DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/854,113. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both claim a valve with a sealing liquid and valve membrane.
Claims 1-15 are also provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/854,112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both claim a valve with a sealing liquid, valve membrane and grooves.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapparini et al. (WO 2015/052650) in view of Anderson (US 2006/0131328).
Regarding claim 1, Rapparini discloses a pressure-relief valve, the valve comprising a main body (A) equipped to be fastened to a flexible package material, the main body having at least one through hole (6) forming a passage through the main body, a valve membrane (C) lying against the main body on a package side in a region around the at least one through hole, and a sealing liquid (pg. 4, para. 8) between the main body and the valve membrane. See Fig. 1A. Rapparini does not disclose polymer as claimed.
Anderson, which is drawn to a valve, discloses at least one component of the valve being made of a polymer composition comprising a water-soluble polymer. See [0038]. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have a component of Rapparini be made of a polymer composition comprising a water-soluble polymer, as disclosed by Anderson, in order to allow for a more disposable valve and have less waste.
Regarding claims 2-6, Rapparini, as modified above, sufficiently discloses the claimed invention. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the claimed materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7, a permeable membrane (7) secured to the main body to cover the at least one through hole on a product side opposite the package side.
Regarding claim 8, the permeable membrane is a fabric made of a polymer composition comprising a water-soluble polymer. See pg. 5, para. 3.
Regarding claim 9, a mouth of the through hole or at least one of the through holes on the product side is offset with respect to an outermost plane defined by a surface of the main body on the product side. See Fig. 1A.
Regarding claim 10, the main body has a system of ventilation grooves, with spacers between them, the mouth of the through hole or the at least one of the through holes being in a ventilation groove. See Fig. 1A-1D.
Regarding claim 11, the main body is cup shaped, with a bottom and a circumferential wall, the valve further comprising a fixing part fixed relative to the circumferential wall so that the valve membrane is sandwiched between the bottom and the fixing part. See Fig. 1A-1D.
Regarding claim 15, Rapparini discloses a package (F) for packaging food products, the package comprising a flexible, pliant packaging material as well as a pressure relief valve according to claim 1, wherein the main body is attached to the packaging material.
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734