DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to communications dated 10/04/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 12/30/2024 and 02/13/2026 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi et al. (US 2023/0283348) (hereinafter “MolavianJazi”).
Regarding claim 1, in accordance with MolavianJazi reference entirety, MolavianJazi discloses a first radio access network (RAN) node (NCR) (Abstract: “a network-controlled repeater (NCR) … .” Or FIG. 2; TRP and para [0062] and para [0051]: “… a repeater can be a network-controller (NetCon) repeater (NCR) … .”), comprising:
at least one memory (FIG. 2; MEMORY 230 and para [0061]); and
at least one processor (FIG. 2; CONTROLLER/PROCESSOR 225 and para [0061]) coupled (see FIG. 2 for connection details) with the at least one memory (FIG. 2; MEMORY 230 and para [0061]) and configured to cause the first RAN node to:
receive information (beam indication messages) indicating mapping between a set of resources (T/F resources) in at least one of time and frequency domain (T/F resources) for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a set of spatial domain filters (gNB-side NCR-RU beams and UE-side NCR-RU beams) (FIG. 18; steps 1810 and 1820 and para [0247]: "As illustrated in FIG. 18, at step 1810, an NCR-MT is provided a first beam indication message providing a mapping among T/F resources and a first set of gNB-side NCR-RU beams (i.e., the backhaul link). At step 1820, the NCR-MT is provided a second beam indication message providing a mapping among T/F resources and a second set of UE-side NCR-RU beams (i.e., access beams)." Moreover; para [00262] and thereinafter for the detail discussion of the beam indication message, the T/F resource to include data/control channel such as PDCCH for system information).; and
determine, based on the information (beam indication messages), at least one of: a first spatial domain filter (gNB-side NCR-RU beams) for a first resource for PDCCH between the first RAN node (NCR) and a second RAN node (gNB) of the set of resources (T/F resources) (FIG. 18; step 1830 and para [0247]: "... At step 1830, the NCR-RU determines, for a first T/F resource, a first beam from the first set for operation on the gNB-side and determines a second beam from the second set for operation on the UE-side, based on the first and second beam indication messages.."); or a second spatial domain filter (UE-side NCR-RU beams) for a second resource for PDCCH between the first RAN node (NCR) and a third node (UE) of the set of resources (T/F resources) (FIG. 18; step 1830 and para [0247]: "... At step 1830, the NCR-RU determines, for a first T/F resource, a first beam from the first set for operation on the gNB-side and determines a second beam from the second set for operation on the UE-side, based on the first and second beam indication messages..").
Regarding claim 2, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein a spatial domain filter of the spatial domain filter sets is associated with a synchronization signal (SS)/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB), a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (para [0262]: "The gNB provides the beam indication for NCRFwd beam selection to a corresponding NCR-MT using a 'beam indication message' which is one of various side control information messages exchanged between gNB and the NCR for controlling the NCR operation by the gNB. The beam indication message can be provided by L1/L2 signaling such as by a MAC-CE or a DCI format. The beam indication message provides a mapping from time-frequency (T/F resources to a set of NCR-Fwd beams, wherein the mapping can be based on the first approach or the second approach described above (or any other approach). For example, the T/F resource can be generic without reference to any particular signal or channel (for example, when considered in the first approach above) or can correspond to an RS such as SSB or data/control channel such as PDCCH for system information or paging that the NCR is aware of its presence (for example, when considered in the second approach). Various aspects about the structure of the beam indication message, including methods for indication of T/F resources, are described further herein." It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations) or a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource.
Regarding claim 3, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the information (beam indication message) further indicates a starting boundary (incoming beam) and a period of the mapping (outgoing beam) (see para [0245] for explanation of joint beam indication message, “incoming beam” and “outgoing beam” those are equated to correspond to the claim limitation in the present condition. Alternative interpretation of the claim limitation to correspond to the description in para [0276], where it is disclosed “the indication can be based on parameters … periodicity, offset, number of repetitions, sequence generation parameters … and so on.”).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein a resource of the set of resources is a PDCCH monitoring occasion (PDCCH monitoring occasions are discussed in para [0401] and thereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the PDCCH is associated with a search space of random access response or a recovery search space (see para [0243], [0244], [0245], and [0262] for discussion of “beam indication” and mapping relationship between the beams/spatial filters. Moreover; para [0403] for the discussion of MCR-MT and PDCCH candidates in M search space sets. Also see para [0521] for the discussion of the NCR-MT and the random access procedure).
