DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/854,112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both claim packages with a valve comprising a though hole with grooves.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/854,106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both claim packages with a valve comprising a though hole with sealing liquid and a polymer that is water-soluble.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “package” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabounjian (US 8,066,433) in view of Overby et al. (US 6,070,728).
Regarding claim 1, Sabounjian discloses a pressure-relief valve, the valve
comprising a cup shaped main body (Fig. 2c), with a bottom (at 60) and a circumferential wall, equipped to be fastened to a flexible package material (20), the bottom having at least one through hole (59) forming a passage through the main body, wherein the circumferential wall has, on its outer surface, a plurality of indentations (56). See Figs. 1-2c. Sabounjian does not disclose a membrane as claimed.
Overby, which is drawn to valve, discloses a valve membrane (at 12 or 44) lying against the main body on a package side in a region around the at least one through hole, and a sealing liquid (46) between the main body and the valve membrane. See Fig. 3. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have use a valve membrane as disclosed by Overby in the valve of Sabounjian in order to better prevent gases to enter or exit the package.
Regarding claim 2, the indentations are arranged equally distributed around the outside of the circumferential wall. See Fig. 2c.
Regarding claim 3, the indentations (48b) are axially running grooves extending from a product-side end of a main body, with ribs between the grooves. See Fig. 2b.
Regarding claim 4, the outer surface of the circumferential wall, with the exception of the indentations, is cylindrical or slightly conical. See Figs. 1-2c.
Regarding claim 5, the circumferential wall comprises, on a package-side end face, an energy directing circumferential rib (portions between 48b). Fig. 2b.
Regarding claim 6, the circumferential wall comprises, on the package-side end, an outwardly protruding flange (46 or 56). See Figs. 1-2c.
Regarding claim 7, the outer surface of the circumferential wall has a structured section with the indentations and further has a smooth section axially spaced from the structured section. See Figs. 1-2c.
Regarding claim 10, as modified above, a permeable membrane (48) being a fabric is secured to the main body to cover the at least one through hole on a product side opposite the package side. See Overby, Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 11, the main body has a system of ventilation grooves (at 50 and 60), with spacers between them, the mouth of the through hole or the at least one of the through holes being in a ventilation groove. See Figs. 1-2c.
Regarding claim 12, a fixing part (Fig. 2b, at 48b) fixed relative to the circumferential wall so that the valve membrane is sandwiched between the bottom and the fixing part. See Fig. 2b.
Regarding claim 13, Sabounjian disclose a package for packaging food products, the package comprising a flexible, pliant packaging material as well as a pressure relief valve according to claim 1, wherein the main body is attached to the packaging material. See Fig. 1.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabounjian and Overby as applied above in further view of Helmer (US 2015/0284156).
Regarding claim 8, Overby does not disclose the material as claimed. Helmer, which is drawn to a valve, discloses at least one component of the valve made of a polymer composition comprising a water-soluble polymer. See [0028]. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have at least one component of the valve of Overby be water-soluble, as disclosed by Helmer, in order to be less pollution to the environment.
Regarding claim 9, as modified above, the valve is bio-degradable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734