DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 of Remarks that amended independent claim 7 is directed toward a single terminal. That is, Bao does not disclose a single terminal capable of performing all the actions as claimed.
Examiner disagrees. The amended independent claim 7 does not overcome the prior art of record. The prior art teaches a single terminal capable of performing all the actions of claim 17.
Par. 0181 of BAO (KR 20230170662 A) teaches: “determining first position information at a first UE; and transmitting first position information and a UE group identification associated with the first position information from the first UE to the network entity. For example, PRS measurement unit 750 of UE 1301 measures PRS 1441 or at least a portion of PRS 1541, or PRS measurement unit 750 of UE 1302 measures PRS 1442 or Measure at least some of the PRS (1542). Processor 710 (e.g., PRS measurement unit 750), possibly in combination with memory 730, in combination with transceiver 720 (e.g., wireless receiver 244 and antenna 246), 1 May include means for determining position information. the UE 1302 may transmit the position information ( 1461) may be transmitted to the UE 1301 (operating as a proxy) or at least a portion of the position information 1562 may be transmitted to the server 400. UE(s) 1301, 1302 may be used, for example, to facilitate determination of a location estimate for VUE 1305 and/or to associate a location estimate with VUE 1305 (and members thereof). The VUE-ID of the VUE 1305 may be transmitted (in the same or a different message) in connection with the position information 1461, 1464, 1561, 1562. Processor 710 (e.g., position information sharing unit 770), possibly in combination with memory 730, and in combination with transceiver 720 (e.g., wireless transmitter 242 and antenna 246), may be configured to: It may include means for transmitting first position information and group identification. In another example implementation, method 1700 includes determining first position information at a UE; Receiving, at the first UE, a proxy indication that a third UE, separate from the first UE and the second UE, is a proxy for the UE group; and based on receiving the proxy indication, transmitting the first position information and the UE group identification associated with the first position information from the first UE to the third UE”.
Bao clearly discloses a single terminal capable of performing every action recited in independent claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BAO
JINGCHAO (KR 20230170662 A.
Regarding claim 7, BAO JINGCHAO et al. teach a terminal comprising:
a transmitter that transmits, to a network node, first information related to first position
measurement in inter-terminal direct (D2D) communication (see par. 00154 and fig. 13: Based
on the proximity determination(s) and possibly based on shared capability information, one or
more requests to form or join a virtual UE may be sent directly or indirectly to the positioning
entity 800), and that transmits, to one or more another terminals, a second signal related to the
second position measurement in the D2D communication (see par. 00154 and fig. 13: UE 1302
sends a virtual-UE request 1324 to UE 1301); a receiver that receives, from a network including the network node, third information that is based on the first information, the third information including information on the first position measurement (see par. 00154 and fig. 13: Entity 800 may transmit a request 1326 to form a virtual UE containing UEs 1301 and 1302, or to add UE 1302 to a virtual UE containing UE 1301. request. Request 1325 and/or request 1326 may include the virtual-UE-ID of the virtual UE to be formed or the virtual UE to be joined by UE 1302 (e.g., if UE 1302 is a UE (e.g., 1301) when the virtual-UE-ID is obtained from). The virtual UE management unit 850 of the positioning entity 800 may, for example, display the indicated proximity of the UEs 1301 and 1302, the processing capability(s) of one or both of the UEs 1301 and 1302, the UE ( based on the requested processing limit(s) of UEs 1301, 1302, reporting capability(s) of one or both UEs 1301, 1302, and/or requested positioning accuracy, etc), and that receives, from the one or more another terminals, fourth information that is based on the second signal, the fourth information including information on the second position measurement (see pars. 00154-00166 and fig. 13-14: UE 1301 sends location estimate messages 1472, 1473 to one or both of UEs 1302, 1303 indicating a location estimate 1471 based on which of UEs 1301-1303 is a location client); and a controller that obtains position information of the terminal based on the third information and the fourth information (see Par. 0181: “determining first position information at a first UE; and transmitting first position information and a UE group identification associated with the first position information from the first UE to the network entity. For example, PRS measurement unit 750 of UE 1301 measures PRS 1441 or at least a portion of PRS 1541, or PRS measurement unit 750 of UE 1302 measures PRS 1442 or Measure at least some of the PRS (1542). Processor 710 (e.g., PRS measurement unit 750), possibly in combination with memory 730, in combination with transceiver 720 (e.g., wireless receiver 244 and antenna 246), 1 May include means for determining position information. the UE 1302 may transmit the position information ( 1461) may be transmitted to the UE 1301 (operating as a proxy) or at least a portion of the position information 1562 may be transmitted to the server 400. UE(s) 1301, 1302 may be used, for example, to facilitate determination of a location estimate for VUE 1305 and/or to associate a location estimate with VUE 1305 (and members thereof). The VUE-ID of the VUE 1305 may be transmitted (in the same or a different message) in connection with the position information 1461, 1464, 1561, 1562. Processor 710 (e.g., position information sharing unit 770), possibly in combination with memory 730, and in combination with transceiver 720 (e.g., wireless transmitter 242 and antenna 246), may be configured to: It may include means for transmitting first position information and group identification. In another example implementation, method 1700 includes determining first position information at a UE; Receiving, at the first UE, a proxy indication that a third UE, separate from the first UE and the second UE, is a proxy for the UE group; and based on receiving the proxy indication, transmitting the first position information and the UE group identification associated with the first position information from the first UE to the third UE”.
