4, in other embodiments and ones with overlapping concentration ranges (and thus obvious) Ahmadpour teaches a pH buffer (para [0008]-[0013], [0045], [0053], [0063]).
With regards to claim 5, the buffering agent is taught at multiple concentrations within or overlapping with the claimed range (para [0066]).
Claim(s) 6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadpour (US 2019/0297881) in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2011/0275712).
With regards to claim 6, Ahmadpour teaches that salts of citric acid can be used as the buffer but does not specify sodium salts (para [0064]). Sasaki et al. teaches a human safe aqueous composition (abstract) that includes a citric acid/sodium citrate buffer (para [0058]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used a citric acid/sodium citrate buffer motivated by an expectation of successfully providing a citric acid salt buffer.
With regards to claims 9 and 10, Ahmadpour teaches using an anionic surfactant including lauryl sarcosine (para [0009]-[0010], example 5). Sasaki et al. teaches a human safe aqueous composition (abstract) and teaches an anionic surfactant such as sarcosines and sulfates such as sodium lauryl sulfate (see [0039]). It would have been an obvious modification to identify and include an anionic surfactant such as sodium lauryl sulfate given that it meets Ahmadpour's requirement of being an anionic surfactant and is taught as being a suitable variant of the sarcosine surfactants taught by the primary teaching. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and 2144.07.
With regards to claim 11, for the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising." (MPEP 2111.03 III.)
Ahmadpour teaches an aqueous storage-stable cleanser composition capable of the intended use of cleaning dental appliances (abstract and para [0003]) comprising: (a) from about 0.05% to about 4% by weight of hydrogen peroxide (para [0008], [0045], (b) from about 0.01% to about 0.25% by weight of at least one acid selected from the group consisting of salicylic acid, furoic acid and formic acid (para [0011], [0053), (c) from about 0.05% to about 2.00% by weight of an anionic surfactant (para [0009]-[0010]). There can be a pH buffer (para [0013]) and a pH in an overlapping range (abstract) and specifically 3.2 (example 5). Ahmadpour teaches the balance is water (in an overlapping range) (at least claim 1).
Ahmadpour teaches using an anionic surfactant including lauryl sarcosine (para [0009]-[0010], example 5). Sasaki et al. teaches a human safe aqueous composition (abstract) and teaches an anionic surfactant such as sarcosines and sulfates such as sodium lauryl sulfate (see [0039]). It would have been an obvious modification to identify and include an anionic surfactant such as sodium lauryl sulfate given that it meets Ahmadpour's requirement of being an anionic surfactant and is taught as being a suitable variant of the sarcosine surfactants taught by the primary teaching. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and 2144.07.
While Ahdmadpour teaches a generally overlapping range of surfactant, it is further presented that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have optimized the amount of surfactant in order to achieve the desired amount of surfactant action.
Conclusion
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799