DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0195230 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figures 5-7 discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device (3, 4) comprising:
an upper clamp (13b) having an upper surface and a lower surface (Figures 5-7 illustrates upper clamp 13b having upper or external surface and lower or internal surface);
a lower clamp (13a) having an upper surface and a lower surface (Figures 5-7 illustrates lower clamp 13b having upper or internal surface and lower or external surface); and
a hinge (9) located between the upper clamp (13b) and the lower clamp (13a) to define a tube insertion region;
wherein a ratio of a length of the upper surface of the upper clamp to a length of the lower surface of the lower clamp ranges from about 1 (Figures 5-7 illustrates upper surface of upper clamp 13b and lower surface of lower clamp 13b are external surfaces thereof, abstract describes the pair of semi-barrel shaped symmetrical bodies, which symmetrical-shaped deems length ratio being 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device discloses all features are cited in these claims, wherein the upper surface of the upper clamp (13b) and the lower surface of the lower clamp (13a) are slidably engaged (connection parts 10a, 10b slidingly engaging each other) when the upper clamp (13b) is depressed towards the lower clamp (13b) to secure a tube within the tube insertion region.
Regarding claim 5, Hwang reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device discloses all features are cited in these claims, wherein the upper surface of the upper clamp and the lower surface of the lower clamp form an angle with each other ranging from about 0° when slidably engaged (connection parts 10a, 10b are a part of upper/lower surfaces, and the engagement thereof is about 0° upon slidingly contact therebetween).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device discloses all features are cited in these claims, further comprising a protrusion (18, 19) extending from a base (12a, 12b) of the tube securing device adjacent the
hinge (9).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device discloses all features are cited in these claims, wherein the tube insertion region (Figure 3 illustrates tube insertion region is hemisphere-like, dome-like shaped which inherently has a curvature against tube 21, such a ratio of a radius along curvature of the tube insertion region to an outer diameter of a tube 21 inserted into the tube insertion region ranges from about 1:1 to about 1:3), where a ratio of the radius of the tube insertion region to an outer diameter of a tube inserted into the tube insertion region ranges from about 1:1 to about 1:3.
Regarding claim 16, Hwang reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device discloses all features are cited in these claims, wherein the tube securing device (21) secures a tube having a size of 6 French, 8 French, 10 French, 12 French, or 14 French (Figure 3 illustrates barrel-like structure 21 received within ball clamp 4, such barrel-like structure 21 deems having at least a size of 14 French).
Regarding claim 18, Hwang reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device discloses all features are cited in these claims, wherein the tube securing device is configured to receive a feeding tube (21).
Regarding claim 19, Hwang reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device discloses all features are cited in these claims, wherein the tube is a nasoenteric feeding tube (Hwang’s barrel-like structure 21 is sized to accommodate within nasal).
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crosbie (U.S. Patent No. 6,069,206).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figures 1-5 discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device (20) comprising:
an upper clamp (12) having an upper surface and a lower surface (Figure 4 illustrate upper clamp 12 having upper or left surface and lower or right surface);
a lower clamp (24) having an upper surface and a lower surface (Figure 4 illustrates lower clamp 13b having upper or right surface and lower or left surface); and
a hinge (36) located between the upper clamp (12) and the lower clamp (24) to define a tube insertion region (Figures 5 illustrates tube 100, the space therein is interpreted to be a tube insertion region);
wherein a ratio of a length of the upper surface of the upper clamp to a length of the lower surface of the lower clamp ranges from about 1 (Figures 1-5 illustrates upper/left surface of upper clamp 12 and lower/right surface of lower clamp 24 are circumferential surfaces thereof, which semi-circle length of clamps 12, 24 deems symmetrical length thereby length ratio being 1).
Regarding claim 16, Crosbie reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device discloses all features are cited in these claims, wherein the tube securing device (10) secures a tube (100) having a size of 6 French, 8 French, 10 French, 12 French, or 14 French (column 2 lines 48-51 discloses pediatrics tube range of 2.5 mm to 4.5 mm, which range corresponds to 7 French to 14 French).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosbie (U.S. Patent No. 6,069,206) in view of Tindel (U.S. Patent No. 3,599,642).
Regarding claim 17, Crossbie reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed tube securing device, comprising all features as recited in these claims including the tube (100, Figure 5 in Crosbie).
Crossbie is silent on the tube is formed from silicone, polyurethane, polyvinyl chloride, or a combination thereof.
However, Tindel teaches an analogous endotracheal tube (10) constructed from medically approved synthetic polymeric material such as nontoxic polyvinyl chloride (column 2 lines 67-72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to applicant’s effective filing date to construct Crosbie’s tube (100) using polyvinyl chloride material, taught by Tindel, as such well-known material is safe and compatible for medical applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CAMTU T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786