DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 13, 15-18, 21-23, and 25-27 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/15/24 and 10/3/24 were considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claims Objection
Claims 2, 3, 6-11, 13 and 15 objected to because of the following informalities: line 1, "a system" should be -- the system --.
Claims 17, 18, 21-23 and 25-27 objected to because of the following
informalities: line 1, "a method" should be -- the method --.
Claims 17, 18, 21 and 25-27 are depended on canceled claim (claim 12). For examination purpose, claims 17, 18, 21 and 25-27 are depended on claim 16.
Claims 22-23 are depended on system claim (claim 13). For examination purpose, claims 22-23 are depended on claim 16 (method claim).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 16-18, 21-23 and 25-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitations “the control of chilled water plant” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations in the claim.
Claims 17, 18, 21-23 and 25-27 rejected because they incorporate the deficiencies of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-3, 6-11, 13, 15-18, 21-23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vitullo (Vitullo), US publication no. 2018/0113482 A1.
As per claim 1, Vitullo discloses a system for controlling chilled water plant, the chilled water plant comprising one or more chillers, one or more water pumps, and a controller [figures 2, 3; para 58, 62], the system comprising one or more processors [figure 3; para 69] configured to:
receive first information, the first information comprising historical data for a plurality of system variables for the chilled water plant; determine historical performance information for the chilled water plant using the received first information [figures 3, 4; para 82-84, 101-102];
prepare performance models [figure 4; para 102] using the received first information and historical performance information, the performance models comprising:
at least one chiller predictive model for the one or more chillers; and at least one pump predictive model for the one or more water pumps [para 44, 102, 117];
prepare a field load predictive model for a field load demand; prepare a chilled water plant model that is dependent on the at least one chiller predictive model and the least one pump predictive model [figure 4; para 43-44, 106-107];
simulate operation of the chilled water plant for a plurality of plant operating conditions using the chilled water plant model and determining first optimised control
parameters for the chilled water plant [para 45, 103-104];
determine an energy consumption of the chilled water plant using the first optimised control parameters for a plurality of load demands to determine an optimised
control strategy for the one or more chillers [figure 4; para 86-90, 102-104];
determine second optimised control parameters for the chilled water plant using the energy consumption of the chilled water plant, the optimised control strategy for the one or more chillers and the field load predictive model [figure 4; para 86-90]; and
output the second optimised control parameters for the chilled water plant to the controller of the chilled water plant to optimise control of the chilled water plant [para 44, 90, 96].
Vitullo discloses:
[0090] High level optimizer 330 may receive the load and rate predictions from load/rate predictor 322 and the subplant curves 342 from low level optimizer 332. The load predictions may be based on weather forecasts from weather service 324 and/or information from building automation system 308 (e.g., a current electric load of the building, measurements from the building, a history of previous loads, a setpoint trajectory, etc.). The utility rate predictions may be based on utility rates received from utilities 326 and/or utility prices from another data source. High level optimizer 330 may determine the optimal load distribution for subplants 202-212 (e.g., a subplant load for each subplant) for each time step the prediction window and may provide the subplant loads as setpoints to low level optimizer 332. In some embodiments, high level optimizer 330 determines the subplant loads by minimizing the total operating cost of
central plant 200 over the prediction window. In other words, given a predicted load and utility rate information from load/rate predictor 322, high level optimizer 330 may
distribute the predicted load across subplants 202-212 over the optimization period to minimize operating cost.
[0102] Predictive modeling system 402 can be configured to generate and provide equipment models 320 and combined model predictions 346 to low level optimizer 332.
Equipment models 320 can include any of a variety of models that characterize the performance of HVAC equipment 340. In some embodiments, each of equipment models 320 corresponds to an individual HVAC device of HVAC equipment 340 (e.g., an individual chiller, an individual boiler, an individual compressor, etc.) and can be used to predict the performance of the corresponding HVAC device. For example, equipment models 320 can include power consumption models that can be used to predict the power consumption of individual HVAC devices of HVAC equipment 340 at various operating points. In some embodiments, equipment models 320 can be used to predict various output variables ( e.g., coefficient of performance, power consumption,
etc.) of HVAC equipment 340 as a function of the monitored variables and/or operating points.
[0104] As described above, low level optimizer 332 can use equipment models 320 to generate subplant curves 342 which aggregate the equipment models for a set of HVAC equipment 340 in a single subplant. Central plant optimizer 328 can use subplant curves 342 and/or equipment models 320 to optimize equipment operation. In some embodiments, central plant optimizer 328 operates as a planning tool. For example, central plant optimizer 328 can operate a simulated plant under various hypothetical scenarios to evaluate system performance under different sets of conditions. The simulated plant can be adjusted to reflect planned equipment purchases, installation of energy-efficient equipment, or other planned changes to allow central plant optimizer 328 to run various hypothetical scenarios before the changes are actually made to the physical plant. In other embodiments, central plant optimizer 328 operates as a real-time operational tool to optimize the current running
conditions of a physical plant, as previously described.