Regarding claim 6, in addition to features recited in base claim 4 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein different resources of the set of resources are mapped to different spatial domain filters by mapping the set of resources to a set of reference signals (RSs) associated with the set of spatial domain filters, and the information indicates mapping between the set of resources and the set of spatial domain filters (para [0262]: "The gNB provides the beam indication for NCR-Fwd beam selection to a corresponding NCR-MT using a 'beam indication message' which is one of various side control information messages exchanged between gNB and the NCR for controlling the NCR operation by the gNB. The beam indication message can be provided by L1/L2 signaling such as by a MAC-CE or a DCI format. The beam indication message provides a mapping from time-frequency (T/F resources to a set of NCR-Fwd beams, wherein the mapping can be based on the first approach or the second approach described above (or any other approach). For example, the T/F resource can be generic without reference to any particular signal or channel (for example, when considered in the first approach above) or can correspond to an RS such as SSB or data/control channel such as PDCCH for system information or paging that the NCR is aware of its presence (for example, when considered in the second approach). Various aspects about the structure of the beam indication message, including methods for indication of T/F resources, are described further herein.").
Regarding claim 7, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the set of resources is mapped to the set of spatial domain filters by mapping a set of control resource sets (CORESETs) for PDCCH to a set of reference signals (RSs) associated with the set of spatial domain filters, and the information indicates the mapping between the set of CORESETs and the set of RSs (para [0396]: "In one example, the NCR-MT can receive a PDCCH according to a search space set #0 associated with a CORESET #0 in an initial BWP or active BWP of a serving cell to which the NCR-MT is 'connected' or a cell for which the NCR-RU is performing AF operation. In another example, the NCR-MT can receive a PDCCH according to a search space set different from search space set #0 or associated with a CORESET different from CORESET #0 or in a BWP different from an initial BWP of a corresponding serving cell. The information for corresponding search space set or CORESET or BWP can be provided to the NCR-MT via higher layer information. For example, the BWP for PDCCH reception can be an active BWP of the serving cell, that is provided by NCR-specific (pre)configuration. For example, the BPW for PDCCH reception can be a new/second initial BWP, separate from an initial BWP of the serving cell, that is (pre)configured for NCR nodes connected
to a same cell or gNB.").
Regarding claim 8, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the set of resources is mapped to the set of spatial domain filters by mapping a set of search spaces for PDCCH to a set of reference signals (RSs) associated with the set of spatial domain filters, and the information indicates the mapping between the set of search spaces and the set of RSs (para [0243]: "In yet another example, NCR-MT is provided a first 'beam indication message' for the gNB-side RIB/connector of NCR-RU beam selection (that is, for beam selection for the C-link or backhaul link) that includes a mapping from T/F resources to a set of multiple beams/ spatial filters for the gNB-to-NCR link (C-link or backhaul link). A structure for the first beam indication message can be same/similar to that of a second beam indication message for the UEside RIB/connector of NCR-RU beam selection, as described herein. Therefore, the NCR-Fwd is to use a first beam for a first T/F resource, and a second beam for a second T/F resource." Furthermore; para [0396]: "In one example, the NCR-MT can receive a PDCCH according to a search space set #0 associated with a CORESET #0 in an initial BWP or active BWP of a serving cell to which the NCR-MT is 'connected' or a cell for which the NCR-RU is performing AF operation. In another example, the NCR-MT can receive a PDCCH according to a search space set different from search space set #0 or associated with a CORESET different from CORESET #0 or in a BWP different from an initial BWP of a corresponding serving cell. The information for corresponding search space set or CORESET or BWP can be provided to the NCR-MT via higher layer information. For example, the BWP for PDCCH reception can be an active BWP of the serving cell, that is provided by NCR-specific (pre)configuration. For example, the BPW for PDCCH reception can be a new/second initial BWP, separate from an initial BWP of the serving cell, that is (pre)configured for NCR nodes connected to a same cell or gNB.")
