DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/04/2024 and 12/15/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato FUJISHIRO (2024/0237143), FUJISHIRO143 hereinafter, in view of FUJISHIRO et al. (2024/0357322), FUJISHIRO322 hereinafter.
Re. claim 1, FUJISHIRO143 teaches a processor (Fig. 2, 130) of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2/Fig. 19, UE 100) configured to: transmit a request to a network indicating an interest to receive a multicast and broadcast services (MBS) broadcast from a serving cell of the network (Fig.10 & ¶0115 - The MBS-related information transmitted by the UE 100 to the MCG 201A/PCell 202A may be an MBS Interest Indication (MII) for the MBS session that UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving. Fig. 19 & ¶0172 - In step S402, the UE 100 transmits, to the MCG 201A/PCell 202A, the MII indicating that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving the MBS session provided from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B), wherein the request includes identifying information for the serving cell including a cell index or frequency (Fig. 10 & ¶0115 - The MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of MBS session information indicating the MBS session that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving, frequency-related information regarding the frequency at which the MBS session is provided, and priority information indicating whether the UE 100 gives priority to MBS reception or unicast reception. Fig. 19 & ¶0172 - For example, the MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of the MBS session information, the frequency and cell ID of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, and information regarding whether the MBS session reception in the SCG 201B/SCell 202B is prioritized (for example, whether the same service can be received in the MCG 201A/PCell 202A.);
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 does not expressly teach determine whether a network response is received prior to expiration of a timer duration; when the network response is received before the expiration of the timer duration, acquire information for receiving the MBS broadcast from the serving cell; and when the network response is not received before the expiry of the timer, perform operations triggered by the expiry of the timer.
However, in the analogous art, FUJISHIRO322 explicitly discloses determine whether a network response is received prior to expiration of a timer duration (Fig. 6-20 & ¶0109 - the configuration information transmitted from the gNB 200 to the UE 100 includes prohibition time configuration information (so-called prohibition timer value) for configuring a prohibition time from when an n-th (n≥1) MII is transmitted to when an (n+1)-th MII can be transmitted. The UE 100 transmits a current MII in response to the prohibition time configured by the prohibition time configuration information elapsing (that is, expiration of the prohibition timer) from when a previous MII has been transmitted. Fig. 6-20 & ¶0112 - after transmitting a previous MII in response to a trigger condition of a type indicated by the trigger type information (hereinafter referred to as a “specific trigger condition”) being satisfied, the UE 100 transmits a current MII in response to the prohibition time associated with the specific trigger condition (i.e., expiration of the prohibition timer) elapsing and the specific trigger condition being satisfied. Fig. 14 & ¶0123 - when the transmission trigger event that has occurred in step S23 corresponds to the specific trigger condition (YES in step S24), the UE 100 determines, in step S25, whether or not the prohibition timer associated with the specific trigger condition has expired.); when the network response is received before the expiration of the timer duration, acquire information for receiving the MBS broadcast from the serving cell (Fig. 14 & ¶0124 - When the prohibition timer has not expired, i.e., when the prohibition timer is running (NO in step S25), the UE 100 ignores the transmission trigger event that has occurred in step S23 and does not perform MII transmission processing in step S26. …. in step S26, the UE 100 suspends MII transmission corresponding to the transmission trigger event that has occurred in step S23 until the prohibition timer expires.); and when the network response is not received before the expiry of the timer, perform operations triggered by the expiry of the timer (Fig. 14 & ¶0125 - when the prohibition timer has expired (YES in step S25), the UE 100 performs, in steps S27 and S28, MII transmission processing corresponding to the transmission trigger event that has occurred in step S23. Note that when there is a suspended trigger condition at the expiration of the timer, the UE 100 may transmit the MII under this trigger condition.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include FUJISHIRO322’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an enhanced multicast and broadcast services (MBS) with a plurality of triggering conditions for enabling the UE in performing MII <MBS Interest Indication> transmission processing in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0083-¶0086, FUJISHIRO322)
Re. Claim 2, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 teach claim 1.
