DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are pending and claims 17-20 are canceled according preliminary claim amendment filed on 10/04/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11 and 15 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei et al. US20240243875A1 (Mei: para. [0001] claims the benefit of priority under 35 U.S.C. § 120 as a continuation of International Patent Application No. PCT/CN2022/074465, filed on Jan. 28, 2022), hereinafter Mei in view of Yu et al. WO2022033555A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in EPO search report, with filing date 2021-08-12. Yu et al. US20250119320A1 is continuation of WO2022033555A1. Yu et al. US20250119320A1 is being used for citation and translation), hereinafter Yu.
Regarding claim 1, Mei teaches a processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to:
(Mei: Summary, para. [0036-0037] and Fig. 2 UE (user equipment) transceiver module 230, a UE antenna 232, a UE memory module 234, and a UE processor module 236, each module being coupled and interconnected with one another as necessary via a data communication bus 240. Para. [0037] hardware, computer-readable software, firmware, or any practical combination thereof)
establish a connection to a fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) network,
(Mei: para. [0045] (e.g., 5G new radio (NR), Next Generation (NG) systems, 3GPP systems, and/or other systems), only 8 and/or 12 demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports may be supported. With 8 or 12 DMRS ports, a limited number of resource elements (REs) (e.g., number of REs may be the same as the number of DMRS ports) may be communicated between the BS 102 and the UE 104 at a particular time)
wherein the connection is configured to utilize orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) type 1;
(Mei: para. [0046] two DMRS types supported, such as DMRS type-1 and DMRS type-2. Para. [0008 & 0049] DMRS is over single orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol)
receive a DMRS port indication configured to indicate one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE, (Mei: para. [0049] for uplink (UL) transmission (e.g., the transmission of the DMRS from the UE 104 to the BS 102), the UE 104 may receive an indication of the DMRS ports from the BS 102. The UE 104 can modulate (e.g., encode) the DMRS ports according to a length of an OCC (e.g., using an OCC of length 4) in one CDM group on one OFDM symbol. For downlink (DL) transmission (e.g., the UE 104 receiving DMRS from the BS 102), the BS 102 may indicate the DMRS ports to the UE 104)
wherein single symbol DMRS type 1 is configured to support up to eight DMRS ports and two symbol DMRS type 1 is configured to support up to sixteen DMRS ports; and
(Mei: [0067] In particular, as shown in Table 3.1, for DMRS type-1, up to 16 DMRS ports for double-symbol can be supported (e.g., 8 DMRS ports for each of the two symbols. Para. [0057] where up to 8 DMRS ports may be supported on one OFDM symbol, and up to 16 DMRS ports can be supported for double-symbol DMRS ports)
perform a transmission operation or a reception operation using the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE.
(Mei: para. [0049] for uplink (UL) transmission (e.g., the transmission of the DMRS from the UE 104 to the BS 102), the UE 104 may receive an indication of the DMRS ports from the BS 102. The UE 104 can modulate (e.g., encode) the DMRS ports according to a length of an OCC (e.g., using an OCC of length 4) in one CDM group on one OFDM symbol. For downlink (DL) transmission (e.g., the UE 104 receiving DMRS from the BS 102), the BS 102 may indicate the DMRS ports to the UE 104. Para. [0094-0095] and Fig. 15 (Mei: para. [0049] for uplink (UL) transmission (e.g., the transmission of the DMRS from the UE 104 to the BS 102), the UE 104 may receive an indication of the DMRS ports from the BS 102. The UE 104 can modulate (e.g., encode) the DMRS ports according to a length of an OCC (e.g., using an OCC of length 4) in one CDM group on one OFDM symbol. For downlink (DL) transmission (e.g., the UE 104 receiving DMRS from the BS 102), the BS 102 may indicate the DMRS ports to the UE 104))
It is noted that Mei does not explicitly disclose: wherein the connection is configured to utilize cyclic prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) type 1.
