DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 10/9/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 10-11, 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The amended limitations now recite “information elements marked as mandatory according to protocol specifications”. It is not clear what protocol specifications are being referred to. The way the claim is written is that any protocol specification can be realized, further it is not clear what information a specific protocol specification marks as “mandatory”. There is no bounds to either the protocol specification or what is deemed mandatory thus the claims are indefinite. The Examiner suggests stating exactly what protocol specification is being referenced and what information is mandatory.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, 16, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. “Cheng” US 2024/0031890 in view of Paladugu et al. “Paladugu” US 2024/0205764.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Cheng teaches a method and a source network node (105-e Figure 5) operable to perform a sidelink path switch, the network node comprising processing circuitry operable to:
determine to switch a remote wireless device to sidelink communication with a target relay wireless device and the target relay wireless device is served by a target network node different from the source network node (Paragraph 167 step 540 teaches the source base station sends a handover indication message for the remote UE to handover to the target relay UE. This is viewed as the determination to switch as claimed. The connections between the UEs are sidelink connections; Paragraph 159. The target relay is served by the target base station 105-f (steps 510 and Figure 5).); and
transmit an indication to the target network node of the path switch involving the target relay wireless device (Steps 520/525 disclose the handover decisions communication between the source and target network nodes. Thus one can see an indication with respect to path switching is transmit as claimed; Paragraphs 164-165 and 169).
Cheng does not expressly disclose the relay wireless device is in an idle or inactive state; however, Paladugu teaches that the relay UEs can be in a RRC_Idle or RRC_Inactive state; Paragraph 67 and Figure 5).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Cheng to disclose the target relay UE is in a RRC inactive/IDLE state as taught by Paladugu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that relay can properly transition to a RRC_Connected in order to establish the new link as taught by Paladugu; Paragraph 67.
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Cheng teaches the indication indicates one or more of:
An indication of on ongoing path switch, an identifier of the target relay wireless device; and context information of the target relay wireless device (during handover preparation, the handover command information is determined; Paragraphs 164-165 and 169. The handover command includes information relating to the target relay device instructions the remote UE to establish a connection to the target relay UE; Paragraphs 167 and 170. This information is viewed as the target relay identifier (since the UE must know this to connect to the target relay UE) as well as context information and path switch indication (i.e. handovers)).
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Cheng teaches a method and a target network node (105-f Figure 5) operable to perform a sidelink path switch, the network node comprising processing circuitry operable to:
Receive an indication from a source network node of a path switch for a remote wireless device to sidelink communication with a target relay wireless device wherein the target relay wireless device is served by a target network node different from the source network node (Paragraph 167 step 540 teaches the source base station sends a handover indication message for the remote UE to handover to the target relay UE. This is viewed as the determination to switch as claimed. The connections between the UEs are sidelink connections; Paragraph 159. The target relay is served by the target base station 105-f (steps 510 and Figure 5) Steps 520/525 disclose the handover decisions communication between the source and target network nodes. Thus one can see an indication with respect to path switching is transmit as claimed; Paragraphs 164-165 and 169); and
Configure the target relay wireless device to serve as a relay wireless device for the remote wireless device (Paragraphs 165, 166, 169 show the target base station communication with the target relay UE (530 and 535 of Figure 5) in order to configure the relay to serve the remote UE)).
Cheng does not expressly disclose the relay wireless device is in an idle or inactive state; however, Paladugu teaches that the relay UEs can be in a RRC_Idle or RRC_Inactive state; Paragraph 67 and Figure 5).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Cheng to disclose the target relay UE is in a RRC inactive/IDLE state as taught by Paladugu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that relay can properly transition to a RRC_Connected in order to establish the new link as taught by Paladugu; Paragraph 67.
Regarding claims 12 and 16, Cheng teaches the indication indicates one or more of:
An indication of on ongoing path switch, an identifier of the target relay wireless device; and context information of the target relay wireless device (during handover preparation, the handover command information is determined; Paragraphs 164-165 and 169. The handover command includes information relating to the target relay device instructions the remote UE to establish a connection to the target relay UE; Paragraphs 167 and 170. This information is viewed as the target relay identifier (since the UE must know this to connect to the target relay UE) as well as context information and path switch indication (i.e. handovers)).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng teaches a remote wireless device (115-f Figure 5) operable to perform a sidelink path switch, the network node comprising processing circuitry operable to:
Receive, from a source network node, a path switch comment instructing the device to switch to sidelink communication with a target relay wireless device wherein the target relay wireless device is served by a target network node different from the source network node (Paragraph 167 step 540 teaches the source base station sends a handover indication message for the remote UE to handover to the target relay UE. This is viewed as the determination to switch as claimed. The connections between the UEs are sidelink connections; Paragraph 159. The target relay is served by the target base station 105-f (steps 510 and Figure 5) Steps 520/525 disclose the handover decisions communication between the source and target network nodes. Thus one can see an indication with respect to path switching is received as claimed; Paragraphs 164-165 and 169); and
Establishing a SL connection to the target relay device using information from the path switch command (Paragraphs 167 and 170 teaches the command is for the remote UE to handover from the source relay to the target relay thus establishing a SL connection to the target relay)).
Cheng does not expressly disclose the relay wireless device is in an idle or inactive state; however, Paladugu teaches that the relay UEs can be in a RRC_Idle or RRC_Inactive state; Paragraph 67 and Figure 5).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Cheng to disclose the target relay UE is in a RRC inactive/IDLE state as taught by Paladugu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that relay can properly transition to a RRC_Connected in order to establish the new link as taught by Paladugu; Paragraph 67.
Regarding claim 21, Cheng teaches establish the SL connection to the target relay device by sending configuration information to the target relay device based on information from the path switch command (based on the received HO information in step 540, the remote UE sends a request to establish a connection to the target relay UE step 550; Paragraph 174. This request includes information for establishing connections thus this is viewed as configuration information based on information received in the handover (i.e. path switch)).
Regarding claim 22, Cheng teaches the configuration information includes one or more of:
An indication the SL connection is because of a path switch procedure and identifier of the target relay wireless device (during handover preparation, the handover command information is determined; Paragraphs 164-165 and 169. The handover command includes information relating to the target relay device instructions the remote UE to establish a connection to the target relay UE; Paragraphs 167 and 170. This information is viewed as the target relay identifier (since the UE must know this to connect to the target relay UE) as well as SL connection is because of a path switch (i.e. handovers)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112 rejection, a newly formed 112 rejection has been made based on the amended claims.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues the cited art does not teach the target relay being idle/inactive because Paladugu is not concerned with a relay UE being in idle/inactive with respect to handover.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the rejection above, paragraph 67 highlights the ability for the relay UE to be in the idle/inactive state. Figures 8-10 further teach a handover procedure being performed. While the relay UE is used in the process, it is simply not shown in the figures (See paragraphs 71, 73, 74). Therefore, the idle/inactive relay UE is with respect to handover procedures.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411