DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 43 and 53 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 43, “downstoke” should read “downstroke”
In claim 53, “independendtly” should read “independently” and “syncroneously” should read “synchronously”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 22, 31-32, 37-41, 43-45, 49, 53, 56-57, 59, 61 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “near” in claims 1-2, 22, 31-32 and 40 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “closely” in claims 22 and 32 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “closely” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “similar” in claim 65 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 39 recites the limitations “the second drive system” and “the second sifting device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 45 recites the limitations “the acceleration” and “the velocity”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim, as claim 44 recited these limitations as alternatives.
Claim 53 recites the limitations “the maximum lower position” and “the maximum upper position”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 57 recites the limitation “the discharge system”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 65 recites the limitation “the second sifting device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 37-38, 41, 43-44, 49, 56, 59 and 61 are rejected as they are dependent upon a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 22, 31-32, 38-41, 43-45, 49, 53, 56-57, 59 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) in view of Garrett (US 1910386).
Regarding claim 1, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 8-9), wherein the particulate matter comprises two or more types of particles having i) a minimum particle size, ii) a density lower than the density of the liquid and iii) different fluid-mechanical properties in the liquid (Page 1 lines 8-13, Page 2 lines 22-26),
wherein the system comprises a stratification machine (Page 2 lines 26-29) comprising:
a) a stratification chamber for holding the combination of liquid and particulate matter, said stratification chamber having one or more side walls (Page 2 lines 28-29);
b) a first movable sifting device (Fig. 3a #302) configured for vertical or near-vertical up and down movements within the stratification chamber (Page 25 lines 31-33), wherein the first movable sifting device allows the liquid of the composition to be treated to move through the sifting device (Page 26 lines 18-27), while not allowing particulate matter in the composition to the treated to move through the sifting device (Page 26 lines 18-22), during said vertical or near- vertical movements (Page 26 lines 18-27); and
c) a first drive system (Fig. 3a #303) connected to the first movable sifting device (Fig. 3a #303 connected to #302) for moving the first movable sifting device in vertical or near-vertical downwards and upwards movements within the stratification chamber whereby the particulate matter within the liquid is treated (Page 25 lines 31-33);
wherein the first drive system (Fig. 3a #303) is configured for positioning the first sifting device (Page 25 lines 31-33).
Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching wherein the first drive system is configured for positioning the first sifting device so that a lower surface of the first movable sifting device is above the particulate matter in the composition to be treated and whereby particulate matter is moved downwards in the stratification chamber by downwards movements of the first movable sifting device.
Garrett (US 1910386) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 37-42), wherein the first drive system (Fig. 3 #33) is configured for positioning the first sifting device (Fig. 3 #31) so that a lower surface of the first movable sifting device (Fig. 3 lower surface of #31) is above the particulate matter (Fig. 3 see lower surface of #31 above #30) in the composition to be treated and whereby particulate matter is moved downwards in the stratification chamber by downwards movements of the first movable sifting device (Page 2 lines 53-58).
Garrett (US 1910386) explains that a bottom screen supports a porous bed of loose particles and a top screen covers the bed to prevent it from being accidentally destroyed in cleaning out the cell (Page 2 lines 53-58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include wherein the first drive system is configured for positioning the first sifting device so that a lower surface of the first movable sifting device is above the particulate matter in the composition to be treated and whereby particulate matter is moved downwards in the stratification chamber by downwards movements of the first movable sifting device as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) in order to cover the particulate matter and prevent the particulate matter from being destroyed when cleaning out the particulate matter.