However, Yu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the connection is configured to utilize cyclic prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) type 1;
(Yu: para. [0004] cyclic prefixed orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform. para. [0179] CP-OFDM waveform, the system supports two DMRS configuration types: a type 1 DMRS and a type 2 DMRS. The type 1 DMRS supports 8-port DMRS orthogonality, and has a higher frequency domain density than that of the type 2 DMRS) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yu in the apparatus of Mei. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for DMRS ports in a same CDM group, an orthogonal cover code (orthogonal cover code, OCC) is used to perform extension in time domain and frequency domain, and orthogonality between different ports can be ensured, thereby improving accuracy of channel estimation (Yu: para. [0180 & 0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Mei teaches a processor of a base station configured to:
(Mei: Summary and para. [0036] of figure 2 BS 202 includes a BS (base station) transceiver module 210, a BS antenna 212, a BS processor module 214, a BS memory module 216, and a network communication module 218, each module being coupled and interconnected with one another as necessary via a data communication bus 220. Para. [0041] hardware, in firmware, in a software module executed by processor modules 214 and 236, respectively, or in any practical combination thereof)
establish a connection to a user equipment (UE),
(Mei: para. [0045] (e.g., 5G new radio (NR), Next Generation (NG) systems, 3GPP systems, and/or other systems), only 8 and/or 12 demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports may be supported. With 8 or 12 DMRS ports, a limited number of resource elements (REs) (e.g., number of REs may be the same as the number of DMRS ports) may be communicated between the BS 102 and the UE 104 at a particular time)
wherein the connection is configured to utilize orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) type 1; (Mei: para. [0046] two DMRS types supported, such as DMRS type-1 and DMRS type-2. Para. [0008 & 0049] DMRS is over single orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol)
transmit a DMRS port indication configured to indicate one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE,
(Mei: para. [0049] for uplink (UL) transmission (e.g., the transmission of the DMRS from the UE 104 to the BS 102), the UE 104 may receive an indication of the DMRS ports from the BS 102. The UE 104 can modulate (e.g., encode) the DMRS ports according to a length of an OCC (e.g., using an OCC of length 4) in one CDM group on one OFDM symbol. For downlink (DL) transmission (e.g., the UE 104 receiving DMRS from the BS 102), the BS 102 may indicate the DMRS ports to the UE 104)
wherein single symbol DMRS type 1 is configured to support up to eight DMRS ports and two symbol DMRS type 1 is configured to support up to sixteen DMRS ports;
(Mei: [0067] In particular, as shown in Table 3.1, for DMRS type-1, up to 16 DMRS ports for double-symbol can be supported (e.g., 8 DMRS ports for each of the two symbols. Para. [0057] where up to 8 DMRS ports may be supported on one OFDM symbol, and up to 16 DMRS ports can be supported for double-symbol DMRS ports)
and
perform a transmission operation or a reception operation using the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE. (Mei: para. [0049] for uplink (UL) transmission (e.g., the transmission of the DMRS from the UE 104 to the BS 102), the UE 104 may receive an indication of the DMRS ports from the BS 102. The UE 104 can modulate (e.g., encode) the DMRS ports according to a length of an OCC (e.g., using an OCC of length 4) in one CDM group on one OFDM symbol. For downlink (DL) transmission (e.g., the UE 104 receiving DMRS from the BS 102), the BS 102 may indicate the DMRS ports to the UE 104. Para. [0094-0095] and Fig. 15 (Mei: para. [0049] for uplink (UL) transmission (e.g., the transmission of the DMRS from the UE 104 to the BS 102), the UE 104 may receive an indication of the DMRS ports from the BS 102. The UE 104 can modulate (e.g., encode) the DMRS ports according to a length of an OCC (e.g., using an OCC of length 4) in one CDM group on one OFDM symbol. For downlink (DL) transmission (e.g., the UE 104 receiving DMRS from the BS 102), the BS 102 may indicate the DMRS ports to the UE 104))
It is noted that Mei does not explicitly disclose: wherein the connection is configured to utilize cyclic prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) type 1.
