DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following minor informalities:
The language of the abstract should not repeat the information given in the title.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
-- CAN -- is abbreviated without reciting the full form in [0114].
-- GNSS -- is abbreviated without reciting the full form in [0199].
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawing
The drawings are objected to because of the following minor informalities:
-- sever VM 520 -- should be -- server VM 520-- in fig. 5-9A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or joint inventor regards as the invention.
The following claim language is not clearly understood:
Claim 1 recites “guest virtual machines among the plurality of virtual machines”. It is unclear if the guest virtual machines are same or different from the virtual machine, and what is the distinction between the guest virtual machine and virtual machine.
Claim 1 recites “processor …on a hypervisor” and later recites “the hypervisor in the processor”. It is unclear if the hypervisor is running on the processor or in the processor i.e. part of the processor / integrated in the processor.
Claim 1 recites “usage ratio of plurality of processor core” without clearly reciting usage ratio is ratio of what two quantities.
Claim 1 recites “hypervisor in the processor is configured to transmit resource usage information of guest virtual machine monitored by the hypervisor to the resource manager” i.e. hypervisor is monitoring resource usage, and later recites “resource manager in plurality of guest virtual machines are configured to execute a plurality of virtual processor cores to monitor and manage use ratio of a plurality of processor cores” i.e. resource manager is monitoring the use ratio. It is unclear if the resource usage / resource use ratio is monitored by hypervisor or resource manager or resource usage and usage ratio are different usage metrics and are monitored by hypervisor and resource manager respectively.
Claims 18 recite elements of claim 1 and have similar deficiency as claim 1. Therefore, they are rejected for the same rationales. Remaining dependent claims 2-17 and 19 are also rejected due to similar deficiency inherited from the rejected independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2012/0222029 A1, hereafter Watanbe) in view of Ahmed et al. (US 2016/0328254 A1, hereafter Ahmed).
As per claim 1, Watanbe teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a signal processing device comprising (fig 2 computer 20);
a processor configured to perform signal processing for a display (fig. 2 computer 20 CPU 21 monitor 28),
wherein the processor is configured to execute a plurality of virtual machines on a hypervisor in the processor (fig. 1 virtualization mechanism 40 virtual computers 43 [0041] CPU 21 of the computer 50 [0042] hypervisor ), and
wherein the hypervisor in the processor is configured to monitor resource usage information of the plurality of virtual machines ([0047] fig. 1 virtualization mechanism 40 host performance information 35 host / first /second virtual computer 30 [0048] host performance information, virtual computer monitoring information [0049] resource usage status [0163] resource usage ratio of virtual computer 43 [0042] hypervisor ) and execute allocation or reallocation of resources of the plurality of virtual machines ([0041] virtualization mechanism 30 allocates resources to computer 50 [0048] first/second virtual computer resource allocation information 30b/c ),
wherein a plurality of guest virtual machines among the plurality of virtual machines (fig. 1 first/second virtual computers 43a/b first/second guests 31) are configured to execute resource managers to manage resources related to the plurality of guest virtual machines, respectively ([0061] guest OS 31 i.e. resource manager manage, resource allocated to the virtual computer 43 fig. 1 first /second virtual computers 43 first/second guest OS31 ),
wherein the hypervisor in the processor is configured to transmit resource usage information of the guest virtual machines monitored by the hypervisor to the resource managers in the plurality of guest virtual machines ([0062] first/second performance monitoring agent 32, guest OS 31, monitoring information collection module 37 [0063] collection module 37, control process of collecting, performance information managed by virtualization mechanism 30([0047] fig. 1 virtualization mechanism 40 host performance information 35 host / first /second virtual computer 30 [0048] host performance information, virtual computer monitoring information [0049] resource usage status [0163] resource usage ratio of virtual computer 4 [0057] communication between processing module 34 communication between the virtual computers 43, communication between the virtual computer 43 and the virtualization mechanism 30),
wherein the resource managers in the plurality of guest virtual machines are configured to execute a plurality of virtual processor cores to monitor and manage use ratio of a plurality of processor cores, respectively ([0061] guest OS 31 manage, resource allocated to the virtual computer 43 CPU usage rate fig. 1 first /second virtual computers 43 first/second guest OS31 [0052] virtual CPU, virtual computer 43, guest OS 31 operation ([0062] first/second performance monitoring agent 32, guest OS 31, monitoring information collection module 37 monitoring information management module 38; [0098] fig. 3C monitoring information table 300 fig. 3D guest performance information table 440 [0163] resource usage rate, virtual computer 43, increases, dealing with performance reduction [0165]),
Watanbe doesn’t specifically teach display mounted in a vehicle.
