DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 9 there needs to be a “the” before “moving platen”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 11 “leas” should be spelled “least”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 27 “lest” should be spelled “least”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 31 “with” should be “width”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 31 the “comprised in” should be “comprised of”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: as written claim 7 is dependent on canceled claim 1, it should depend on claim 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: as written claim 8 is dependent on canceled claim 1, it should depend on claim 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 9 the “comprised in” should be “comprised of”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: as written claim 9 is dependent on canceled claim 1, it should depend on claim 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: there needs to be a serial (Oxford) comma after (PEI) in line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chotard (US 2005/0127566; already of record), in view of Jorn (DE 102016210086; with machine translation). Regarding claim 6:
Chotard teaches stamping fiber reinforced composites (e.g. Abstract and Figures 1-5) with undercuts (i.e. flanges less than 90 degrees) (paragraph 0060).
As seen in Figures 2-4 the apparatus of Chotard meets all the structural requirements of claim 6.
Chotard also processes the blank in the claimed manner, as seen in Figures 2-4, with the exception of explicitly mentioning the heating and cooling parameters.
Regarding the heating, in the same field of endeavor Jorn teaches that when compressing fiber reinforced composites, that when compressing fiber reinforced composites that one should od so at above the melting point so that the fibers are able to move relative to one another in order to form the desired 3D shape (paragraph 0078).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to heat as taught by Jorn, since doing so allows for the material to form the desired shape.
Regarding the cooling step. Chotard states the part obtained is removed from the jig (paragraph 0055) and that additional cooling is not required (paragraph 0068). Based on this disclosure one can easily see that the part of Chotard was cooled as claimed. Additionally, it has been shown that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options in their art. If this leads to an anticipated success, it is likely that it was not due to innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this instance there are only two options, cool with the part while on the stamp, or cool the part while off the stamp. Thus an ordinary artisan would easily be able to determine which of the two cooling means is proper for the part and process, if one were not to follow the previous conclusion.
Regarding claim 8:
Chotard teaches that a part with four flanges, as claimed, can be created, as seen in Figure 1. Thus a punch as claimed would have been used, since Figures 204 are only cross sectional views of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 9:
Chotard only mentions the use of thermoplastic resin (e.g. Abstract) and not the exact species.
In the same field of endeavor Jorn teaches using PEEK as the thermoplastic in a fiber composite for aircraft purposes (paragraph 0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the PEEK of Jorn in the process of Chotard, since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is obvious (MPEP 2144.07). In this instance both Chotard and Jorn compress thermoplastic resin fiber composites for use in aircrafts, thus the skilled artisan would be able to determine the needed species for the required process and end use.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chotard and Jorn as applied above, and further in view of Nishimura et al (US 2007/0222097). Regarding claim 7, Chotard and Jorn are silent to:
Wherein the wedge-shaped end of the punch comprises two end parts with adjustable shims between the two end parts and wherein the method comprises a step of: pairing the punch and the imprint by adjusting a thickness of the adjustable shims according to a thickness of the web and a thickness of the flanged edges
In the same field of using compression in molding, Nishimura teaches adding shims to force applying members in a clamping operation in order to alter the applied force (paragraph 0071).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply shims as taught by Nishimura to the apparatus of Chotard, since doing so would allow the user to alter the applied force.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892.
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743