DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/4/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, a period is missing at the end of the claim. The insertion of a period is needed to complete punctuation of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 17-23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray (US 2021/0319595) in view of Liu (US 2017/0006309).
Regarding claim 1, Ray discloses a method of encoding geometrical information of a geometry of a point cloud into a bitstream (paragraph [36], Ray discloses a G-PCC encoder 200 for encoding geometrical information of a point cloud data, wherein paragraph [48], Ray discloses arithmetic encoding unit 214 for generating a geometry bitstream, and paragraph [15], Ray discloses G-PCC represents geometric point cloud compression video encoding standard), the point cloud being represented by a plurality of cuboid volumes (paragraph [35], Ray discloses that point cloud data is represented in a 3D space within a virtual bounding box, wherein the virtual bounding box of the point cloud data can be split into a plurality of cube/cuboid regions (ie. plural cuboid volumes)), an occupied cuboid volume being modelled by one or more triangles (paragraph [38], Ray discloses that an occupied cuboid is modeled by using a triangulation comprising 1-10 triangles per block, thus resulting in a triangle soup, thus implementing Category 1 geometry codec a trisoup geometry codec), at least one triangle having at least one respective vertex on an edge of the occupied cuboid volume (paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle)), and the geometrical information comprising presence flags signaling a presence of a vertex (paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex, and paragraph [62], Ray discloses G-PCC encoder encodes the set of vertices, wherein vertices, nominally being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes), the method comprising for a current edge (paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex):
constructing contextual information based on at least one of:
occupancy information of neighboring cuboid volumes that abut the current edge (paragraph [39], Ray discloses that occupancy information of neighboring cubes, wherein nodes that share a face with current octree node, and nodes that share a face, edge or vertex for a neighborhood for signifying and predicting the occupancy information, wherein paragraph [35], Ray discloses that point cloud data is represented in a 3D space within a virtual bounding box, wherein the virtual bounding box of the point cloud data can be split into a plurality of cube/cuboid regions (ie. plural cuboid volumes), and paragraph [48], Ray discloses surface approximation analysis unit 212 counts a number of edges of a cube of the point cloud data; paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex), or
vertex positional information of already-coded neighboring edges of the current edge (paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge, and paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex; paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex, and paragraph [62], Ray discloses G-PCC encoder encodes the set of vertices, wherein vertices, nominally being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes, and paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle), thus Ray discloses that the neighboring edges of a triangle share a point (ie. vertex) in common), the neighboring edges being edges having a point in common with the current edge (paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle), thus Ray discloses that the neighboring edges of a triangle share a point (ie. vertex) in common; paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge), and
encoding, by the entropy coder (paragraph [62], Ray discloses that encoding unit 214 utilizes entropy encoding for encoding the segment (ie,edge) indicators and vertex positions), a presence flag for the current edge (paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex; paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and thus Ray’s segment_indicator [i] for indicating the presence of a vertex is similar to Applicant’s concept of a “presence flag” in which Applicant defines a presence flag as a vertex flag indicating if a Trisoup vertex is present on the edge as disclosed in paragraph [69] on page 9 of Applicant’s specification).
Ray does not disclose using the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder, and encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, a presence flag for the current edge. However, Liu teaches using the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information), and encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, contextual information (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information).
Since Ray discloses “encoding, by the entropy coder, a presence flag for the current edge”, and Liu discloses “using the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder, and encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, contextual information”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ray and Liu together as a whole, by taking Liu’s teaching of entropy encoding with probabilities and combine with Ray’s teaching for trisoup syntax signaling for geometry based point cloud compression for ascertaining the limitation “…using the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder, and encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, a presence flag for the current edge” in order to efficiently encode and decode three-dimension video data (Liu’s paragraph [6]).
