Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a non-final rejection. Claims 1-20, as filed 05/26/2026, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority is generally acknowledged as shown on the filing receipt with the earliest date being 04/07/2022.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities. The claim is missing a comma after “when executed”. Additionally, the claim recites “stored in the memory” twice but does not recite “a memory”. The examiner interprets the first “stored in the memory” as “stored in a memory.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 15 recites: “comparing the one or more lesion characteristics of the lesion of the first imaging data with the one or more lesion characteristics of a lesion of the imaging data of each of the plurality of cardiac catheterization medical procedures stored in the memory,” but this clause has no main verb, so the scope of the claim is not ascertainable. Claim 16 is dependent on claim 15 and has this same defect. Claim 15 is interpreted as “wherein the comparing comprises comparing the one or more lesion characteristics of the lesion of the first imaging data with the one or more lesion characteristics of a lesion of the imaging data of each of the plurality of cardiac catheterization medical procedures stored in the memory.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Although the claims fall within a statutory category, they are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claims recite subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture. Claim 1 recites:
A medical system comprising: a memory; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry being configured to: (additional element – generally applying the abstract idea with a computer)
receive first imaging data, the first imaging data captured by one or more image sensors during a first cardiac catheterization medical procedure, the first cardiac catheterization medical procedure associated with a first clinician; (additional element – insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, mere data-gathering; generally linking to a technical field)
execute at least one computer vision model (additional element – generally applying the abstract idea with a computer) to identify a second cardiac catheterization medical procedure of a plurality of cardiac catheterization medical procedures stored in the memory, wherein the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure is associated with a second clinician, wherein to identify the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure, the processing circuitry is configured identify and select a single cardiac catheterization medical procedure from the plurality of cardiac catheterization medical procedures stored in the memory which includes a most similar lesion to a lesion of the first imaging data based on one or more lesion characteristics as the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure; (abstract idea – mental process because a clinician can look through prior case files and judge which case has the lesion most like the current one; to the extent that this is non-abstract, it amounts to merely applying the abstract idea with a computer)
output, for display, (additional element – generally applying the abstract idea with a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, outputting a result) a comparison of at least one of lesions, treatment techniques, or treatment strategies between the first cardiac catheterization medical procedure and the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure to highlight differences in at least one of medical device selection or treatment sequencing between the first clinician and the second clinician for the most similar lesion, the comparison comprising a representation of the first imaging data and a representation of second imaging data from the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure. (abstract idea – mental process because a person can set two angiograms side by side and point out where the two clinicians’ choices of devices and order of steps differed)
Claim 1 is analyzed in particular, but the same logic applies to claims 12 and 20.
Step 2A Prong One
These steps, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, include mental processes because the italicized portions are analogous to an attending interventional cardiologist reviewing a fellow’s case. For example, but for the “processing circuitry” and “computer vision model” language, identifying the stored case with the most similar lesion and comparing how the two clinicians treated it in the context of this claim is analogous to steps a human would perform such as an attending physician pulling the closest prior case from the catheterization lab’s case files at a case conference and showing the fellow here the fellow’s choices of devices and order of steps differed from the colleague’s. Other than reciting generic computer terms like memory and processing circuitry, nothing in the claims precludes the italicized portions from practically being performed in the mind.
Dependent claims further narrow or define the abstract idea embodied in the claims. For example, claims 2-5 and 13-16 recite finding the similar case by comparing patient conditions, imaging data, and lesion characteristics. Claims 7-9, 18, and 19 recite criteria for narrowing the cases to be compared, each of which a person can perform mentally.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception. For example, the memory and the processing circuitry executing at least one computer vision model amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea (see applicant’s specification [0097], see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Similarly, the computer vision models recited functionally at a high level with no architecture or training mechanism. A generically recited model invoked as a tool does not remove the invention from being directed to a judicial exception.
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. For example, receiving first imaging data captured by one or more image sensors amounts to mere data gathering and outputting the comparison for display amounts to data outputting (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use such as imaging data captured during a first cardiac catheterization medical procedure (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims add only subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. For example, claims 6 and 17 recite presenting a filter option via a user interface, which amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Claims 10 and 11 recite displaying video data overlaid or adjacent, which amounts to data outputting. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above under Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields such as receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i), performing repetitive calculations, Flook, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(ii), electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii), and/or storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox (US20170035514A1 – cited in IDS from 01/10/2025) in view of Kondo (US20150317434A1 – cited in PTO-892 on 03/25/2026) and Barral (US10579878B1).