Regarding claim 2, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the fluid-mechanical properties of the two or more types of particles differs in the particles sedimentation velocity in the liquid (Page 26 line 32-Page 27 line 2);
wherein the two or more types of particles differs in surface resistance, geometry and/or in density (Page 26 line 32-Page 27 line 2);
wherein the difference in density between the two or more types of particles is between 0 to 5 g/cm3 (Page 12 lines 32-33);
wherein two or more types of particles have a shape selected from one or more of spherical, near-spherical, cubuoid, rod shaped or flake shaped particles (Page 12 lines 24-26, Page 14 lines 6-7);
wherein the longest diameter or diagonal of two or more types of particles is between 0.01 mm and 1.000 mm;
wherein the longest diameter or diagonal of two or more types of particles, ranges by a factor less than 100 between the smallest to the largest longest diameter (Page 18 lines 7-13);
wherein the weight ratio between one type of particles and another type of particles is between 1:1 and 1:1000; and/or
wherein two or more types of particles comprise an organic polymeric material selected from PP, PE, PET, POM, PC, ABS, PC-ABS, PEEK, PVC or a combination thereof (Page 12 lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 22, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the stratification chamber has a volume of at least 500 litres (Page 19 lines 29-31);
wherein the stratification chamber has one or more inlets for letting liquid and/or particulate matter into the stratification chamber, and wherein the first drive system is configurable for positioning the first movable sifting device vertically or near vertically above said one or more inlets, to thereby allow the liquid and/or the particulate matter to be introduced into the stratification chamber beneath the first movable sifting device;
wherein the stratification chamber has one or more outlets for letting out particulate matter from the stratification chamber, and wherein the first drive system is configurable for lifting the first movable sifting device vertically or near-vertically above said one or more outlets;
wherein the first movable sifting device has a surface area between 0.1 m2 to 100 m2;
wherein the first movable sifting device is a plate sieve having sieve openings smaller than the minimum particle size of the particulate matter to thereby maintain the particulate matter within the stratification chamber below the lower surface of the first movable sifting device;
wherein the first movable sifting device comprises a porous material having pores with a longest diameter or diagonal smaller than the minimum particle size of the particulate matter to thereby maintain the particulate matter within the stratification chamber below the lower surface of the first movable sifting device; and/or
wherein the first movable sifting device (Fig. 3a #302) has an outer edge or edges being closely positioned to the one or more side walls of the stratification chamber during the vertical or near-vertical movements with any distances between the outer edge(s) of the first sifting device and the one or more sidewalls being smaller than the minimum particle size of the particulate matter (Page 25 lines 25-29).
Regarding claim 31, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of any preceding claim 1 further comprising
a) a movable sifting device (Fig. 3a #302) configured for vertical or near-vertical up and down movements within the stratification chamber (Page 25 lines 31-33), wherein the movable sifting device allows the liquid of the composition to be treated to pass through, while not allowing particulate matter in the composition to the treated to pass, during said vertical or near-vertical movements (Page 26 lines 18-27); and
b) a drive system (Fig. 3a #303) for moving the movable sifting device in vertical or near-vertical upwards and downwards movements within the stratification chamber whereby the particulate matter within the liquid is treated (Page 25 lines 31-33);
wherein the drive system (Fig. 3a #303) is configured for positioning the sifting device so that an upper surface of the movable sifting device (Fig. 3a upper surface of #302) is below the particulate matter in the composition to be treated (Page 26 lines 20-22) and whereby particulate matter in contact with the upper surface of the movable sifting device is moved upwards in the stratification chamber by the upwards movement of the movable sifting device, thereby treating the composition (Page 26 lines 18-27).
Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching a second movable sifting device and a second drive system for moving the second movable sifting device.
Garrett (US 1910386) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 37-42), comprising a second movable sifting device (Fig. 3 #29) and a second drive system (Fig. 3 #33) for moving the second movable sifting device (Page 2 lines 59-63).
Garrett (US 1910386) explains that a (second) bottom screen supports a porous bed of loose particles and a (first) top screen covers the bed to prevent it from being accidentally destroyed in cleaning out the cell (Page 2 lines 53-58), and explains that the device combines the function of a flotation machine and a jig, therefore allowing the classification of the material to be made simultaneously with the flotation of the finer particles (Page 1 lines 37-42).
As stated previously regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include positioning the first sifting device so that a lower surface of the first movable sifting device is above the particulate matter in the composition to be treated as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) (see claim 1 above).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include a second movable sifting device and a second drive system for moving the second movable sifting device as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) in order to support a bed of particulate matter while the first movable sifting device covers the particulate matter and prevents it from being destroyed during cleaning.
Regarding claim 32, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 31, wherein the movable sifting device (Fig. 3a #302) is a plate sieve having sieve openings smaller than the minimum particle size of the particulate matter to thereby maintain the particulate matter within the stratification chamber above the upper surface of the second movable sifting device (Page 25 lines 29-31, Page 26 lines 18-27);
wherein the sifting device (Fig. 3a #302) has an outer edge or edges being closely positioned to the one or more side walls of the stratification chamber during the vertical or near-vertical movements with any distances between the outer edge(s) and the one or more sidewalls being smaller than the minimum particle size of the particulate matter (Page 25 lines 24-29); and/or
wherein the stratification chamber has one or more inlets for letting in liquid and/or particulate matter into the stratification chamber above the movable sifting device (Page 4 lines 25-27).
As stated previously, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching a first movable sifting device positioned above the particulate matter, and a second movable sifting device with a second drive system.