Regarding claim 2, Ray discloses a method of decoding geometrical information of a geometry of a point cloud from a bitstream (paragraph [52], Ray discloses G-PCC decoder 300 for decoding geometrical information of a point cloud data, wherein element 302 is a geometry arithmetic decoding unit for applying context adaptive binary arithmetic coding of a geometry bitstream), the point cloud being represented by a plurality of cuboid volumes (paragraph [35], Ray discloses that point cloud data is represented in a 3D space within a virtual bounding box, wherein the virtual bounding box of the point cloud data can be split into a plurality of cube/cuboid regions (ie. plural cuboid volumes)), an occupied cuboid volume being modelled by one or more triangles (paragraph [38], Ray discloses that an occupied cuboid is modeled by using a triangulation comprising 1-10 triangles per block, thus resulting in a triangle soup, thus implementing Category 1 geometry codec a trisoup geometry codec), at least one triangle having at least one respective vertex on an edge of the occupied cuboid volume (paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle)), and the geometrical information comprising presence flags signaling a presence of a vertex (paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex, and paragraph [62], Ray discloses G-PCC encoder encodes the set of vertices, wherein vertices, nominally being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes),
the method comprising for a current edge (paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex):
constructing contextual information based on at least one of:
occupancy information of neighboring cuboid volumes that abut the current edge (paragraph [39], Ray discloses that occupancy information of neighboring cubes, wherein nodes that share a face with current octree node, and nodes that share a face, edge or vertex for a neighborhood for signifying and predicting the occupancy information, wherein paragraph [35], Ray discloses that point cloud data is represented in a 3D space within a virtual bounding box, wherein the virtual bounding box of the point cloud data can be split into a plurality of cube/cuboid regions (ie. plural cuboid volumes), and paragraph [48], Ray discloses surface approximation analysis unit 212 counts a number of edges of a cube of the point cloud data; paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex), or
vertex positional information of already-decoded neighboring edges of the current edge (paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge, and paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex; paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex, and paragraph [62], Ray discloses G-PCC encoder encodes the set of vertices, wherein vertices, nominally being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes, and paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle), thus Ray discloses that the neighboring edges of a triangle share a point (ie. vertex) in common), the neighboring edges being edges having a point in common with the current edge (paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle), thus Ray discloses that the neighboring edges of a triangle share a point (ie. vertex) in common; paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge), and
decoding, by the entropy coder (paragraph [62], Ray discloses that encoding unit 214 utilizes entropy encoding for encoding the segment (ie,edge) indicators and vertex positions, and paragraph [52], Ray discloses element 302 is geometry arithmetic decoding unit for performing the arithmetic decoding operation for decoding geometry bitstream data sent from element 214 of fig.2), a presence flag for the current edge (paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex; paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and thus Ray’s segment_indicator [i] for indicating the presence of a vertex is similar to Applicant’s concept of a “presence flag” in which Applicant defines a presence flag as a vertex flag indicating if a Trisoup vertex is present on the edge as disclosed in paragraph [69] on page 9 of Applicant’s specification).
Ray does not disclose using the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder, and decoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, a presence flag for the current edge. However, Liu teaches using the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information), and decoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, contextual information (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC decoding process is performed, an entropy decoding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the decoding, by the entropy coder/decoder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information).
Since Ray discloses “decoding, by the entropy coder, a presence flag for the current edge”, and Liu discloses “using the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder, and decoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, contextual information”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ray and Liu together as a whole, by taking Liu’s teaching of entropy decoding with probabilities and combine with Ray’s teaching for trisoup syntax signaling for geometry based point cloud compression for ascertaining the limitation “…using the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder, and decoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, a presence flag for the current edge” in order to efficiently encode and decode three-dimension video data (Liu’s paragraph [6]).
