DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13, 16-20 (Instant Application 18/853,924) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-12, 14-15, 18-22 of co-pending Application No. 18/852,052 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims disclose obvious variants of the instant claims.
Instant Application 18/853,924
Co-Pending Application 18/852,052
1. A method for transmitting power information of a synchronization signal, performed by a user equipment (UE), wherein the method comprises: receiving power configuration information of the synchronization signal sent by a first network device, wherein the power configuration information indicates the power information of the synchronization signal corresponding to a set receiver of the UE, and the set receiver is configured to receive a low power wake up signal.
1. A method for transmitting power information of a low-power wake-up signal, performed by a user device, the method comprising: receiving power configuration information from a first network device, wherein the power configuration information is configured to indicate power information for a low-power wake-up signal, the low-power wake-up signal being received by a set receiver of the user device.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the power configuration information sent by the first network device comprises: receiving a system message broadcast by the first network device, wherein the system message comprises the power configuration information of the synchronization signal.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein receiving the power configuration information from the first network device comprises: receiving a system message broadcast by the first network device, the system message comprising the power configuration information.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the power information comprises a power offset of a power of the synchronization signal relative to a power of a synchronization signal block (SSB).
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the power information indicates a power offset of the low-power wake-up signal with respect to a synchronization signal block (SSB).
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein the power information comprises a positive difference of a power of the synchronization signal over a power of an SSB.
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein the power information indicates a positive difference between power of the low-power wake-up signal and power of a synchronization signal block (SSB), the power of the low-power wake-up signal being greater than the power of the SSB.
5. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving time-frequency configuration information of the synchronization signal sent by the first network device, wherein the time-frequency configuration information comprises at least one of: a frequency-domain position, a time-domain period, or a time-domain position offset.
22. The method according to claim 2, further comprising: receiving time-domain configuration information from the first network device, wherein the time-domain configuration information comprises information for indicating a number of repeated transmissions of the low-power wake-up signal.
6. The method according to claim 5, further comprising: receiving a system message broadcast by the first network device, wherein the system message comprises the time-frequency configuration information.
5. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving time-domain configuration information from the first network device, wherein the time-domain configuration information comprises information for indicating a number of repeated transmissions of the low-power wake-up signal.
7. A method for transmitting power information of a synchronization signal, performed by a first network device, wherein the method comprises: sending power configuration information of the synchronization signal to a user equipment (UE), wherein the power configuration information indicates the power information of the synchronization signal corresponding to a set receiver of the UE, and the set receiver is configured to receive a low power wake up signal.
8. A method for transmitting power information of a low-power wake-up signal, performed by a first network device, the method comprising: sending power configuration information to a user device, wherein the power configuration information is configured to indicate power information for a low-power wake-up signal, the low-power wake-up signal being received by a set receiver of the user device.
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the sending the power configuration information to the UE comprises: broadcasting a system message, wherein the system message comprises the power configuration information of the synchronization signal.
9. The method according to claim 8, wherein sending the power configuration information to the user device comprises: broadcasting a system message, the system message comprising the power configuration information.
9. The method according to claim 7, wherein the power information comprises a power offset of a power of the synchronization signal relative to a power of a synchronization signal block (SSB).
10. The method according to claim 8, wherein the power information indicates a power offset of the low-power wake-up signal with respect to a synchronization signal block (SSB).
10. The method according to claim 7, wherein the power information comprises a positive difference of a power of the synchronization signal over a power of an SSB.
11. The method according to claim 8, wherein the power information indicates a positive difference between power of the low-power wake-up signal and power of a synchronization signal block (SSB), the power of the low-power wake-up signal being greater than the power of the SSB.
11. The method according to claim 7, further comprising: sending time-frequency configuration information of the synchronization signal to the UE, wherein the time-frequency configuration information comprises at least one of: a frequency-domain position, a time-domain period, or a time-domain position offset.
14. The method according to claim 8, further comprising: sending frequency-domain position configuration information to the user device, wherein the frequency-domain position configuration information is configured to indicate a frequency-domain position of the low-power wake-up signal.
12. The method according to claim 11, further comprising: broadcasting a system message, wherein the system message comprises the time-frequency configuration information.
12. The method according to claim 8, further comprising: sending time-domain configuration information to the user device, wherein the time-domain configuration information comprises information for indicating a number of repeated transmissions of the low-power wake-up signal.
13. The method according to claim 11, further comprising: sending the time-frequency configuration information to a second network device.
15. The method according to claim 14, further comprising: sending the frequency-domain position configuration information to a second network device.
16. A communication device, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store storing a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to: receive power configuration information of a synchronization signal sent by a first network device, wherein the power configuration information indicates power information of the synchronization signal corresponding to a set receiver of the communication device, and the set receiver is configured to receive a low power wake up signal.
