The preliminary amendment filed 10/4/24 has been entered.
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS statements filed to date have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “wireless modules” in claims 1-8 and in particular, each independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, a transitional phrase such as comprising is missing in the claim which renders the scope of the claim uncertain and indefinite. In addition, the limitation “the control circuit” (penultimate line) lacks an antecedent basis.
The dependent claims 4-5 fall in view of claim 3.
For purposes of applying prior art, the above identified vague and indefinite claim limitations are interpreted to read on the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al., US 2017/0325115, (“Matsumoto”), in view of Chisci et al., US 2024/0155674, (“Chisci”).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto teaches “A wireless communication device (Fig. 5, eNB 200) comprising:
a plurality of wireless modules (Fig. 5, transmitter 210, receiver 220); and
a control circuit (Fig. 5, controller 230), wherein:
the wireless modules perform
wireless communication (paragraph nos. 0090, 0091),
monitoring a total transmission time of the wireless communication per certain observation period (Fig. 14C shows a “total transmission time” (channel occupancy time/transmission time) per certain “observation period” (LBT)), and
limiting the wireless communication when the total transmission time reaches a certain time (Fig. 14C, transmission stops when the channel occupancy time expires; see paragraph no. 0185, “On the other hand, when a predetermined amount of reception power (interference power) or more is not detected in the LBT period, the eNB 200 determines that the corresponding channel is free (clear) and performs transmission using the channel only in a predetermined period (channel occupancy time). For example, the channel occupancy time is in a range of 1 [ms] to 10 [ms]. The eNB 200 does not perform transmission in an idle period after the channel occupancy time elapses”); and
the control circuit performs determining a different start timing of the observation period for wireless module” (Fig. 14C, the start timing of the LBT period is changed – see paragraph nos. 0205, 0206 and in particular, 0205, “In the situation illustrated in FIGS. 14A and 14B, the controller 230 of the eNB 200A advances the start timing of the LBT period of the eNB 200A by a predetermined time as illustrated in FIG. 14C. The predetermined time is the time length of the LBT period or more”).
While Matsumoto teaches “determining a different start timing of the observation period” for a wireless module, it does not teach this determination “for each wireless module” as recited in claim 1 since the claim requires a “plurality of wireless modules.”
Chisci teaches that a base station may have a plurality of receiver (RX) modules 318, see Fig. 3 and base station 310. The base station is also configured to perform LBT and to transmit DL data during a channel occupancy time, see paragraph no. 0037.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Matsumoto by including a plurality of RX modules and advancing the start timing of the LBT period of each RX module as taught by Chisci to enable the base station to perform communications using MIMO.
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto teaches “wherein: the wireless modules include two wireless modules” (see Fig. 5) but does not teach “the start timing of the observation period of one wireless module is a timing at which 1/2 of the observation period of the other wireless module has elapsed.” Matsumoto does teach that the wireless module (RX module of eNB200B) of a second eNB200B delays the beginning of its LBT period by one-half of the LBT period of the first eNB200A, see paragraph no. 0205. The first and second eNBs are separate wireless communication devices and not a single wireless communication device as required by claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Matsumoto and Chisci by delaying the start timing of the LBT period of a second RX module by one-half of the LBT period of the first RX module to reduce the interference between the LBT operations of each RX module, as suggested by Matsumoto in paragraph no. 0205.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al., US 2017/0325115, (“Matsumoto”).
Regarding independent claim 3, Matsumoto teaches “A wireless communication method wherein:
a plurality of wireless modules (Fig. 5, transmitter 210 and receiver 220) performs
performing wireless communication (paragraph nos. 0090, 0091),
monitoring a total transmission time of the wireless communication per certain observation period (Fig. 14C shows a “total transmission time” (channel occupancy time/transmission time) per certain “observation period” (LBT)), and
limiting the wireless communication when the total transmission time reaches a certain time (Fig. 14C, transmission stops when the channel occupancy time expires; see paragraph no. 0185, “On the other hand, when a predetermined amount of reception power (interference power) or more is not detected in the LBT period, the eNB 200 determines that the corresponding channel is free (clear) and performs transmission using the channel only in a predetermined period (channel occupancy time). For example, the channel occupancy time is in a range of 1 [ms] to 10 [ms]. The eNB 200 does not perform transmission in an idle period after the channel occupancy time elapses”); and
the control circuit performs determining a start timing of the observation period” (Fig. 14C, the start timing of the LBT period is changed – see paragraph nos. 0205, 0206 and in particular, 0205, “In the situation illustrated in FIGS. 14A and 14B, the controller 230 of the eNB 200A advances the start timing of the LBT period of the eNB 200A by a predetermined time as illustrated in FIG. 14C. The predetermined time is the time length of the LBT period or more”).
Regarding independent claim 6, this independent claim is a corresponding apparatus claim of the method claim 3 and recites similar subject matter. As such, the rationale behind the above rejection of claim 3 applies with equal force to this independent claim.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Matsumoto teaches “wherein: the wireless modules include two wireless modules; and the start timing of the observation period of one wireless module is a timing at which 1/2 of the observation period of the other wireless module has elapsed” (eNB200A includes a RX module/receiver 220 and eNB200B includes a RX module/receiver 220 (see Figs. 14A, 14B), hence teaching “two wireless modules”; the wireless module (RX module/receiver of eNB200B) of a second eNB200B delays the beginning of its LBT period by one-half of the LBT period of the first eNB200A, see paragraph no. 0205).
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto.
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Matsumoto teaches “wherein the start timing of the observation period is determined to be different for each wireless module” (the start timing of the LBT for eNB200A is different from the start timing of the LBT for eNB200B (see Figs. 14C and 14B) and appears to implicitly teach the associated limitation “included in a same terminal group” (the eNB200A would appear to implicitly serve a first same group of terminals within its cell and the eNB200B would appear to implicitly serve a second same group of terminals within its cell).
However, assuming arguendo that Matsumoto does not implicitly teach the limitation “included in a same terminal group” as recited in claims 5 and 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Matsumoto by having each eNB serve a same group of terminals since this allows the cells to be sufficiently large to minimize interference between the two cells.
Conclusion
/WON TAE C KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2414