However, Yu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the connection is configured to utilize cyclic prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) type 1;
(Yu: para. [0004] cyclic prefixed orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform. para. [0179] CP-OFDM waveform, the system supports two DMRS configuration types: a type 1 DMRS and a type 2 DMRS. The type 1 DMRS supports 8-port DMRS orthogonality, and has a higher frequency domain density than that of the type 2 DMRS) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yu in the apparatus of Mei. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for DMRS ports in a same CDM group, an orthogonal cover code (orthogonal cover code, OCC) is used to perform extension in time domain and frequency domain, and orthogonality between different ports can be ensured, thereby improving accuracy of channel estimation (Yu: para. [0180 & 0022]).
Regarding claim 11, Mei teaches a processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to:
(Mei: Summary, para. [0036-0037] and Fig. 2 UE (user equipment) transceiver module 230, a UE antenna 232, a UE memory module 234, and a UE processor module 236, each module being coupled and interconnected with one another as necessary via a data communication bus 240. Para. [0037] hardware, computer-readable software, firmware, or any practical combination thereof)
establish a connection to a fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) network,
(Mei: para. [0045] (e.g., 5G new radio (NR), Next Generation (NG) systems, 3GPP systems, and/or other systems), only 8 and/or 12 demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports may be supported. With 8 or 12 DMRS ports, a limited number of resource elements (REs) (e.g., number of REs may be the same as the number of DMRS ports) may be communicated between the BS 102 and the UE 104 at a particular time)
wherein the connection is configured to utilize cyclic prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) type 2; (Mei: para. [0046] two DMRS types supported, such as DMRS type-1 and DMRS type-2. Para. [0008 & 0049] DMRS is over single orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol)
receive a DMRS port indication configured to indicate one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE,
(Mei: para. [0049] for uplink (UL) transmission (e.g., the transmission of the DMRS from the UE 104 to the BS 102), the UE 104 may receive an indication of the DMRS ports from the BS 102. The UE 104 can modulate (e.g., encode) the DMRS ports according to a length of an OCC (e.g., using an OCC of length 4) in one CDM group on one OFDM symbol. For downlink (DL) transmission (e.g., the UE 104 receiving DMRS from the BS 102), the BS 102 may indicate the DMRS ports to the UE 104)
wherein single symbol DMRS type 2 is configured to support up to twelve DMRS ports (Mei: para. [0053 & 0065 & 0070] FIG. 6 , for DMRS type-2, three CDM groups can be supported, with up to 12 DMRS ports supported on one OFDM symbol in the time domain)
It is noted that Mei does not explicitly disclose: wherein the connection is configured to utilize cyclic prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) type 2.
However, Yu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the connection is configured to utilize cyclic prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) type 2; (Yu: para. [0004] cyclic prefixed orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform. para. [0179] CP-OFDM waveform, the system supports two DMRS configuration types: a type 1 DMRS and a type 2 DMRS. The type 1 DMRS supports 8-port DMRS orthogonality, and has a higher frequency domain density than that of the type 2 DMRS) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yu in the apparatus of Mei. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for DMRS ports in a same CDM group, an orthogonal cover code (orthogonal cover code, OCC) is used to perform extension in time domain and frequency domain, and orthogonality between different ports can be ensured, thereby improving accuracy of channel estimation (Yu: para. [0180 & 0022]).