18. A communication device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to: receive power configuration information from a first network device, wherein the power configuration information is configured to indicate power information for a low-power wake-up signal, the low-power wake-up signal being received by a set receiver of a user device.
17. A communication device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 7.
19. A communication device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 8.
18. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an instruction that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the method according to claim 1.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an instruction that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the method according to claim 7.
21. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 8.
.
20. The communication device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a system message broadcast by the first network device, wherein the system message comprises the power configuration information of the synchronization signal.
22. The method according to claim 2, further comprising: receiving time-domain configuration information from the first network device, wherein the time-domain configuration information comprises information for indicating a number of repeated transmissions of the low-power wake-up signal.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US 2019/0200296 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al (US 2019/0200296 A1) discloses a method for transmitting power information of a synchronization signal (see, the UE receives scaling factor for WUS, the scaling factor indicate a transmit power from the base station, scaling factor via system information block (SIB) via a broadcast channel, section 0005, 0007, 0038), performed by a user equipment (UE) (see, the UE 115 which wake up and monitors for WU on downlink channel, section 0106), wherein the method comprises: receiving power configuration information (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block), section 0144) of the synchronization signal (see, the information identifying the power level may include a power offset relative to synchronization signal, section 0144) sent by a first network device (see, the base station which configures the UE with WUS via the SIB via downlink message, section 0106, 0100, 108), wherein the power configuration information indicates the power information of the synchronization signal corresponding to a set receiver of the UE (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block), section 0144), and the set receiver is configured to receive a low power wake up signal (see, the UE performs synchronization and determines the reference values based on the power level of the wakeup signal, section 01144, 0142-the UE wake ups to identify the wake up signal, noted: the UE is associated with a low-power receiver, section 01148).
Regarding claim 2, Liu ‘296 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the power configuration information sent by the first network device (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via a system information block), section 0144 comprises: receiving a system message broadcast by the first network device, wherein the system message comprises the power configuration information of the synchronization signal (see, the information identifying the power level may include a power offset relative to synchronization signal, section 0144).
Regarding claim 3, Liu ‘296 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the power information comprises a power offset of a power of the synchronization signal relative to a power of a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see, the information identifying the power level may include a power offset relative to synchronization signal, section 0144).
Regarding claim 7, Liu ‘296 discloses a method for transmitting power information (see, the base station transmits wakeup signal configured with power level, section 0142, 0144) of a synchronization signal (see, information identifying the power level may include power offset relation to a synchronization signal, section 0142, 0144), performed by a first network device (see, the base station which configures the UE with WUS via the SIB via downlink message, section 0106, 0100, 108), wherein the method comprises: sending power configuration information (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block), section 0144) of the synchronization signal (see, the information identifying the power level may include a power offset relative to synchronization signal, section 0144) to a user equipment (UE) (see, the UE identifies the wakeup signal based on the configuration, section 0142-0144), wherein the power configuration information indicates the power information of the synchronization signal corresponding to a set receiver of the UE (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block), section 0144), and the set receiver is configured to receive a low power wake up signal (see, the UE performs synchronization and determines the reference values based on the power level of the wakeup signal, section 01144, 0142-the UE wake ups to identify the wake up signal, noted: the UE is associated with a low-power receiver, section 01148).
Regarding claim 8, Liu ‘296 discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the sending the power configuration information to the UE comprises: broadcasting a system message (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block), section 0144, wherein the system message comprises the power configuration information of the synchronization signal (see, the information identifying the power level may include a power offset relative to synchronization signal, section 0144).
Regarding claim 9, Liu ‘296 discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the power information comprises a power offset of a power of the synchronization signal relative to a power of a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see, the information identifying the power level may include a power offset relative to synchronization signal, section 0144).
Regarding claim 16, Liu ‘296 discloses a communication device (fig. 2, UE 102 which receives synchronization signals, wake up signal configuration from a base station 110, section 0063-0067, section 0005, 0007, 0038), comprising: a processor (see, controller/processor 280 of the UE, section 0063-0067, the processor of the UE determines a reference value based on in par on transmission power of the wakeup signal, section 0102-01063); and a memory (fig. 2, see, memory 282 coupled to the controller/processor 280, section 00693-0067) configured to store storing a computer program (fig. 2, fig. 9 to fig. 10, UE, the computer-readable medium/memory storing data/program instructions executed by the controller/processor, section 0123-0126) ; wherein the processor (see, the processor of the UE determines a reference value based on in part on transmission power of the wakeup signal, section 0102-0106) is configured to: receiving power configuration information (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block), section 0144) of a synchronization signal (see, the information identifying the power level may include a power offset relative to synchronization signal, section 0144) sent by a first network device (see, the base station which configures the UE with WUS via the SIB via downlink message, section 0106, 0100, 108), wherein the power configuration information indicates the power information of the synchronization signal corresponding to a set receiver of the UE (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block), section 0144), and the set receiver is configured to receive a low power wake up signal (see, the UE performs synchronization and determines the reference values based on the power level of the wakeup signal, section 01144, 0142-the UE wake ups to identify the wake up signal, noted: the UE is associated with a low-power receiver, section 01148)
Regarding claim 17, Liu ‘296 discloses a communication device (fig. 2, UE 102 which receives synchronization signals, wake up signal configuration from a base station 110, section 0063-0067, section 0005, 0007, 0038), comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 7 (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block), section 0144).
