DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-7 and 11-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/22/2026.
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-7 and 11-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/22/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an electrical heating device in claim l.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bergan et al. (US 20210172685A1) in view of Savic et al. (WO 2020254001A1).
Bergan discloses (figure 12) an energy storage device comprising a plurality of thermal energy storage units (a-e) which each comprise a thermal storage element made of a solid material (paragraph 1), for storing thermal energy; and electrical heating device for heating the thermal storage element by means of electric energy (paragraph 2); and a conduit (lines ma-mb go through units a-e shown in figure 6) which is adapted to guide a fluid through or along the thermal storage element, in order to transfer thermal energy from the thermal storage element to the fluid; wherein at least two of the thermal energy storage units are connected in series, such that the fluid can be guided serially through the conduits of these thermal energy storage unit (when valves valve are closed); and wherein a bypass conduit (conduit equipped with valves va2-ve2) is provided which allows the fluid to bypass at least one thermal energy storage unit of the at least two serial connected thermal energy storage units (paragraphs 96- 97). Regarding claim 1, Bergan et al. does not disclose that the electrical heating device is a resistive heater. Savic et al. discloses (figure 14) a resistive heater (53), which is a well-known type of heater to provide heat by using electricity. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Savic’s teaching in Bergan’s device for a purpose of providing heat by using electricity to the thermal storage material. .
Regarding claim 2, .Bergan discloses (figure 12 and paragraphs 96- 97) the at least one thermal energy storage unit (a) which is allowed to be bypassed by the fluid by means of the bypass conduit is arranged upstream of at least another thermal energy storage unit (b) of the at least two serial connected thermal energy storage units.
Regarding claim 3, Bergan discloses (figure 21, paragraphs 108 and 113) that at least one thermal energy storage unit (b) is connected in parallel to at least one thermal energy storage unit (a) of the at least two serially connected thermal energy storage unit.
Regarding claim 4, Bergan discloses (figure 21, paragraphs 108 and 113) three (a,b,c) or four serially connected thermal energy storage unit (a,b,c,d), which can be bypassed by means of the bypassed conduit in such a way that, in the case of three serially connected thermal energy storage unit, both one and two thermal energy storage unit can be bypassed as required, or in the case of four serially connected thermal energy storage unit, both one, two and three thermal energy storage units can be bypassed as required.
Regarding claim 8, Bergan substantially discloses all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that a heat transfer material, which is arranged between a conduit and the thermal storage element of one or more of the plurality of thermal energy units, and which is adapted to dimensionally compensate for differential thermal expansion of the conduit and the thermal storage element. Savic discloses (figures 3a-4) an energy storage device that has a heat transfer material (electric insulation 7) such as AIN and SiN or SiC (same material as applicant’s heat transfer material), arranged between a conduit (4, 41) and a thermal storage material (3), which is capable of dimensional compensating for different thermal expansion of the conduit and the thermal storage material for a purpose of preventing a bypass of current within the channel during the charging process. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Savic’ teaching in Bergan’s device for a purpose of preventing a bypass of current within the channel during the charging process.
Claims 1-4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergan et al. (US 20210172685A1) in view of Keefe Richard (US 4, 621,251A).
Bergan et al. discloses (figure 12) an energy storage device comprising a plurality of thermal energy storage units (a-e) which each comprise a thermal storage element made of a solid material (paragraph 1), for storing thermal energy; and electrical heating device for heating the thermal storage element by means of electric energy (paragraph 2); and a conduit (lines ma-mb go through units a-e shown in figure 6) which is adapted to guide a fluid through or along the thermal storage element, in order to transfer thermal energy from the thermal storage element to the fluid; wherein at least two of the thermal energy storage units are connected in series, such that the fluid can be guided serially through the conduits of these thermal energy storage unit (when valves valve are closed); and wherein a bypass conduit (conduit equipped with valves va2-ve2) is provided which allows the fluid to bypass at least one thermal energy storage unit of the at least two serial connected thermal energy storage units (paragraphs 96- 97). Regarding claim 1, Bergan et al. does not disclose that the electrical heating device is a resistive heater. Keefe Richard et al. discloses (figures 1-2 ) an improved resistive heater (1, 4), which is a well-known type of heater to provide rapid heating with maximum efficiency (column 4, lines 3-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Keefe’s teaching in Bergan’s device for a purpose of providing rapid heating with maximum efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, .Bergan discloses (figure 12 and paragraphs 96- 97) the at least one thermal energy storage unit (a) which is allowed to be bypassed by the fluid by means of the bypass conduit is arranged upstream of at least another thermal energy storage unit (b) of the at least two serial connected thermal energy storage units.
Regarding claim 3, Bergan discloses (figure 21, paragraphs 108 and 113) that at least one thermal energy storage unit (b) is connected in parallel to at least one thermal energy storage unit (a) of the at least two serially connected thermal energy storage unit.
Regarding claim 4, Bergan discloses (figure 21, paragraphs 108 and 113) three (a,b,c) or four serially connected thermal energy storage unit (a,b,c,d), which can be bypassed by means of the bypassed conduit in such a way that, in the case of three serially connected thermal energy storage unit, both one and two thermal energy storage unit can be bypassed as required, or in the case of four serially connected thermal energy storage unit, both one, two and three thermal energy storage units can be bypassed as required.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Bergan does not disclose a detail to the electric heating device that comprises a ceramic tube with a main longitudinal center axis and an electric wire, which is spirally wound around the main longitudinal axis inside or outside of the ceramic tube (claim 9) and a field shield partially or completely surrounding the ceramic tube is provided in the region of each end of the spirally wound electric wire (claim 10). Keefe Richard et al. discloses (figures 1-2 ) an improved resistive heater (1, 4), which is a well-known type of heater, that comprises a ceramic tube (1) with a main longitudinal center axis and an electric wire (4), which is spirally wound around the main longitudinal axis inside or outside of the ceramic tube (claim 9) and a field shield (3) partially or completely surrounding the ceramic tube is provided in the region of each end of the spirally wound electric wire (wire) for a purpose of providing rapid heating with maximum efficiency (column 4, lines 3-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Keefe’s teaching in Bergan’s device for a purpose of providing rapid heating with maximum efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salmelin P (WO 9114906A) discloses a heat storage means..
Hiebler Stefan (DE 102011085722B1) discloses a latent heat storage.
Best (EP 3511667B1) discloses a latent heat storage.
Bergan (CA 2837669A1) discloses thermal energy storage.
/THO V DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763