DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitation ‘expandable element’ in claim 14 is construed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim 14 function: to thermally isolate the septal wall between the left atrium and the right atrium.
Corresponding structure: [0021, 0079], balloon lobes (84a, b; Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Majercak et al. (US 2016/0374714A1, “Majercak”).
Regarding claim 1, Majercak discloses a cutting tool including an elongate body (106; Fig. 8) having proximal and distal portions (Fig. 1). An inner shaft (102; [0025]) extends within the distal portion of the elongate body and has proximal and distal ends. A hub (119c) is coupled to the distal end of the inner shaft and a cutting element (108;[0025, 0026, 0027]), wherein movement of the hub transitions the cutting element between a collapsed position and an expanded position (Fig. 8; [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Majercak discloses a sheath (outer sheath; [0038]) that is movable along the elongate body and sized to cover the cutting element.
Regarding claim 3, Majercak discloses that the hub is rotatably movable within the distal portion via actuation of the inner shaft [0038]. Rotation of the hub transitions the cutting element between the collapsed position and the expanded position [0038; Fig. 8].
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Majercak et al. (US 2016/0374714A1, “Majercak”).
Regarding claim 1, Majercak discloses a cutting tool including an elongate body (outer sheath; Fig. 8) having proximal and distal portions (Fig. 1). An inner shaft (102; [0025]) extends within the distal portion of the elongate body and has proximal and distal ends. A hub (119c) is coupled to the distal end of the inner shaft and a cutting element (108;[0025, 0026, 0027]), wherein movement of the hub transitions the cutting element between a collapsed position and an expanded position (Fig. 8; [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Majercak discloses that the hub is rotatably movable within the distal portion via actuation of the inner shaft [0038]. Rotation of the hub transitions the cutting element between the collapsed position and the expanded position [0038; Fig. 8].
Regarding claim 4, Majercak discloses that the distal portion of the elongate body includes at least opening (distal outlet of sheath) through which a guidewire or saline may pass through (Fig. 8). The cutting element is sized and capable of passing through the at least one opening when transitioned between the collapsed position and the expanded position [0038].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not disclose or suggest a method of creating a shunt between two chambers of a mammalian heart including a cutting tool having an elongate body and a plurality of blades coupled to a hub, puncturing a septal wall with a distal end of the cutting tool to form an aperture, advancing the cutting tool through the aperture with the plurality of blades in an expanded configuration, rotating the hub in a first direction to form a shunt within the septal wall, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art does not disclose or suggest a method of creating a shunt between two chambers of a mammalian heart including a cutting tool having an elongate body and a plurality of blades coupled to a hub, puncturing a septal wall with a distal end of the cutting tool to form an aperture, advancing the cutting tool through the aperture with the plurality of blades in an expanded configuration, rotating the hub in a first radial direction to transition the plurality of blades from a collapsed position to an expanded position, the transitioning of the plurality of blades cutting the septal wall to form a shunt, rotating the hub in a second radial direction to transition the plurality of blades from the expanded position to the collapsed position, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vardi et al. (US 2020/0170662A1), Yang et al. (US 2022/0370120A1) and Burbank et al. (US 6,331,166) disclose a cutting tool including an elongate body, inner shaft with a hub coupled to the distal end, and a cutting element coupled to the hub.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771