DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-12 have been reviewed and are under consideration by this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.JP2022-063879 filed on 04/07/2022.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 10/03/2024 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 10/03/2024 has been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “A time/date adjustment apparatus” in Claims 1-11; “presenting the candidate time/dates in a terminal apparatus” in Claims 1,11, and 12; “an adjustment condition setting unit configured to set an adjustment “ in Claims 1 and 12 (and further dependents; “a time/date adjustment unit configured to perform adjustment” in Claims 1 and 12 ( further dependents) . The specification does provide corresponding structure of the “information processing system comprising: processing means for…” in Specification, [158]; “A part or all of each configuration, function, processing unit, processing means, and the like described above may be, for example, implemented with hardware by designing those with an integrated circuit, for example. Each configuration, function, and the like described above may be implemented with software by a processor interpreting and executing a program for implementing their respective functions”).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Guidance on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claim(s) is/are directed to statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong One – The claims are found to recite limitations that set forth the abstract idea(s), namely in independent claims recite a series of steps for the abstract idea recited below.
Regarding independent claim(s), (additional elements bolded)
Regarding Claim 1,
A time/date adjustment apparatus comprising:/ A time/date adjustment method performed by a time/date adjustment apparatus, the time/date adjustment method comprising:/ A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing A-a program causing a computer to function as:
an adjustment condition setting unit configured to set an adjustment condition template to be repeatedly used for adjustment of time/dates of different assemblies; and
a time/date adjustment unit configured to perform adjustment of an assembly time/date, based on the adjustment condition template, wherein the adjustment condition setting unit regards existing plans designated by an adjustment initiator out of the existing plans already registered in schedule information managed by an external system as booking frames, and registers an adjustment condition including designation of the booking frames in the adjustment condition template, and
when an adjustment partner performs access based on access information corresponding to the adjustment condition template, the time/date adjustment unit regards the booking frames satisfying the adjustment condition out of the booking frames as candidate time/dates, displays a time/date selection screen presenting the candidate time/dates in a terminal apparatus used by the adjustment partner, and in response to an operation of selecting one of the candidate time/dates of the adjustment partner on the time/date selection screen, determines the selected candidate time/date as the assembly time/date.
As drafted, this is, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, within the Abstract idea groupings of “Mental processes—concepts performed in the human mind” (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) as the claims are directed toward setting an adjustment condition template, perform adjustments of an assembly time, all of which are concepts capable of being performed in the human mind (i.e. via pen and paper).
Further the claims are directed towards the abstract idea grouping of “Certain methods of organizing human activity” — commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) as the claims are directed towards adjustment of time/date of an assembly (See Specification, [06]).
Step 2A, Prong Two - This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The independent claims utilize at least a time/date adjustment apparatus; A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing A-a program causing a computer to function as; an adjustment condition setting unit; adjustment condition setting unit; external system; displays a time/date selection screen presenting the candidate time/dates in a terminal apparatus; and time/date selection screen. The additional elements are performing the steps would be no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and/or amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Step 2B - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are just “apply it” on a computer. (See MPEP 2106.05(f) – Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception – “Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible.” Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 235) and/or amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding Claim(s) 2-10, the claim further narrows the abstract idea or recite additional elements previously addressed in the independent claims.
Accordingly, the claim fails to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, and/or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. Viewed individually or as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Connolly et al. (US 20180260790 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Connolly teaches: A time/date adjustment apparatus comprising: (Connolly, [45]; The apparatus comprises: memory configured to store a meeting invitation template that identifies multiple options for a parameter of a meeting; a network interface that enables network communications on behalf of the apparatus).
