DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a second compressed spring (claims 7 & 14) and a separator (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the plunger" in lines 3 & 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwards (US 2013/0317477).
Regarding independent claim 1, Edwards discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000), comprising a body (housing 3100) having:
a first chamber (medicament volume 3237) configured to store a powder therein;
a second chamber (diluent volume 3236) configured to store a liquid.
Regarding claim 2, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000) comprising all features as recited in these claims,
wherein the body comprises an outer body (base 3510) at a first end and an inner body at a second end (proximal end portion 3101), the second end comprising an end of the system configured to be positioned adjacent an injection site during use (Figure 16), a portion of the inner body positioned within a portion of the outer body, the first chamber (medicament volume 3237) and the second chamber (diluent volume 3236) positioned side by side and separated by a separator (bypass 3220).
Regarding claim 3, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000) comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the first chamber (medicament volume 3237) comprises a powder positioned therein (paragraph 0004), and the second chamber (diluent volume 3236) comprises a liquid positioned therein (paragraph 0004), and the separator comprises a flow channel (bypass 3200) providing fluid communication between the first chamber (medicament volume 3237) and the second chamber (diluent volume 3236),
wherein the second chamber (diluent volume 3236) comprises a stopper (second elastomeric member 3225) positioned to obstruct the flow channel so that the first chamber (medicament volume 3237) and the second chamber (diluent volume 3236) are not in fluid communication in a first configuration (paragraph 0079-0080).
Regarding claim 4, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000) comprising all features as recited in these claims, further comprising a first power source and a second power source (springs 3390, 3420), the first power source in communication with a first plunger (first elastomeric 3221) and configured to move the plunger away from the first power source, and the second power source in communication with a second plunger (transfer member 3600) and configured to move the plunger away from the second power source (see Figures 12-18).
Regarding claim 5, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000) comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the second power source is configured to activate upon pressure on the inner body as the system is pressed against an injection site of a patient.
Regarding claim 6, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000) comprising all features as recited in these claims, the second power source comprising a first compressed spring (spring 3390) configured to release upon activation and extend to move a second plunger rod and the second plunger away from the second power source and compress a volume of the second chamber comprising the liquid (paragraph 0082-0083).
Regarding claim 7, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000) comprising all features as recited in these claims, the first power source comprising a second compressed spring (spring 3420) configured to release upon activation and extend to move the first plunger rod and the first plunger away from the first power source and compress a volume of the first chamber (paragraph 0082-0083).
Regarding claim 8, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000) comprising all features as recited in these claims, further comprising an actuator (actuator assembly 3500) between the first plunger and the first power source configured to release the first spring as the first plunger is moved toward the first power source (paragraph 0082-0083).
Regarding claim 9, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000) comprising all features as recited in these claims, further comprising a needle (3216), a stopper (third elastomeric member 3229), and an end cap (stopper 3254),
wherein the stopper (third elastomeric member 3229) is positioned within the first chamber adjacent the end cap (Figure 14), and the needle is configured to extend into the stopper and to move through the stopper and end cap (see Figure 17).
Regarding claim 10, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector (3000) comprising all features as recited in these claims, further comprising a safety cap (safety lock 3700).
Regarding independent claim 11, Edwards discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, comprising:
providing the reconstitution auto-injector (3000);
activating the reconstitution auto-injector (3000);
reconstituting a drug in a powder form into a reconstituted drug mixture; and
injecting the reconstituted drug mixture into a patient (paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 12, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, wherein the reconstitution auto-injector comprises a powder (paragraph 0004) contained in a first chamber (medicament volume 3237) and a liquid (paragraph 0004) contained in a second chamber (diluent volume 3236), wherein the powder and liquid are maintained separate from each other in a first configuration prior to use (see Figure 14).
Regarding claim 13, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, wherein activating the reconstitution auto-injector comprises pressing the reconstitution auto-injector against a skin of the patient to automatically trigger the reconstitution and the injection (paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 14, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, wherein the activation comprising releasing a second compressed spring (3420) to move a second plunger (transfer member 3600) in a direction away from the second compressed spring and toward an injection site (Figures 12-18).
Regarding claim 15, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, further comprising opening a flow channel (bypass 3220) between the second chamber (diluent volume 32363) and the first chamber (medicament volume 3237) so that as the second plunger moves by the second spring, the liquid moves into the first chamber (paragraphs 0054 & 0080).