Garrett (US 1910386) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 37-42), comprising a first movable sifting device (Fig. 3 #31) and a second movable sifting device (Fig. 3 #29).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include a first movable sifting device in addition to a second movable sifting device with a second drive system as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) in order to support a bed of particulate matter while the first movable sifting device covers the particulate matter and prevents the particulate matter from being destroyed during cleaning.
Regarding claim 38, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 31, wherein the drive system (Fig. 3a #303) is configurable for lifting the movable sifting device (Fig. 3a #302) and placing particulate matter resting on the movable sifting device (Fig. 3a see particulate matter resting on #302) at a discharging height, said discharging height being a height where at the particulate matter, wholly or in part, is lifted above the surface of the liquid within the stratification chamber (Page 6 lines 28-31).
As stated previously, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching a first movable sifting device positioned above the particulate matter, and a second movable sifting device with a second drive system.
Garrett (US 1910386) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 37-42), comprising a first movable sifting device (Fig. 3 #31) and a second movable sifting device (Fig. 3 #29).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include a first movable sifting device in addition to a second movable sifting device with a second drive system as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) in order to support a bed of particulate matter while the first movable sifting device covers the particulate matter and prevents the particulate matter from being destroyed during cleaning.
Regarding claim 39, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first and/or the second drive system (Fig. 3a #303) comprise a drive engine connected via drive shafts to the first sifting device (Pag 20 lines 1-4).
As stated previously, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching the first and the second sifting device, and therefore lacks teaching wherein the first and/or the second drive system are connected to the first and the second sifting device.
Garrett (US 1910386) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 37-42), wherein the first and/or the second drive system (Fig. 3 #33) comprise a drive engine connected via drive shafts (Page 1 lines 94-101) to the first and the second sifting device (Fig. 3 #33 connected to #31, 29, Page 2 lines 59-65).
Garrett (US 1910386) explains that a (second) bottom screen supports a porous bed of loose particles and a (first) top screen covers the bed to prevent it from being accidentally destroyed in cleaning out the cell (Page 2 lines 53-58), and explains that the device combines the function of a flotation machine and a jig, therefore allowing the classification of the material to be made simultaneously with the flotation of the finer particles (Page 1 lines 37-42). Garrett (US 1910386) states that both the bottom and the top screens are brought upwardly into the cell and vibrated by means of a vibrating tube such that the central part of the bed receives the greatest vibrations (Page 2 lines 59-65).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include wherein the first and/or the second drive system comprise a drive engine connected via drive shafts to the first and the second sifting device as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) in order to provide control over the movement of both the first and second sifting device which support a bed of particulate matter and cover the particulate matter.
Regarding claim 40, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 39, wherein the first and/or the second drive system (Fig. 3a #303) is independently configurable for moving the first movable sifting device in a stratification motion comprising a series of vertical or near-vertical downstrokes and upstrokes through the liquid in the stratification chamber (Page 26 lines 1-10).
As stated previously, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching the first and the second sifting device, and therefore lacks teaching wherein the first and/or the second drive system is independently configurable for moving the first and the second movable sifting device in a stratification motion.
Garrett (US 1910386) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 37-42), wherein the first and/or the second drive system (Fig. 3 #33) is independently configurable for moving the first and the second movable sifting device in a stratification motion (Fig. 3 #33 configurable for moving #31, 29, Page 2 lines 59-65).
Garrett (US 1910386) explains that a (second) bottom screen supports a porous bed of loose particles and a (first) top screen covers the bed to prevent it from being accidentally destroyed in cleaning out the cell (Page 2 lines 53-58), and explains that the device combines the function of a flotation machine and a jig, therefore allowing the classification of the material to be made simultaneously with the flotation of the finer particles (Page 1 lines 37-42). Garrett (US 1910386) states that both the bottom and the top screens are brought upwardly into the cell and vibrated by means of a vibrating tube such that the central part of the bed receives the greatest vibrations (Page 2 lines 59-65).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include wherein the first and/or the second drive system is independently configurable for moving the first and the second movable sifting device in a stratification motion as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) in order to provide control over the movement of both the first and second sifting device which support a bed of particulate matter and cover the particulate matter.
Regarding claim 41, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 40, wherein the first and/or optionally the second drive system (Fig. 3a #303, Page 20 lines 2-5) is independently configurable for pausing the movements of the first and optionally second movable sifting device between completing an upstroke or a downstroke movement of the first and second movable sifting device and initiating a next downstroke, or upstroke movement of the first and optionally second movable sifting device (Page 17 lines 14-26).
