DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurmfeld et al. (US-20210182374), and further in view of Bair et al. (US-20150229477).
a. Referring to claims 1, 12 and 19:
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 19, Wurmfeld teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving an input signal associated with a user, the input signal identifying an input received via an interface (Para 52, 54 and 97….. user enters withdrawal command into interface/touchscreen which generates device command); executing an integrity module to generate an integrity certificate using the input signal, a secret key, and a sequential identifier corresponding to the input, the integrity certificate being generated for use during a verification process associated with the input signal (Para 56 and 57…. message authentication module generates a MAC by hashing the command, argument and counter value with a key); and transmitting the integrity certificate and the input signal to a server configured to validate the integrity certificate (Para 58 and 62-64…. MAC and device command sent to authentication server which regenerates and compares the MAC).
Wurmfeld fails to teach the user using a remote connection to access a client server, and transmitting to the client server, the client server being configured to forward the integrity certificate and the input signal to a verification server configured to validate the integrity certificate. However, these features are well known in the art and taught by Blair in Para 57, 64, 66, 68 and 84-88 (remote user device connects over a secure authenticated session to secure development platform; the user device sends a document and its certificate to SDP which forwards the certificate to separate PKI service for validation; transaction server communicates with separate validation server).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wurmfeld by sending the MAC and the device command from the user’s device to an intermediate server that forwards them to a separate validation server as taught by Blair for the purpose of keeping the validation keys in a trusted domain and serving many remote devices from one validation server.
a. Referring to claims 2, 13 and 20:
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 20, the combination of Wurmfeld and Blair teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the integrity certificate further comprises: generating, by the integrity module, a tuple encoding the integrity certificate, wherein the tuple comprises: the sequential identifier that indicates an order of the input signal; and an integrity key created based on the input signal, the secret key, and the sequential identifier using a cryptographic protocol (See Wurmfeld, Para 53, 56, and 64…. request carries the incrementing counter value and the MAC hashed from command, counter and shared key).
a. Referring to claims 3 and 14:
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the combination of Wurmfeld and Blair teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the verification process further comprises using the verification server to verify the integrity certificate received from the client server by querying a database using a user identifier associated with the user to identify another secret key stored in the database, wherein the other secret key is associated with the user identifier (See Wurmfeld, Para 45, 60 and 62…. authentication server keeps a device profile and ID for the user’s device and retrieves the shared key by it, and in Blair, Para 70 and 74…. Key storage holds the key for the user device and user).
a. Referring to claims 4 and 15:
Regarding claims 4 and 15, the combination of Wurmfeld and Blair teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the verification server is configured to generate another integrity key using the other secret key stored in the database, and wherein the verification server is configured to detect unauthorized input by comparing the integrity key received from the client server with the other integrity key generated by the verification server (See Wurmfeld, Para 62-65….. second MAC generated with the shared key and compared to the first, mismatch denies the command).
a. Referring to claim 5:
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wurmfeld and Blair teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the other secret key stored in the database is a private key of an asymmetric key pair generated using asymmetric public-key cryptography, and wherein the other secret key is usable to decrypt the secret key that is a public key of the asymmetric key pair (See Wurmfeld, Para 59 and 100…. public key encryption of the request, decrypted by the authentication server, and in Blair, Para 70 and 74…. private key held in protected key storage).
a. Referring to claims 6 and 16:
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the combination of Wurmfeld and Blair teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the verification server is configured to transmit a warning notification to a different computing system in response to detecting unauthorized input during the verification process (See Wurmfeld, Para 65 and 66…. command denial message and log of unauthenticated commands).
a. Referring to claims 7 and 17:
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the combination of Wurmfeld and Blair teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein, in response to receiving the warning notification from the verification server, the client server is configured to cause a security measure based on a security policy to address the warning notification by denying the input signal with respect to accessing the client server (See Wurmfeld, Para 69….. deny the command upon receiving a denial message).
a. Referring to claims 8 and 18:
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the combination of Wurmfeld and Blair teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the verification server is further configured to receive a verification request from a web server to verify a set of integrity certificates corresponding to a set of input signals transmitted to the verification server by the web server, and wherein the set of input signals is associated with the user accessing the web server (See Wurmfeld, Para 40 and 45…. server may be a web server. Each command of the user is verified in turn and in Blair, Para 86…. SDP sends PKI service as a request to validate the certificate and certificate chain).
a. Referring to claim 10:
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wurmfeld and Blair teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the interface is a keyboard with one or more keyboard keys configured to generate the input signal in response to being selected by the user (See Wurmfeld, Para 44 and 52…. keyboard and user interface device).
a. Referring to claim 11:
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wurmfeld and Blair teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a set of input signals associated with the user, wherein the set of input signals identifies more than one input received via the interface; executing the integrity module to generate at least one integrity certificate using the set of input signals, the secret key, and the sequential identifier corresponding to the more than one input; and transmitting the at least one integrity certificate and the set of input signals to the client server using the one or more channels, wherein the client server is configured to forward the at least one integrity certificate and the set of input signals to the verification server that is configured to validate the at least one integrity certificate (See the rejection in claim 1 and Wurmfeld, Para 53, 64, and 67…. each command gets its own counter value and MAC, counters incremented per command).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art of record fails to teach the verification server denying the set of input signals in response to determining that one or more integrity certificates of the set of integrity certificates are unverified, in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/IZUNNA OKEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497