Regarding claim 16, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, further comprising applying a gas through the flow channel after the liquid from the second chamber moves into the first chamber to agitate the liquid and reconstitute the powder into the liquid creating a reconstituted mixture (paragraph 0039), and blocking the flow channel with the second plunger (2nd plunger moves and transfers movement to block 3220, Figure 18).
Regarding claim 17, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, further comprising actuating a first compressed spring (3390) by moving a first plunger (first elastomeric member 3221) in the first chamber as the first chamber is filled with the liquid from the second chamber, thereby releasing the first compressed spring and applying a force on the first plunger to move the first plunger away from the first spring and toward the injection site (Figures 12-18).
Regarding claim 18, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, further comprising moving a needle (3216) within the first chamber with the first plunger through a stopper (third elastomeric member 3229) and out an end cap (stopper 3254).
Regarding claim 19, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, further comprising dispelling gas contained within the first chamber through the needle after an end of the needle exits the stopper (paragraph 0034), while the end of the needle is within a gap (inner volume 3259) created by the end cap and before the end of the needle enters a skin of a patient (Figure 14).
Regarding claim 20, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, further comprising moving the needle into the patient at the injection site while dispensing the reconstituted mixture into the patient (paragraph 0086).
Regarding independent claim 21, Edwards discloses applicant’s claimed reconstitution auto-injector, comprising a body having:
a first chamber (medicament volume 3237) configured to store a powder (paragraph 0004) therein;
a first plunger (first elastomeric member 3221) within the first chamber;
a first power source (spring 3390) configured to push the first plunger and reduce a volume within the first chamber (Figures 12-18);
a first actuator (actuator assembly 3500) configured to trigger the first power source;
a second chamber (diluent volume 3236) configured to store a liquid (paragraph 0004);
a second plunger (transfer plunger 3600) in the second chamber; and
a second power source (spring 3420) configured to push the second plunger and reduce a volume within the second chamber;
a flow passage (bypass 3220) between the first chamber and the second chamber such that the liquid can flow into the first chamber when the second plunger is moved by the second power source (paragraph 0079-0080),
wherein the first plunger, first actuator, and first power source are configured such that
the activator automatically triggers the first power source when the liquid of the second chamber flows into the first chamber and moves the plunger in a first direction to increase the volume of the first chamber, and once triggered, the first power source pushes the first plunger in an opposite direction to reduce the volume within the first chamber (paragraph 0079-0080).
Regarding claim 22, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, further comprising a stopper (second elastomeric member 3225) configured to cover the flow passage in a first configuration, and uncover the flow passage in a second configuration (paragraph 0079-0080),
wherein the second configuration is configured to occur when the liquid in the second container is compressed by the second plunger after activation of the second power source (Figures 12-18).
Regarding independent claim 23, Edwards discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, comprising:
providing the reconstitution auto-injector having a first chamber (medicament volume 3237) having a powder (paragraph 0004) contained therein, a second chamber (diluent volume 3236) having a liquid (paragraph 0004) contained therein, a first power source (spring 3390), and a second power source (spring 3420);
activating the second power source to start the first power source and compress the liquid
and flowing the liquid from the second chamber to the first chamber (paragraph 0079-0080);
reconstituting a drug in a powder form into a reconstituted drug mixture (paragraph 0079-0080); and
automatically activating the first power source to inject the reconstituted drug mixture
into a patient (paragraphs 0082 & 0086).
Regarding claim 24, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, wherein the automatic activation of the first power source is through a movement of a first plunger in a first direction, and the first power source is configured to move the first plunger, once activated, in a second direction opposite the first direction (paragraphs 0079-0080 & Figures 12-18).
Regarding claim 25, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, wherein the activation of the second power source is by pressing the reconstitution auto-injector against a skin of a patient to activate the second power source (paragraphs 0082 & 0086).
Regarding claim 26, Edwards reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of using a reconstitution auto-injector, further comprising keeping the first chamber and second chamber out of fluid contact through a stopper (third elastomeric member 3229) over a flow channel (bypass 3220), and then permitting fluid flow from the second chamber to the first chamber by moving the stopper from the flow channel (paragraphs 0079-0080).
Conclusion
/CAMTU T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786