FUJISHIRO143 further teaches wherein the serving cell is, when the request is transmitted, a secondary cell (SCell) of the UE. (Fig. 19 & ¶0172 - For example, the MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of the MBS session information, the frequency and cell ID of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, and information regarding whether the MBS session reception in the SCG 201B/SCell 202B is prioritized (for example, whether the same service can be received in the MCG 201A/PCell 202A. Fig. 19 & ¶0173 - In step S403, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A performs activation/deactivation control of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B based on the MII from UE 100. For example, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A performs control in such a manner as to avoid deactivating or to activate the cell of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B providing the MBS session that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving.).
Re. Claim 3, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 teach claim 1.
FUJISHIRO143 further teaches wherein the request further includes an MBS service identifier. (Fig. 10 & ¶0115 - The MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of MBS session information indicating the MBS session that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving, frequency-related information regarding the frequency at which the MBS session is provided, and priority information indicating whether the UE 100 gives priority to MBS reception or unicast reception. Fig. 19 & ¶0172 - For example, the MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of the MBS session information, the frequency and cell ID of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, and information regarding whether the MBS session reception in the SCG 201B/SCell 202B is prioritized (for example, whether the same service can be received in the MCG 201A/PCell 202A.).
Re. Claim 4, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 teach claim 1.
FUJISHIRO143 further teaches wherein the request is included in an MBS Interest Indication (MII) message. (Fig. 10 & ¶0115 - The MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of MBS session information indicating the MBS session that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving, frequency-related information regarding the frequency at which the MBS session is provided, and priority information indicating whether the UE 100 gives priority to MBS reception or unicast reception.)
Re. Claim 5, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 teach claim 4.
FUJISHIRO143 further teaches wherein the MII message is enabled for the UE when the UE receives from the network an explicit SCell MBS reception indication. (Fig. 18 & ¶0165 - In step S301, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A notifies, via the MBS-SIB (or MCCH), the UE 100 that the MBS configuration information regarding the MBS session provided by the SCG 201B/SCG 202B is transmitted from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B. Here, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A may notify, via the MBS-SIB (or the MCCH), the UE 100 of the MCCH configuration information of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B. The MCG 201A/PCell 202A may notify the UE 100 of at least one selected from the group consisting of the frequency information of the MCCH of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, the ID of the cell of providing the MCCH of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, the BWP/CFR information of the MCCH of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, and the MBS session information. Fig. 19 & ¶0171 - In step S401, the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving the MBS session provided from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B. Fig. 19 & ¶0172 - In step S402, the UE 100 transmits, to the MCG 201A/PCell 202A, the MII indicating that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving the MBS session provided from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B. For example, the MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of the MBS session information, the frequency and cell ID of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B).
Re. Claim 6, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 teach claim 1.
FUJISHIRO143 further teaches wherein the request is included in UE assistance information (UAI) or another layer 1 (L1), layer 2 (L2) or layer 3 (L3) message. (Fig. 1 -25 & ¶0107 - Step S12 may be a step in which UE 100 receives the MBS-related information from MCG 201A/PCell 202A. The UE 100 may receive the MBS-related information from the MCG 201A/PCell 202A via an RRC Reconfiguration message, a paging message, an SIB (BCCH), an MCCH, a MAC control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI) from the MCG 201A/PCell 202A. Fig. 1 -25 & ¶0108 - The MBS-related information received by the UE 100 may include at least one selected from the group consisting of MBS session information indicating an MBS session provided by the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, frequency-related information regarding the frequency at which the corresponding MBS session is provided, MBS configuration information indicating a configuration of MBS reception, and cell identification information indicating the SCG 201B/SCell 202B. Thus, the UE 100 can perform smooth MBS reception from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B. Fig. 1 -25 & ¶0115 - The MBS-related information transmitted by the UE 100 to the MCG 201A/PCell 202A may be an MBS Interest Indication (MII) for the MBS session that UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving. The MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of MBS session information indicating the MBS session that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving, frequency-related information regarding the frequency at which the MBS session is provided.).
Re. Claim 7, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 teach claim 1.