Regarding claim 9, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the set of resources is mapped to the set of spatial domain filters by mapping a set of control channel elements (CCE)s for PDCCH candidates to a set of reference signals (RSs) associated with the set of spatial domain filters, and the information indicates the mapping between the PDCCH candidates and the set of RSs, wherein the mapping is determined by a CCE with a lowest index of a corresponding PDCCH candidate (see para [0401] for an explanation of PDCCH candidate and search space. Also see FIG. 24; block 2410 and its corresponding description at para [0403] wherein PDCCH candidate in M search space sets is further elaborated. Or para [0253]: "In one example, NCR-MT can determine configuration information of cell-specific RS(s) such as SSB(s) from reception and decoding a SIB 1, an extended SIB 1, or a SIBx (x> 1) that is dedicated to NCR nodes. Therefore, no new signaling is needed for NCR-MT. Same can apply to RS(s) that are NCR-specific and correspond to the NCR-MT. In another example, information of candidate RS(s) are provided to the NCR-MT using L1/L2 signaling or using (pre-) configuration. For example, when RS(s) correspond to UE-specific RS(s) for UE(s) that are in coverage area of the NCR-RU (or possibly for time-varying NCR-specific RS(s)), the NCR-MT is provided configuration information of the RS(s) via L1/L2 signaling.").
Regarding claim 10, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first RAN node to perform at least one of: determine a third spatial domain filter for at least one of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), Msg B, or Msg 4, or physical uplink shared channel (PUCCH) in response to Msg B or Msg 4 reception between the first RAN node and the second RAN node based on the first spatial domain filter, wherein the first domain filter is a spatial domain filter of a detected PDCCH reception in a search space of random access response (see para [0193] for discussion of random access messages or higher layer messages, i.e., RRC messages. Also see para [0262] for discussion of “beam indication message for mapping between T/F resources to RS such as SSB or data/control channel such as PDCCH. Furthermore, also see para [0243] for discussion of beam selection including mapping from T/F resources to a set of multiple beams/spatial filter for the links (gNB-to-NCR link and UE-side RIB/connector. It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations); or determine a fourth spatial domain filter for at least one of PDSCH, or Msg B, or Msg 4, or PUCCH in response to Msg B or Msg 4 transmission between the first RAN node and the third node based on a spatial domain filter of the second spatial domain filter, wherein the second spatial domain filter is a detected PDCCH transmission in the search space of random access response.
Regarding claim 11, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first RAN node to perform at least one of: determine a third spatial domain filter for one or more of control resource set CORESET) #0, all CORESETs on secondary cells (Scells), physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) on a primary cell (Pcell), and all PUCCH on a PUCCH-Scell for transmission between the first RAN node and the second RAN node based on the first spatial domain filter, wherein the first spatial domain filter is a spatial domain filter of detected PDCCH transmission in a recovery search space (para [0278]: "According to the second approach, the NCR-RU is indicated to generate a set of independent/separate spatial filters as reference beams. For example, for an NCR that reports a capability to generate 4 beams on the UE-side RIB/connector of NCR (namely, for the NCR access link), as discussed herein, the NCR can be indicated first and second and third and fourth RSs associated with spatial filters #1, #2, #3, and #4, respectively. Herein, "independent" beams refer to the NCR behavior based on which the NCR-RU is expected to generate separate spatial filters for different RSs, for example different beam directions, such as non-overlapping spatial power density/profile up/down to a certain threshold, for example 3 dB power gain for the spatial filter/beam. In the example above, the NCR-RU is expected to generate spatial filters #1, #2, #3, and #4 that have different beam patterns. Generation of independent beams is further discussed herein"); or determine a fourth spatial domain filter for one or more of CORESET #0, all CORESETs on Scells, PUCCH on Pcell, and all PUCCH on a PUCCH-Scell for reception between the first RAN node and the third node based on the second spatial domain filter, wherein the second spatial domain filter is a spatial domain filter of detected PDCCH reception in the recovery search space (para [0278]: "According to the second approach, the NCR-RU is indicated to generate a set of independent/separate spatial filters as reference beams. For example, for an NCR that reports a capability to generate 4 beams on the UE-side RIB/connector of NCR (namely, for the NCR access link), as discussed herein, the NCR can be indicated first and second and third and fourth RSs associated with spatial filters #1, #2, #3, and #4, respectively. Herein, "independent" beams refer to the NCR behavior based on which the NCR-RU is expected to generate separate spatial filters for different RSs, for example different beam directions, such as non-overlapping spatial power density/profile up/down to a certain threshold, for example 3 dB power gain for the spatial filter/beam. In the example above, the NCR-RU is expected to generate spatial filters #1, #2, #3, and #4 that have different beam patterns. Generation of independent beams is further discussed herein.")