Regarding claim 43, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 41, wherein the length of the pause between completing an upstroke or downstroke and initiating a downstoke or upstroke of the first and/or second movable sifting device is at least 0.5 seconds (Page 17 lines 14-26).
Regarding claim 44, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 41, wherein the first and/or the second drive system (Fig. 3a #303, Page 20 lines 2-5) is independently configurable for adjusting the acceleration, the velocity and/or the amplitude of a downstroke and/or an upstroke of the first and/or the second movable sifting device (Page 16 lines 8-13).
Regarding claim 45, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 44, wherein the first and/or the second drive system (Fig. 3a #303, Page 20 lines 2-5) is independently configurable for adjusting the acceleration (Page 5 lines 28-31); and the velocity to be greater than the fluid-mechanical properties of two or more types of particles as defined by the hindered settling sedimentation velocity of the two or more types of particles (Page 44 lines 23-24).
Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching adjusting the acceleration between 1 mm/s2 to 10.000 mm/s2.
Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) explains that the acceleration is adjusted according to the ratio of volume of granular matter to be sorted to the volume of the liquid in the stratification chamber, as this may have the effect of further improving the efficiency of the stratification process as the acceleration has been found to have a significant impact on the stratification process (Page 16 lines 29-33
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include adjusting the acceleration between 1 mm/s2 to 10.000 mm/s2 in order to improve the efficiency of the stratification according to the ratio of a volume of granular material to be sorted to the volume of the liquid within the stratification chamber, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 49, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 44, wherein the first and/or the second drive system (Fig. 3a #303, Page 20 lines 2-5) is independently configurable for adjusting the amplitude between 1 mm to 50 m (Page 38 lines 31-32); and
wherein the first drive system is configurable for adjusting the amplitude of the movements of the first sifting device during the treatment of the composition to be treated, between an upper resting position and a maximum lower position ensuring that the particulate matter remains submersed in the liquid during the treatment; and/or
wherein the drive system (Fig. 3a #303) is configurable for adjusting the amplitude of the movements of the sifting device (Page 16 lines 8-13) during the treatment of the composition to be treated, between a lower resting position and a maximum upper position (Page 10 lines 14-16).
As stated previously, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching a first movable sifting device positioned above the particulate matter, and a second movable sifting device with a second drive system.
Garrett (US 1910386) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 37-42), comprising a first movable sifting device (Fig. 3 #31) and a second movable sifting device (Fig. 3 #29) with a second drive system (Fig. 3 #33).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include a first movable sifting device in addition to a second movable sifting device with a second drive system as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) in order to support a porous bed of loose particles while the first movable sifting device covers the particulate matter and prevents the particulate matter from being destroyed during cleaning.
Regarding claim 53, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching the system of claim 31, wherein the maximum lower position of the first sifting device during treatment is above the maximum upper position of the second sifting device, and wherein the first and second drive system operates independendtly or syncroneously.
Garrett (US 1910386) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 37-42), wherein the maximum lower position of the first sifting device during treatment (Fig. 3 maximum lower position of #31) is above the maximum upper position of the second sifting device (Fig. 3 maximum lower position of #31 is above the maximum upper position of #29), and wherein the first and second drive system (Fig. 3 #33) operates independendtly or syncroneously (Page 2 lines 59-65).
Garrett (US 1910386) explains that a (second) bottom screen supports a porous bed of loose particles and a (first) top screen covers the bed to prevent it from being accidentally destroyed in cleaning out the cell (Page 2 lines 53-58), and explains that the device combines the function of a flotation machine and a jig, therefore allowing the classification of the material to be made simultaneously with the flotation of the finer particles (Page 1 lines 37-42). Garrett (US 1910386) states that both the bottom and the top screens are brought upwardly into the cell and vibrated by means of a vibrating tube such that the central part of the bed receives the greatest vibrations (Page 2 lines 59-65).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include wherein the maximum lower position of the first sifting device during treatment is above the maximum upper position of the second sifting device, and wherein the first and second drive system operates independendtly or syncroneously as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) in order to support a porous bed of loose particles with the second sifting device while the first movable sifting device covers the particulate matter and prevents the particulate matter from being destroyed during cleaning, and in order to provide motion to the bed of particulate matter to classify the particulate matter therein.
