Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16, 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (EP 3986018) in view of Miao (CN 114145047, machine translation is used).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a communication method for sensing measurement report, applied to a sensing receiver, comprising:
determining a sensing measurement report frame, wherein the sensing measurement report frame comprises timestamp information, wherein the timestamp information identifies a receiving time or a sending time of a sensing measurement frame ([0150], to generate a second location measurement report based on the sensing measurement signal omnidirectionally sent by the initiator station. The second location measurement report includes at least information about one or more incident directions in which the sensing measurement signal arrives at a responder station and a corresponding time of arrival, fig. 13), and the timestamp information corresponds one-to-one with a sensing measurement report result; and
sending the sensing measurement report frame to an access point device ([0151], fig. 13, send the first location measurement report or the second location measurement report to the initiator station; s306, s307).
Since a timestamp corresponding to time of arrival of a packet is normally unique, and there is a one-to-one mapping with the sensing measurement report. To further clarify this feature, Miao discloses the timestamp information corresponds one-to-one with a sensing measurement report result (Miao, [0057], the measurement result of the report one-to-one mapping with the reference signal, the mapping may be indicated by an explicit manner by indicating the transmission time point of the reference signal).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings as given by Liu with the teachings given by Miao. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain more effective and efficient measurement report (Miao, abstract).
Claims 8, 15, 16 are rejected similarly with claim 1 noting that Liu and Miao disclose processors, memory (Liu, figs. 17-19).
Regarding claim 2, 9, 19, Liu and Miao disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing measurement report frame further comprises:
a sensing measurement report control field, wherein the sensing measurement report control field comprises a first subfield to identify that the sensing measurement report frame comprises the timestamp information (Liu, [0109-111], the measurement report format consisting of time of arrival or timestamp information).
Regarding claim 3, 10, 20, Liu and Miao disclose the communication method according to claim 2, wherein the first subfield has at least one bit to identify a number of pieces of the timestamp information (Liu, [0109-111], the measurement report format consisting of time of arrival or timestamp information in multiple fields or multiple bits, TOA, TOD).
Regarding claim 4, 11, 21, Liu and Miao disclose the communication method according to claim 3, wherein the sensing measurement report frame further comprises a sensing measurement report field, wherein the timestamp information is comprised in the sensing measurement report field, and wherein a number of pieces of the timestamp information in the sensing measurement report field corresponds to the number identified by the first subfield (Liu, [0109-111], the measurement report format consisting of time of arrival or timestamp information in multiple fields, here the first subfield consists of TOA, TOD).
Regarding claim 5, 12, 22, Liu and Miao disclose the communication method according to claim 2, wherein the sensing measurement report control field further comprises a second subfield to identify a measurement setup identifier, wherein the measurement setup identifier corresponds to the first subfield (Liu, [0109-111], the measurement report format consisting of multiple fields including a setup identifier and multiple subfields).
Regarding claim 6, 13, Liu and Miao disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein in a case of non-trigger-based sensing measurement, the sensing measurement report frame further comprises an address of the sensing receiver (Liu, [0073-75], specific formats of the NDPA frame (non-TB mode) and the STA info field in the NDPA frame include receiver address or RA).
Regarding claim 7, 14, Liu and Miao disclose the communication method according to claim 1, wherein in a case of trigger-based sensing measurement, the sensing measurement report frame further includes an identifier of the sensing receiver (Liu, [0038-39], in TB mode, an associated ID of the station is used, the message of the measurement report comprises identifier of the receiver).
Conclusion
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474