an adjustment condition setting unit configured to set an adjustment condition template to be repeatedly used for adjustment of time/dates of different assemblies; and (Connolly, [15]; the scheduling server 105 may create meeting invitation templates 130(1)-130(3). The meeting invitation templates 130(1)-130(3) may be unique to the organization and affiliated with common meeting scenarios. The meeting invitation templates 130(1)-130(3) may identify multiple options for a parameter of the meeting, such as duration, relative date range, relative time, required meeting attendees, location information (e.g., room), time zone, required documents, meeting name, web conferencing details/conference line/collaboration software, notes, internal pooled resources, etc. and Connolly, [17]; scheduling server 105 may create the meeting invitation templates 130(1)-130(3) in response to user (e.g., administrator) prompts/instructions. The user may define the meeting invitation templates 130(1)-130(3) with an easily identifiable name (e.g., “Customer Launch Meeting”). Upon the creation of the meeting invitation templates 130(1)-130(3), the scheduling server 105 may store the meeting invitation templates 130(1)-130(3) (e.g., in meeting invitation template library 125). The user may update the meeting invitation template library 125 with new meeting invitation templates as new invitation scenarios are determined.
a time/date adjustment unit configured to perform adjustment of an assembly time/date, based on the adjustment condition template, (Connolly, [23-24]; The scheduling server 105 may determine that the triggering condition for the meeting invitation template has occurred and, in response to the triggering condition occurring, send, to a meeting invitee, a scheduling page that identifies the multiple options for the parameter of the meeting. This may involve defining certain internal resources to be available for a meeting of a particular type… The parameter of the meeting may include, for example, purpose, time, and meeting attendees, as well as meeting service provider. In one example, the scheduling server 105 automatically determines an availability of the meeting invitee based on a calendar (e.g., calendar 120(2)) of the meeting invitee, and an availability of a meeting organizer based on a calendar (e.g., calendar 120(1)) of the meeting organizer. In this example, the multiple options for the parameter of the meeting include potential dates and times of the meeting during which both the meeting invitee and the meeting organizer are available.
wherein the adjustment condition setting unit regards existing plans designated by an adjustment initiator out of the existing plans already registered in schedule information managed by an external system as booking frames, and registers an adjustment condition including designation of the booking frames in the adjustment condition template, and (Connolly, [25-27]; an example publicly-facing scheduling page 300. The scheduling page 300 may be a configurable meeting invitation based on/generated from the meeting invitation template 130(1). That is, the scheduling page 300 permits the external meeting attendee to configure the parameters of the meeting in accordance with the options for the parameters that were identified in corresponding meeting invitation template 130(1). Thus, the meeting attendee may schedule the meeting based on the options for the parameters for the meeting, as defined in the meeting invitation template 130(1). In another example, the scheduling page 300 may be based on the create meeting invitation page 200…. The scheduling page 300 defines meeting criteria/attendees and allows the external meeting attendee to select a date and time (for example) for the meeting that is available for all meeting attendees. The external meeting attendee may make an application programming interface (API) call via software to display the real-time availability of all resources/meeting attendees).
when an adjustment partner performs access based on access information corresponding to the adjustment condition template, (Connolly, [25]; The scheduling page 300 may be a configurable meeting invitation based on/generated from the meeting invitation template 130(1). That is, the scheduling page 300 permits the external meeting attendee to configure the parameters of the meeting in accordance with the options for the parameters that were identified in corresponding meeting invitation template 130(1). Thus, the meeting attendee may schedule the meeting based on the options for the parameters for the meeting, as defined in the meeting invitation template 130(1). In another example, the scheduling page 300 may be based on the create meeting invitation page 200).
the time/date adjustment unit regards the booking frames satisfying the adjustment condition out of the booking frames as candidate time/dates, displays a time/date selection screen presenting the candidate time/dates in a terminal apparatus used by the adjustment partner, and (Connolly, [25-26] - The scheduling page 300 may be a configurable meeting invitation based on/generated from the meeting invitation template 130(1). That is, the scheduling page 300 permits the external meeting attendee to configure the parameters of the meeting in accordance with the options for the parameters that were identified in corresponding meeting invitation template 130(1). Thus, the meeting attendee may schedule the meeting based on the options for the parameters for the meeting, as defined in the meeting invitation template 130(1). In another example, the scheduling page 300 may be based on the create meeting invitation page 200… scheduling page 300 defines meeting criteria/attendees and allows the external meeting attendee to select a date and time (for example) for the meeting that is available for all meeting attendees. The external meeting attendee may make an application programming interface (API) call via software to display the real-time availability of all resources/meeting attendees).