FUJISHIRO143 further teaches wherein the request is included in an on-demand system information (SI) acquisition procedure message. (Fig. 21 & ¶0189 - The MAC entity of the UE 100 does not transmit on RACH on the SCell 202B, except for an on-demand SI request for the MBS-SIB of interest. In other words, even if the SCell 202B is deactivated, the UE 100 is allowed to transmit the RACH to the SCell 202B when making an on-demand SI request for the MBS-SIB of interest.).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO143, in view of FUJISHIRO322, further in view of SHRIVASTAVA et al. (2023/0209315), SHRIVASTAVA hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 teach claim 1.
FUJISHIRO143 further teaches wherein the request is triggered when the network indicates it can provide MBS related system information to the UE via dedicated signaling or the network indicates it can provide the MBS related system information to the UE in response to a MBS interest indication (MII) trigger (Fig. 25 & ¶0215 - In step S901, the SCG 201B acquires the MBS interest information (MII) of the UE 100. For example, the SCG 201B receives the MII from the UE 100.. Fig. 25 & ¶0216 - In step S902, the SCG 201B (SN 200B) transmits the MII of the UE 100 to the MCG 201A (MN 200A). The SCG 201B (SN 200B) may transmit the MII to the MCG 201A (MN 200A) by using, as a trigger, the notification of the MII from the UE 100 or a query from the MN 200A.),
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 do not expressly teach wherein the MBS related system information comprises system information block 20 (SIB-20) on a secondary cell (SCell).
However, in the analogous art, SHRIVASTAVA explicitly discloses wherein the MBS related system information comprises system information block 20 (SIB-20) on a secondary cell (SCell). (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0137 - 3> else if SIB20 is provided for the PCell or for the SCell: Fig. 1-15 & ¶0139: ¶0140] 4> if the set of MBS broadcast services of interest determined in accordance with 5.9.4.4 is different from mbs-ServiceList included in the last transmission of the MBS interest indication: 5> set the contents of MBS interest indication according to 5.9.4.5 and initiate the transmission of MBSInterestIndication message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and FUJISHIRO322’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include SHRIVASTAVA’s invention of a system and a method for handling user equipment (UE) capability information and assistance information during a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in indicating the capability information and/or assistance information of the UE reporting to a network when the UE receives broadcast and unicast simultaneously from a plurality of networks belonging to same or different operators, paving the way for the UE in support configuration and service performance in an optimum manner, results, in enhancing user experience for the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, SHRIVASTAVA)
Re. Claim 10, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 teach claim 1.
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 and FUJISHIRO322 do not expressly teach wherein, prior to sending the request, the UE attempts to receive system information block 20 (SIB-20) on a secondary cell (SCell) by UE implementation.
However, in the analogous art, SHRIVASTAVA explicitly discloses wherein, prior to sending the request, the UE attempts to receive system information block 20 (SIB-20) on a secondary cell (SCell) by UE implementation. (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0137 - 3> else if SIB20 is provided for the PCell or for the SCell: Fig. 1-15 & ¶0139: ¶0140] 4> if the set of MBS broadcast services of interest determined in accordance with 5.9.4.4 is different from mbs-ServiceList included in the last transmission of the MBS interest indication: 5> set the contents of MBS interest indication according to 5.9.4.5 and initiate the transmission of MBSInterestIndication message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and FUJISHIRO322’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include SHRIVASTAVA’s invention of a system and a method for handling user equipment (UE) capability information and assistance information during a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in indicating the capability information and/or assistance information of the UE reporting to a network when the UE receives broadcast and unicast simultaneously from a plurality of networks belonging to same or different operators, paving the way for the UE in support configuration and service performance in an optimum manner, results, in enhancing user experience for the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, SHRIVASTAVA)
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO143, in view of SHRIVASTAVA.
