DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 75-80 and 82 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims begin with “A device” when it should be “The device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 87 and 89-91 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims begin with “A method” when it should be “The method”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 90 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “a segmented offshore structure” with a semicolon missing when it should be “a segmented offshore structure;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 74-91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 74, the claim recites “device or apparatus”. It is unclear what the difference is between both terms since they are both used to refer to the same type of invention. The phrase seems redundant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 76, the claim recites “an assembly area” but there is already an “assembly area” in claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 76 recites “the apparatus” when it should be “the device or apparatus”. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 78, the claim recites “comprising three legs”. It is unclear if these legs are part of the “plurality of legs” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claims 85 and 86, the claims recite “such as” which is improper since it is unclear if the limitations following the term are optional. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 80, the claim uses “and/or” and one of the alternatives due to the use of “or” recites “further lines” but there are no “lines” claimed in claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 81, the claim recites “the apex member” but there is no “apex member” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 81 recites “the apparatus” when it should be “the device or apparatus”. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 85, the claim recites “an offshore structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 85 recites “the structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” or the “erectable structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 85 recites “an/the assembly”. It is unclear if this refers to the “assembly area” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 86, the claim recites “a device or apparatus”. It is unclear if this refers to the “device or apparatus” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 86 recites “a structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” or the “erectable structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 86 recites “deploying/erecting”. It is unclear if the limitation is meant to be in the alternative due to the use of “/”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 85 recites “an assembly area”. It is unclear if this refers to the “assembly area” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 87, the claim recites “a device or apparatus”. It is unclear if this refers to the “device or apparatus” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 87 recites “the assembly location” but there is no “assembly location” in claim 86 nor 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 87 recites “a body of water”. It is unclear if this refers to the “body of water” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 87 recites “stands/sits on a bed of a body of water”. It is unclear if the limitation is meant to be in the alternative due to the use of “/”. Secondly, it is unclear if the “bed” refers to the “bed” claimed in the previous phrase of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 87 recites “the apex” but there is no “apex” claimed in claims 86 nor 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 87 recites “thereof”. It is unclear to what limitation “thereof” refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 88, the claim recites “an offshore structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 88 recites “according to the method of claim 84” but there is no method in claim 84. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 88 recites “the structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” or the “erectable structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 88 recites “floating/buoyant”. It is unclear if the limitation is meant to be in the alternative due to the use of “/”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 88 recites “the floating/buoyant base body” but there is no “the floating/buoyant base body” claimed before but a “floating/buoyant base or foundation body”. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 89, the claim recites “an offshore structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 89 recites “the structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” or the “erectable structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 89 recites “floating/buoyant”. It is unclear if the limitation is meant to be in the alternative due to the use of “/”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 89 recites “the first/a part”. It is unclear if this refers to the “first part” claimed before. Also, the use of “/” makes the claim unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 90, the claim recites “an offshore structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 90 recites “the structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” or the “erectable structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 90 recites “a plurality of parts or components”. It is unclear if the “parts” refer to or include the “first part” of claim 88. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 90 recites “a floating/buoyant foundation”. It is unclear if this refers to the “floating/buoyant base or foundation body” of claim 88. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 90 recites “a floating/buoyant foundation”. First, it is unclear if the limitation is meant to be in the alternative due to the use of “/”. Second, it is unclear if this refers to the “floating/buoyant base or foundation body” of claim 88. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 90 recites “a segmented offshore structure”. It is unclear if this refers to the “offshore structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 91, the claim recites “wherein in the case” and “the structure”. First, the use of “in the case of” is unclear. Second, it is unclear if the “structure” refers to the “offshore structure” or the “erectable structure” of claim 74. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 91 recites “the parts”. It is unclear if the “parts” refer to or include the “first part” of claim 88. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims are also rejected for depending on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 74-84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams (U.S. Patent No. 10,611,607).
As to Claim 74, Williams discloses a device or apparatus (10) for assembly of an offshore structure, wind turbine and/or jacket at an assembly area in a body of water, the apparatus comprising:
A vertically erectable structure (10) comprising a plurality of legs (18) attached at a first end to a connection member (16); and
A lifting arrangement (74) connected to a lifting point (76) directly below the connection member (16) when the erectable structure is in an erected state (Figure 4).
As to Claim 75, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein the connection member (16) comprises an apex of the erectable structure (Figure 4), wherein the erectable structure is selectively moveable between a collapsed state for transporting the erectable structure to the assembly area and the erected state, wherein the apex is above a center-point of the erectable structure (Figure 4).
As to Claim 76, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein when erected: the apparatus comprises an assembly area (Area below 74 where 68 is hung from) below the lifting arrangement (74), wherein the assembly area is provided within a perimeter of the device or apparatus.
As to Claim 77, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein the erectable structure (10) is capable of being erected in situ.
As to Claim 78, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein: the device or apparatus comprises a tripod arrangement (Figure 2) comprising three legs (18), each of the legs (18) being hingably attached (Figure 5) at a first end to the connection member (16), wherein each leg is provided at a second end with a selectively buoyant mud mat (44).
