DETAILED ACTION
New claims 46-65 are pending and examined on the merits.
See also extensive Interview Summary (attached).
The examiner has proceeded without restriction here. However, it is noted that in the closely related family application U.S. Serial Number 18247465 the following three (3) species elections for eye disorder was uveitis (here the base claim is expressly drawn to a subclass species acute anterior uveitis as one of two required options); lipid binding protein of CER-001 (also present here in dependent claim 52); and ophthalmic drug dexamethasone palmitate (DXP; also present here, last line dependent claim 55).
The examiner remains open to interview to advance prosecution on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103- Obviousness
Claim(s) 46-64 (method of use) and claim 65 (product, equally rejected based on the same prior art, even were there were no prior art recited with rationale for ‘implant’ for eye treatment, as ‘implant’ here is merely recited in the preamble with no further elements/limitations recited thereto in the body of the claim; thus under the old patent law tenet a product is product no matter what the preamble may call it without further elements/limitations claimed in the body);
comprising e.g. CER-001 as the lipid binding protein and dexamethasone palmitate (DXP) as the ophthalmic drug for the treatment of an eye disorder such as acute anterior uveitis;
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Santen (CA2653902; 12/6/2007) – directed to using dexamethasone palmitate (DXP) for the treatment of the elected eye disorder species uveitis (claims 61, 65, 82, and 86); but not in combination with CER-001;
in view of the prior art directed to CER-001 for the treatment of the eye disorders such as the species uveitis, as already of record (IDS) and applied by the International Authority in the related PCT written opinion – the entirety of which is incorporated by reference here, including the following relied upon references and passages –
- where Macregen and Roizman (cited in the related PCT above, see passages in each above) teach CER-001 for the treatment of the eye disorder species uveitis. But not ‘complexed’ with another opthalmic agent e.g. anti-inflammatory DXP;
further in view of Oculis SA (WO 2021001366), as for instant claim 46, teaching acute anterior uveitis is a known form of uveitis treated by dexamethasone (page 25, lines 18, 19, 24);
further in view of Green (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180050088) as for instant claims 47-49, teaching treating with dexamethasone (para 17), including palmitate (para 166) for treatment of eye diseases known to be associated with lipid accumulation such as corneal dystrophies (para’s 9, and 152); where the latter naturally comprise corneal opacity and where administering an effective amount of dexamethasone palmitate based on Green would naturally improve “contrast sensitivity” (vision) by reducing inflammation associated with the corneal dystrophy; and
further in view of Higuchi (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200030230) as for instant claims 56-64, teaching representative routes of administration for eye disorders such as uveitis and cataracts (para 88, 149) involving the anterior of the eye (paras 89, 167, 194) as instantly claimed such as intraocular injection options such as subconjuntival; implants such as pellets; and local administration by iontophoresis or electroporation (see e.g. para’s 27, 38, 68).
As a matter of law, "it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (here 3 known cancer agents), in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose." In re Susi, 169 USPQ 423, 426 (CCPA 1971); In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980). As a result, it would have necessarily been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the compositions taught in the prior art to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
Any further choice of concentrations, forms, routes and any further additives not expressly recited in the prior art combination in the old art of ocular preparations and methods of use thereof constitute merely routine optimization by one of ordinary skill in the art (see also MPEP 2144.03).
Regarding the ‘complex’, there is no definition found in the specification as to what constitutes a “complex” as claimed. Such could merely be an “associative” “complex” in formulation. Further, there is no structural “complex” found described anywhere in the specification as to CER-001 with DXP. By example, no structural identity of such a complex is provided per se (see e.g. 7.1.2 Example 4 DXP combined with CER-001). Thus, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, the combination of elected CER-001 and DXP for the treatment of a uveitis subspecies into a third composition is deemed prima facie obvious based on the references of record, as both are taught for treating a uveitis. The “complex” thereof could merely be “associative” in that third composition for treating a uveitis. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Thus, the instantly claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious in view of the prior art combination applied, advancing Santen in view of either Macregen or Roizman into a third composition for the same purpose of treating a subspecies of uveitis with a ‘complex’ of DXP and CER-001.