Regarding claim 4, Ray discloses wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of:
values of already-coded presence flags associated with the neighboring edges of the current edge (paragraph [66], Ray discloses the num_unique_segments_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of segment indicators or flags associated with the neighboring edges (ie. segments) of the current edge, wherein paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge),
positions of vertices on the already-coded neighboring edges of the current edge (paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge, wherein i is an integer),
a count of vertices on already-coded neighboring edges of the current edge which have a distance from the current edge that is below a predefined threshold (paragraph [68], Ray discloses the count or the number of vertices in the trisoup, wherein paragraph [69], Ray discloses that position of the vertex along the current edge, wherein the value of vertex position is in the range of 0 to (1<log 2_trisoup_node_size)-1), or
a count of vertices on already-coded neighboring edges of the current edge which have a distance from the current edge that is within a predefined interval (paragraph [68], Ray discloses the count or the number of vertices in the trisoup, wherein paragraph [69], Ray discloses that position of the vertex along the current edge, wherein the value of vertex position is in the range of 0 to (1<log 2_trisoup_node_size)-1).
Regarding claim 5, Ray discloses wherein constructing the contextual information is based on:
a number of neighboring edges for which the already-coded presence flag is true and a number of neighboring edges for which the already-coded presence flag is false (paragraph [70], Ray discloses that number of unique edges or segments are indicated with num_unique_segments_minus1, and that there are segment_indicator with values of 1 (true), and segment_indicator values of 0(false), and; paragraph [48], Ray discloses the count for the number of edges of a cube that comprises a vertex sharing a neighboring edge is performed; paragraph [77], Ray discloses the count of number of edges is performed based on bitstream syntax), or
the number of neighboring edges for which the already-coded presence flag is false (paragraph [70], Ray discloses that number of unique edges or segments are indicated with num_unique_segments_minus1, and that there are segment_indicator values of 0(false), and; paragraph [48], Ray discloses the count for the number of edges of a cube that comprises a vertex sharing a neighboring edge is performed; paragraph [77], Ray discloses the count of number of edges is performed based on bitstream syntax).
Regarding claim 6, Ray discloses wherein constructing the contextual information comprises quantizing the position of the vertices (paragraph [62], Ray discloses that quantization on the position of the vertices is performed, wherein the level of quantization can be adjusted accordingly to the desired approximate voxel resolution) on the already-coded neighboring edges to be coarser than an accuracy with which the position of the vertices on the already-coded neighboring edges are coded into the bitstream (paragraph [35], Ray discloses that quantization of the positions can be performed based on desired precision or accuracy, wherein the data that is already coded can be set to a higher quantization value (coarser) than position of vertices that have not yet been coded, and paragraph [50], Ray discloses coefficient quantization unit 224 sets the level of quantization based on how much accuracy/precision is desired for outputting to the bitstream to be sent over to the decoder).
Regarding claim 7, Ray does not disclose wherein, for selecting the coding probability of the entropy coder, the method uses: an optimal binary coder with update on the fly (OBUF) mechanism, or a context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC) mechanism.
However, Liu teaches wherein, for selecting the coding probability of the entropy coder (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information), the method uses: an optimal binary coder with update on the fly (OBUF) mechanism, or a context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC) mechanism (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ray and Liu together as a whole for efficiently encoding and decoding three-dimension video data (Liu’s paragraph [6]).
Regarding claim 8, Ray discloses wherein the point cloud is modeled using a TriSoup coding scheme (paragraph [38], Ray discloses implementing a trisoup geometry codec for encoding point cloud data, wherein paragraph [59], Ray discloses trisoup coding is performed by G-PCC (geometry-based point cloud compression) encoder 200 and decoding is performed by G-PCC decoder 300).
