This office action is in response to application filed 10/04/2024.
Claims 1-6 are cancelled. Claims 7-10 are newly presented in preliminary amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2025 and 10/04/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US 2021/0045017 A1) in view of 3GPP (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #107bis-e, R1-2200308, referred to as 3GPP from hereon, cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 10, Takeda discloses a radio communication system or method comprising
a terminal (see fig. 8, 115-b) and a base station (see fig. 8, 105-b),
wherein the base station includes a transmitter (see fig. 14, 1435) that transmits: a PDSCH configuration comprising a higher layer parameter to be used in the MBS, for indication a size of the DCI (see para. 0088-0090, 0094, discloses configuration including size of DCI);
wherein the terminal includes: a receiver that receives the DCI and the PDSCH configuration (see para. 0088-0090, 0094, discloses multicast configuration i.e. PDSCH configuration and receiving DCI); and
wherein the processor determines a size of the DCI based on the PDSCH configuration which is the higher layer parameter to be used in the MBS (see para. 0088, 0094, discloses higher layer parameter configuration include size of DCI).
Takeda fails to disclose but 3GPP discloses transmitting downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a group-common RNTI for multicast in a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) in which data is delivered for a plurality of terminals (page 4, section 5.1.6.2 discloses scrambling of DCI using G-RNTI), and
a processor that controls whether or not to enable at least any one of two or more transport blocks based on the DCI when the two or more transport blocks are configured by the PDSCH configuration comprising the higher layer parameter to be used in the MBS (see section 5.1.3.2 page 13 maxNrofCodeWordsScheduledByDCI indicates configuration enabling or disabling of any two or more transmission blocks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include scrambling of the DCI and controlling enabling and disabling of transport blocks as described by 3GPP.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow enabling multicast transmission by performing necessary configuration of transmission parameters.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of 3GPP as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Takeda fails to disclose but Gordaychik discloses the terminal further comprising a transmitter that reports to a network that the terminal supports the DCI (para. 0222, see also claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to report the support for DCI as disclosed by Gordaychik.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow notifying the capability to allow network to figure out the compatibility with the UE.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP – R1-2112471 (cited in IDS) explicitly discloses configuration of transmit block via PDSCH configuration and including the parameter in the config (page 11).
NISHANT B. DIVECHA
Supervisory Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419