Double Patenting
Claims 46-64 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18,247,465 as teaching/suggestion the nearly identical invention instantly claimed (see further below);
in view of Oculis SA (WO 2021001366), as for instant claim 46, teaching acute anterior uveitis is a known form of uveitis treated by dexamethasone (page 25, lines 18, 19, 24);
further in view of Green (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180050088) as for instant claims 47-49, teaching treating with dexamethasone (para 17), including palmitate (para 166) for treatment of eye diseases known to be associated with lipid accumulation such as corneal dystrophies (para’s 9, and 152); where the latter naturally comprise corneal opacity and where administering an effective amount of dexamethasone palmitate based on Green would naturally improve “contrast sensitivity” (vision) by reducing inflammation associated with the corneal dystrophy; and
further in view of Higuchi (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200030230) as for instant claims 56-64, teaching representative routes of administration for eye disorders such as uveitis and cataracts (para 88, 149) involving the anterior of the eye (paras 89, 167, 194) as instantly claimed such as intraocular injection options such as subconjuntival; implants such as pellets; and local administration by iontophoresis or electroporation (see e.g. para’s 27, 38, 68).
By example, ‘465 teach/suggest a complex comprising CER-001 complexed with DXP, and teach/suggest that such may be used to treat acute, anterior, forms of uveitis, by way of any type of intraocular injection, without limitation, listing such examples of such known options as “for example” (see e.g. para 274 and 7.4 Example 4). More specifically, ‘465 teach/suggest treatment of endothelin-induced uveitis, which stimulates and immediate acute form of uveitis (see 7.4 Example 4 below). Likewise, ‘465 also teach/suggest where such may be anterior uveitis, of which the 7.4 Example 4 would reasonably be expected to be as no teaching away thereof is found in that section that such is not or that it is only in some other area of the eye.
[0274] In some embodiments, inflammatory eye disease such as uveitis (e.g., anterior uveitis, intermediate uveitis, posterior uveitis, or panuveitis), which may or may not be caused by bacterial infection, can treated by the administration of a composition comprising CER-001 and dexamethasone, a composition comprising CER-001 and dexamethasone palmitate, or a composition comprising CER-001 and tacrolimus. The use of such compositions to treat uveitis can be accomplished by administering a therapeutically effective amount of the composition to a subject in need thereof, e.g., an amount which reduces the severity of the uveitis (e.g., by alleviating one or more symptoms of the uveitis). The composition can be suitably formulated for the intended route of administration. Exemplary formulations are described in Section 6.1.9. For the treatment of uveitis, local administration of the composition such as topical administration or intraocular administration to a subject in need thereof is preferred. Intraocular administration can be by, for example, intraocular injection, for example intra-vitreal injection, sub-conjuctival injection, parabulbar injection, peribulbar injection or retro-bulbar injection. For topical administration, the composition can be administered, for example, as an eye drop. As shown in Examples 3 and 4, good ocular tolerance of such compositions was observed even with repeated administrations.
[ ]
7.4. Example 4: CER-001 Treatment of Endotoxin-Induced Uveitis (Severe Inflammation) in Rabbits
[0390] A study was performed to assess the ability of CER-001, with or without complexed dexamethasone palmitate (DXP), to treat endotoxin-induced uveitis (severe inflammation) in albino rabbits when administered topically or by single intravitreal injection (IVT). CER-001 vehicle and Solu-Medrol®, an injectable formulation containing the anti-inflammatory glucocorticoid methylprednisolone sodium succinate, were included as controls. Tolerance was assessed by the McDonald-Shadduck scoring system (see, Eaton et al., Journal of Ocular Pharmacology and Therapeutics 33(10):718-734) 6 and 24 hours after administration. Cell infiltration and protein content in the aqueous humor were measured 24 hours after administration.
Thus, the instantly claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious to arrive in view of ‘465.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Observations
Claim 46, subpart (a) and (b) should be put into standard Markush group language (selected from the group consisting of . . . a, b, and c) and the dependent claims 56-65 amended so as to still be further limiting. While the examiner is not raising 35 USC 112(b)/(d) indefiniteness/further limiting issues thereto deeming a PHOSITA would understand that base claim 46 requires one of the alternatives in (a) and (b) respectively, the later dependent claims carry overlap that should be cleaned up for consistency of flow from independency to dependency per accepted claim-formatting practice.
In claim 49, the symptoms (3) of corneal opacity capable of being treated should be amended into standard Markush group language, e.g. to reduce one or more symptoms selected from the group consisting of a, b, and c.
Conclusion
/MAURY A AUDET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654