Regarding claim 1, Fox discloses: A medical system comprising: a memory; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry (“server 204 may be running instances of software applications 210 for performing computing processes on the intervention data stored in the intervention case history database 208,” [0030]) being configured to:
--receive first imaging data, the first imaging data captured by one or more image sensors during a first cardiac catheterization medical procedure, the first cardiac catheterization medical procedure associated with a first clinician (“client 202 may communicate with imaging system 104 to receive image data representing an anatomical site being accessed during the catheterization procedure,” [0029]; “an imaging system 104, such as a fluoroscope,” [0027]; “the operator performing the procedure,” [0038]);
--execute at least one computer vision model to identify a second cardiac catheterization medical procedure of a plurality of cardiac catheterization medical procedures stored in the memory, (“automated analysis of the database information using concept exploration, natural language processing and identification, quantitative image analysis, content-based image retrieval, visual content recognition, and machine learning methods embodied in software applications 210 may occur in real-time to allow for the identification of similar procedures,” [0077]; “server 204 receives intervention data representative of an array of different catheterization procedures, both past and present,” [0030]);
--wherein the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure is associated with a second clinician (“the operator performing the procedure,” [0038]; “other client devices located in other catheterization labs at geographically diverse locations such that server 204 receives intervention data representative of an array of different catheterization procedures, both past and present,” [0030]),
--wherein to identify the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure, the processing circuitry is configured to identify (“see matching values of patient data (age and sex), anatomical data (diameter and lesion type), and device data (device type and device size),” [0072]; “lesion length (5%), degree of tortuosity (10%), degree of calcification (10%),” [0074]).
Fox does not expressly disclose but Kondo teaches: identify and select a single cardiac catheterization medical procedure…which includes a most similar lesion…as the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure (“The case display region 710 is a region for displaying thumbnail images of similar cases that are similar to the retrieval query image in an order of degrees of similarity. In this case, the thumbnail image of the similar case is an example of the similar medical image,” [0232]; “narrows down a similar medical image to be referred to from a plurality of similar medical images displayed in a thumbnail view in the second display region,” [0110]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand Fox’s decision support during catheterization procedures to include the similar image display techniques of Kondo because this would improve treatments by improving clinical judgements (Kondo [0117]).
Fox does not expressly disclose but Barral teaches:
--output, for display, a comparison of at least one of lesions, treatment techniques, or treatment strategies between the first cardiac catheterization medical procedure and the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure to highlight differences in at least one of medical device selection or treatment sequencing between the first clinician and the second clinician for the most similar lesion, the comparison comprising a representation of the first imaging data and a representation of second imaging data from the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure (“displaying the first video segment of at least the first video and a second video included in the plurality of videos in parallel,” col. 11 lines 47-49; “the plurality of videos depicts different medical professionals performing the first surgical step at different speeds,” col. 5 lines 42-44; “a difference in tool type,” col. 9 line 13; “to visually indicate whether the first video segment of first video 257 deviates from the template,” col. 8 lines 48-50; “This may allow the user to easily see differences between videos,” col. 7 lines 11-12).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the similar procedure identification and single case selection of Fox and Kondo to include the difference highlighting of Barral because this would improve the clinician’s technique since showing the clinician where techniques differ “may facilitate an improvement in their own techniques” (Barral col. 7 lines 38-39).