Re. claim 11, FUJISHIRO143 teaches a processor (Fig. 2, 130) of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2/Fig. 19, UE 100) configured to: transmit a request to a network indicating an interest to receive a multicast and broadcast services (MBS) broadcast from a cell of the network,(Fig.10 & ¶0115 - The MBS-related information transmitted by the UE 100 to the MCG 201A/PCell 202A may be an MBS Interest Indication (MII) for the MBS session that UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving. Fig. 19 & ¶0172 - In step S402, the UE 100 transmits, to the MCG 201A/PCell 202A, the MII indicating that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving the MBS session provided from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B), wherein the cell is, when the request is transmitted, a secondary cell (SCell) of the UE, the request including identifying information for the cell including a cell index or frequency; (Fig. 10 & ¶0115 - The MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of MBS session information indicating the MBS session that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving, frequency-related information regarding the frequency at which the MBS session is provided, and priority information indicating whether the UE 100 gives priority to MBS reception or unicast reception. Fig. 19 & ¶0172 - For example, the MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of the MBS session information, the frequency and cell ID of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, and information regarding whether the MBS session reception in the SCG 201B/SCell 202B is prioritized (for example, whether the same service can be received in the MCG 201A/PCell 202A.); receive SCell MBS reception related information from the network within a timer duration (Fig. 17 & ¶0157 - In step S202, the SCG 201B/SCell 202B may notify, via the MBS-SIB, the UE 100 that the MCCH (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B is transmitted from the MCG 201A/PCell 202A. Here, the SCG 201B/SCell 202B may transmit, via the MBS-SIB, the MCCH configuration information of the MCG 201A/PCell 202A. Fig. 17 & ¶0158 - The MCCH configuration information includes a configuration related to the MCCH, for example, at least one selected from the group consisting of a repetition period, an offset, a first subframe, a duration, a modification period, and scheduling info (on-duration, DRX inactivity timer, scheduling period, start offset). );
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 does not expressly teach receive the MBS broadcast from the SCell based on the SCell MBS reception related information.
However, in the analogous art, SHRIVASTAVA explicitly discloses receive the MBS broadcast from the SCell based on the SCell MBS reception related information (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0137 - 3> else if SIB20 is provided for the PCell or for the SCell: Fig. 1-15 & ¶0139: ¶0140] 4> if the set of MBS broadcast services of interest determined in accordance with 5.9.4.4 is different from mbs-ServiceList included in the last transmission of the MBS interest indication: 5> set the contents of MBS interest indication according to 5.9.4.5 and initiate the transmission of MBSInterestIndication message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include SHRIVASTAVA’s invention of a system and a method for handling user equipment (UE) capability information and assistance information during a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in indicating the capability information and/or assistance information of the UE reporting to a network when the UE receives broadcast and unicast simultaneously from a plurality of networks belonging to same or different operators, paving the way for the UE in support configuration and service performance in an optimum manner, results, in enhancing user experience for the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, SHRIVASTAVA)
Re. Claim 12, FUJISHIRO143 and SHRIVASTAVA teach claim 11.
FUJISHIRO143 further teaches wherein the SCell MBS reception related information includes an indication of a cell index or serving frequency information of the SCell. (Fig. 17 & ¶0157 - In step S202, the SCG 201B/SCell 202B may notify, via the MBS-SIB, the UE 100 that the MCCH (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B is transmitted from the MCG 201A/PCell 202A. Here, the SCG 201B/SCell 202B may transmit, via the MBS-SIB, the MCCH configuration information of the MCG 201A/PCell 202A.Fig. 17 & ¶0161 - In step S204, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A transmits the MBS configuration information (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B on the MCCH. The MBS configuration information includes, for example, information of each MTCH of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B (for example, MBS session information, G-RNTI, and MTCH scheduling info (DRX configuration)) and a neighbor cell list of neighbor cells providing the MBS session. The MBS configuration may include at least one selected from the group consisting of the frequency of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B at which the MBS is provided, the ID of the cell of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B providing the MBS).
Re. Claim 13, FUJISHIRO143 and SHRIVASTAVA teach claim 11.
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 does not expressly teach wherein the SCell MBS reception related information includes system information block 20 (SIB-20) of the SCell provided via dedicated signaling.