Regarding claim 12, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the first RAN node to receive a signaling configuring at least one of a starting boundary of the mapping, a period or an offset of the mapping (para [0335]: "In one example, a beam indication message only refers to time domain, so that a beam indication message is a mapping from time resources, such as time slot/symbols or groups of time slots/symbols to a set of NCR-RU beams. Such method can be beneficial, for example, when NCR has only one panel and can generate one beam at a time, to be used for all RBs or all 'active' RBs within a pass band of an NCR-Fwd for any given time slot/symbol, or when the NCR hardware cannot distinguish different frequency components such has a frequency-flat filtering applicable to all RBs. In another example, NCR may be able to apply AF to a single or a number of contiguous frequency components. Then, the beam indication message applies to those frequency components." Moreover; para [0343]: "In one example, the gNB provides the NCR-MT information of a number or time/frequency resources, including SCS configuration, for the RS(s) that the NCR-Fwd is to locally (re-)generate. For example, when locally (re-)generated RS(s) are SSBs, the NCR is provided information such as one or more of a number and/or indexes of SSBs, a half-frame information, MIB information included in the PBCH corresponding to the SSB, a transmission power level for the SSBs, and so on. When locally (re-)generated RS(s) are CSI-RSs, the NCR is provided information such as one or more of periodicity and offset, an activation/start time/slot/symbol for semi-persistent CSI-RS, any resource ID(s) or sequence ID(s) or UE ID(s) for CSI-RS generation including initialization for random sequence generalization, absolute power level for the CSI-RS or a power offset for CSI-RS relative to SSB transmission power level, and so on.").
Regarding claim 13, in addition to features recited in base claim 12 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the at least one of the starting boundary, the period, or the offset is in unit of slot of ms or slot of s (para [0335]: "In one example, a beam indication message only refers to time domain, so that a beam indication message is a mapping from time resources, such as time slot/symbols or groups of time slots/symbols to a set of NCR-RU beams. Such method can be beneficial, for example, when NCR has only one panel and can generate one beam at a time, to be used for all RBs or all 'active' RBs within a pass band of an NCR-Fwd for any given time slot/symbol, or when the NCR hardware cannot distinguish different frequency components such has a frequency-flat filtering applicable to all RBs. In another example, NCR may be able to apply AF to a single or a number of contiguous frequency components. Then, the beam indication message applies to those frequency components." Moreover; para [0343]: "In one example, the gNB provides the NCR-MT information of a number or time/frequency resources, including SCS configuration, for the RS(s) that the NCR-Fwd is to locally (re-)generate. For example, when locally (re-)generated RS(s) are SSBs, the NCR is provided information such as one or more of a number and/or indexes of SSBs, a half-frame information, MIB information included in the PBCH corresponding to the SSB, a transmission power level for the SSBs, and so on. When locally (re-)generated RS(s) are CSI-RSs, the NCR is provided information such as one or more of periodicity and offset, an activation/start time/slot/symbol for semi-persistent CSI-RS, any resource ID(s) or sequence ID(s) or UE ID(s) for CSI-RS generation including initialization for random sequence generalization, absolute power level for the CSI-RS or a power offset for CSI-RS relative to SSB transmission power level, and so on.").