Regarding claim 11, BAO JINGCHAO et al. teach a positioning method executed by a
terminal, the method comprising: transmitting, to a network node, first information related to first position measurement in inter- terminal direct (D2D) communication (see par. 00154 and fig. 13: Based on the proximity determination(s) and possibly based on shared capability information, one or more requests to form or join a virtual UE may be sent directly or indirectly to the positioning entity 800 ); receiving, from a network including the network node, a second signal that is based on the first information, the second signal including information on the first position measurement (see par. 00154 and fig. 13: Entity 800 may transmit a request 1326 to form a virtual UE containing UEs 1301 and 1302, or to add UE 1302 to a virtual UE containing UE 1301. request. Request 1325 and/or request 1326 may include the virtual-UE-ID of the virtual UE to be formed or the virtual UE to be joined by UE 1302 (e.g., if UE 1302 is a UE (e.g., 1301) when the virtual- UE-ID is obtained from); transmitting, to one or more another terminals, third information related to the second position measurement in the D2D communication (see par. 00154 and fig. 13: UE 1302 sends a virtual-UE request 1324 to UE 1301); receiving, from the one or more another terminals, fourth information that is based on the
third information, the fourth information including information on the second position
measurement (see pars. 00154-00166 and fig. 13-14: UE 1301 sends location estimate messages
1472, 1473 to one or both of UEs 1302, 1303 indicating a location estimate 1471 based on which
of UEs 1301-1303 is a location client); and obtaining position information of the terminal based on the third information and the fourth information (see Par. 0181: “determining first position information at a first UE; and transmitting first position information and a UE group identification associated with the first position information from the first UE to the network entity. For example, PRS measurement unit 750 of UE 1301 measures PRS 1441 or at least a portion of PRS 1541, or PRS measurement unit 750 of UE 1302 measures PRS 1442 or Measure at least some of the PRS (1542). Processor 710 (e.g., PRS measurement unit 750), possibly in combination with memory 730, in combination with transceiver 720 (e.g., wireless receiver 244 and antenna 246), 1 May include means for determining position information. the UE 1302 may transmit the position information ( 1461) may be transmitted to the UE 1301 (operating as a proxy) or at least a portion of the position information 1562 may be transmitted to the server 400. UE(s) 1301, 1302 may be used, for example, to facilitate determination of a location estimate for VUE 1305 and/or to associate a location estimate with VUE 1305 (and members thereof). The VUE-ID of the VUE 1305 may be transmitted (in the same or a different message) in connection with the position information 1461, 1464, 1561, 1562. Processor 710 (e.g., position information sharing unit 770), possibly in combination with memory 730, and in combination with transceiver 720 (e.g., wireless transmitter 242 and antenna 246), may be configured to: It may include means for transmitting first position information and group identification. In another example implementation, method 1700 includes determining first position information at a UE; Receiving, at the first UE, a proxy indication that a third UE, separate from the first UE and the second UE, is a proxy for the UE group; and based on receiving the proxy indication, transmitting the first position information and the UE group identification associated with the first position information from the first UE to the third UE”).