However, in the analogous art, SHRIVASTAVA explicitly discloses wherein the SCell MBS reception related information includes system information block 20 (SIB-20) of the SCell provided via dedicated signaling. (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0137 - 3> else if SIB20 is provided for the PCell or for the SCell: Fig. 1-15 & ¶0139: ¶0140] 4> if the set of MBS broadcast services of interest determined in accordance with 5.9.4.4 is different from mbs-ServiceList included in the last transmission of the MBS interest indication: 5> set the contents of MBS interest indication according to 5.9.4.5 and initiate the transmission of MBSInterestIndication message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include SHRIVASTAVA’s invention of a system and a method for handling user equipment (UE) capability information and assistance information during a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in indicating the capability information and/or assistance information of the UE reporting to a network when the UE receives broadcast and unicast simultaneously from a plurality of networks belonging to same or different operators, paving the way for the UE in support configuration and service performance in an optimum manner, results, in enhancing user experience for the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, SHRIVASTAVA)
Re. Claim 14, FUJISHIRO143 and SHRIVASTAVA teach claim 13.
FUJISHIRO143 further teaches receive an MBS traffic channel (MTCH) on the SCell based on the MCCH. (ig. 17 & ¶0157 - In step S202, the SCG 201B/SCell 202B may notify, via the MBS-SIB, the UE 100 that the MCCH (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B is transmitted from the MCG 201A/PCell 202A. Here, the SCG 201B/SCell 202B may transmit, via the MBS-SIB, the MCCH configuration information of the MCG 201A/PCell 202A.Fig. 17 & ¶0161 - In step S204, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A transmits the MBS configuration information (MTCH configuration information) of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B on the MCCH. The MBS configuration information includes, for example, information of each MTCH of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B (for example, MBS session information, G-RNTI, and MTCH scheduling info (DRX configuration)) and a neighbor cell list of neighbor cells providing the MBS session. The MBS configuration may include at least one selected from the group consisting of the frequency of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B at which the MBS is provided, the ID of the cell of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B providing the MBS.).
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 does not expressly teach receive an MBS control channel (MCCH) on the SCell based on the SIB-20;
However, in the analogous art, SHRIVASTAVA explicitly discloses receive an MBS control channel (MCCH) on the SCell based on the SIB-20 (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0137 - 3> else if SIB20 is provided for the PCell or for the SCell: Fig. 1-15 & ¶0139: ¶0140] 4> if the set of MBS broadcast services of interest determined in accordance with 5.9.4.4 is different from mbs-ServiceList included in the last transmission of the MBS interest indication: 5> set the contents of MBS interest indication according to 5.9.4.5 and initiate the transmission of MBSInterestIndication message);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include SHRIVASTAVA’s invention of a system and a method for handling user equipment (UE) capability information and assistance information during a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in indicating the capability information and/or assistance information of the UE reporting to a network when the UE receives broadcast and unicast simultaneously from a plurality of networks belonging to same or different operators, paving the way for the UE in support configuration and service performance in an optimum manner, results, in enhancing user experience for the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, SHRIVASTAVA)
Re. Claim 15, FUJISHIRO143 and SHRIVASTAVA teach claim 11.
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 does not expressly teach wherein the SCell MBS reception related information includes system information block 20 (SIB-20) of the SCell provided via a response to an on-demand system information (SI) acquisition procedure message.
However, in the analogous art, SHRIVASTAVA explicitly discloses wherein the SCell MBS reception related information includes system information block 20 (SIB-20) of the SCell provided via a response to an on-demand system information (SI) acquisition procedure message. (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0137 - 3> else if SIB20 is provided for the PCell or for the SCell: Fig. 1-15 & ¶0139: ¶0140] 4> if the set of MBS broadcast services of interest determined in accordance with 5.9.4.4 is different from mbs-ServiceList included in the last transmission of the MBS interest indication: 5> set the contents of MBS interest indication according to 5.9.4.5 and initiate the transmission of MBSInterestIndication message. A person of ordinary skill in the field of endeavor, would interpret SIB20 as part of on-demand system information (SI) acquisition procedure message, as both SIB20 or SIB21 as disclosed by SHRIVASTAVA, are specifically defined for MBS <Multicast Broadcast Service> session for conveying required information for MBS interest indication (MII) as a part UE showing interested in receiving MBS services from the second network <e.g., Scell>);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include SHRIVASTAVA’s invention of a system and a method for handling user equipment (UE) capability information and assistance information during a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in indicating the capability information and/or assistance information of the UE reporting to a network when the UE receives broadcast and unicast simultaneously from a plurality of networks belonging to same or different operators, paving the way for the UE in support configuration and service performance in an optimum manner, results, in enhancing user experience for the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, SHRIVASTAVA)
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO143, in view of Zhou et al. (2024/0032070), Zhou hereinafter.