As per claim 2, Vitullo discloses the chilled water plant comprises one or
more cooling towers, and wherein the performance models further comprises at least one cooling tower predictive model for the one or more cooling towers, and wherein
preparing the chilled water plant model is dependent on the at least one cooling tower predictive model [figures 2, 5; para 46, 54].
As per claim 3, Vitullo discloses verify the historical performance information by preparing an energy balance information for the chilled water plant using at least the first information, the energy balance information comprising a chiller energy balance
for the one or more chillers, and a cooling tower energy balance for the one or more cooling towers [para 82-84, 101-102]; wherein the first information comprises a plurality of timestamped chiller cooling loads, chiller energy consumptions, ambient air conditions, chiller lifts or condenser water leaving temperatures and chilled water leaving temperatures, cooling tower fan variable speed drive speeds, chilled and/or condensing water p speeds of flow rates, and differential pressures across a chiller condenser and a chill evaporator; and wherein the first information comprises supplementary metadata, the supplementary metadata comprising a chiller nominal cooling capacity, a minimum and a maximum flow rate through a condenser and an evaporator that forms part of the chilled water plant, rated energy consumption for fans and pumps that form part of the chilled water plant [para 77, 90, 101-102, 109, 114].
As per claim 6, Vitullo discloses transform the first information to determine second information, the second information comprising chiller lift and chiller load, wherein the determined second information then forms part of the first information that is used to prepare the performance models [para 112, 116-117].
As per claim 7, Vitullo discloses preparation of the at least one chiller predictive model comprises developing and training a machine learning based predictive mathematical model for the one or more chillers [para 46, 106-107, 116-117].
As per claim 8, Vitullo discloses preparation of the field load predictive
model comprises developing and training a machine learning based predictive mathematical model for field load [figure 4; para 46, 106-107, 116-117].
As per claim 9, Vitullo discloses preparation of the at least one pump predictive model comprises developing and training a machine learning based predictive mathematical model for the for the one or more water pumps [figure 4; para 46, 106-107, 116-117].
As per claim 10, Vitullo discloses preparation of the at least one cooling tower predictive model comprises developing and training a machine learning based predictive mathematical model for the one or more cooling towers [para 46, 106-107, 116-117].
As pe claim 11, Vitullo discloses determining the optimised control strategy for the one or more chillers comprises; determining a total electric power consumed by the
chilled water plant at a plurality of field demands to determine the optimised control strategy, the optimized control strategy comprising chiller staging setpoints, chiller load balancing proportions, condenser water entering temperature, and condenser water pump speeds at the plurality of field demands [para 43-44]; wherein determining the optimised control strategy for the one or more chillers comprises constraining the determination of the optimised control strategy by including a minimum and a maximum lift for the one or more chillers, a minimum and a maximum entering and/or leaving condenser water temperature for the one or more chillers, a minimum and a maximum entering and/or leaving evaporator water temperature for the one or more chillers, a minimum and a maximum flow rate through one or more evaporators of the one or more chillers, a minimum and a maximum flow rate through one or more condensers of the one or more chillers, a turn down ratio the one or more chillers, a turn down ratio for the one or more cooling towers, a maximum amps for the one or more chillers, and a maximum stage up demand setpoint for the one or more ages of possible chiller operation [para 43-44, 86, 101-104].
As per claim 13, Vitullo discloses determining the second optimised control
parameters for the chilled water plant comprises preparing a cost function of a plurality of system variables, the plurality of system variables comprising an energy consumption, a peak demand, a chiller loading, an aggregated number of chiller start/stop cycles, a chiller runtime, an aggregated number of chiller short cycles within a predetermined period, and a weighted runtime balance between the one or more chillers; and wherein preparing the cost function comprises applying a weighting for each one of the plurality of system variables [para 43, 44, 75, 76, 90-99].
As per claim 15, Vitullo discloses the second optimised control parameters
comprise chiller stage up/down demand setpoints, chiller load balancing proportions, condenser water leaving temp setpoints; and/or condenser water flow setpoints [para 44, 90, 96].
As to claims 16-18, 21-23 and 25-27, claims 1-3, 6-11, 13 and 15 basically are the corresponding elements that are carried out the method of operating step in claims 16-18, 21-23 and 25-27. Accordingly, claims 16-18, 21-23 and 25-27 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-3, 6-11, 13 and 15.
9. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Asmus (US 20130345880 A1), a computerized method for controlling a chiller plant for cooling a building is provided. The chiller plant has a chiller plant load. The method includes estimating an optimal combination of chiller plant equipment for meeting the chiller plant load.
Conclusion
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115