Regarding claim 12, BAO JINGCHAO et al. teach and show a positioning system in
inter-terminal direct (D2D) communication, the system comprising: a terminal; and
a network (see figs. 13-15), wherein the terminal includes a transmitter that transmits, to a
network node, first information related to first position measurement in inter-terminal direct
(D2D) communication (see par. 00154 and fig. 13: Based on the proximity determination(s) and
possibly based on shared capability information, one or more requests to form or join a virtual
UE may be sent directly or indirectly to the positioning entity 800), and that transmits, to one or
more another terminals, a second signal related to the second position measurement in the D2D
communication (see par. 00154 and fig. 13: UE 1302 sends a virtual-UE request 1324 to UE
1301); a receiver that receives, from the network including the network node, third information
that is based on the first information, the third information including information on the first
position measurement (see par. 00154 and fig. 13: Entity 800 may transmit a request 1326 to
form a virtual UE containing UEs 1301 and 1302, or to add UE 1302 to a virtual UE containing
UE 1301. request. Request 1325 and/or request 1326 may include the virtual-UE-ID of the
virtual UE to be formed or the virtual UE to be joined by UE 1302 (e.g., if UE 1302 is a UE
(e.g., 1301) when the virtual-UE-ID is obtained from). The virtual UE management unit 850 of
the positioning entity 800 may, for example, display the indicated proximity of the UEs 1301 and
1302, the processing capability(s) of one or both of the UEs 1301 and 1302, the UE ( based on
the requested processing limit(s) of UEs 1301, 1302, reporting capability(s) of one or both UEs
1301, 1302, and/or requested positioning accuracy, etc), and that receives, from the one or more
another terminals, fourth information that is based on the second signal, the fourth information
including information on the second position measurement (see pars. 00154-00166 and fig. 13-
14: UE 1301 sends location estimate messages 1472, 1473 to one or both of UEs 1302, 1303
indicating a location estimate 1471 based on which of UEs 1301-1303 is a location client); and
a controller that obtains position information of the terminal based on the third information and the fourth information, and wherein the network includes the network node that includes a receiver that receives the first information from the terminal, wherein the network transmits the third information to the terminal (see Par. 0181: “determining first position information at a first UE; and transmitting first position information and a UE group identification associated with the first position information from the first UE to the network entity. For example, PRS measurement unit 750 of UE 1301 measures PRS 1441 or at least a portion of PRS 1541, or PRS measurement unit 750 of UE 1302 measures PRS 1442 or Measure at least some of the PRS (1542). Processor 710 (e.g., PRS measurement unit 750), possibly in combination with memory 730, in combination with transceiver 720 (e.g., wireless receiver 244 and antenna 246), 1 May include means for determining position information. the UE 1302 may transmit the position information ( 1461) may be transmitted to the UE 1301 (operating as a proxy) or at least a portion of the position information 1562 may be transmitted to the server 400. UE(s) 1301, 1302 may be used, for example, to facilitate determination of a location estimate for VUE 1305 and/or to associate a location estimate with VUE 1305 (and members thereof). The VUE-ID of the VUE 1305 may be transmitted (in the same or a different message) in connection with the position information 1461, 1464, 1561, 1562. Processor 710 (e.g., position information sharing unit 770), possibly in combination with memory 730, and in combination with transceiver 720 (e.g., wireless transmitter 242 and antenna 246), may be configured to: It may include means for transmitting first position information and group identification. In another example implementation, method 1700 includes determining first position information at a UE; Receiving, at the first UE, a proxy indication that a third UE, separate from the first UE and the second UE, is a proxy for the UE group; and based on receiving the proxy indication, transmitting the first position information and the UE group identification associated with the first position information from the first UE to the third UE”).
Regarding claim 9, BAO JINGCHAO et al. also teach wherein the second signal is a
Sidelink Position Reference Signal (SLPRS) (see par. 00135: transmitting the position
information sharing capability of the first UE from the first UE to the second UE via sidelink
communication).
Regarding claim 10, BAO JINGCHAO et al. also teach wherein the receiver receives,
from a second terminal, information to request position information of the terminal (see par.
00154 and fig. 13: UE 1302 sends a virtual-UE request 1324 to UE 1301), and wherein the
transmitter transmits, to the second terminal, the position information of the terminal (see pars.
00154-00166 and fig. 13-14: UE 1301 sends location estimate messages 1472, 1473 to one or
both of UEs 1302, 1303 indicating a location estimate 1471 based on which of UEs 1301-1303 is
a location client).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643