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by Fox, Kondo, or Barral. Kondo’s similar image selection and Barral’s difference highlighting do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Fox. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Fox with the teachings of Kondo and Barral since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Fox discloses: wherein the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure includes a similar patient condition as the first cardiac catheterization medical procedure, and to execute the computer vision model, the processing circuitry is configured to use propensity matching (interpreted according to specification [0073]: The classification of the lesion may be such that lesions having a large degree of similarity are classified the same or close to each other, which in some examples may be called "propensity matching.") to find the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure in the memory (“analysis of the historical and current intervention data may be performed to identify past catheterization procedures having a similarity to the current catheterization procedure. The similar past catheterization procedures may represent a subset of the entire group of past catheterization procedures, and historical intervention data representative of the subset may be transmitted as decision support data that identifies options for next procedural steps and indicates likely clinical outcomes associated with the steps,” [0006]; similarity scoring in [0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Fox discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: perform propensity matching by comparing the first imaging data to imaging data of each of the plurality of cardiac catheterization medical procedures stored in the memory (“analysis of the historical and current intervention data may be performed to identify past catheterization procedures having a similarity to the current catheterization procedure. The similar past catheterization procedures may represent a subset of the entire group of past catheterization procedures, and historical intervention data representative of the subset may be transmitted as decision support data that identifies options for next procedural steps and indicates likely clinical outcomes associated with the steps,” [0006]; “Determining the similarity between the current catheterization procedure and the subset of past catheterization procedures may be based on matching one or more data values of the historical intervention data, the current intervention data, and the additional intervention data,” [0009]; similarity matching in [0071]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Fox discloses: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform propensity matching by comparing the one or more lesion characteristics of the lesion of the first imaging data with the one or more lesion characteristics of a lesion of the imaging data of each of the plurality of cardiac catheterization medical procedures stored in the memory (historical intervention data includes lesion type in [0072]-[0074] and FIG. 9; “referring again to FIG. 9, it will be seen that the historical intervention data 902 record corresponding to UCI number “20140813B15” includes historical intervention data 902 with some values matching corresponding values of current intervention data 904 record (see matching values of patient data (age and sex), anatomical data (diameter and lesion type), and device data (device type and device size)),” [0072]; “At operation 812, after determining a subset of the historical intervention data 902 records having the similarity to the current intervention data 904 record (which in the above example includes the historical intervention data 902 record corresponding to UCI number “20140813B15”), decision support data may be transmitted from server 204 to client 202…help an operator select the most appropriate size and characteristics of a subsequent implant device or accessory device, as well as next procedural steps to achieve the same historical outcomes,” [0076]; receiving and displaying past similar procedures in FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 5, Fox discloses: wherein the one or more lesion characteristics include at least one of a lesion length, shape, geometry, location, degree, vessel take-off angle, or degree of calcification (“Derived historical anatomical data may include information such as dimensions of the target anatomical site, the degree, eccentricity, and length of calcification at the anatomical site, or the presence of multi-vessel disease,” [0056]; “As an example, in an embodiment in which intervention case history database 208 includes data values for the following data types, the data types may have the percentage importance indicated in respective parentheses: patient-specific history (5%), access site (5%), vessel location (10%), vessel diameter (15%), lesion length (5%), degree of tortuosity (10%), degree of calcification (10%), bifurcation/side-branch involvement (5%), degree of stenosis (5%), details of lesion preparation (15%), and degree of scaffold malapposition (15%),” [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Fox does not expressly disclose but Kondo further teaches: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: present, via a user interface at a display, an option to a clinician to filter the plurality of cardiac catheterization medical procedures stored in the memory prior to identifying the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure (“By selecting an arbitrary row of a broadly categorized disease name or a finely categorized disease name in the disease name list display region 730, the user can narrow down a similar case to be displayed in the case display region 710,” [0256]; “the similar medical image eventually selected as a reference image can be moved to the first display region in which a medical image that is a diagnostic interpretation object is displayed,” [0110]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Fox does not expressly disclose but Kondo further teaches: wherein, to present the clinician an option to filter the plurality of cardiac catheterization medical procedures stored in the memory, the processing circuitry is configured to present a clinician an option to filter by one or more of a patient characteristic, a patient condition, a medical tool or equipment used during a cardiac catheterization medical procedure, an operating clinician, a treatment or class of treatments used, a hospital type, a sequence of tools or treatments used, or a length of procedure (“similar cases displayed in the case display region 710 can be narrowed down by a disease name displayed in the disease name list display region 730,” [0247]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Fox does not expressly disclose but Kondo further teaches: wherein the patient characteristic includes at least one of a patient age, height, weight, sex, disease, or diagnosis (“FIG. 10 is a diagram showing a basic screen when similar cases are narrowed down by ‘metastatic lung cancer’,” [0024]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Fox discloses: wherein the medical tool or equipment used includes one or more of a catheter size or geometry (“Device data may include dimensional characteristics of the device, e.g., a nominal device size such as a nominal deployment length or diameter of the device as specified by the manufacturer,” [0042]; “Device data may include a type of device (including device genus information, e.g., “stent”, and device species information, e.g., “bioabsorbable”), device size (including specified deployment size and length), and a target anatomy for the device, such as a specific coronary vessel or other well-defined anatomical location, as shown,” [0043]; device type and size in FIG. 9).
Regarding claim 11, Fox discloses: wherein the imaging data from the first cardiac catheterization medical procedure is video data, the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure is stored in the memory as video data (“That is, captured images may include captured video, i.e., a time series of individual images, and thus, video may be stored for processing. More particularly, object recognition techniques may be employed to identify a moving object, e.g., an implanted clip during a cardiac cycle will move, and to make measurements of the object,” [0068]).