Regarding claim 15, Mei and Yu teach the processor of claim 11, further configured to: receive a message indicating that the DMRS type 2 is configured with multiple positions in the time domain within a span of a number of consecutive symbols. (Mei: para. [0053] DMRS type-2, when the DMRS is over a single OFDM symbol, the DMRS ports in at least one CDM group can include at least or up to 4 DMRS ports over 4 REs (e.g., either continuous or non-continuous REs within the CDM group))
Regarding claim 16, Mei and Yu teach the processor of claim 15, wherein a first position of the multiple positions is configured to support a first set of DMRS ports and a second position of the multiple positions is configured to support a second different set of DMRS ports. (Mei: para. [0053] and Fig. 6 DMRS type-2, when the DMRS is over a single OFDM symbol, the DMRS ports in at least one CDM group can include at least or up to 4 DMRS ports over 4 REs (e.g., either continuous or non-continuous REs within the CDM group). As shown, the non-continuous subcarriers # 0, 1, 6, 7 (e.g., the 4 REs of CDM group 0) can be used as one CDM group with 4 DMRS ports (e.g., instead of 2 DRMS ports for a single symbol). In this example, as shown in FIG. 6 , for DMRS type-2, three CDM groups can be supported, with up to 12 DMRS ports supported on one OFDM symbol in the time domain)
Claim(s) 2 – 4, 7 – 9 and 12 – 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei and Yu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al. US 20250119256 A1, hereinafter Matsumura.
Regarding claim 2, Mei and Yu teach the processor of claim 1, Mei and Yu do not explicitly teach: wherein DMRS type 1 is configured to support up to four code division multiplexing (CDM) groups.
However, Matsumura from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein DMRS type 1 is configured to support up to four code division multiplexing (CDM) groups. (Matsumura: para. [0205] UE may support a new CDM group for enhanced DMRS configuration type 1/2 (for example, Rel/18 DMRS configuration type 1/2). In this case, the UE may support at least one of the following cases 1 to 4. para. [0206] Eight ports may be available. Four CDM groups may be available) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Matsumura in the apparatus of Mei and Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for an appropriate number of DMRS ports can be used (Matsumura: para. [0009 & 0103]), and UE can appropriately determine a relationship between the DMRS ports and the CDM groups (Matsumura: para. [0211 & 0228]).
Regarding claim 3, Mei and Yu teach the processor of claim 2, Mei and Yu do not explicitly teach: wherein even indexed physical resource blocks (PRBs) of DMRS type 1 are configured to support two CDM groups from the four CDM groups and odd indexed PRBs are configured to supported two different CDM groups from the four CDM groups.
However, Matsumura from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein even indexed physical resource blocks (PRBs) of DMRS type 1 are configured to support two CDM groups from the four CDM groups and odd indexed PRBs are configured to supported two different CDM groups from the four CDM groups. (Matsumura: para. [0191] CDM group #0 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {1000, 1001, 1004, 1005} (includes “two even indexed and two odd indexed PRBs”), CDM group #1 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {1002, 1003, 1006, 1007}, CDM group #2 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {1008, 1009, 1012, 1013}, and CDM group #3 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {1010, 1011, 1014, 1015}) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Matsumura in the apparatus of Mei and Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for an appropriate number of DMRS ports can be used (Matsumura: para. [0009 & 0103]), and UE can appropriately determine a relationship between the DMRS ports and the CDM groups (Matsumura: para. [0211 & 0228]).
Regarding claim 4, Mei and Yu teach the processor of claim 2, wherein each physical resource block (PRB) of DMRS type 1 is configured to support the CDM groups. (Mei: para. [0076] DMRS type-1, one CDM group may include or be mapped to 4 DMRS ports (e.g., up to 4 DMRS ports) on one OFDM symbol, and up to two CDM groups can be supported on each PRB of one OFDM symbol) Mei and Yu do not explicitly teach: DMRS type 1 is configured to support the four CDM groups.
However, Matsumura from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: DMRS type 1 is configured to support the four CDM groups. (Matsumura: para. [0207 & 0190-0192] 16 ports may be available. Four CDM groups may be available. Mapping between the CDM groups and the DMRS port indexes) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Matsumura in the apparatus of Mei and Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for an appropriate number of DMRS ports can be used (Matsumura: para. [0009 & 0103]), and UE can appropriately determine a relationship between the DMRS ports and the CDM groups (Matsumura: para. [0211 & 0228]).
Regarding claims 7 – 9, Mei, Yu and Matsumura teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 2 – 4, and therefore apparatus claims 7 – 9 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 12, Mei and Yu teach the processor of claim 11, wherein DMRS type 2 is configured to support up to six code division multiplexing (CDM) groups.
