DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Objections
Claims 12, 13 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12 (line 1) “of claim 1” should recite –of claim 11--.
In claim 13 (line 1) “of claim 1” should recite –of claim 11--.
In claim 13 (lines 2-3) “solidly realized with the base body and” should be deleted.
In claim 13 (line 3) “the same one” should recite –the base body--.
In claim 19 (line 2) “preferentially” should be deleted.
In claim 19 (line 3) “with each” should recite –with each other--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the at least one engagement element is solidly realized with the base body and connected to the base body by an elastically yieldable part or a connecting element allowing a relative movement between the at least one engagement element and the base body”.
It is unclear as to what Applicant intends for the limitations of the at least one engagement element being “solidly realized with the base body” to mean; it is unclear as to whether such limitations require that such elements are formed as a “solid” or rigid unitary component. It is unclear as to how the engagement element can be coupled to the base body by “an elastically yieldable part or a connecting element allowing a relative movement between the at least one engagement element and the base body”, yet be a “solid” or rigid component therewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gibam Shops (EP 1 591 674).
As to claim 11, Gibam Shops discloses a hooking device for panels of pieces of furniture comprising:
a base body 6 fixable to a covering panel of the piece of furniture,
at least one engagement element 10 connected to the base body, said at least one engagement element being hookable to a support element of a piece of furniture,
characterized in that said at least one engagement element is movable with respect to the base body, and
by comprising drive means A for moving said at least one engagement element during an assembling step of the panel on the piece of furniture (Figure 5 reprinted below with annotations; Figures 1-13).
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 12, Gibam Shops discloses a hooking device comprising a slider 7 or a separate body movably supported by said base body, and in that said at least one engagement element 10 is arranged on said slider or separate body (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 13, Gibam Shops discloses a hooking device characterized in that the at least one engagement element 10 is connected to the base body 6 by an elastically yieldable part or a connecting element 7 allowing a relative movement between the at least one engagement element and the base body (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 14, Gibam Shops discloses a hooking device characterized in that said drive means A for moving the at least one engagement element 10 are provided on said slider 7 or on said separate body (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 15, Gibam Shops discloses a hooking device characterized in that the drive means A for moving the at least one engagement element 10 are provided on or connected directly with the at least one engagement element (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 16, Gibam Shops discloses a hooking device characterized in that the at least one engagement element 10 is conformed as one or more protrusions or teeth or one or more ribs protruding with respect to the base body 6 for engaging in a slit or a groove provided along the support elements (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 18, Gibam Shops discloses a hooking device characterized by comprising elastic return means 18 conformed and arranged to bias the at least one engagement element 10 to move towards an initial forward position in which it is arranged near a side edge of the covering panel (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 19, Gibam Shops discloses a hooking device characterized in that said base body 6, having a flat shape, is formed by two half-shells B coupled with each other by hooking means and/or screws (received within holes 22) or other fixing means (Figures 1-13).
As to claim 20, Gibam Shops discloses a hooking device characterized by providing spacing elements (fasteners received within holes 22) or shims between each hooking device and the covering panel for mounting covering panels having different thicknesses (Figures 1-13).
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bodine et al. (US 6,101,777).
As to claim 11, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device capable of use with panels of pieces of furniture comprising:
a base body 15,16 capable of being fixed to a covering panel of the piece of furniture,
at least one engagement element 7 connected to the base body, said at least one engagement element capable of being hooked to a support element of a piece of furniture,
characterized in that said at least one engagement element is movable with respect to the base body, and
by comprising drive means A for moving said at least one engagement element during an assembling step of the panel on the piece of furniture (Figure 4 reprinted below with annotations; Figures 1-6).
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 12, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device comprising a slider 6 or a separate body movably supported by said base body 15,16, and in that said at least one engagement element 7 is arranged on said slider or separate body (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 13, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device characterized in that the at least one engagement element 7 is connected to the base body 15,16 by an elastically yieldable part 6 or a connecting element allowing a relative movement between the at least one engagement element and the base body (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 14, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device characterized in that said drive means A for moving the at least one engagement element 7 are provided on said slider 6 or on said separate body (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 15, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device characterized in that the drive means A for moving the at least one engagement element 7 are provided on or connected directly with the at least one engagement element (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 16, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device characterized in that the at least one engagement element 7 is conformed as one or more protrusions or teeth or one or more ribs protruding with respect to the base body 15,16 capable of engaging in a slit or a groove provided along the support elements (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 17, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device characterized in that said drive means A comprise at least one drive element having a slanted or wedge-shaped surface conformed and capable of contacting a part of a support element during the assembling step of the panel in such a way to cause a lateral movement of the at least one engagement element 7 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 18, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device characterized by comprising elastic return means (defined by the resilient material of the hooking device) conformed and arranged to bias the at least one engagement element 7 to move towards an initial forward position in which it is arranged near a side edge of the covering panel (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 19, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device characterized in that said base body 15,16, having a flat shape, is formed by two half-shells 15,16 coupled with each other by hooking means and/or screws or other fixing means 9 (Figures 1-6).
As to claim 20, Bodine et al. disclose a hooking device characterized by providing spacing elements 9 or shims between each hooking device and the covering panel for mounting covering panels having different thicknesses (Figures 1-6).
Conclusion
07/08/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619