Re. claim 17, FUJISHIRO143 teaches a processor (Fig. 2, 130) of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2/Fig. 19, UE 100) configured to: transmit a request to a network indicating an interest to receive a multicast and broadcast services (MBS) broadcast from a cell of the network (Fig.10 & ¶0115 - The MBS-related information transmitted by the UE 100 to the MCG 201A/PCell 202A may be an MBS Interest Indication (MII) for the MBS session that UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving. Fig. 19 & ¶0172 - In step S402, the UE 100 transmits, to the MCG 201A/PCell 202A, the MII indicating that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving the MBS session provided from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B), wherein the cell is, when the request is transmitted, a secondary cell (SCell) of the UE, the request including identifying information for the cell including a cell index or frequency (Fig. 10 & ¶0115 - The MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of MBS session information indicating the MBS session that the UE 100 is receiving or is interested in receiving, frequency-related information regarding the frequency at which the MBS session is provided, and priority information indicating whether the UE 100 gives priority to MBS reception or unicast reception. Fig. 19 & ¶0172 - For example, the MII includes at least one selected from the group consisting of the MBS session information, the frequency and cell ID of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, and information regarding whether the MBS session reception in the SCG 201B/SCell 202B is prioritized (for example, whether the same service can be received in the MCG 201A/PCell 202A); and receive the MBS broadcast from the PCell (Fig. 18 & ¶0165 - In step S301, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A notifies, via the MBS-SIB (or MCCH), the UE 100 that the MBS configuration information regarding the MBS session provided by the SCG 201B/SCG 202B is transmitted from the SCG 201B/SCell 202B. Here, the MCG 201A/PCell 202A may notify, via the MBS-SIB (or the MCCH), the UE 100 of the MCCH configuration information of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B. The MCG 201A/PCell 202A may notify the UE 100 of at least one selected from the group consisting of the frequency information of the MCCH of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, the ID of the cell of providing the MCCH of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, the BWP/CFR information of the MCCH of the SCG 201B/SCell 202B, and the MBS session information.);
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 does not expressly teach receive a network reconfiguration within a timer duration wherein the cell is reconfigured from an SCell to a primary cell (PCell);
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses receive a network reconfiguration within a timer duration wherein the cell is reconfigured from an SCell to a primary cell (PCell); (Fig. 22 & ¶0243 - FIG. 22 shows an example of BWP switching on a cell (e.g., PCell or SCell). In an example, a wireless device may receive from a base station at least one RRC message comprising parameters of a cell and one or more BWPs associated with the cell. The RRC message may comprise: RRC connection reconfiguration message (e.g., RRCReconfiguration); …. Among the one or more BWPs, at least one BWP may be configured as the first active BWP (e.g., BWP 1), one BWP as the default BWP (e.g., BWP 0). The wireless device may receive a command (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE or DCI) to activate the cell at an n.sup.th slot. The wireless device may start a cell deactivation timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), and start CSI related actions for the cell, and/or start CSI related actions for the first active BWP of the cell. The wireless device may start monitoring a PDCCH on BWP 1 in response to activating the cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Zhou’s invention of a system and a method for resource management for multicast and broadcast services in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving PDCCH <physical downlink control channel> monitoring capability utilization efficiency of a wireless device when both MBS <multicast and broadcast service > transmission and unicast transmission are configured on a BWP <bandwidth part> in the wireless communication system. (¶0290, Zhou)
Re. Claim 18, FUJISHIRO143 and Zhou teach claim 17.