Ahmed, however, teaches a signal processing device comprising (( [0048] fig. 3B multi-core processing environment 400 displays, tuner control 325, signal receivers [0056] encoding/decoding digital data stream / signal);
a processor configured to perform signal processing for a display mounted in a vehicle ([0056] encoding/decoding digital data stream / signal [0059] fig. 3B multi-core processing environment 400 connected to one or more CID displays 447 ICD displays 449 HUD display 451 rear seat displays 453 vehicle interfaces system 301), wherein the processor is configured to execute a plurality of virtual machines on a hypervisor in the processor ([0065] fig. 4 multicore processing environment 400 Hypervisor 402 cores 0-3 guest OSs 408-414).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Watanbe with the teachings of Ahmed of signal processing device comprising signal processing for a display mounted in a vehicle to improve efficiency and usability and allow signal processing for a display mounted in a vehicle to the method of Watanbe as in the instant invention.
The combination would have been obvious because applying the known method of Watanbe to the method for signal processing for a display mounted in a vehicle taught by Ahmed to yield expected result and improved usability and efficiency.
As per claim 2, Watanabe teaches wherein the hypervisor in the processor is configured to monitor the resource usage information of the plurality of virtual machines ([0047] fig. 1 virtualization mechanism 40 host performance information 35 host / first /second virtual computer 30 [0048] host performance information, virtual computer monitoring information [0049] resource usage status [0163] resource usage ratio of virtual computer 43 [0042] hypervisor) and execute allocation or reallocation of the resources of the plurality of virtual machines based on a resource management request of a first virtual machine, among the plurality of virtual machines ([0041] virtualization mechanism 30 allocates resources to computer 50 , in response to a resource request issued from guest OS 31 to virtualization mechanism 30 [0048] first/second virtual computer resource allocation information 30b/c [0061] guest OS 31, manage, resources allocated to the virtual computer 43).
As per claim 3, Watane teaches wherein the hypervisor in the processor is configured to monitor resource usage information of a guest virtual machine among the plurality of virtual machines, and execute reallocation or resetting of the resources of the plurality of virtual machines (fig. 1 virtualization mechanism 30 host performance information 30 first/second virtual computer monitoring information [0049] resource usage status, monitoring), based on a resource management request of a first virtual machine, among the plurality of virtual machines ([0041] virtualization mechanism 30 allocates resources to computer 50 , in response to a resource request issued from guest OS 31 to virtualization mechanism 30).
As per claim 4, Watanbe teaches the hypervisor in the processor is configured to monitor resource usage information of the second virtual machine and the third virtual machine (fig. 1 virtualization mechanism 30 host performance information 30 first/second virtual computer monitoring information [0049] resource usage status, monitoring) and execute reallocation or resetting of the resources of the plurality of virtual machines based on a resource management request of a first virtual machine ([0041] virtualization mechanism 30 allocates resources to computer 50 , in response to a resource request issued from guest OS 31 to virtualization mechanism 30 [0051] allocation rate of resources, allocated by the virtualization mechanisms 30 to virtual computer 43).
Ahmed teaches remaining claim elements of wherein among the plurality of virtual machines, a second virtual machine, is operated for a first display and a third virtual machine is operated for a second display ([0013] high / low reliability application, output safety / non-safety critical information to a display system, single/multiple electronic display; fig. 4 408 OS 416 410 OS 418 412 OS 420 414 OS 422).
As per claim 5, Watanbe teaches wherein the resource usage information of each virtual machine collected by the hypervisor is transmitted to a first virtual machine, among the plurality of virtual machines ([0062] first/second performance monitoring agent 32, guest OS 31, monitoring information collection module 37 [0063] collection module 37, control process of collecting, performance information managed by virtualization mechanism 30 [0047] fig. 1 virtualization mechanism 40 host performance information 35 host / first /second virtual computer 30 [0048] host performance information, virtual computer monitoring information [0049] resource usage status [0163] resource usage ratio of virtual computer [0057] communication between processing module 34 communication between the virtual computers 43, communication between the virtual computer 43 and the virtualization mechanism 30),
As per claim 6, Watanbe teaches wherein the resource usage information comprises at least one of a use ratio of a processor core in the signal processing device, a use ratio of a non-volatile memory, a use ratio of a volatile memory, a use ratio of a network, and a use ratio of an input/output interface ( [0163] resource usage ratio of virtual computer; fig. 3C/3D monitoring/guest performance information table 300).
