DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Baum et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0142422.
With regard to claim 1, Baum discloses an embossed multi-ply tissue product with a machine direction axis and cross-direction axis (figure 8a) comprising:
A) a first tissue ply having a first embossed pattern (paragraph [0052] - the first embossing elements comprise linear elements which form a curvilinear pattern) an embossing pattern disposed thereon, the embossing pattern comprising a plurality of line elements substantially oriented in the machine or the cross-machine directions comprising a plurality of embossed elements disposed thereon [0052] (Fig 8A has elements 112 in the machine direction); and
B) a second tissue ply [0079 and 0094].
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Baum further teaches that the plurality of line elements have an axis of orientation that is ±5 degrees of the machine or cross-machine direction axis (parallel [0021] and visually shown by the wavey lines in Fig 8a being directed in the MD).
Regarding claim 4, Baum further teaches that the second ply having a molded topographical pattern (paragraph [0079], [0094]; Figs. 7, 8 - the elevated ridges 120 and valleys 122 surface texture is considered as the molded topographical pattern) and a second embossed pattern comprising a plurality of dot emboss elements (paragraph [0052] - the second embossing elements comprise non - linear elements that form discrete geometric patterns, such as diamonds) disposed thereon.
Regarding claim 6, Baum further teaches that wherein the embossing pattern disposed on the first ply comprises a plurality of substantially machine direction (MD) oriented line elements and plurality of substantially cross-machine direction (CD) oriented line elements (see figures).
Regarding claim 7, Baum further teaches that the substantially MD oriented line elements are continuous and the substantially CD oriented line elements are discrete (see figures).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Baum further teaches that the claimed patterns are possible and known (see figures with continuous line embossments and dot embossments both utilized in the claimed directions).
Regarding claim 10, Baum further teaches that the first and second plies have a basis weight from about 14.0 to about 30.0 grams per square meter (gsm) (paragraph[0087] - basis weight more preferably from about 50 to about 60 gsm).
Regarding claim 11, Baum further teaches that the product has a sheet bulk from about 8.00 to about 12.00 cc/g [0087], a basis weight from about 30.0 to about 60.0 gsm (paragraph[0087] - basis weight more preferably from about 50 to about 60 gsm) and a geometric mean tensile strength (GMT) from about 800 to about 1,700 g/3 [0007]".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0142422.
Regarding claim 5, Baum further teaches wherein the plurality of micro-embossments cover at least about 6 percent of the second ply outer surface (Baum teaches that the second embossed pattern can comprise from about 5.0 to about 25 percent of the surface area of the engraved roll [0066]).
Baum is silent as to the density of the micro embossments, but depicts them present in varied patterns in the figures.
By the showings of Baum to have micro embossments in the claims percentage of the ply and various options, there is a clear teaching that the placement and concentration of these dot embossments are a material of design choice as their density would only affect the desired visual pattern. Absent a showing of unexpected results that shows the concentration of dot embossments providing an unexpected physical property of the product it is being held that the selection of the design of the embossments falls under the category of an obvious design choice (see MPEP 2144.04.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being
unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,601,118, 12,281446, 11,987,934, 11,236,469, 11,795,625, and 11,255,049. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the primary difference in these applications and the instant application is the distance between the nonlinear embossments, which has been understood to be a design choice and an obvious variation on what has been taught by these inventions.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748