However, Matsumura from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein DMRS type 2 is configured to support up to six code division multiplexing (CDM) groups. (Matsumura: para. [0193-0194 & 0208-0209 & 0234] Six CDM groups may be available owing to enhancement/addition of the existing two CDM groups) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Matsumura in the apparatus of Mei and Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for an appropriate number of DMRS ports can be used (Matsumura: para. [0009 & 0103]), and UE can appropriately determine a relationship between the DMRS ports and the CDM groups (Matsumura: para. [0211 & 0228]).
Regarding claim 13, Mei and Yu teach the processor of claim 12, Mei and Yu do not explicitly teach: wherein even indexed physical resource blocks (PRBs) of DMRS type 2 are configured to support three CDM groups from the six CDM groups and odd indexed PRBs are configured to supported three different CDM groups from the six CDM groups.
However, Matsumura from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein even indexed physical resource blocks (PRBs) of DMRS type 2 are configured to support three CDM groups from the six CDM groups and odd indexed PRBs are configured to supported three different CDM groups from the six CDM groups.
(Matsumura: para. [0208] Six CDM groups may be available. FIG. 10 shows an example of a new DMRS port table. For the PUSCH, CDM group #0 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {0, 1}, CDM group #1 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {2, 3}, CDM group #2 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {4, 5}, CDM group #3 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {6, 7}, CDM group #4 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {8, 9}, and CDM group #5 may correspond to the DMRS port indexes {10, 11}) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Matsumura in the apparatus of Mei and Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for an appropriate number of DMRS ports can be used (Matsumura: para. [0009 & 0103]), and UE can appropriately determine a relationship between the DMRS ports and the CDM groups (Matsumura: para. [0211 & 0228]).
Regarding claim 14, Mei and Yu teach the processor of claim 12, wherein each physical resource block (PRB) of DMRS type 2 is configured to support the CDM groups. (Mei: para. [0048] the DMRS pattern for DMRS type-2 within one PRB (e.g., one column) in the case when two front loaded DMRS symbols may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling or indicated by DCI signaling)
Mei and Yu do not explicitly teach: DMRS type 2 is configured to support the six CDM groups.
However, Matsumura from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: DMRS type 2 is configured to support the six CDM groups. (Matsumura: para. [0208-0209 & 0193-0194] Six CDM groups may be available owing to enhancement/addition of the existing two CDM groups) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Matsumura in the apparatus of Mei and Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for an appropriate number of DMRS ports can be used (Matsumura: para. [0009 & 0103]), and UE can appropriately determine a relationship between the DMRS ports and the CDM groups (Matsumura: para. [0211 & 0228]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Yoon US 20180278395 A1 [0100] The examples of FIG. 3 may correspond to detailed examples similar to the DMRS pattern of (a) of the FIG. 1. That is, basically, in the DMRS pattern of FIG. 3, CDM groups #A and #B, which are distinguished according to the FDM scheme, may be mapped onto a first symbol.
Varatharaajan et al. US 20250184055 A1 teaches in para. [0059] A DMRS configuration type determines the density of DMRS allocation in the frequency domain. In particular, DMRS configuration type 1 occupies 50% and DMRS configuration type 2 occupies 33.3% of the REs of the OFDM symbols carrying DMRS. In other words, for configuration type 1, every 2nd RE is used to carry DMRS, while in configuration type 2 every 3rd pair of REs are allocated to DMRS. Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC) is used for the code-division-multiplexing of the ports within a given CDM group.
Xiao et al. US 20240243878 A1 teaches each CDM Group includes 6 REs per PRB, and each CDM Group may transmit DMRS on at most NI ports, the NI ports are distinguished by CDMs, where NI is at most 2 when the CDM Groups include one DMRS symbol, and NI is at most 4 when the CDM Groups include two DMRS symbols. FIG. 2 is a pattern with lower density of REs designed for ports 0 and 1 when the number of transmission layers is less than or equal to 2, i.e., a RE pattern design on the code division multiplexing group 0.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418