Fox does not expressly disclose, but Barral teaches: and the processing circuitry is configured to cause a display to display the video data from the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure adjacent to the video data from the first cardiac catheterization medical procedure (“displaying the first video segment of at least the first video and a second video included in the plurality of videos in parallel,” col. 11 lines 47-49).
The motivation to combine Barral is the same as in claim 1.
Claims 12-19 and 20 are substantially similar to claims 1-8 and 1 (respectively) and are rejected with the same reasoning. The Examiner further notes with respect to claim 17 that Kondo teaches “similar cases displayed in the case display region 710 can be narrowed down by a disease name displayed in the disease name list display region 730 or by a lesion distribution displayed in the distribution list display region 750” ([0247]), and the motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1. With respect to claim 20, Fox further teaches a “non-transitory machine-readable storage medium 312 storing one or more sets of instructions” ([0033]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fox in view of Kondo, Barral, and Andersen (Andersen DS, Cabrera ME, Rojas-Muñoz EJ, Popescu VS, Gonzalez GT, Mullis B, Marley S, Zarzaur BL, Wachs JP. Augmented Reality Future Step Visualization for Robust Surgical Telementoring. Simul Healthc. 2019 Feb;14(1):59-66 – cited in PTO-892 on 10/31/2025).
Regarding claim 10, Fox discloses: wherein the imaging data from the first cardiac catheterization medical procedure is video data (“That is, captured images may include captured video, i.e., a time series of individual images, and thus, video may be stored for processing. More particularly, object recognition techniques may be employed to identify a moving object, e.g., an implanted clip during a cardiac cycle will move, and to make measurements of the object,” [0068]).
Fox does not expressly disclose but Andersen teaches: the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure is stored in the memory as video data, and the processing circuitry is configured to cause a display to overlay the video data from the second cardiac catheterization medical procedure over the video data from the first cardiac catheterization medical procedure (“When using the telementoring system, the trainee can select each pregenerated video clip from the knowledge base to be automatically overlaid onto the live video frames of the trainee's operating field. The video clips appear as semitransparent overlays on the tablet screen, so the trainee can see their own hands and surgical instruments and also those of the expert mentor as the expert performs that step of the procedure,” page 6).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to expand the catheterization case comparison of Fox, Kondo, and Barral to include Andersen’s video overlay because this would improve the clinician’s performance of the procedure, as trainees shown overlaid expert video had “48% smaller idle time ratio” and “10% higher task performance scores” (Andersen Abstract and page 5).
Additionally, it can be seen that each element is taught by Fox, Kondo, Barral, or Andersen. Andersen’s guidance videos do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Fox, Kondo, or Barral. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Andersen with the teachings of Fox, Kondo, and Barral since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered and are discussed below.
Regarding the subject matter ineligibility rejections, Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A) because amended claim 1 uses a computer vision model to identify a single procedure that includes a most similar lesion, which is “a technical task requiring high-resolution imaging and complex model execution that cannot be practically or accurately performed through a purely mental process.” Remarks page 8. This is not persuasive. Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)). The claims recite “at least one computer vision model” with no architecture, training, or image-processing steps, so the model is invoked as a tool to perform the identification and comparison that a clinician performs when reviewing a similar prior case. The benefit Applicant identifies, that the invention “provide[s] desirable learning and education benefits which may upskill a clinician” (Remarks page 8, quoting specification [0010]), is an improvement to clinical training, which is the abstract idea itself. An improvement to the abstract idea is not an improvement in technology (MPEP 2106.05(a)). The claims recite the result of highlighting the differences in medical device selection or treatment sequencing without reciting how the differences are determined, so the claims do not reflect a technical improvement (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)).
Applicant further argues that the claim recites an inventive concept in Step 2B in the ordered combination of executing a computer vision model to identify a single procedure containing a most similar lesion and generating a comparison that highlights clinician-specific differences. Remarks page 9. This is not persuasive. Apart from the generically recited computer model, both elements of the asserted combination are the abstract idea identified above, and an inventive concept cannot be furnished by the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)). The additional elements, individually and in combination, provide a conventional computer implementation.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant argues that Fox’s subset of similar past procedures differs from selecting a single procedure, but this is not persuasive because the rejection relies on Kondo for this limitation. Applicant further argues that the combination lacks the claimed highlighting of differences. Remarks pages 10-12. This argument is moot in light of the new grounds of rejection above which rely on Barral for that limitation.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record but not relied upon for any rejection includes Habbecke (US20190286652A1), which teaches that “[t]he system retrieves surgical videos with the highest similarity scores,” ([0016]).
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684