DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment filed on 10/4/2024. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending for consideration on the merits in this Office Action.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/4/2024 was filed on or after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the indoor heat exchanger, compressor, outdoor heat exchanger and electronic expansion valve of at least claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). See also claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 19 and 20. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1-20, the claims are drawn to a method for controlling an air conditioner, where one skilled in the art would recognize that such control is typically executed by a controller in conjunction with input from various sensors or inputs read from a table. However, the disclosure is silent to the structure that actually perform the control function.
The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function and thus does not reasonably demonstrate that the Applicant had full possession of the metes and bounds of the invention.
Therefore, the claims fail the written description requirement and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1-20, because the claims appear to be drawn to a method of controlling an air conditioning system and the structure that actually performs the control function not being disclosed, renders the claim unclear in light of the 112-1st rejection above.
In particular, the lack of sufficient structure to perform control of air conditioning system i.e. controlling the air conditioner to enter into a first defrosting stage does not necessarily provide one skilled in the art the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claims.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN112793380A) in view of Hou et al. (CN106352484A) and Lou (CN107576031A).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a method for controlling an air conditioner [0001], comprising:
controlling the air conditioner to enter a defrosting mode [0043-0045];
acquiring a current frequency Factual of a compressor of the air conditioner and a current opening P of an electronic expansion valve of the air conditioner in the defrosting mode; controlling the air conditioner to enter a first defrosting stage and operate in the first defrosting stage for first preset duration [0043-0045]; and controlling the compressor to operate at a first frequency F1 and the electronic expansion valve to operate at a first opening P1 when the air conditioner is in the first defrosting stage [0043-0045].
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein a method for determining the first frequency F1 comprises: F1 = kFactual, wherein k is a frequency decrease adjustment coefficient, the frequency decrease adjustment coefficient k is determined according to an indoor ambient temperature T, the higher the indoor ambient temperature T is, the smaller the frequency decrease adjustment coefficient k is, and 0<k<1; and
a method for determining the first opening P1 comprises: comparing the first frequency F1 with a preset frequency Fpreset, wherein P1 = Pmax when F1>Fpreset; and P1=Pmax*F1/Fpreset when F 1 <Fpreset.
However, Hou teaches a refrigeration control method [0002] having wherein k is a frequency decrease adjustment coefficient, the frequency decrease adjustment coefficient k is determined according to an indoor ambient temperature T, the higher the indoor ambient temperature T is, the smaller the frequency decrease adjustment coefficient k is, and 0<k<1 [0054-0072] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. to accurately control the compressor frequency while meeting the cooling needs of indoor rooms [0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have wherein a method for determining the first frequency F1 comprises: F1 = kFactual, wherein k is a frequency decrease adjustment coefficient, the frequency decrease adjustment coefficient k is determined according to an indoor ambient temperature T, the higher the indoor ambient temperature T is, the smaller the frequency decrease adjustment coefficient k is, and 0<k<1in view of the teachings of Hou where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. accurately control the compressor frequency while meeting the cooling needs of indoor rooms.
Lastly, Luo teaches a control method for an air conditioner [0002] having where a method for determining the first opening P1 comprises: comparing the first frequency F1 with a preset frequency Fpreset, wherein P1 = Pmax when F1>Fpreset; and P1=Pmax*F1/Fpreset when F 1 <Fpreset [0102; 0103] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. significantly enhancing user experience [0103].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have wherein a method for determining the first opening P1 comprises: comparing the first frequency F1 with a preset frequency Fpreset, wherein P1 = Pmax when F1>Fpreset; and P1=Pmax*F1/Fpreset when F 1 <Fpreset in view of the teachings of Luo where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. significantly enhancing user experience.
Claim(s) 2 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN112793380A), Hou et al. (CN106352484A) and Lou (CN107576031A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song (US2008/0028780).
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, Wang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and but does not explicitly teach wherein a method for determining the frequency decrease adjustment coefficient k according to the indoor ambient temperature T comprises: k=k1 when T<15°C;
k=k2 when 15°C<T<20°C;
k=k3 when 20°C<T<25°C; and
k=k4 when T>25°C; wherein 0.4_k1<0.6; 0.4<k2<0.6; 0.4<k3<0.6; 0.4<k4<0.6; and K1>=K2>=K3>=k4.
However, Song teaches where determining the frequency adjustment coefficient k according to the indoor ambient temperature T comprises k = .8 when T is <= 16 °C and K = 1 when T > 24°C [see Table I] in order to achieve optimal compressor operation [0063]. Thus, the determination of an adjustment coefficient is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is optimal compressor operation based upon interior air temperature.
Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein a method for determining the frequency decrease adjustment coefficient k according to the indoor ambient temperature T comprises: k=k1 when T<15°C;
k=k2 when 15°C<T<20°C;
k=k3 when 20°C<T<25°C; and
k=k4 when T>25°C; wherein 0.4_k1<0.6; 0.4<k2<0.6; 0.4<k3<0.6; 0.4<k4<0.6; and K1>=K2>=K3>=k4 in order to achieve optimal compressor operation.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN112793380A), Hou et al. (CN106352484A) and Lou (CN107576031A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shim (US5228300).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the preset frequency Fpreset is 50 Hz.
Lastly, Shim teaches a control method for an air conditioner [col 1, lines 6-12] having wherein the preset frequency Fpreset is 50 Hz [col 4, lines 40-46] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. reduces the consumption of power [col 3, lines 20-40].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Wang to have wherein the preset frequency Fpreset is 50 Hz in view of the teachings of Luo where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. reduces the consumption of power.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN112793380A), Hou et al. (CN106352484A) and Lou (CN107576031A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asanuma et al. (US2019/0277534).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the first preset duration is greater than or equal to 30 s and less than or equal to 90 s.
However, Asanuma teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus [figs 1 &2] where wherein the first preset duration of a defrost cycle is 2 minutes [0058]. Thus, the first preset duration of a defrost cycle is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is improving the energy efficiency of the air-conditioning apparatus [0060].
Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the first preset duration is greater than or equal to 30 s and less than or equal to 90 s in order to improve the energy efficiency of the air-conditioning apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per dependent Claim 5, the prior art Wang et al. (CN112793380A), Hou et al. (CN106352484A) and Lou (CN107576031A) does not teach the method as recited, in particular “...wherein after the first defrosting stage ends, the method for controlling an air conditioner further comprises: controlling the air conditioner to enter a second defrosting stage and operate in the second defrosting stage for third preset duration; wherein the compressor operates at a third frequency F3, and the electronic expansion valve operates at a third opening P3 when the air conditioner is in the second defrosting stage, the third frequency F3 is greater than the first frequency Fi, and the third opening P3 is less than the first opening Pi; and controlling a frequency of the compressor to increase from the third frequency F3 to the current frequency Factual, and controlling an opening of the electronic expansion valve to decrease from the third opening P3 to the current opening P after the second defrosting stage ends, so that the air conditioner exits the defrosting mode,” when added to the other features claimed in dependent Claim 5.
Conclusion
/LARRY L FURDGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763