Regarding claim 17, Ray discloses wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of:
values of already-decoded presence flags associated with the neighboring edges of the current edge (paragraph [66], Ray discloses the num_unique_segments_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of segment indicators or flags associated with the neighboring edges (ie. segments) of the current edge, wherein paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge),
positions of vertices on the already-decoded neighboring edges of the current edge (paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge, wherein i is an integer),
a count of vertices on already-decoded neighboring edges of the current edge which have a distance from the current edge that is below a predefined threshold (paragraph [68], Ray discloses the count or the number of vertices in the trisoup, wherein paragraph [69], Ray discloses that position of the vertex along the current edge, wherein the value of vertex position is in the range of 0 to (1<log 2_trisoup_node_size)-1), or
a count of vertices on already-decoded neighboring edges of the current edge which have a distance from the current edge that is within a predefined interval (paragraph [68], Ray discloses the count or the number of vertices in the trisoup, wherein paragraph [69], Ray discloses that position of the vertex along the current edge, wherein the value of vertex position is in the range of 0 to (1<log 2_trisoup_node_size)-1).
Regarding claim 18, Ray discloses wherein constructing the contextual information is based on:
a number of neighboring edges for which the already-decoded presence flag is true and a number of neighboring edges for which the already-decoded presence flag is false (paragraph [70], Ray discloses that number of unique edges or segments are indicated with num_unique_segments_minus1, and that there are segment_indicator with values of 1 (true), and segment_indicator values of 0(false), and; paragraph [48], Ray discloses the count for the number of edges of a cube that comprises a vertex sharing a neighboring edge is performed; paragraph [77], Ray discloses the count of number of edges is performed based on bitstream syntax), or
the number of neighboring edges for which the already-decoded presence flag is false (paragraph [70], Ray discloses that number of unique edges or segments are indicated with num_unique_segments_minus1, and that there are segment_indicator values of 0(false), and; paragraph [48], Ray discloses the count for the number of edges of a cube that comprises a vertex sharing a neighboring edge is performed; paragraph [77], Ray discloses the count of number of edges is performed based on bitstream syntax).
Regarding claim 19, Ray discloses wherein constructing the contextual information comprises quantizing the position of the vertices (paragraph [62], Ray discloses that quantization on the position of the vertices is performed, wherein the level of quantization can be adjusted accordingly to the desired approximate voxel resolution) on the already-decoded neighboring edges to be coarser than an accuracy with which the position of the vertices on the already-decoded neighboring edges are coded into the bitstream (paragraph [35], Ray discloses that quantization of the positions can be performed based on desired precision or accuracy, wherein the data that is already coded can be set to a higher quantization value (coarser) than position of vertices that have not yet been coded, and paragraph [50], Ray discloses coefficient quantization unit 224 sets the level of quantization based on how much accuracy/precision is desired for outputting to the bitstream to be sent over to the decoder, and paragraph [55], Ray discloses inverse quantization unit 308 performs the inverse quantization of the data received as decoded to ascertain attribute values of the point cloud data depending on how the point cloud data was encoded at the encoder).
Regarding claim 20, Ray does not disclose wherein, for selecting the coding probability of the entropy coder, the method uses: an optimal binary coder with update on the fly (OBUF) mechanism, or a context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC) mechanism.
However, Liu teaches wherein, for selecting the coding probability of the entropy coder (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information), the method uses: an optimal binary coder with update on the fly (OBUF) mechanism, or a context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC) mechanism (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ray and Liu together as a whole for efficiently encoding and decoding three-dimension video data (Liu’s paragraph [6]).
Regarding claim 21, Ray discloses wherein the point cloud is modeled using a TriSoup coding scheme (paragraph [38], Ray discloses implementing a trisoup geometry codec for encoding point cloud data, wherein paragraph [59], Ray discloses trisoup coding is performed by G-PCC (geometry-based point cloud compression) encoder 200 and decoding is performed by G-PCC decoder 300).