Regarding claim 14, in accordance with MolavianJazi reference entirety, MolavianJazi discloses a first A radio access network (RAN) node (NCR), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor (processor) coupled with the at least one memory (see FIG. 2 for elements, i.e., processor and memory and connection details between the elements) and configured to cause the first RAN node (NCR) to: determine information (information) indicating mapping between a set of resources in at least one of time and frequency domain for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a set of spatial domain filters; transmit the information; and determine, based on the information, at least one of: a first spatial domain filter for a first resource for PDCCH between the first RAN node and a second RAN node of the set of resources; or a second spatial domain filter for a second resource for PDCCH between the first RAN node and a third node of the set of resources (see claim 8: “A network-controlled repeater (NCR) comprising: a transceiver of an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) entity configured to receive: first information for a list of spatial domain filters for an access link of an NCR forwarding (NCR-Fwd) entity corresponding to a list of time domain resources, second information for a set of spatial relations corresponding to reference signals (RSs) for transmission or reception on a control link (C-link) of the NCR-MT entity, and third information indicating an uplink (UL) direction or a downlink (DL) direction for each time domain resource from the list of time domain resources; a processor of the NCR-MT entity, operably coupled to the transceiver of the NCR-MT entity, the processor of the NCR-MT entity configured to determine: an UL time domain resource from the list of time domain resources based on the third information, a first spatial domain filter from the list of spatial domain filters, and a second spatial domain filter based on the second information; and a transceiver of the NCR-Fwd entity, operably coupled to the processor of the NCR-MT entity, the transceiver of the NCR-Fwd entity configured to: receive a radio frequency (RF) signal on the access link using the first spatial domain filter over the UL time domain resource; amplify the RF signal; and transmit the RF signal on a backhaul link of the NCR-Fwd entity using the second spatial domain filter over the UL time domain resource.” The mapping between the beams/spatial filters and the links are discussed in para [0245]. In verbatim, it is disclosed in para [0245]: "In one example, when an NCR-MT is provided multiple beams/spatial filters for the gNB-to-NCR link, there can be a mapping between the first beam indication message for the gNB-side RIB/connector of NCR-Fwd beam selection (i.e., a beam for the backhaul link) and the second beam indication message for the UE-side RIB/connector of NCR-Fwd beam selection (i.e., a beam for the access link). For example, the UE can be provided a joint beam indication message that maps an 'incoming' beam of the NCR-Fwd to an 'outgoing' beam of the NCR-Fwd, such as mapping a first beam on the gNB-side RIB/connector of NCR-RU (or backhaul beam) to a second beam on the UE-side RIB/connector of NCR-RU (or access beam). For example, the interpretation of incoming and outgoing beams can be based on, for example, the TDD configuration provided to the NCR. For example, the joint beam indication message can be based on T/F resources. For example, the joint beam indication message can indicate that the NCR-Fwd is to use a first beam on the gNB-side of NCR-Fwd (i.e., the backhaul link) and a second beam on the UE-side of NCR-RU (i.e., the access link) for a first T/F resource, while the NCR-RU is to use the first beam (or a fourth beam) on the gNB-side of NCR-Fwd (i.e., the backhaul link) and a third beam on the UE-side of NCR-Fwd (i.e., the access link) for a second T/F resource, wherein the second and third beams are different (and the first and fourth beams are different)." ).
Regarding claim 20, in addition to features recited in base claim 14 (see rationales discussed above), MolavianJazi also discloses wherein the information (beam indication message) further indicates a starting boundary (incoming beam) and a period of the mapping (outgoing beam) (see para [0245] for explanation of joint beam indication message, “incoming beam” and “outgoing beam” those are equated to correspond to the claim limitation in the present condition. Alternative interpretation of the claim limitation to correspond to the description in para [0276], where it is disclosed “the indication can be based on parameters … periodicity, offset, number of repetitions, sequence generation parameters … and so on.”).
As per claims 15-17, the claims appear to call for a method having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations of apparatus claims 1-3, respectively. Thus, the claims are anticipated by MolavianJazi for the same rationales applied to apparatus claims 1-3 as above discussed.
As per claims 18-19, the claims appear to call for a method having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations of apparatus claims 14 and 20, respectively. Thus, the claims are anticipated by MolavianJazi for the same rationales applied to apparatus claims 14-20 as above discussed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US 2023/0254712).
MolavianJazi et al. (US 2022/0210844).
Sengupta et al. (US 2020/0383167).
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/FRANK DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 September 10, 2026