in response to an operation of selecting one of the candidate time/dates of the adjustment partner on the time/date selection screen, determines the selected candidate time/date as the assembly time/date. (Connolly, [26-27]; The scheduling page 300 defines meeting criteria/attendees and allows the external meeting attendee to select a date and time (for example) for the meeting that is available for all meeting attendees. The external meeting attendee may make an application programming interface (API) call via software to display the real-time availability of all resources/meeting attendees (e.g., using calendar connectors). The external meeting attendee may select the most convenient time based on the display. Once selected, the external meeting attendee may provide any other meeting information and may invite others in the organization to the meeting… scheduling server 105 may receive a notification that the meeting invitee has selected an option of the multiple options for the parameter of the meeting, and redirect the meeting invitee to a meeting status page that provides a link to the meeting. For example, once the external meeting attendee schedules the meeting, the scheduling page 300 may redirect the external meeting attendee to a meeting status page 400, as shown in FIG. 4. The meeting status page 400 may provide meeting information, including a conference link 405 and conference line information 410).
Further regarding Claim 11, Connolly teaches: A time/date adjustment method performed by a time/date adjustment apparatus, the time/date adjustment method comprising: (Connolly, [45]; The apparatus comprises: memory configured to store a meeting invitation template that identifies multiple options for a parameter of a meeting; a network interface that enables network communications on behalf of the apparatus).
Further regarding Claim 12, Connolly teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer to function as: (Connolly, [46]; In another form, one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media are provided. The non-transitory computer readable storage media are encoded with computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: create a meeting invitation template that identifies multiple options for a parameter of a meeting).
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Connolly teaches: The time/date adjustment apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the adjustment condition setting unit sets an extraction span as the adjustment condition, and (Connolly, [15-16]; The meeting invitation templates 130(1)-130(3) may identify multiple options for a parameter of the meeting, such as duration, relative date range, relative time, required meeting attendees, location information (e.g., room), time zone, required documents, meeting name, web conferencing details/conference line/collaboration software, notes, internal pooled resources, etc… The date range and time may be relative to the date that the invitee opens the invitation. For instance, a meeting invitation may include a date range specifying dates and times for the meeting between Monday and Friday. However, if the meeting invitee opens the meeting invitation on Thursday, the meeting invitation may only display the meeting dates and times for Thursday and Friday. In another example, a meeting invitation may include a relative date range of one week, such that if the meeting invitation is sent on a Monday and opened on Thursday, the meeting invitation will display time slots between Thursday and the following Wednesday).
when the adjustment partner performs access based on the access information, the time/date adjustment unit regards the booking frames within the extraction span from a timing at which the adjustment partner performs access out of the booking frames as the candidate time/dates. (Connolly, [15-16 and 26]; The scheduling page 300 defines meeting criteria/attendees and allows the external meeting attendee to select a date and time (for example) for the meeting that is available for all meeting attendees. The external meeting attendee may make an application programming interface (API) call via software to display the real-time availability of all resources/meeting attendees (e.g., using calendar connectors). The external meeting attendee may select the most convenient time based on the display).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Connolly teaches: The time/date adjustment apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the time/date adjustment unit adds information related to the adjustment partner to the existing plan already registered in the schedule information corresponding to the determined assembly time/date and managed by the external system. (Connolly, [27]; The scheduling server 105 may receive a notification that the meeting invitee has selected an option of the multiple options for the parameter of the meeting, and redirect the meeting invitee to a meeting status page that provides a link to the meeting. For example, once the external meeting attendee schedules the meeting, the scheduling page 300 may redirect the external meeting attendee to a meeting status page 400, as shown in FIG. 4. The meeting status page 400 may provide meeting information, including a conference link 405 and conference line information 410. Conference link 405 and conference line information 410 may be embedded within the meeting status page 400. Conference line information 410 may be a unique conference line to allow the meeting attendees to call in to the meeting. In the event of subsequent changes to the meeting, meeting status page 400 may update accordingly, and the external meeting attendee may refer to this page for the updates).