Regarding claim 22, Ray discloses a device of encoding geometrical information of a geometry of a point cloud into a bitstream (paragraph [36], Ray discloses a G-PCC encoder 200 for encoding geometrical information of a point cloud data, wherein paragraph [48], Ray discloses arithmetic encoding unit 214 for generating a geometry bitstream, and paragraph [15], Ray discloses G-PCC represents geometric point cloud compression video encoding standard), the point cloud being represented by a plurality of cuboid volumes (paragraph [35], Ray discloses that point cloud data is represented in a 3D space within a virtual bounding box, wherein the virtual bounding box of the point cloud data can be split into a plurality of cube/cuboid regions (ie. plural cuboid volumes)), an occupied cuboid volume being modelled by one or more triangles (paragraph [38], Ray discloses that an occupied cuboid is modeled by using a triangulation comprising 1-10 triangles per block, thus resulting in a triangle soup, thus implementing Category 1 geometry codec a trisoup geometry codec), at least one triangle having at least one respective vertex on an edge of the occupied cuboid volume (paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle)), and the geometrical information comprising presence flags signaling a presence of a vertex (paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex, and paragraph [62], Ray discloses G-PCC encoder encodes the set of vertices, wherein vertices, nominally being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes), the device comprising:
a processor (paragraph [131], Ray discloses a processor or multiple processors); and
a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (paragraph [132], Ray discloses implementing a computer readable medium storing a computer program that is executable by a processing unit),
wherein, for a current edge (paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex), the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (paragraph [131], Ray discloses a processor or multiple processors).
Regarding claim 23, Ray discloses a device of decoding geometrical information of a geometry of a point cloud from a bitstream (paragraph [52], Ray discloses G-PCC decoder 300 for decoding geometrical information of a point cloud data, wherein element 302 is a geometry arithmetic decoding unit for applying context adaptive binary arithmetic coding of a geometry bitstream), the point cloud being represented by a plurality of cuboid volumes (paragraph [35], Ray discloses that point cloud data is represented in a 3D space within a virtual bounding box, wherein the virtual bounding box of the point cloud data can be split into a plurality of cube/cuboid regions (ie. plural cuboid volumes)), an occupied cuboid volume being modelled by one or more triangles (paragraph [38], Ray discloses that an occupied cuboid is modeled by using a triangulation comprising 1-10 triangles per block, thus resulting in a triangle soup, thus implementing Category 1 geometry codec a trisoup geometry codec), at least one triangle having at least one respective vertex on an edge of the occupied cuboid volume (paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle)), and the geometrical information comprising presence flags signaling a presence of a vertex (paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex, and paragraph [62], Ray discloses G-PCC encoder encodes the set of vertices, wherein vertices, nominally being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes), the device comprising:
a processor (paragraph [131], Ray discloses a processor or multiple processors); and
a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (paragraph [132], Ray discloses implementing a computer readable medium storing a computer program that is executable by a processing unit),
wherein, for a current edge (paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex), the processor is configured to:
construct contextual information based on at least one of:
occupancy information of neighboring cuboid volumes that abut the current edge (paragraph [39], Ray discloses that occupancy information of neighboring cubes, wherein nodes that share a face with current octree node, and nodes that share a face, edge or vertex for a neighborhood for signifying and predicting the occupancy information, wherein paragraph [35], Ray discloses that point cloud data is represented in a 3D space within a virtual bounding box, wherein the virtual bounding box of the point cloud data can be split into a plurality of cube/cuboid regions (ie. plural cuboid volumes), and paragraph [48], Ray discloses surface approximation analysis unit 212 counts a number of edges of a cube of the point cloud data; paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex), or
vertex positional information of already-decoded neighboring edges of the current edge (paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge, and paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex; paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex, and paragraph [62], Ray discloses G-PCC encoder encodes the set of vertices, wherein vertices, nominally being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes, and paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle), thus Ray discloses that the neighboring edges of a triangle share a point (ie. vertex) in common), the neighboring edges being edges having a point in common with the current edge (paragraph [63], fig.4, Ray discloses an example of trisoup representation, wherein cube 400 has at least one triangle 402, wherein a triangle comprises three edges (ie. segments) and three vertices (ie. points of intersection between two edges of a triangle), thus Ray discloses that the neighboring edges of a triangle share a point (ie. vertex) in common; paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge),
and
