DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application filed Oct. 3, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Naserian et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0105925 (referred to hereafter as Naserian).
As to claims 1, 11-12, and 14, Naserian teaches a method, system and vehicle for dynamic regenerating braking of a vehicle, comprising:
sensing one or more parameters associated with a driving environment of the vehicle (see para. 15 and 29, upcoming deceleration event is detected);
adjusting by an electronic device a dynamic regenerative braking level prior to initiation of braking in response to the one or more parameters (see para. 29, amount of braking is determined prior to applying the brakes); and
resetting the dynamic regenerative braking level by the electronic device (see para. 60).
As to claim 2, Naserian teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the resetting the dynamic regenerative braking level by the electronic device occurs when an accelerator interface is re-engaged (see para. 60).
As to claim 3, Naserian teaches the method of claim 2 wherein the accelerator interface comprises at least one of an accelerator pedal, a throttle grip, and a machine interface (see para. 60).
As to claim 4, Naserian teaches the method of claim 2 wherein the accelerator interface comprises an accelerator pedal and wherein the accelerator pedal is re-engaged when a vehicle operator applies pressure to the accelerator pedal (see para. 60).
As to claim 5, Naserian teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising applying regenerative braking at the dynamic regenerative braking level and prior to resetting the dynamic regenerative braking level by the electronic device (see para. 59-60).
As to claim 6, Naserian teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the one or more parameters associated with a driving environment are indicative of a potential collision (see para. 17 and 54).
As to claim 7, Naserian teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the sensing the one or more parameters associated with the driving environment is performed using a vision system (see para. 17 and 54).
As to claim 8, Naserian teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the one or more parameters associated with the driving environment of the vehicle are associated with the driving environment in a forward direction of the vehicle, the vehicle traveling in the forward direction (see para. 17 and 54).
As to claim 9, Naserian teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the adjusting the dynamic regenerative braking level comprises adjusting the dynamic regenerative braking level a plurality of times prior to initiation of the braking (see para. 29 and 55).
As to claim 10, Naserian teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the electronic device is associated with a crash avoidance system of the vehicle (see para. 17 and 54).
As to claim 13. The vehicle of claim 12 wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle (see para. 35).
As to claim 15. The system of claim 14 wherein the electronic device is further configured for controlling applying of regenerative braking at the dynamic regenerative braking level prior to resetting the dynamic regenerative braking level.
As to claim 16. The system of claim 14 wherein the plurality of sensors include sensors associated with a vision system (see para. 17 and 54).
As to claim 17. A method for dynamic regenerative braking of a vehicle operated by a vehicle operator, the method comprising steps of:
sensing one or more parameters associated with a driving environment of the vehicle, the one or more parameters including parameters determined using a vision system of a vehicle position to capture the driving environment in a forward direction(see para. 15 and 29, upcoming deceleration event is detected);
adjusting by an electronic device a dynamic regenerative braking level prior to initiation of braking in response to the one or more parameters (see para. 29, amount of braking is determined prior to applying the brakes); and
resetting the dynamic regenerative braking level by the electronic device when the vehicle operator applies pressure to an accelerator interface (see para. 60).
As to claim 18, Naserian teaches the method of claim 17 wherein the accelerator interface comprises an accelerator pedal (see para. 60).
As to claim 19, Naserian teaches the method of claim 17 further comprising applying regenerative braking at the dynamic regenerative braking level and prior to resetting the dynamic regenerative braking level by the electronic device (see para. 29 and 60).
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669