DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 18-23) in the reply filed on 06/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 24-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a cured base layer … of the polymer comprising the thermally curable mixture” in lines 5-6. The preamble of claim 1 sets forth that “a thermally curable mixture comprising a polymer and a thermal curing agent” in lines 2-3. It is unclear when “the polymer” is defined as a component of “the thermally curable mixture” (in lines 2-3), how the same “thermally curable mixture” can be a component of “the polymer” as well (in lines 5-6). Also, it is unclear whether the limitation means that a cured base layer “the polymer” should include at least some portion of the thermally curable (i.e., not fully cured) mixture, or not. For the purpose of examination, the limitation would be interpreted as “a cured based layer … of the polymer
Claim 18 recites the limitation “repeating steps B to C” in line 14. It is unclear as the step B and the step C are not defined in the claim. For the purpose of examination, step B and step C would be interpreted as the limitations of claim 1 in lines 7-8 and lines 9-13, respectively.
Claims 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being dependent from claim 18.
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riahi (Riahi M, Karimi F, Ghaffari A (2019), "Fabrication of 3D microfluidic structure with direct selective laser baking of PDMS". Rapid Prototyping Journal, Vol. 25 No. 4 pp. 775–780. https://doi.org/10.1108/RPJ-01-2018-0021; listed in IDS filed on 10/04/2024) in view of Behrens (Behrens, A.; Stieghorst, J.; Doll, T.; Froriep, U.P. Laser-Facilitated Additive Manufacturing Enables Fabrication of Biocompatible Neural Devices. Sensors 2020, 20, 6614. https://doi.org/10.3390/s20226614).
Regarding claim 18, Riahi teaches a method of additively manufacturing a multilayered heat cured article from a thermally curable mixture comprising a polymer (PDMS) and a thermal curing agent (hardener) (abstract; pg. 776-777, section 2; figs. 2, 5);
the method comprising;
creating a cured base layer with a thickness of at least 50 micrometers of the polymer comprising the thermally curable mixture (fig. 5 and pg. 777, section 2.4: additive printing of PDMS material with a layer thickness between 200 to 400 micrometers; here, the layer thickness also applies to a base layer (i.e., the very first layer on the print platform; here, the disclosed thickness anticipates the recited range of the thickness of a respective layer);
forming a heat curable current layer (LN) comprising the thermally curable mixture having a heat curable current layer thickness (TN) on a preceding layer (L(N−1)) (fig. 5 and pg. 777, section 2.4: a recoater coats a new layer of PDMS on the previous layer);
curing at least a portion of the heat curable current layer by selectively applying an incident electromagnetic radiation energy to heat at least a portion of the heat curable current layer and optionally leaving an uncured portion of the heat curable current layer (fig. 5 and pg. 777, section 2.4: additive printing of PDMS material with a layer thickness between 200 to 400 micrometers via the irradiation of CO2 laser on the surface of a respective layer of PDMS bakes until the whole model is fabricated; figs. 5-8: as shown in figures, the additive printing implies to optionally have an uncured portion based on a desired model), [wherein less than 50% of the incident electromagnetic radiation energy is transmittable through 1 micron of the thermally curable mixture];
repeating steps B to C until the multilayered heat cured article is built (fig. 5 and pg. 777, section 2.4); and
removing the uncured portions from inside and around the multilayered heat cured article (fig. 8a and pg. 779, section 3.3: after the 3D printing was finished, the 3D printed part was removed from a vat and washed with acetone).
Riahi does not specifically teach the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above, i.e., “wherein less than 50% of the incident electromagnetic radiation energy is transmittable through 1 micron of the thermally curable mixture”, but Behrens teaches the limitation(s) as follows:
Behrens teaches a method of additive manufacturing with thermal crosslinking polymers using an infrared (IR) laser for accelerated curing (abstract, fig. 1). The thermal crosslinking polymers comprise a platinum-catalyzed addition-curing silicone rubber Silpuran 2430 (RTV-2, Wacker Chemie AG, Burghausen, Germany) (pg. 5 section 2.2), and the IR-laser (ULR-25, 9.3 µm, cw, 5 kHz Universal Laser Systems Inc., Vienna, Austria) is used for curing (pg. 4 section 2.1). Behrens also teaches that the highest absorption bands for silicone rubbers is in the wavelength range of 9.3 µm, and using a suitable laser with the desired wavelength thus allows for accelerated curing of the silicone rubber (pg. 12 section 4.1). Although Behrens is silent that “less than 50% of the incident electromagnetic radiation energy is transmittable through 1 micron of the thermally curable mixture,” the irradiation wavelength of 9.3 micrometers of the IR laser and the silicone (i.e., PDMS-based) rubbers of the thermally curable mixture are the same as ones as disclosed (Instant Specification: fig. 9, [0036-0038]: PDMS based thermally curable material; [0017]: incident radiation energy having wavelength in the range of 9.2 to 9.4 micrometers; [0047-0048]: a relative transmittance of PDMS upon the wavelength of incident radiation). Thus, the recited property (i.e., relative transmittance) is implied.
In the same field of endeavor of 3D printing from a silicone-based thermal curing material upon IR laser irradiation (Riahi: abstract; Behrens: abstract, pg. 4 section 2.1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify/substitute the incident radiation wavelength of IR laser of Riahi to have about 9.3 micrometers as taught by Behrens in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of achieving the highest absorption of the radiation energy from the IR laser on the silicone-based curable material so as to allow accelerated curing of the silicone material, and shortened/improved scanning and printing speeds for additive manufacturing.
Regarding claim 20, modified Riahi teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the polymer is polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) (Riahi: pg. 776 section 2.1: Sylgard 184 PDMS prepared by mixing with its hardening agent). Of note, the two-component system of Sylgard 184 is the same as the PDMS-based curable mixture as disclosed in Instant Specification (Instant Specification: [0036-0038], as published).
Regarding claim 22, modified Riahi teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the thermal curing agent contains methylhydrosiloxane and a platinum catalyst (Riahi: pg. 776 section 2.1: Sylgard 184 PDMS prepared by mixing with its hardening agent). Of note, the two-component system of Sylgard 184 is the same as the PDMS-based curable mixture as disclosed in Instant Specification (Instant Specification: [0036-0038], as published).
Regarding claims 19, 21, and 23, modified Riahi teaches that the incident electromagnetic radiation energy has a wavelength in a range of 9.2 to 9.4 micrometers (Behrens: pg. 4 section 2.1; pg. 12 section 4.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stieghorst (US 20170203509 A1) teaches a method for manufacturing a component using a long-wave IR range based on the selective absorption behavior of PDMS (abstract, [0065]).
Oishi (US 20220033552 A1) teaches that a method of applying a composition to a substrate includes a contact transfer type coating apparatus such as a roll coater, a reverse coater, a bar coater, and a slit coater, or a non-contact type coating apparatus such as a spinner (Rotary coating apparatus) and a curtain flow coater ([0077]).
/INJA SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744