As per claim 15, Watanbe teaches wherein a first virtual machine, among the plurality of virtual machines (fig. 1 first / second virtual computer 43), comprises a resource monitor configured to monitor resource usage information (fig. 1 monitoring information management module 38 virtual computer 43 [0049] resource usage status, monitoring target computer 50 [0050] CPU usage rate, usage rate of memory), and
the hypervisor in the processor comprises (fig. 1 virtualization mechanism 30):
a load balancing manager configured to control load balancing for the processor cores of the plurality of virtual machines ([0051] allocation rate of resources to the first/second virtual computer 43a/b [0163] resource usage rate, virtual computer 43 increases, newly allocating some of allocated resources of the virtual computer 43b to the virtual computer 43a ); and
a resource provider configured to execute allocation or reallocation of resources of the plurality of virtual machines ([0041] virtualization mechanism 30 allocate resources to the target computer in response to resource request issued from the guest OS 31 [0051] virtual computer resource allocation, allocation rate of resources, target computer, to the virtual computer 43).
As per claim 16, Ahmed teaches wherein a first virtual machine in the processor is ( [0012] vehicle user interface, multi-core microprocessor, hypervisor, associated operating systems, cores) configured to execute a camera manager to control transmission of camera data ([0026] autonomous driver assistance system [0026] navigation [0059] images, video), a position information manager to control transmission of position information data ([0026] user interface, navigation [0098] layout manager 357, window manager 355), and an input manager to control transmission of touch input data ([0059] display, touch enabled, send input information to multi-core processing environment [0097] input manager 359 [0109] user input manager 359, output information and/or instructions corresponding to user input).
As per claim 17, Ahmed teaches wherein the first virtual machine in the processor is configured to set up a shared memory based on the hypervisor for each of the camera manager, the position information manager, and the input manager (fig. 4 shared memory 424 hypervisor 402 high reliability domain 408 infotainment domain 410 native HMI domain 412 cloud domain 414 [0088] video output [0099] [0097] input manager 359 [0109] user input manager 359, output information and/or instructions corresponding to user input [0026] navigation [0098] layout manager 357, window manager 355).
Claim 18 recites elements similar to claim and part of claim 4 in combination. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationales.
As per claim 19, Watanbe teaches wherein the signal processing device is configured to display, a first image is displayed on the first display based on resource monitoring and load balancing ([0004] displaying current performance information [0254] displaying the monitoring information [0049] resource usage status [0050] usage rate regarding CPU / memory).
Ahmed teaches the remaining claim elements of signal processing device is configured to display second image on the second display ([0037] ICD, display screen, media player / phone or other information [0038] vehicle interface systems, display devices, ICD, CID, HUD and other displays).
Claims 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Ahmed, and further in view of Mayo et al. (US 2011/0179162 A1, hereafter Mayo).
As per claim 7, Watanbe teaches wherein the plurality of processor cores is divided into a shared processor core shared by the plurality of virtual machines ([0089] fig. 3C 30% of entire CPU time if CPU 21, allocated to vCPU1, virtual computer 43, VM1) and the hypervisor is configured to control a virtual machine in which a use ratio of the dedicated processor core is not overloaded, among the plurality of virtual machines, processor core ([0165] CPU allocation rate, virtual computer, guest OS, limited by CPU allocation upper limit ).
Ahmed teaches remaining claim elements of and a dedicated processor core for each of the plurality of virtual machines ([0007] hypervisor, allocate, each guest operating system's domain its own CPU core (or cores), its own memory region, and/or its own devices).
Watanbe and Ahmed, in combination, do not specifically teach the hypervisor is configured to control a virtual machine in which a use ratio of the dedicated processor core is not overloaded, among the plurality of virtual machines, not to use the shared processor core.
Mayo, however, teaches the hypervisor is configured to control a virtual machine in which a use ratio of the dedicated processor core is not overloaded, among the plurality of virtual machines, not to use the shared processor core ([0032] high demand, workload, server, move workload from the shared hardware resource to a dedicated hardware resource of server 1 [0033] decision, move workload, to dedicated hardware resource, based on server data, historical user data [0036] workload, shifted, first/second shared resource, not to shift to a dedicated resource [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Watanbe and Ahmed with the teachings of Mayo of using /transitioning between shared/dedicated resources based on demand, server data, historical user data to improve efficiency and allow the hypervisor is configured to control a virtual machine in which a use ratio of the dedicated processor core is not overloaded, among the plurality of virtual machines, not to use the shared processor core to the method of Watanbe and Ahmed as in the instant invention.
The combination would have been obvious because applying the known method of transitioning between the shared resources and dedicated resources based on higher demand, historical user data as taught by Mayo to the method of Watanbe and Ahmed to yield expected results and improved efficiency.
As per claim 8, Mayo teaches wherein the plurality of processor cores is divided into a shared processor core shared by the plurality of virtual machines ([0031] server, providing, shared hardware resources, workloads) and a dedicated processor core for each of the plurality of virtual machines ([0032] workloads, dedicated hardware resource), and the hypervisor is configured to control a virtual machine in which a use ratio of the dedicated processor core is overloaded, among the plurality of virtual machines, to exclusively use the shared processor core or increase a use ratio of the shared processor core in a state in which some of the plurality of virtual machines do not use the shared processor core ([0032] high demand, move workload to a dedicated hardware resources [0033] decision, move, dedicated hardware resources, based on server resource data, historical user data [0036] [0038]).