Regarding claim 56, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a discharge system (Page 35 lines 1-5) for discharging the particulate matter from the liquid within the stratification chamber (Page 35 lines 1-10), and wherein the discharge system is configurable for discharging one or more uppermost layers of the particulate matter (Page 35 lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 57, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the discharge system (Page 35 lines 1-5) is configurable for repeatedly discharging one or more, optionally uppermost, layers of particles of the particulate matter (Page 35 lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 59, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising an identification system (Page 35 lines 11-14) for identifying different types of particles (Page 35 lines 20-31) comprising at least one detector (Fig. 6d #611, Page 35 lines 11-14) capable of distinguishing one or more characteristic of the chemical composition of one type of particles from one or more characteristic of the chemical composition of another type of particles (Page 35 lines 20-33).
Regarding claim 65, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches a method for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 8-9) comprising the steps of:
a) providing the system of claim 1 (see claim 1 above);
b) providing a composition to be treated comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 8-13, Page 2 lines 22-26), wherein the particulate matter comprises two or more types of particles having i) a minimum particle size, ii) a density lower than the density of the liquid and iii) different fluid-mechanical properties in the liquid (Page 1 lines 8-13, Page 2 lines 22-26);
c) placing the composition to be treated in the stratification chamber of the system (Fig. 3a #301, Page 2 lines 26-29) above the first sifting device of the system (Fig. 3a see particulate matter above #302);
d) providing a series of downwards and upwards movement of the particulate matter within the liquid by means of downstrokes and upstrokes of the first and/or second sifting device (Page 25 lines 31-33), each movement characterised in having an acceleration, a velocity and an amplitude (Page5 lines 28-31, Page 6 lines 4-7), whereby the particulate matter is stratified or sorted into layers of particles having similar fluid-mechanical properties (Page 3 lines 13-17); and
e) optionally discharging one or more layers of the particular matter from the stratification chamber and into one or more separate containers (Page 35 lines 1-5, 24-27).
Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching placing the composition to be treated in the stratification chamber of the system below the first sifting device of the system.
Garrett (US 1910386) teaches a method for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Page 1 lines 37-42), comprising placing the composition to be treated in the stratification chamber of the system below the first sifting device of the system (Fig. 3 #30 below #31).
Garrett (US 1910386) explains that a bottom screen supports a porous bed of loose particles and a top screen covers the bed to prevent it from being accidentally destroyed in cleaning out the cell (Page 2 lines 53-58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include placing the composition to be treated in the stratification chamber of the system below the first sifting device of the system as taught by Garrett (US 1910386) in order to cover the particulate matter and prevent the particulate matter from being destroyed when cleaning out the particulate matter.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) in view of Garrett (US 1910386) and further in view of Fan et al. (US 4253947).
Regarding claim 37, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first drive system (Fig. 3a #303) is configurable for lifting the first movable sifting device (Fig. 3a #302) to a discharging height, said discharging height being a height where the particulate matter, wholly or in part, is lifted above the surface of the liquid within the stratification chamber (Page 6 lines 28-31).
Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching wherein the first drive system is configurable for lifting the first movable sifting device above a discharging height.
Fan et al. (US 4253947) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Col. 2 lines 12-25), wherein the first drive system (Fig. 2 #24-26) is configurable for lifting the first movable sifting device (Fig. 2 #18) above a discharging height (Fig. 2 #24-26 lift #18 above height of #27).
Fan et al. (US 4253947) explains that the discharge outlet should be spaced a distance sufficient to permit the first movable sifting device (plate #18) to be withdrawn above the outlet for the cleaning of the chamber (Col. 7 lines 33-40).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include wherein the first drive system is configurable for lifting the first movable sifting device above a discharging height as taught by Fan et al. (US 4253947) in order to permit the particulate matter positioned below the first movable sifting device to be discharged.
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) in view of Garrett (US 1910386) and further in view of Rem et al. (EP 1224030).
Regarding claim 61, Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) lacks teaching the system of claim 1, further comprising an agitator and/or an ultrasound generator configured for removing gas from the liquid.
Rem et al. (EP 1224030) teaches a system for treating a composition comprising a liquid and a particulate matter (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-7), further comprising an agitator (Paragraph 0013 lines 5-11) and/or an ultrasound generator configured for removing gas from the liquid (Paragraph 0013 lines 5-10).
Rem et al. (EP 1224030) explains that when using an aqueous medium such as water for the separation of plastics, care should be taken that the particles are well wetted by the fluid medium in order to prevent adherence of air bubbles which cause a false change in the density of the particles (Paragraph 0013 lines 5-10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bockhoff et al. (WO 2020119873) to include an agitator and/or an ultrasound generator configured for removing gas from the liquid as taught by Rem et al. (EP 1224030) in order to prevent air bubbles which may cause a false change in the density of the particles and therefore interfere with the sortation.
Conclusion
/MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653