decode, by the entropy coder (paragraph [62], Ray discloses that encoding unit 214 utilizes entropy encoding for encoding the segment (ie,edge) indicators and vertex positions, and paragraph [52], Ray discloses element 302 is geometry arithmetic decoding unit for performing the arithmetic decoding operation for decoding geometry bitstream data sent from element 214 of fig.2), a presence flag for the current edge (paragraph [70], Ray discloses implementing syntax elements that indicate both the number of unique edges or segments (eg. num_unique_segments_minus1) and number of vertices (eg. num_vertices_minus1), wherein for each unique edge, G-PCC encoder signals whether the edge contains a vertex (eg. intersection point), and that if segment_indicator is equal to 1, then edge is detected for comprising a vertex, and if segment_indicator is equal to 0, then edge does not have a vertex; paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and thus Ray’s segment_indicator [i] for indicating the presence of a vertex is similar to Applicant’s concept of a “presence flag” in which Applicant defines a presence flag as a vertex flag indicating if a Trisoup vertex is present on the edge as disclosed in paragraph [69] on page 9 of Applicant’s specification).
Ray does not disclose use the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder, and decode, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, a presence flag for the current edge. However, Liu teaches use the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information), and decode, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, contextual information (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC decoding process is performed, an entropy decoding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the decoding, by the entropy coder/decoder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information).
Since Ray discloses “decode, by the entropy coder, a presence flag for the current edge”, and Liu discloses “use the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder, and decode, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, contextual information”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ray and Liu together as a whole, by taking Liu’s teaching of entropy decoding with probabilities and combine with Ray’s teaching for trisoup syntax signaling for geometry based point cloud compression for ascertaining the limitation “…using the contextual information to select a coding probability of an entropy coder, and decode, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability, a presence flag for the current edge” in order to efficiently encode and decode three-dimension video data (Liu’s paragraph [6]).
Regarding claim 25, Ray discloses wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of:
values of already-decoded presence flags associated with the neighboring edges of the current edge (paragraph [66], Ray discloses the num_unique_segments_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of segment indicators or flags associated with the neighboring edges (ie. segments) of the current edge, wherein paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge),
positions of vertices on the already-decoded neighboring edges of the current edge (paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge, wherein i is an integer),
a count of vertices on already-decoded neighboring edges of the current edge which have a distance from the current edge that is below a predefined threshold (paragraph [68], Ray discloses the count or the number of vertices in the trisoup, wherein paragraph [69], Ray discloses that position of the vertex along the current edge, wherein the value of vertex position is in the range of 0 to (1<log 2_trisoup_node_size)-1), or
a count of vertices on already-decoded neighboring edges of the current edge which have a distance from the current edge that is within a predefined interval (paragraph [68], Ray discloses the count or the number of vertices in the trisoup, wherein paragraph [69], Ray discloses that position of the vertex along the current edge, wherein the value of vertex position is in the range of 0 to (1<log 2_trisoup_node_size)-1),
wherein constructing the contextual information is based on:
a number of neighboring edges for which the already-decoded presence flag is true and a number of neighboring edges for which the already-decoded presence flag is false (paragraph [70], Ray discloses that number of unique edges or segments are indicated with num_unique_segments_minus1, and that there are segment_indicator with values of 1 (true), and segment_indicator values of 0(false), and; paragraph [48], Ray discloses the count for the number of edges of a cube that comprises a vertex sharing a neighboring edge is performed; paragraph [77], Ray discloses the count of number of edges is performed based on bitstream syntax), or
the number of neighboring edges for which the already-decoded presence flag is false (paragraph [70], Ray discloses that number of unique edges or segments are indicated with num_unique_segments_minus1, and that there are segment_indicator values of 0(false), and; paragraph [48], Ray discloses the count for the number of edges of a cube that comprises a vertex sharing a neighboring edge is performed; paragraph [77], Ray discloses the count of number of edges is performed based on bitstream syntax),
wherein constructing the contextual information comprises quantizing the position of the vertices (paragraph [62], Ray discloses that quantization on the position of the vertices is performed, wherein the level of quantization can be adjusted accordingly to the desired approximate voxel resolution) on the already-decoded neighboring edges to be coarser than an accuracy with which the position of the vertices on the already-decoded neighboring edges are coded into the bitstream (paragraph [35], Ray discloses that quantization of the positions can be performed based on desired precision or accuracy, wherein the data that is already coded can be set to a higher quantization value (coarser) than position of vertices that have not yet been coded, and paragraph [50], Ray discloses coefficient quantization unit 224 sets the level of quantization based on how much accuracy/precision is desired for outputting to the bitstream to be sent over to the decoder, and paragraph [55], Ray discloses inverse quantization unit 308 performs the inverse quantization of the data received as decoded to ascertain attribute values of the point cloud data depending on how the point cloud data was encoded at the encoder).