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 does not expressly teach wherein the network reconfiguration does not include a system information block 20 (SIB-20) of the PCell.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses wherein the network reconfiguration does not include a system information block 20 (SIB-20) of the PCell.( (Fig. 22 & ¶0243 - FIG. 22 shows an example of BWP switching on a cell (e.g., PCell or SCell). In an example, a wireless device may receive from a base station at least one RRC message comprising parameters of a cell and one or more BWPs associated with the cell. The RRC message may comprise: RRC connection reconfiguration message (e.g., RRCReconfiguration); …. Among the one or more BWPs, at least one BWP may be configured as the first active BWP (e.g., BWP 1), one BWP as the default BWP (e.g., BWP 0). The wireless device may receive a command (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE or DCI) to activate the cell at an n.sup.th slot. The wireless device may start a cell deactivation timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer), and start CSI related actions for the cell, and/or start CSI related actions for the first active BWP of the cell. The wireless device may start monitoring a PDCCH on BWP 1 in response to activating the cell. It is evident that the network reconfiguration does not include a system information block 20 (SIB-20) of the PCell as disclosed supra.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Zhou’s invention of a system and a method for resource management for multicast and broadcast services in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in improving PDCCH <physical downlink control channel> monitoring capability utilization efficiency of a wireless device when both MBS <multicast and broadcast service > transmission and unicast transmission are configured on a BWP <bandwidth part> in the wireless communication system. (¶0290, Zhou)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO143, in view of Zhou, further in view of SHRIVASTAVA.
Re. Claim 20, FUJISHIRO143 and Zhou teach claim 17.
Yet, FUJISHIRO143 and Zhou do not expressly teach wherein the network reconfiguration includes a system information block 20 (SIB-20) of the PCell.
However, in the analogous art, SHRIVASTAVA explicitly discloses wherein the network reconfiguration includes a system information block 20 (SIB-20) of the PCell. (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0137 - 3> else if SIB20 is provided for the PCell or for the SCell: Fig. 1-15 & ¶0139: ¶0140] 4> if the set of MBS broadcast services of interest determined in accordance with 5.9.4.4 is different from mbs-ServiceList included in the last transmission of the MBS interest indication: 5> set the contents of MBS interest indication according to 5.9.4.5 and initiate the transmission of MBSInterestIndication message.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine FUJISHIRO143’s invention of a system and a method for performing multicast broadcast services (MBS) for a UE (user equipment) capable of carrier aggregation (CA) with a plurality of cells of one base station at the same time and dual connectivity (DC) in which the UE communicates with two base stations at the same time operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and Zhou’s invention of a system and a method for resource management for multicast and broadcast services in a wireless communication system to include SHRIVASTAVA’s invention of a system and a method for handling user equipment (UE) capability information and assistance information during a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in indicating the capability information and/or assistance information of the UE reporting to a network when the UE receives broadcast and unicast simultaneously from a plurality of networks belonging to same or different operators, paving the way for the UE in support configuration and service performance in an optimum manner, results, in enhancing user experience for the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0010, SHRIVASTAVA)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 19 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 - receive an MBS control channel (MCCH) on the SCell based on the SIB-20; and receive an MBS traffic channel (MTCH) on the SCell based on the MCCH.
Claim 19 - receive the SIB-20 on the PCell; receive an MBS control channel (MCCH) on the PCell based on the SIB-20; and receive an MBS traffic channel (MTCH) on the PCell based on the MCCH.
Claim 21 - receive an MBS control channel (MCCH) on the PCell based on the SIB-20; and receive an MBS traffic channel (MTCH) on the PCell based on the MCCH.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (2025/0031276); See Abstract, ¶0007-¶0014, ¶0030-¶0046, ¶0118-¶0280; along with Fig. 2-5. See snapshot below
3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #116-bis-e; R2-2201244; Source: Kyocera; Title: Remaining issues of MBS Interest Indication; Online, January 17 – 25, 2022. See §2.1, §2.3,§2.4, §3.
3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #116 bis-e ; R2-2200540; Source: Futurewei; Title: Discussion on priority reselection based on SIBx of the neighbour cells; E-Conference, January 17 – 25, 2022. See §1-§3.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467