DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6 and 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, lines 11 and 16, “in case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Claim 5, lines 10 and 13-14, “in case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Claim 6, lines 13, “in case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Claim 11, lines 11 and 16, “in case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Claim 12, lines 10 and 13-14, “in case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Claim 13, lines 11-12, “in case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080318577 A1 to Somasundaram et al. (hereinafter “Somasundaram”) and US 20240291609 A1 to Rao et al. (hereinafter “Rao”).
As per claim 1, Somasundaram discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for handling preconfigured measurement gaps during handover in a wireless network (Somasundaram Fig. 3 and [0060-0062]), comprising: performing a handover from a first network node to a second network node in the wireless network (Somasundaram Figs. 1, 2, and [0013] FIGS. 1-2 show an example of a possible handover (inter-RAT or inter-frequency) scenario. FIG. 1 represents the network state prior to a possible handover, where WTRU 40 is in cell 10 and is receiving signaling from eNB 30 and WTRU 50 is in cell 20 receiving signaling from eNB 60. In FIG. 1, WTRU 40 has moved into an area covered by cell 10 and cell 20 requiring a possible handover (HO). Prior to the HO, the WTRU 40 is configured to take one or more measurements, relative to cell 20, based upon measurement gap parameters specified by the eNB 30, examples of which are described below, according to measurement purposes, examples of which are also described below. Based upon the results of these measurements, eNB 30 will decide if the handover of WTRU 40 will take place.); deactivating one or more preconfigured measurement gaps (Somasundaram [0061] If timing information is maintained during a handover and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated or indicated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0062] If timing information is not maintained during a handover, and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated sub-frame number in the new cell or wait for an explicit activation message from the network with the sub-frame number to start the measurement gap in the new cell. In such case, in an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0063] During a handover, if any new configuration or activation parameters are sent during an existing measurement gap in the handover command, the WTRU may continue to use the old measurement gap parameters in the new cell unless they are explicitly deactivated in the old cell. Alternatively, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately indicated or calculated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighbor cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration.); detecting that the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps need to be activated after the handover is completed (Somasundaram [0061] If timing information is maintained during a handover and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated or indicated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0062] If timing information is not maintained during a handover, and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated sub-frame number in the new cell or wait for an explicit activation message from the network with the sub-frame number to start the measurement gap in the new cell. In such case, in an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0063] During a handover, if any new configuration or activation parameters are sent during an existing measurement gap in the handover command, the WTRU may continue to use the old measurement gap parameters in the new cell unless they are explicitly deactivated in the old cell. Alternatively, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately indicated or calculated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighbor cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration.); and activating the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps by transmitting uplink medium access control control element (UL MAC CE) (Somasundaram [0061] If timing information is maintained during a handover and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated or indicated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0062] If timing information is not maintained during a handover, and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated sub-frame number in the new cell or wait for an explicit activation message from the network with the sub-frame number to start the measurement gap in the new cell. In such case, in an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0063] During a handover, if any new configuration or activation parameters are sent during an existing measurement gap in the handover command, the WTRU may continue to use the old measurement gap parameters in the new cell unless they are explicitly deactivated in the old cell. Alternatively, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately indicated or calculated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighbor cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration.).
Somasundaram may not explicitly disclose, but Rao, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where measurement gap configuration/requests are transmitted using a UL MAC CE (Rao [0156]). The purpose of Rao is to reduce end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy, reduce overhead for configuration (Rao [0083]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roa with Somasundaram, to reduce end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy, reduce overhead for configuration (Rao [0083]).
As per claim 2, Somasundaram and Rao disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps is configured during the handover (Somasundaram [0063]).