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Connolly teaches: The time/date adjustment apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the time/date adjustment unit notifies the adjustment partner of the determined assembly time/date, and information related to a web meeting designated by the adjustment initiator for the adjustment condition template or the booking frame or information related to a place for holding. (Connolly, [27]; The scheduling server 105 may receive a notification that the meeting invitee has selected an option of the multiple options for the parameter of the meeting, and redirect the meeting invitee to a meeting status page that provides a link to the meeting. For example, once the external meeting attendee schedules the meeting, the scheduling page 300 may redirect the external meeting attendee to a meeting status page 400, as shown in FIG. 4. The meeting status page 400 may provide meeting information, including a conference link 405 and conference line information 410. Conference link 405 and conference line information 410 may be embedded within the meeting status page 400).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly et al. (US 20180260790 A1) in view of Jon et al. (US 20150347983 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Connolly teaches: The time/date adjustment apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the adjustment condition setting unit sets the schedule information designated by the adjustment initiator and managed by the external system… (Connolly, [25]; an example publicly-facing scheduling page 300. The scheduling page 300 may be a configurable meeting invitation based on/generated from the meeting invitation template 130(1). That is, the scheduling page 300 permits the external meeting attendee to configure the parameters of the meeting in accordance with the options for the parameters that were identified in corresponding meeting invitation template 130(1). Thus, the meeting attendee may schedule the meeting based on the options for the parameters for the meeting, as defined in the meeting invitation template 130(1). In another example, the scheduling page 300 may be based on the create meeting invitation page 200). Examiner notes that the initiator sets the proposed times and is managed externally by the meeting attendee.
While Connolly teaches adjustment condition setting unit designated by an adjustment initiator and managed by an external system, Connolly does not appear to teach to search target schedule information. However, Connolly in view of the analogous art of Jon (i.e. scheduling) does teach the entirety of the limitation: (Jon, [51]; the application identifies any scheduling conflicts and
proposes additional new times at which the invitees are available. Some embodiments display (i) the invitees that are not available at the currently scheduled time for the appointment, (ii) at least one upcoming time at which all invitees (and the organizer of the meeting), and (iii) upcoming times at which various subsets of the invitees are available. The application presents selectable items for each of these upcoming times, enabling the organizer to her calendar at the upcoming time).
the adjustment condition setting unit searches for the existing plans satisfying a search criterion set by the adjustment initiator out of the existing plans already registered in the search target schedule information, and (Jon, [51]; the application identifies any scheduling conflicts and proposes additional new times at which the invitees are available. Some embodiments display (i) the invitees that are not available at the currently scheduled time for the appointment, (ii) at least one upcoming time at which all invitees (and the organizer of the meeting), and (iii) upcoming times at which various subsets of the invitees are available. The application presents selectable items for each of these upcoming times, enabling the organizer to her calendar at the upcoming time).