Regarding claim 26, Ray does not disclose wherein, for selecting the coding probability of the entropy coder, the method uses: an optimal binary coder with update on the fly (OBUF) mechanism, or a context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC) mechanism.
However, Liu teaches wherein, for selecting the coding probability of the entropy coder (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information), the method uses: an optimal binary coder with update on the fly (OBUF) mechanism, or a context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC) mechanism (paragraph [72], Liu discloses that before initializing the CABAC encoding process is performed, an entropy coding unit assigns an initialized probability state to each context for performing the encoding, by the entropy coder and using the selected coding probability (ie. probability state), wherein paragraph [71], Liu discloses the selection of the probability model of the CABAC entropy encoder, wherein the context adaptive binary arithmetic coding is implemented based on contextual information supplied to select the probability for the entropy coder for coding the context information). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ray and Liu together as a whole for efficiently encoding and decoding three-dimension video data (Liu’s paragraph [6]).
Regarding claim 27, Ray discloses wherein the point cloud is modeled using a TriSoup coding scheme (paragraph [38], Ray discloses implementing a trisoup geometry codec for encoding point cloud data, wherein paragraph [59], Ray discloses trisoup coding is performed by G-PCC (geometry-based point cloud compression) encoder 200 and decoding is performed by G-PCC decoder 300).
Claims 3, 16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray (US 2021/0319595) and Liu (US 2017/0006309) in view of Verstraete (US 2024/0161325).
Regarding claim 3, Ray discloses teaches wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of:
wherein the subset of neighboring cuboid volumes comprising at least one of:
neighboring cuboid volumes sharing the current edge (paragraph [62], Ray discloses vertices, being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes or cuboids, thus neighboring cubes share the current edge, wherein paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge, and paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and thus Ray’s segment_indicator [i] for indicating the presence of a vertex is similar to Applicant’s concept of a “presence flag” in which Applicant defines a presence flag as a vertex flag indicating if a Trisoup vertex is present on the edge as disclosed in paragraph [69] on page 9 of Applicant’s specification),
neighboring cuboid volumes having a corner as a start point of the current edge, or
neighboring cuboid volumes having a corner as an end point of the current edge.
Ray and Liu do not disclose wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of: a count of all occupied neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes, or whether or not all neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes are occupied.
However, Verstraete teaches wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of:
a count of all occupied neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes (paragraph [119], Verstraete discloses computing or counting the plurality of voxels of interest corresponding to the segment component(s) of interest in that the counting of voxels can be performed for a section, subsection, area, volume or segment for counting the neighboring cuboids, and paragraph [122], Verstraete discloses that computation or count of the number of voxels is performed for counting the neighboring cuboids within the area of the 3D point cloud, and paragraph [115], Verstraete discloses the 3D point cloud is comprised of plural voxels or neighboring cuboids to be utilized), or
whether or not all neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes are occupied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ray, Liu and Verstraete together as a whole for producing high quality three-dimensional images for display by suppressing and reducing noise within image data (Verstraete’s paragraph [13]).