As per claim 8, Somasundaram discloses an User Equipment (UE) for handling preconfigured measurement gaps during handover in a wireless network (Somasundaram Fig. 3 and [0060-0062]), the UE comprising: a memory (Somasundaram Fig. 3); a processor coupled to the memory (Somasundaram Fig. 3); and a measurement gaps controller coupled to the memory and the processor (Somasundaram Fig. 3 and [0016,0060-0062,0065]), and configured to: perform a handover from a first network node to a second network node in the wireless network (Somasundaram Figs. 1, 2, and [0013] FIGS. 1-2 show an example of a possible handover (inter-RAT or inter-frequency) scenario. FIG. 1 represents the network state prior to a possible handover, where WTRU 40 is in cell 10 and is receiving signaling from eNB 30 and WTRU 50 is in cell 20 receiving signaling from eNB 60. In FIG. 1, WTRU 40 has moved into an area covered by cell 10 and cell 20 requiring a possible handover (HO). Prior to the HO, the WTRU 40 is configured to take one or more measurements, relative to cell 20, based upon measurement gap parameters specified by the eNB 30, examples of which are described below, according to measurement purposes, examples of which are also described below. Based upon the results of these measurements, eNB 30 will decide if the handover of WTRU 40 will take place.); deactivate one or more preconfigured measurement gaps (Somasundaram [0061] If timing information is maintained during a handover and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated or indicated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0062] If timing information is not maintained during a handover, and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated sub-frame number in the new cell or wait for an explicit activation message from the network with the sub-frame number to start the measurement gap in the new cell. In such case, in an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0063] During a handover, if any new configuration or activation parameters are sent during an existing measurement gap in the handover command, the WTRU may continue to use the old measurement gap parameters in the new cell unless they are explicitly deactivated in the old cell. Alternatively, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately indicated or calculated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighbor cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration.); detect that the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps need to be activated after the handover is completed (Somasundaram [0061] If timing information is maintained during a handover and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated or indicated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0062] If timing information is not maintained during a handover, and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated sub-frame number in the new cell or wait for an explicit activation message from the network with the sub-frame number to start the measurement gap in the new cell. In such case, in an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0063] During a handover, if any new configuration or activation parameters are sent during an existing measurement gap in the handover command, the WTRU may continue to use the old measurement gap parameters in the new cell unless they are explicitly deactivated in the old cell. Alternatively, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately indicated or calculated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighbor cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration.); and activate the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps by transmitting uplink medium access control control element (UL MAC CE) (Somasundaram [0061] If timing information is maintained during a handover and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated or indicated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0062] If timing information is not maintained during a handover, and if no information on the measurement gap parameters is sent during the handover command, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately calculated sub-frame number in the new cell or wait for an explicit activation message from the network with the sub-frame number to start the measurement gap in the new cell. In such case, in an inter-frequency handover, the neighboring cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration. [0063] During a handover, if any new configuration or activation parameters are sent during an existing measurement gap in the handover command, the WTRU may continue to use the old measurement gap parameters in the new cell unless they are explicitly deactivated in the old cell. Alternatively, the WTRU may temporarily deactivate the measurement gap and reactivate it at the appropriately indicated or calculated sub-frame number in the new cell. In an inter-frequency handover, the neighbor cell list, if present, may need to be transmitted to the WTRU upon its entry into the new cell. If the WTRU does not receive the neighboring cell list upon its entry into the new cell, the WTRU will use its stored measurement configuration.).
Somasundaram may not explicitly disclose, but Rao, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where measurement gap configuration/requests are transmitted using a UL MAC CE (Rao [0156]). The purpose of Rao is to reduce end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy, reduce overhead for configuration (Rao [0083]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roa with Somasundaram, to reduce end-to-end latency for positioning and configuration, improve positioning accuracy, reduce overhead for configuration (Rao [0083]).
As per claim 9, Somasundaram and Rao discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps is configured during the handover (Somasundaram [0063]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are allowed.
Claims 3-6 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record Somasundaram discloses supporting inter-frequency and inter-radio access technology (inter-RAT) handover are disclosed. A network provides measurement gap parameters for configuring a measurement gap to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). The WTRU then performs a measurement based on the measurement gap parameters. Such measurement includes inter-frequency frequency division duplex (FDD) measurements, inter-RAT global standard for mobile communication (GSM) measurements, and inter-RAT universal mobile telecommunication system (UMTS) measurements.
Rao discloses handling positioning reference signals in a wireless communication system. The positioning reference signals may be assigned priorities that may be used to facilitate various operations of a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) such as positioning related services, collision avoidance, measurement and reporting, etc. The WTRU may be configured with multiple muting patterns associated with the positioning reference signals and may switch between different muting patterns based on the priorities of the positioning reference signals and/or other downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) transmissions that may overlap or collide with the positioning reference signals.
Somasundaram and Rao do not explicitly disclose a method performed by a second network node for handling preconfigured measurement gaps during handover in a wireless network, comprising: receiving, from a first network node in a handover request message, an activation status of one or more preconfigured measurement gaps; transmitting, from a centralized unit (CU) of the second network node to a distributed unit (DU) of the second network node, the activation status of the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps; performing at least one of: setting, by the DU of the second network node, the activation status of the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps based on the received activation status from the CU of the second network node; and transmitting a Downlink MAC Control Element (DL MAC CE) to activate or deactivate the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps; or setting, by the DU of the second network node, the activation status as deactivated; and not transmitting the DL MAC CE to activate or deactivate the one or more preconfigured measurement gaps.
Accordingly claims 7 and 14 are allowed.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476