the adjustment condition setting unit regards, as the booking frame, the existing plan selected by the adjustment initiator out of the existing plans as search results. (Jon, [52]; discloses analyzing the calendars of invitees to determine upcoming times for an appointment, some embodiments provide a new appointment feature that analyzes the past calendar history of a user in order to propose likely appointments for the user, with appointment details. When the user selects a quick appointment feature in the calendar application, the application generates
the set of likely appointments (second candidate time/dates). In some embodiments, the application provides a first option for the user to name an appointment which will be created at the first open time slot in the user's calendar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Connolly including adjustment condition setting unit designated by an adjustment initiator and managed by an external system with the teachings of Jon including searching target schedule information in order to determine what times best suit all invitees (Jon, [51]; the application identifies any scheduling conflicts and proposes additional new times at which the invitees are available. Some embodiments display (i) the invitees that are not available at the currently scheduled time for the appointment, (ii) at least one upcoming time at which all invitees (and the organizer of the meeting), and (iii) upcoming times at which various subsets of the invitees are available. The application presents selectable items for each of these upcoming times, enabling the organizer to select the time as a new time for the appointment, or to view the appointment in her calendar at the upcoming time).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, While Connolly teaches an adjustment initiator selecting times from existing plans and further templates, Connolly does not appear to explicitly teach a search function. However, Connolly in view of Jon does teach: The time/date adjustment apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the adjustment initiator performs processing of setting the search criterion and processing of selecting the booking frame out of the existing plans as the search results one or more times for the same adjustment condition template. (Jon, [163]; The GUI next includes a section 1865 for displaying selectable items representing times when all invitees can attend. In some embodiments, as shown, this section 1865 initially displays one selectable item 1870 for a time when all of the invitees can attend. Some embodiments use the earliest time starting from the current time, while other embodiments use the earliest time starting from the proposed time of the appointment. Yet other embodiments use the time closest to the proposed time of the appointment, irrespective of whether this time is before or after the proposed appointment. In addition, some embodiments only search for times during business hours (e.g., 9-6 Monday-Friday, or a different definition of business hours). Other embodiments do not mandate such restrictions, but rely on the invitees (or the organizer) to have marked off their respective calendars for availability only during certain hours. In this example, the application cannot access Sam's calendar. To handle such situations, some embodiments discount invitees whose calendar is inaccessible, and only search for times at which all of the other invitees (and the organizer) can attend).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Connolly including adjustment condition setting unit designated by an adjustment initiator and managed by an external system with the teachings of Jon including searching target schedule information in order to determine what times best suit all invitees (Jon, [51]; the application identifies any scheduling conflicts and proposes additional new times at which the invitees are available. Some embodiments display (i) the invitees that are not available at the currently scheduled time for the appointment, (ii) at least one upcoming time at which all invitees (and the organizer of the meeting), and (iii) upcoming times at which various subsets of the invitees are available. The application presents selectable items for each of these upcoming times, enabling the organizer to select the time as a new time for the appointment, or to view the appointment in her calendar at the upcoming time).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, While Connolly teach adjustment condition setting apparatus, Connolly does not appear to explicitly teach a search keyword. However, Connolly in view of Jon does teach: The time/date adjustment apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the adjustment condition setting unit searches for the existing plan including a search keyword as the search criterion in information related to the existing plan out of the existing plans already registered in the search target schedule information. (Jon, [192]; some embodiments allow the user to enter a text string describing an aspect of the appointment, and identify proposed appointments based on searching through the calendar history for matches on the text string. The text string might match the name of an appointment, a day on which the appointment was held, the name of an invitee or set of invitees for the appointment, etc. Once the user selects a proposed appointment in either case, the application adds this appointment to the calendar of the user, and the user can edit the details (e.g., change the time, invitees, location, etc.) before sending invitations to the appointment to the finalized list of invitees).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Connolly including adjustment condition setting unit designated by an adjustment initiator and managed by an external system with the teachings of Jon including searching target schedule information in order to assist in finding relevant meeting information (Jon, [192]; The text string might match the name of an appointment, a day on which the appointment was held, the name of an invitee or set of invitees for the appointment, etc. Once the user selects a proposed appointment in either case, the application adds this appointment to the calendar of the user, and the user can edit the details (e.g., change the time, invitees, location, etc.) before sending invitations to the appointment to the finalized list of invitees).
