DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, Claim 1, lines 1-2, is rejected since it is not clear how the “circuit breaker” comprises “a plurality of breaking units.”
Regarding Claim 1, line 2, it is not clear what is meant by the term “units.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoden Corp. (JP Pat. No. JP3113266 U, hereinafter “Shoden”) in view of Horinouchi et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0265831 A1, hereinafter “Horinouchi”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Shoden discloses a circuit breaker comprising a plurality of breaking units (see, e .g., FIGS. 1-3) each of which is configured to interrupt a current flowing (inherently disclosed), and a housing including a plurality of slots in which the respective breaking units are inserted (see, e.g., FIGS. 3 and 5). Shoden does not disclose the claimed (i) two directions, and (ii) circuit.
However, Horinouchi discloses (i) units each of which is configured to interrupt a current flowing in each of two directions among a plurality of directions (i.e., two directions; FIG. 2, ¶ [0037]), and (ii) that the housing houses a circuit in which each of the plurality of breaking units is coupled between points of different lines in a corresponding slot among the plurality of slots (FIG. 2; ¶¶ [0035] - [0037]), and wherein the different lines are in association with the two directions related with each of the plurality of breaking units (FIG. 2; ¶¶ [0035] - [0037]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Horinouchi with those of Shoden to provide fast switching protection for multidirectional current flow.
Regarding Claim 2, Horinouchi discloses that each of the plurality of breaking units includes circuits each of which is configured to interrupt the current flowing in one direction, the circuits being connected in series in opposite directions such that the current flowing in each of the two directions is interrupted (FIG. 2; ¶ [0037]).
Claim 5 includes language substantially similar to that of Claim 1 and is rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above with respect to Claim 1.
Conclusion
Garrasi (U.S. Pat. No. 10,862,277 B1) discloses an electric power distribution system for securely transferring electrical power and data to a plurality of outlets or loads via bus bars and a plurality of output modules by using a non-mechanical breaker (see, e.g., Claim 1 of Garrasi).
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831