Regarding claim 18, Liu ‘296 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an instruction that, when executed by a processor (fig. 2, fig. 9 to fig. 10, UE, the computer-readable medium/memory storing data/program instructions executed by the controller/processor, section 0123-0126), causes the processor (see, the processor of the UE determines a reference value based on in part on transmission power of the wakeup signal, section 0102-0106) to perform the method according to claim 1 (see, the UE performs synchronization and determines the reference values based on the power level of the wakeup signal, section 01144, 0142-the UE wake ups to identify the wake up signal, noted: the UE is associated with a low-power receiver, section 01148)
Regarding claim 19, Liu ‘296 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an instruction that (fig. 8, base station which includes a processor which software executed by the processor/program instructions executed by the processor, section 0165-0167, 0188-0191), when executed by a processor, causes the processor (fig. 8, base station which includes a processor which software executed by the processor/program instructions executed by the processor, section 0165-0167, 0188-0191, 0208-computer-readable medium) to perform the method according to claim 7 (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block), section 0144).
Regarding claim 20, Liu ‘296 discloses the communication device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a system message broadcast by the first network device (see, the base station configures a power level for the wakeup signal and provides information identifying the power level to the UE via system information block),, wherein the system message comprises the power configuration information of the synchronization signal (see, the information identifying the power level may include a power offset relative to synchronization signal, section 0144).
Regarding claim 21, Liu ‘296 discloses the communication device according to claim 16, wherein the power information comprises a power offset of a power of the synchronization signal relative to a power of a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see, the information identifying the power level may include a power offset relative to synchronization signal, section 0144).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 10-13, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0200296 A1) in view of MAZLOUM et al (US 2025/0226950 A1, Foreign Priority: march 18, 2022).
Liu ‘296 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4, the method according to claim 1, wherein the power information comprises a positive difference of a power of the synchronization signal over a power of an SSB.
Regarding claim 5, the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving time-frequency configuration information of the synchronization signal sent by the first network device, wherein the time-frequency configuration information comprises at least one of: a frequency-domain position, a time-domain period, or a time-domain position offset.
Regarding claim 6, the method according to claim 5, further comprising: receiving a system message broadcast by the first network device, wherein the system message comprises the time-frequency configuration information.
Regarding claim 10, the method according to claim 7, wherein the power information comprises a positive difference of a power of the synchronization signal over a power of an SSB.
Regarding claim 11, the method according to claim 7, further comprising: sending time-frequency configuration information of the synchronization signal to the UE, wherein the time-frequency configuration information comprises at least one of: a frequency-domain position, a time-domain period, or a time-domain position offset.
Regarding claim 12, the method according to claim 11, further comprising: broadcasting a system message, wherein the system message comprises the time-frequency configuration information.
Regarding claim 13, the method according to claim 11, further comprising: sending the time-frequency configuration information to a second network device.
Regarding claim 22, the communication device according to claim 16, wherein the power information comprises a positive difference of a power of the synchronization signal over a power of an SSB.
