DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Specie I (Figure 1) in the reply filed on 01/20/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant indicates that claims 1-9 and 14 are readable on the elected Specie I (Figure 1), and claims 10-13 of non-elected Specie(s) have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 1, the recitation “a gate drive device that operates on two sides, a high side and a low side, and drives a gate of a power transistor” on lines 1-2 is indefinite because it is not clear what applicant means by “on two sides, a high side and a low side” and it is not clear if the above phrase means a gate drive device comprising a high side device and a low side device and if it is, then it is not known how the high side and low side are connected to drive a gate of a power transistor. Further, the recitation “a control device provided in pair to constitute the two sides, and configured to output a switching signal … according to a received control signal” on lines 3-5 is indefinite because it is not clear what applicant means by “a control device provided in pair to constitute the two sides” and it is not clear if it means if a control device comprising a high side control device and a low side device, and if it is, then it is not clear how are they connected, and which side(s) of the control device receive a control signal and outputs a switching signal. Further, the recitation “a switching element provided in pair corresponding to the control device, and configured to output, to the gate of the power transistor, a voltage corresponding to a level of the switching signal received from the control device” on lines 7-9 is indefinite because it is not clear what applicant means by “a switching element provided in pair corresponding to the control device” and how the pair connected with each other and with other elements in the claim; and it is also not clear which one of the pair outputs “a voltage” as recited in the claim. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined renders the claim indefinite. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-9 are indefinite because they depend on claim 1.
Also, for claim 2, the recitations “wherein the switching element is a MOSFET” (line 2) and “a gate of the switching element” (line 4) cause the claim to be indefinite because it is not clear why the claim earlier recited “a switching element provided in pair” (see claim 1, line 7) and now recites “wherein the switching element is a MOSFET” (line 2) and “a gate of the switching element” (line 4), so it is not clear which one of the pair of the switching device that applicant refers to. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Also, for claim 3, the recitations “wherein the switching element is a MOSFET” (line 2) and “a gate voltage of the switching element” (line 3) cause the claim to be indefinite for the similar reasons as discussed in claim 2, i.e., it is not clear which one of the pair of the switching device that applicant refers to. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Also, for claim 4, the recitations “wherein the switching element is a bipolar transistor” (line 2) and “a gate current of the switching element” (line 3) cause the claim to be indefinite for the similar reasons as discussed in claim 2, it is not clear which one of the pair of the switching device that applicant refers to. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Also, in claim 5, the recitation “wherein the control device is a digital-to-analog converter configured to convert a received voltage based on the control signal that is a received digital signal, and output the converted voltage as the switching signal” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is not clear the claim already recited “a control device provided in pair to constitute the two sides” (see line 3, claim 1), so it is not clear from the above phrase that which one of the pair and the side that the control device that applicant refers to. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Also, for claim 6, the recitation “the two sides” on line 2 is indefinite for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Also, for claims 7-8, the recitation “the switching element” on line 2 of each claim is indefinite for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above and it is not clear which one of the pair applicant refers to. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Also, for claim 9, the recitation “for the control device provided in pair” on line 2 is indefinite for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above . Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
For claim 14, because this claim recite similar recitation as in claim 1, so this claim is indefinite for the similar reasons as discussed in claim 1 above regarding the recitations: “a gate drive system that operates on two sides, a high side and a low side, and drives a gate of a power transistor” (lines 1-2); “a control device provided in pair to constitute the two sides, and configured to output a switching signal corresponding to the control signal output from the controller” (lines 5-6); and “a switching element provided in pair corresponding to the control device … a voltage corresponding to a level of the switching signal received from the control device” (lines 7-9). Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined renders the claim indefinite. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirchner et al. (US 2016/0329883).
For claim 1, Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. teaches a gate drive device (430) that operates on two sides, a high side (DAC 434 and Op-Amp 436 side) and a low side (DAC 442 and Op-Amp 444 side), and drives a gate of a power transistor (452), the gate drive device (430) comprising: a control device (434, 436, 442, 444) provided in pair to constitute the two sides (DAC 434 and Op-Amp 436 side; DAC 442 and Op-Amp 444 side), and configured to output a switching signal (output of 436, output of 444; see paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and [0036]) of three or more levels including a high level, a low level, and one or more intermediate levels between the high level and the low level according to a received control signal (input of 434, input of 442); and a switching element (438, 446) provided in pair corresponding to the control device, and configured to output, to the gate of the power transistor (452), a voltage (voltage at gate of 452) corresponding to a level of the switching signal (output of 436, output of 444) received from the control device (434, 436, 442, 444).