As per claim 9, Mayo teaches wherein the plurality of processor cores is divided into a shared processor core shared by the plurality of virtual machines and a dedicated processor core for each of the plurality of virtual machines ([0031] server, providing, shared hardware resources, workloads [0032] workloads, dedicated hardware resource), and
the hypervisor is configured to control a second virtual machine and a third virtual machine in which a use ratio of the dedicated processor core is not overloaded, among the plurality of virtual machines, not to use the shared processor core ([0032] high demand, move workload to a dedicated hardware resources [0033] decision, move, dedicated hardware resources, based on server resource data, historical user data [0036] [0038]).
As per claim 10, Mayo teaches wherein the hypervisor is configured to control only a fourth virtual machine in which the use ratio of the dedicated processor core is overloaded, among the plurality of virtual machines, to use the shared processor core ([0036] provisioning and shifting of a workload by cloud control system 108 may shift the workload from a first shared resource to a second shared resource. In this alternative embodiment, it is not required that the workload be shifted to a dedicated resource).
As per claim 11, Mayo teaches wherein the plurality of processor cores is divided into shared processor cores shared by the plurality of virtual machines and dedicated processor cores for each of the plurality of virtual machines ([0031] server, providing, shared hardware resources, workloads [0032] workloads, dedicated hardware resource), and the hypervisor is configured to convert some of the dedicated processor cores to shared processor cores or convert some of the shared processor cores to dedicated processor cores based on a use ratio of the dedicated processor cores or the shared processor cores ([0054] each server, provide, shared hardware resources, logical drive, shift back and forth between operation as a shared resource or as a dedicated resources [0071] high demand workload, changed from shared process cores to the dedicated processor core, monitor utilization, provisioning hardware resources based on utilization data ).
As per claim 12, Mayo teaches wherein the plurality of processor cores is divided into a shared processor core shared by the plurality of virtual machines and a dedicated processor core for each of the plurality of virtual machines ([0031] server, providing, shared hardware resources, workloads [0032] workloads, dedicated hardware resource), and
the hypervisor is configured to perform load balancing in the case in which a use ratio of the dedicated processor core of each of the plurality of virtual machines is overloaded and terminate the load balancing in the case in which the overload is resolved ([0036] provisioning and shifting of a workload by cloud control system 108 may shift the workload from a first shared resource to a second shared resource. In this alternative embodiment, it is not required that the workload be shifted to a dedicated resource [0032] in response to high demand i.e. move only in case of high demand, move workload to a dedicated hardware resources [0033] decision, move, dedicated hardware resources, based on server resource data, historical user data [0027] cloud control system, status of cloud resources, current utilization, required by workloads, uses decision engines to implement provisioning changes) .
As per claim 13, Mayo teaches wherein the hypervisor is configured to determine an idle time of each of the processor cores of the plurality of virtual machines and allocate a required number of dedicated processor cores and shared processor cores to the plurality of virtual machines based on the idle time ([0024] each virtual machine, uses, portion of hardware resources, processing resources distributed, plurality of servers [0027] [0027] cloud control system, status of cloud resources, current utilization i.e. indicate idle time as well, required by workloads, uses decision engines to implement provisioning changes [0031] shared hardware resources [0032] dedicated hardware resources).
As per claim 14, Mayo teaches wherein the hypervisor is configured to control use of the shared processor cores to be turned off in order of decreasing use ratio of the dedicated processor cores of each of the plurality of virtual machines ( [0031] shared hardware resources [0032] dedicated hardware resources [0048] high demand workload, workload, shifted from shared cores to one or more dedicated cores [0071] high demand processing, changed from shared processor core to dedicated resources).
Examiners Note
Applicant is further reminded of that the cited paragraphs and in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant(s) and although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider all of the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bursell (US 2021/0409270 A1) teaches dynamic configuration in cloud computing environment
Hunter et al. (US 2016/0077884 A1) teaches dynamic allocation and assignment of virtual functions within fabric
Matsumoto (US 2017/0286152 A1) teaches virtual machine control method
Sharp et al. (US 2010/0161922 A1) teaches system for facilitating migration of virtual machines among a plurality of virtual machines.
Shimogawa et al. (US 2012/0233613 A1) teaches virtual machine management
Authorization for Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit an authorization to communicate with the Examiner via the internet by making the following statement (MPEP 502.03)
“Recognizing that internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only by submitted via Central Fax (not Examiner’s Fax), Regular postal mail, or EFS Web using PTO/SB/439.
/ABU ZAR GHAFFARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195