Regarding Claim(s) 5, While Connolly teaches an adjustment initiator selecting times from existing plans, spans (Connolly, [15-16]; date ranges for meetings), and further templates, Connolly does not appear to explicitly teach a search function. However, Connolly in view of Jon does teach: The time/date adjustment apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the adjustment condition setting unit searches for the existing plan within a search span as the search criterion out of the existing plans already registered in the search target schedule information. (Jon, [163]; The GUI next includes a section 1865 for displaying selectable items representing times when all invitees can attend. In some embodiments, as shown, this section 1865 initially displays one selectable item 1870 for a time when all of the invitees can attend. Some embodiments use the earliest time starting from the current time, while other embodiments use the earliest time starting from the proposed time of the appointment. Yet other embodiments use the time closest to the proposed time of the appointment, irrespective of whether this time is before or after the proposed appointment. In addition, some embodiments only search for times during business hours (e.g., 9-6 Monday-Friday, or a different definition of business hours). Other embodiments do not mandate such restrictions, but rely on the invitees (or the organizer) to have marked off their respective calendars for availability only during certain hours. In this example, the application cannot access Sam's calendar. To handle such situations, some embodiments discount invitees whose calendar is inaccessible, and only search for times at which all of the other invitees (and the organizer) can attend).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Connolly including adjustment condition setting unit designated by an adjustment initiator and managed by an external system with the teachings of Jon including searching target schedule information in order to determine what times best suit all invitees (Jon, [51]; the application identifies any scheduling conflicts and proposes additional new times at which the invitees are available. Some embodiments display (i) the invitees that are not available at the currently scheduled time for the appointment, (ii) at least one upcoming time at which all invitees (and the organizer of the meeting), and (iii) upcoming times at which various subsets of the invitees are available. The application presents selectable items for each of these upcoming times, enabling the organizer to select the time as a new time for the appointment, or to view the appointment in her calendar at the upcoming time).
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Connolly/Jon teaches: The time/date adjustment apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the adjustment condition setting unit regards the schedule information of a belonging member belonging to an organization same as the adjustment initiator or the schedule information of a site available to the belonging member designated by the adjustment initiator as the search target schedule information. (Connolly, [14]; In one example, at least one of the meeting attendees (users of client devices 110(2)-110(4)) are also associated with the organization, and the rest of the meeting attendees are external to the organization. For a variety of reasons, meetings occur between the meeting attendees associated with the organization and the meeting attendees external to the organization. In one example, the external meeting attendees are current or prospective customers of the organization. The scheduling server 105 may store information designating the meeting attendees as internal or external to the organization).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly et al. (US 20180260790 A1) in view of Chattopadhyay et al. (US 20130282833 A1) (herein after referred to as “Chat”).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, While Connolly teaches an adjustment setting apparatus, Connolly does not appear to teach a maximum number of people. However, Connolly, in view of the analogous art of Chat (i.e. scheduling) does teach: The time/date adjustment apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the adjustment condition setting unit sets a maximum number of people for booking as the adjustment condition, and (Chat, [45]; the application can recommend a group of possible invitees to the organizer consisting of the top ranked contacts. If the organizer has set a preferred, required, minimum, or maximum number of invitees, the application may only list an appropriate number of top-ranked invitees. The organizer can accept the recommended group, or make changes to it, such as adding or removing contacts).
when the adjustment partner performs access based on the access information, the time/date adjustment unit regards the booking frames in which the number of the adjustment partners who have made a booking is less than the maximum number of people for booking out of the booking frames as the candidate time/dates. (Chat, [57]; If the organizer specified a minimum or maximum number of attendees, then at 615, the application will determine whether these minimum and maximum numbers have been satisfied. If at least the minimum number of respondents or less than the maximum number of respondents accept (not counting conditional responses), the application may not consider the conditional responses. Rather, the application may only consider the accepting respondents present information, history, and preferences to determine whether to recommend updates to the event, as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Connolly including an adjustment setting apparatus with the teachings of Chat including a maximum number of people in order to provide a metric which allows the system to sort/rank potential attendees to allow for optimal attendees (Chat, [45]; the application can recommend a group of possible invitees to the organizer consisting of the top ranked contacts. If the organizer has set a preferred, required, minimum, or maximum number of invitees, the application may only list an appropriate number of top-ranked invitees. The organizer can accept the recommended group, or make changes to it, such as adding or removing contacts. The organizer may also change certain criteria regarding the event if he or she does not like the ranking and/or recommended group.
Conclusion
/JEREMY L GUNN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3624