As to Claim 79, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein: the lifting arrangement (74) comprises an arrangement for connecting or supporting a part of the offshore structure to be lifted; the lifting arrangement (74) comprises one or more hooks or shackles; the lifting arrangement comprises a single point lifting arrangement; and/or (The claim is being interpreted in the alternative due to the use of “or”) the lifting arrangement comprises one or more pulley arrangements (66).
As to Claim 80, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein: one or more lines (66) are provided between at least one of each of the plurality of legs (18), the lines being adapted to be connected to a load (68) being lifted by the lifting arrangement; and/or (The claim is being interpreted in the alternative due to the use of “or”) at or near ends of the legs distal the connection member there are provided further lines or cables extending between adjacent legs.
As to Claim 81, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein yet further lines (60) are provided at or near end of each leg (18), which further lines extend horizontally so as to meet at a centre point of the apparatus below the apex member.
As to Claim 82, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein in the erected state the lifting point (76) is configured to be static during the assembly above the body of water of the offshore structure under the lifting point.
As to Claim 83, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein each leg (18) is provided, at a second end distal the connection member, with a support member (36) deployed in a substantially vertical disposition.
As to Claim 84, Williams discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Williams also discloses wherein in the erected state the erectable structure defines a pyramid (Figures 1 and 4).
Claims 74 and 84-91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Belinsky (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0240864).
As to Claim 74, Belinsky discloses a device or apparatus (Figure 24) for assembly of an offshore structure (28), wind turbine and/or jacket at an assembly area in a body of water, the apparatus comprising:
A vertically erectable structure (115) comprising a plurality of legs (119) attached at a first end to a connection member (121); and
A lifting arrangement (125) connected to a lifting point (127) directly below the connection member (121) when the erectable structure is in an erected state (Figure 24).
As to Claim 84, Belinsky discloses the invention of Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion). Belinsky also discloses wherein in the erected state the erectable structure defines a pyramid (Figures 23 and 24).
As to Claim 85, Belinsky discloses a system for assembling an offshore structure such as a wind turbine or jacket (28), such comprising the device or apparatus according to Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion), wherein: the system comprises a floating or buoyant body (117) for transporting one or more parts of the structure (28) to an/the assembly area, and/or (The claim is being interpreted in the alternative due to the use of “or”) the system comprises one or more winches (123) for controlling the lifting arrangement (125).
As to Claim 86, Belinsky discloses a method of deploying a device or apparatus for assembling a structure such as a wind turbine or jacket, the method comprising: providing at an assembly area a device or apparatus according to Claim 74 (Refer to Claim 74 discussion); and deploying/erecting (Figures 25 and 26) the device or apparatus.
As to Claim 87, Belinsky discloses a method of deploying a device or apparatus according to Claim 86 (Refer to Claim 86 discussion), wherein: the assembly location is an area of water above a bed or floor of a body of water (Figures 25 and 26); the device or apparatus when erected stands/sits on a bed of a body of water (Figures 25 and 26); and the apex and the lifting arrangement (125) are provided above a surface level of the body of water (Figures 25 and 26); and/or (The claim is being interpreted in the alternative due to the use of “or”) the step of providing the device or apparatus to the assembly location comprises use of one or more vessels (Figures 25 and 26) or barges to transport the device or apparatus or one or more parts/components thereof, whether together or individually.
As to Claim 88, Belinsky discloses a method of assembling an offshore structure or wind turbine, the method comprising: deploying the device or apparatus according to the method of Claim 84 (Refer to Claim 84 discussion); transporting a first part of the structure to the assembly area (Figures 25 and 26); lifting the first part (28) using the lifting arrangement (125); transporting a floating/buoyant base (117) or foundation body to the assembly area; connecting/clamping the first part of the structure (28) to the floating/buoyant base body (via 125).
As to Claim 89, Belinsky discloses a method of assembling an offshore structure or wind turbine according to Claim 88 (Refer to Claim 88 discussion), wherein: the method comprises the subsequent steps of: transporting a further part of the structure (28A) to the assembly area; lifting the further part using the lifting arrangement (125); transporting the floating/buoyant base (117) to the assembly area; lowering (via 125) and/or (The claim is being interpreted in the alternative due to the use of “or”) connecting the further part of the structure to the first/a part of the structure already provided on the floating/buoyant base.
As to Claim 90, Belinsky discloses a method of assembling an offshore structure or wind turbine according to Claim 88 (Refer to Claim 88 discussion), wherein the structure comprises or includes: a plurality of parts or components (Figures 14 and 15); a segmented offshore structure a floating/buoyant foundation (71); a monopile (97); a jacket (91).
As to Claim 91, Belinsky discloses a method of assembling an offshore structure or wind turbine according to Claim 88 (Refer to Claim 88 discussion), wherein in the case of the structure comprising a wind turbine (Figure 53), the structure comprises one or more of: a column or a tower (Figure 53); a nacelle (Figure 53); a plurality of turbine blades (Figure 53); and/or (The claim is being interpreted in the alternative due to the use of “or”) wherein the wind turbine (Figure 53) comprises a given number of parts and so assembly requires a same given number of lifts.
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678