DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites a judicial exception, is directed to that judicial exception, an abstract idea, as it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below.
Step 1: Claims 1-14 are directed to methods and fall within the statutory category of processes. Claim 15 is a medium and falls within the statutory category of articles of manufacture. Claims 16-20 are systems and fall within the statutory category of machines.
Therefore, “Are the claims to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?” Yes.
In order to evaluate the Step 2A inquiry “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?” we must determine, at Step 2A Prong 1, whether the claim recites a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea and further whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A Prong 1:
Claims 1, 15, and 16: The limitation of “generate…a model that…models a relationship…,” as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can examine end user data to make determinations about resource usage, prioritize resources based on some algorithm or metric, and sort that prioritized list.
Therefore, Yes, claims 1, 15, and 16 recite judicial exceptions.
The claims have been identified to recite judicial exceptions, Step 2A Prong 2 will evaluate whether the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2A Prong 2:
Claims 1, 15, and 16: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the following additional elements – “one or more processors” and “one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media,” which are merely recitations of generic computing components and functions (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)) which do not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, claims 1, 15, and 16 recite the following additional elements – “receiving…one or more specification limits,” “receiving…resource allocation input information,” “receiving…historical product information…,” and “displaying or storing…the model,” which are merely recitations of insignificant pre-solution data gathering activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) and insignificant pre- and post-solution data-sharing activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), respectively, which do not integrate a judicial exception into practical application and will also be addressed below in Step 2B as also being Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional.
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
After having evaluating the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that claims 1, 15, and 16 not only recites a judicial exception but that the claim is directed to the judicial exception as the judicial exception has not been integrated into practical application.
Step 2B:
Claims 1, 15, and 16: The claims do not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than generic computing components which do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Further, to the extent that “receiving…one or more specification limits,” “receiving…resource allocation input information,” “receiving…historical product information…,” and “displaying or storing…the model” are positively recited steps of receiving and sharing data, this would be insignificant extra-solution data gathering/sharing activity which is also Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network,” “iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, these additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Having concluded analysis within the provided framework, Claims 1, 15, and 16 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as non-statutory for at least the reasons stated above. The claims are dependent on Claim 1, but do not add any feature or subject matter that would solve the non-statutory deficiencies of Claim 1. Specifically, each claim simply clarifies details of the various claimed elements or adds further mental processes that are similar to those in claim 1. Claims 2-14 do not add any steps or elements, when considered both individually and as a combination, that would convert claim 1 into patent-eligible subject matter. Similarly, claims 17-20 do not add any steps or elements, when considered both individually and as a combination, that would convert claim 16 into patent-eligible subject matter.
Therefore, claims 1-20 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-5, 7, 8, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Markham et al (U.S. Pat. No. 8799113 B2, hereinafter Markham).
Markham was cited on the IDS filed on 10/03/2024.
As per claim 1, Markham teaches the limitations as claimed, including a method for characterizing a recipe of a production system for producing a product, the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, one or more specification limits of a product parameter of the product (Col. 38, Line 46 – Col. 39, Line 5; Figure 2, Element 108);
receiving, by the one or more processors, resource allocation input information (Col. 28, Lines 15-27);
receiving, by the one or more processors, historical product information for a number of batches, the historical product information including: (i) a plurality of historical actual values for the product parameter, and (ii) one or more historical target values for the product parameter (Col. 12, Lines 14-19; Col. 35, Lines 38-62);
generating, by the one or more processors applying the specification limits, the resource allocation input information, and the historical product information, a model that, for each of a plurality of proposed target values for the product parameter, models a relationship between the respective proposed target value and both (i) resource allocation impact information and (ii) process capability impact information (Col. 7, Lines 1-51); and
displaying or storing, by the one or more processors, the model (Col. 7, Lines 1-51).
As per claim 2, Markham teaches that the production system is a filling system, the product is a liquid, and the product parameter is either a fill weight or a fill volume (Col. 20, Line 17).
As per claim 3, Markham teaches that the product is a drug (Col. 12, Lines 3-10).
As per claim 4, Markham teaches that the specification limits are provided by a regulatory entity (Col. 12, Lines 3-10).
As per claim 5, Markham teaches that the specification limits include one or both of a lower specification limit or an upper specification limit (Col. 38, Line 46 – Col. 39, Line 5; Figure 2, Element 108).
As per claim 7, Markham teaches that the historical actual values for the product parameter include, for each batch of the number of batches, one or more of: raw data, a mean, a standard deviation, a minimum value, or a maximum value (Col. 12, Lines 14-19; Col. 35, Lines 38-62).
As per claim 8, Markham teaches that (i) the resource allocation input information includes one or more of: material input information, financial input information, labor input information, energy input information, or throughput input information, and (ii) the resource allocation impact information includes one or more of: material impact information, financial impact information, labor impact information, energy impact information, or throughput impact information (Col. 28, Lines 15-27).
As per claim 15, it is a medium claim with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
As per claim 16, it is a system claim with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/GREGORY A KESSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197