Regarding claim 16, Ray discloses teaches wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of:
wherein the subset of neighboring cuboid volumes comprising at least one of:
neighboring cuboid volumes sharing the current edge (paragraph [62], Ray discloses vertices, being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes or cuboids, thus neighboring cubes share the current edge, wherein paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge, and paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and thus Ray’s segment_indicator [i] for indicating the presence of a vertex is similar to Applicant’s concept of a “presence flag” in which Applicant defines a presence flag as a vertex flag indicating if a Trisoup vertex is present on the edge as disclosed in paragraph [69] on page 9 of Applicant’s specification),
neighboring cuboid volumes having a corner as a start point of the current edge, or
neighboring cuboid volumes having a corner as an end point of the current edge.
Ray and Liu do not disclose wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of: a count of all occupied neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes, or whether or not all neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes are occupied.
However, Verstraete teaches wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of:
a count of all occupied neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes (paragraph [119], Verstraete discloses computing or counting the plurality of voxels of interest corresponding to the segment component(s) of interest in that the counting of voxels can be performed for a section, subsection, area, volume or segment for counting the neighboring cuboids, and paragraph [122], Verstraete discloses that computation or count of the number of voxels is performed for counting the neighboring cuboids within the area of the 3D point cloud, and paragraph [115], Verstraete discloses the 3D point cloud is comprised of plural voxels or neighboring cuboids to be utilized), or
whether or not all neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes are occupied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ray, Liu and Verstraete together as a whole for producing high quality three-dimensional images for display by suppressing and reducing noise within image data (Verstraete’s paragraph [13]).
Regarding claim 24, Ray discloses teaches wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of:
wherein the subset of neighboring cuboid volumes comprising at least one of:
neighboring cuboid volumes sharing the current edge (paragraph [62], Ray discloses vertices, being intersections of a surface with edges of a cube, are shared across neighboring cubes or cuboids, thus neighboring cubes share the current edge, wherein paragraph [69], Ray discloses vertex_position[i] for indicating the position of the vertex along the edge, and paragraph [67], Ray discloses that for a trisoup coding scheme, where the edge or segment of a triangle in a trisoup syntax, the segment_indicator[i], wherein i is an integer, indicates a unique edge of a triangle within the trisoup syntax, and provides a notification of whether the edge intersects the surface and contains a vertex, and thus Ray’s segment_indicator [i] for indicating the presence of a vertex is similar to Applicant’s concept of a “presence flag” in which Applicant defines a presence flag as a vertex flag indicating if a Trisoup vertex is present on the edge as disclosed in paragraph [69] on page 9 of Applicant’s specification),
neighboring cuboid volumes having a corner as a start point of the current edge, or
neighboring cuboid volumes having a corner as an end point of the current edge.
Ray and Liu do not disclose wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of: a count of all occupied neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes, or whether or not all neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes are occupied.
However, Verstraete teaches wherein constructing the contextual information is based on at least one of:
a count of all occupied neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes (paragraph [119], Verstraete discloses computing or counting the plurality of voxels of interest corresponding to the segment component(s) of interest in that the counting of voxels can be performed for a section, subsection, area, volume or segment for counting the neighboring cuboids, and paragraph [122], Verstraete discloses that computation or count of the number of voxels is performed for counting the neighboring cuboids within the area of the 3D point cloud, and paragraph [115], Verstraete discloses the 3D point cloud is comprised of plural voxels or neighboring cuboids to be utilized), or
whether or not all neighboring cuboid volumes belonging to a subset of neighboring cuboid volumes are occupied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ray, Liu and Verstraete together as a whole for producing high quality three-dimensional images for display by suppressing and reducing noise within image data (Verstraete’s paragraph [13]).
Contact Information
/ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488