DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 2 September 2026. Claim(s) 1-20 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim(s) 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitation ‘expandable element’ in claim 14 is construed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim 14 function: to thermally isolate the septal wall between the left atrium and the right atrium.
Corresponding structure: [0021, 0079], balloon lobes (84a, b; Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US 2018/0000509A1, “Wilson”).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson discloses a cutting tool including an elongate body (212; Fig. 2) having proximal and distal portions (Fig. 2). An inner shaft (213; [0044]) extends within the distal portion of the elongate body and has proximal and distal ends. A hub (pin connecting cutting elements (230a; [0044])) is coupled to the distal end of the inner shaft. A cutting element (230;[0044]) having an axial length. The hub is capable of transitioning the cutting element between a collapsed position and an expanded position while maintaining the axial length of the cutting element (Fig. 8; [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Wilson discloses a sheath (introducer sheath or delivery device; [0036]) that is movable along the elongate body and sized to cover the cutting element.
Regarding claim 4, Wilson discloses that the distal portion of the elongate body includes at least opening (219; [0046]). The cutting element is sized and capable of passing through the at least one opening when transitioned between the collapsed position and the expanded position [0046; Fig. 2].
Regarding claim 5, Wilson discloses at least one stopper (250) disposed within the distal portion of the elongate body. The stopper defines an aperture sized and capable of receiving a portion of one of the inner shaft and the hub and prevents displacement of the hub in a lateral and vertical direction within the distal portion (Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not disclose or suggest a method of creating a shunt between two chambers of a mammalian heart including a cutting tool having an elongate body and a plurality of blades coupled to a hub, puncturing a septal wall with a distal end of the cutting tool to form an aperture, advancing the cutting tool through the aperture with the plurality of blades in an expanded configuration, rotating the hub in a first direction to form a shunt within the septal wall, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art does not disclose or suggest a method of creating a shunt between two chambers of a mammalian heart including a cutting tool having an elongate body and a plurality of blades coupled to a hub, puncturing a septal wall with a distal end of the cutting tool to form an aperture, advancing the cutting tool through the aperture with the plurality of blades in an expanded configuration, rotating the hub in a first radial direction to transition the plurality of blades from a collapsed position to an expanded position, the transitioning of the plurality of blades cutting the septal wall to form a shunt, rotating the hub in a second radial direction to transition the plurality of blades from the expanded position to the collapsed position, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Spencer et al. (US 2013/0041391A1) discloses a cutting element formed of a plurality of blades but does not disclose that the cutting element is rotatably coupled to a hub at a distal end of the inner shaft such that the hub is configured to transition the cutting element between a collapsed position and expanded position via actuation of the inner shaft.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771