However, MAZLOUM et al (US 2025/0226950 A1, Foreign Priority: march 18, 2022) from a similar field of endeavor (see, the low-power receiver performs time-domain processing to detect wake-up signal (WUS), the UE transitions to low-power state for power saving purposes, section 0032, 0034) discloses: Regarding claim 4, the method (see, the UE/wireless communication device monitors the periodic broadcast signal , section) according to claim 1, wherein the power information comprises a positive difference of a power of the synchronization signal over a power of an SSB (see, transmission power offset between the transmission power of LP-RS and the transmission power, including signal strength threshold of LP-Rx may not be the same, section 0108).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the implement the low-power reference signal associated with wakeup signal where the base station activates periodic broadcast patterns of a reference signal as taught by MAZLOUM ‘950 into the WUS method and apparatus for configuring power to be used for the transmission of WUS of Liu ‘296, The motivation would have been to provide a reduction of the UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 5, the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving time-frequency configuration information of the synchronization signal sent by the first network device, wherein the time-frequency configuration information comprises at least one of: a frequency-domain position, a time-domain period (see, time domain and/or frequency domain of time-frequency resources allocated for the transmission of LP-RS and the SSB, section 0046), or a time-domain position offset (see, the transmission timings of the LP-RA and the SSB may be offset with respect to each other, section 0057).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the implement the low-power reference signal associated with wakeup signal where the base station activates periodic broadcast patterns of a reference signal as taught by MAZLOUM ‘950 into the WUS method and apparatus for configuring power to be used for the transmission of WUS of Liu ‘296, The motivation would have been to provide a reduction of the UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 6, the method according to claim 5, further comprising: receiving a system message broadcast by the first network device (see, the UE receives the SSB broadcast patterns and the LP-RS broadcast pattern from the base station, section 0046-0048), wherein the system message comprises the time-frequency configuration information (see, the broadcast pattern is related to time-frequency resources, section 0043-0048).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the implement the low-power reference signal associated with wakeup signal where the base station activates periodic broadcast patterns of a reference signal as taught by MAZLOUM ‘950 into the WUS method and apparatus for configuring power to be used for the transmission of WUS of Liu ‘296, The motivation would have been to provide a reduction of the UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 10, the method according to claim 7, wherein the power information comprises a positive difference of a power of the synchronization signal over a power of an SSB (see, transmission power offset between the transmission power of LP-RS and the transmission power, including signal strength threshold of LP-Rx may not be the same, section 0108).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the implement the low-power reference signal associated with wakeup signal where the base station activates periodic broadcast patterns of a reference signal as taught by MAZLOUM ‘950 into the WUS method and apparatus for configuring power to be used for the transmission of WUS of Liu ‘296, The motivation would have been to provide a reduction of the UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 11, the method according to claim 7, further comprising: sending time-frequency configuration information of the synchronization signal to the UE, wherein the time-frequency configuration information comprises at least one of: a frequency-domain position, a time-domain period (see, time domain and/or frequency domain of time-frequency resources allocated for the transmission of LP-RS and the SSB, section 0046), or a time-domain position offset (see, the transmission timings of the LP-RA and the SSB may be offset with respect to each other, section 0057).
Regarding claim 12, the method according to claim 11, further comprising: broadcasting a system message (see, the UE receives the SSB broadcast patterns and the LP-RS broadcast pattern from the base station, section 0046-0048), wherein the system message comprises the time-frequency configuration information (see, the broadcast pattern is related to time-frequency resources, section 0043-0048).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the implement the low-power reference signal associated with wakeup signal where the base station activates periodic broadcast patterns of a reference signal as taught by MAZLOUM ‘950 into the WUS method and apparatus for configuring power to be used for the transmission of WUS of Liu ‘296, The motivation would have been to provide a reduction of the UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 13, Liu ‘296 as modified by MAZLOUM ‘950 discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: sending the time-frequency configuration information to a second network device (see, Low-power (LP)-RS broadcast pattern to the UEs in a cell, channel measurements based on the SSB and/or based on LP-RS, section 0047-0048, 0063-0064, noted: multiple cells and the UE re-selection of serving cell ,section 0027, 0068, Liu, base stations 150 which may communicate with other via S1 or through backhaul links, section 0071).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the implement the low-power reference signal associated with wakeup signal where the base station activates periodic broadcast patterns of a reference signal as taught by MAZLOUM ‘950 into the WUS method and apparatus for configuring power to be used for the transmission of WUS of Liu ‘296, The motivation would have been to provide a reduction of the UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 22, the communication device according to claim 16, wherein the power information comprises a positive difference of a power of the synchronization signal over a power of an SSB(see, transmission power offset between the transmission power of LP-RS and the transmission power, including signal strength threshold of LP-Rx may not be the same, section 0108).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the implement the low-power reference signal associated with wakeup signal where the base station activates periodic broadcast patterns of a reference signal as taught by MAZLOUM ‘950 into the WUS method and apparatus for configuring power to be used for the transmission of WUS of Liu ‘296, The motivation would have been to provide a reduction of the UE power consumption.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Elbotby et al (US 2024/0284456 A1) discloses configuring a WTRU/low power receiver with RRC configurations and/or SSIB messages wherein a low -power (LP) paging indication is shaped in time/frequency domain (section0269, 0290, 0292) and LP-WUS can indicate the position in time/frequency/domain (section 0293, 0297, 0398-0424).
SHARMA et al (US 2020/0280959 A1) discloses a UE that decodes WUS configuration information transmitted in a system information broadcast (SIB) to establish wake-up signal (WUS) configuration (section 0047, 0053, 0067, 0073) and transitioning into a low power mode (section 0035-0036).
Sarkis et al (US 2020/0314755 A1) discloses a UE that monitors a wake-up signal (WUS) while in the a low power mode and transitioning to a Higer power mode to monitor the control channel for scheduling information (section 0083, 0087).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473