DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments (see pages 9-10) assert that cooling passages of Suenaga et al. (JP 2005146858 A) “discharges the entire amount of cooling air from the connected cooling passage to the outside of the b blade (see paragraph [0036] and [0041]).” and renders the modification of Starkweather (EP 1,361,337 A1) unsatisfactory for its intended purpose.
The Examiner has reproduced paragraphs [0036] and [0041] of Suenaga et al. below.
“The cooling air flows in the cooling passage 2 from the blade root portion 13 side to the blade tip portion 11a of the airfoil portion 11, turns back at the turn-back portion 21, and flows to the platform 12, and the airfoil portion 11, the platform 12, And flows to the discharge passage 3 and is discharged to the outside of the rotor blade 1. Further, the discharge port 31 is formed so as to flow on the outer surface 122 of the adjacent platform 12 on the airfoil 11 side, and the cooling air discharged from the discharge port 31 flows on the outer surface 122 of the platform 12. As a result, the connecting portion between the platform 12 and the airfoil portion 11, which is difficult to cool in the turbine, can be cooled from inside and outside, reducing the generation of thermal stress, resulting in deformation and destruction of the moving blade. Can be prevented. [0036]”
“In the moving blade 1B shown in FIG. 4, the cooling passage 2 formed in the blade root portion 13 and the airfoil portion 11 is connected to the discharge passage 3B formed inside the platform 12B by the platform 12B. The blade 1B extends to the rear edge 1Be side of the rotor blade 1B, and is connected to a discharge port 31B formed on the rear edge portion 1Be side of the platform 12B. [0041]”
The Examiner respectfully asserts that nothing in the above paragraphs require the entire amount of the cooling air provided to the airfoil to exit solely through the cooling passages to the platform. Further, example patterns of Suenaga et al. (Fig. 7, Fig. 8) provide for cooling passages in the blade that do not all terminate in the platform cooling passages as asserted by the Applicant in their arguments and would not render the combination “unsatisfactory for its intended purpose”; and a person of ordinary skill would be compelled by the teachings of Suenaga et al. to provide platform cooling from at least one of the internal passages of Starkweather.
Therefore, the Examiner must maintain the rejections of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starkweather (EP 1,361,337 A1) in view of Suenaga et al. (JP 2014043798 A).
Regarding claim 1, Starkweather discloses a turbine blade (12) comprising:
a first internal passage (40) that extends in a blade height direction (14 is the root, 28 is a radially outer airfoil tip; therefore, there must be a blade height and the internal passage extends therewith) and that is open at a root (14) of the blade;
a second internal passage (41) that extends in the blade height direction, is formed on a leading
edge side (20) of an airfoil portion (Fig. 3) with respect to the first internal passage, and is connected to
the first internal passage at a first turn-back portion (45, 50, 34) on a tip-end side (28) of the airfoil portion;
a third internal passage (42) that extends in the blade height direction, is formed closest to the
leading edge side (Fig. 3), and is connected to the second internal passage at a second turn-back portion
(52) on a base-end side of the airfoil portion (Fig. 3); and
a fourth internal passage (66) that extends in the blade height direction, wherein an end
portion of the fourth internal passage which is closest to the tip-end of the airfoil portion is connected to the second turn-back portion (Fig. 3).
However, Starkweather does not disclose, "wherein the third internal passage includes a third
internal passage opening portion for supplying cooling air in the third internal passage to a platform",
“a side portion cooling passage that is formed in at least one side portion of the platform in a
suction-pressure direction of the airfoil portion, the side portion cooling passage including a pressure side portion cooling passage formed in a side portion of a pressure side in the suction-pressure direction”, and
“a supply passage that allows the third internal passage opening portion and the side portion cooling passage to communicate with each other, the supply passage including a pressure supply passage allowing the third internal passage opening portion and the pressure side portion cooling passage to communicate with each other.”
Suenaga et al. teaches, in the field of cooling gas turbine blades ([0011]-[0012], Fig. 4), wherein
at least one of the cooling passages (Fig. 4, 3B) is connected to the third internal passage (2) of the gas
turbine engine, and supplies cooling fluid to the platform (12B), a side portion cooling passage that is formed in at least one side portion of the platform in a suction-pressure direction of the airfoil portion (Fig. 4 shows the cooling passages on both the suction and pressure sides of the platform), a supply passage that allows the third internal passage opening portion and the side portion cooling passage to communicate with each other (Fig. 4, they are at least communicated through the supply passage 2), wherein the side portion cooling passage includes a pressure side portion cooling passage formed in a side portion on a pressure side in the suction-pressure direction (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the turbine blade of Starkweather to have cooling passages in the platform that are supplied by
the internal passages in the turbine engine blade as taught by Suenaga et al., as both references are in
the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, "As a result, the exhaust
passage 3B is arranged in a wide portion of the platform 12B and cooling air flows through that portion,
thereby widely cooling the platform 12B where heat is concentrated, reducing the thermal stress
generated in the platform 12B and preventing deformation and destruction of the blades. [0043]".
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Starkweather and Suenaga et al. teach all of claim 1 as
above,
wherein the side portion cooling passage includes a suction side portion cooling passage formed
in a side portion on a suction side in the suction-pressure direction (Suenaga et al., Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Starkweather and Suenaga et al. teach all of claim 1 as
above,
wherein the first internal passage includes a first internal passage opening portion for supplying
cooling air in the first internal passage to the platform (Suenaga et al., Fig. 4; the Examiner notes that
there are supply passages between all of the internal passages to the platform),
the side portion cooling passage further includes a suction side portion cooling passage formed in a side portion of the platform on a suction side in the suction-pressure direction (Suenaga et al., Fig .4),
the supply passage further includes a suction supply passage allowing the first internal passage opening portion and the suction side portion cooling passage to communicate with each other (Suenaga et al., Fig .4).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Starkweather and Suenaga et al. teach all of claim 1 as
above,
wherein the second internal passage includes a second internal passage opening portion for
supplying cooling air in the second internal passage to the platform (Suenaga et al., Fig. 4; the Examiner
notes that there are supply passages between all of the internal passages to the platform),
the side portion cooling passage further includes a suction side portion cooling passage formed in a side portion of the platform on a suction side in the suction-pressure direction (Suenaga et al., Fig. 4), and
the supply passage further includes a suction supply passage allowing the second internal passage opening portion and the suction side portion cooling passage to communicate with each other (Suenaga et al., Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Starkweather and Suenaga teach all of claim 1 as above, further comprising:
a plurality of cooling holes (Starkweather; 74, 60) that are formed in a blade wall (Starkweather; 1, 20) forming the third internal passage, communicated with the third internal passage, and are open to a blade surface of the airfoil portion (Starkweather, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Starkweather and Suenaga et al. teach a gas turbine (Starkweather, abstract) comprising:
the turbine blade according to claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Starkweather and Suenaga et al. teach all of claim 1 as above.
However, neither the combination of Starkweather and Suenaga et al. nor any of the prior art of record; disclose, teach, or suggest:
“wherein a connection position between the pressure supply passage and the pressure side portion cooling passage is located father from an end portion on a trailing edge side of the airfoil portion in the platform than a connection position between the third internal passage opening and the pressure supply passage.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN C CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745