For claim 2, Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. teaches wherein the switching element (438, 446) is a MOSFET (438, 446), and the control device (434, 436, 442, 444) is configured to output the switching signal (output of 436, output of 444) corresponding to the received control signal (input of 434, input of 442) to a gate of the switching element (438, 446).
For claim 3, Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. teaches wherein the switching element (438, 446) is a MOSFET (438, 446), and the control device (434, 436, 442, 444) is configured to change a gate voltage of the switching element (438, 446) at three or more levels (see paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and [0036]) according to the received control signal (input of 434, input of 442).
For claim 4, it is seen that Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. teaches wherein the switching element is a bipolar transistor (see [0020] where it recites that, alternatively, bipolar transistor can be used instead of a MOSFET (438, 446) as the transistor the drives the gate of power transistor), and the control device (434, 436, 442, 444) is configured to change a gate voltage of the switching element (438, 446) at three or more levels (see paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and [0036]) according to the received control signal (input of 434, input of 442).
For claim 5, Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. teaches wherein the control device (434, 436, 442, 444) is a digital-to-analog converter (DAC 434, 442) configured to convert a received voltage based on the control signal that is a received digital signal (input of 434, input of 442), and output the converted voltage as the switching signal (output of 436, output of 444).
For claim 7, it is seen in the operation of Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. that teaches wherein a maximum current that is allowed to be output from the switching element (438, 446) to the gate of the power transistor (452) is determined according to a rated current of the switching element (438, 446) (this is because each of the drain/source current of element 438 and element 446 drives into the gate of the power transistor 452).
For claim 8, it is seen in the operation of Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. that teaches wherein a maximum current that is allowed to be output from the switching element (438, 446) to the gate of the power transistor (452) is determined according to a voltage supplied to the control device (434, 436, 442, 444) (this is because the output of switching element (438, 446) depends on the voltage to the gate of each element 438 and element 446, and the voltages at the gate of each of the element 438 and element 446 depends on the voltage of the control device (434, 436, 442, 444).
For claim 9, Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. teaches wherein for the control device (434, 436, 442, 444) provided in pair (434 and 436; 442 and 444), one controller (432) configured to generate the control signal (input of 434, input of 436) for the control device (434, 436, 442, 444) is provided.
For claim 14, Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. teaches a gate drive system (430) that operates on two sides, a high side (DAC 434 and Op-Amp 436 side) and a low side (DAC 442 and Op-Amp 444 side), and drives a gate of a power transistor (452), the gate drive system (430) comprising: a controller(432) configured to output a control signal (input of 434 and input of 442; see paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and [0036]) that is changeable at three or more levels including a high level, a low level, and one or more intermediate levels; a control device (434, 436, 442, 444) provided in pair to constitute the two sides (DAC 434 and Op-Amp 436 side; DAC 442 and Op-Amp 444 side), and configured to output a switching signal (output of 436, output of 444) corresponding to the control signal (input of 434 and input of 442) output from the controller (432); and a switching element (438, 446) provided in pair corresponding to the control device (434, 436, 442, 444), and configured to output, to the gate of the power transistor (452), a voltage corresponding to a level of the switching signal (output of 436, output of 444) received from the control device (434, 436, 442, 444).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchner et al. (US 2016/0329883) in view of Sawahara et al. (US 2022/0085805).
For claim 6, Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. teaches all the limitations of this claim as discussed above except for “wherein in an operation on at least one of the two sides, the control signal is at the intermediate level in at least one of a period during which the control signal changes from the high level to the low level and a period during which the control signal changes from the low level to the high level”. However, Sawahara et al. discloses a drive control circuit for driving a gate of an output transistor (Q1, Figure 1) where the voltage “is at the intermediate level in at least one of a period during which the control signal changes from the high level to the low level and a period during which the control signal changes from the low level to the high level” (see VG and VR, in Figure 3-5) in order to reduce EMI noise. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art at the time before the invention was effectively filed to modify the gate drive circuit in Figure 5 of Kirchner et al. such that the control signal (input of 434, input of 442) so that the control signal is controlled as taught in Sawahara et al. for controlled the voltage of the DAC converters so as to reduce EMI noise, and thus this modification/combination teaches the limitation “wherein in an operation on at least one of the two sides, the control signal is at the intermediate level in at least one of a period during which the control signal changes from the high level to the low level and a period during which the control signal changes from the low level to the high level”.
Conclusion
/Long Nguyen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2842