DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 19-21 are objected to because “one tower among” should be --one tower section among--. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, facilitating the vertical displacement operations using at least one of a rack and pinion system comprising a rack and at least one pinion, wherein the rack is arranged in a vertical position connected to at least one tower among the subsequent tower sections, and the at least one pinion is located in the elevator as a part of a drive system, a winch hoist system comprising a rail and at least one winch, wherein the rail is arranged in a vertical position connected to at least one tower among the subsequent tower sections, and the at least one winch is located in the elevator or ground as a part of a lifting system, or a chain hoist system comprising a rail and at least one winch, wherein the rail is arranged in a vertical position connected to at least one tower among the subsequent tower sections, and the at least one chain hoist is located in the elevator as a part of a lifting system of claims 12 and 22 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vertical displacement operations facilitated with a rack and pinion system comprising a rack and at least one pinion, wherein the rack is arranged in a vertical position connected to at least one tower among the subsequent tower sections, and the at least one pinion is located in the elevator as a part of a drive system of claim 19 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vertical displacement operations facilitated with a winch hoist system comprising a rail and at least one winch, wherein the rail is arranged in a vertical position connected to at least one tower among the subsequent tower sections, and the at least one winch is located in the elevator or ground as a part of a lifting system of claim 20 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vertical displacement operations facilitated with a chain hoist system comprising a rail and at least one winch, wherein the rail is arranged in a vertical position connected to at least one tower among the subsequent tower sections, and the at least one chain hoist is located in the elevator as a part of a lifting system of claim 21 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a self-climbing platform configured to carry a first tower section to an installation height and an elevator assembly platform attached to the first tower section and configured to elevate and position one or more subsequent tower sections, the elevator assembly platform further configured to perform “vertical displacement operations” and “lateral displacement operations” with respect to at least one component of a wind turbine, which is confusing. Isn’t configuration to vertically and horizontally displace already recited? Specifically, isn’t configuration to carry/elevate the tower sections to a height and position the tower sections identical to vertical and horizontal displacement operations? It is assumed the claim recites the elevator assembly platform further configured to carry/elevate to an installation height and position at least one component of a wind turbine.
Claim 2 recites that “a load comprises a first tower section and the one or more subsequent tower sections”, which is confusing. Is the “a” first tower section the same tower section as the “the” first tower section previously recited? In any case, how can a load, which is something that is carried, comprise (be made up of) the tower sections? Can’t essentially anything be carried? What is the purpose of reciting that a load is the sections, especially considering the limitation “load” is not subsequently repeated in any dependent claim?
Claim 4 recites that the at least one component comprises at least one of a nacelle, a hub, a drive train, a blade, the first tower section, or the one or more subsequent tower sections, which is confusing. Claim 2 already recites that the load comprises all the tower sections. How can the at least one component comprises the first tower section or subsequent tower sections when according to claim 2, the first tower section is apart from the subsequent sections?
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 recites a self-climbing platform configured to carry a first tower section to an installation height and place the first tower section in an upright position on a tower base, the self-climbing platform configured to place the first tower section in an upright position on a tower base. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boro (12,264,049).
1 and 3. Boro teaches a tower assembly system, comprising:
a self-climbing platform 101 that is configured to carry (via winch and rope 106) a first tower section (“first section” 222, fig. 4) to an installation height (the height of the top of top base section 211) and place the first tower section in an upright position on a tower base (211,212,221), and
an elevator assembly platform attached to the first tower section (fig. 7 shows attachment at least via the ropes at the first section lifting lugs at the top of the section) and configured to elevate, position, and connect one or more subsequent tower sections until the one or more subsequent tower sections are located directly above the first tower section in a vertical tower assembly, fig. 8, the elevator assembly platform further configured to, as best understood, carry/elevate to an installation height and position at least one component (the nacelle) of a wind turbine.
2 and 4. Boro teaches the tower assembly system of claim 1, Boro further teaching, as best understood, the first tower section and the one or more subsequent tower sections comprise a load capable of being displaced by the elevator assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 12-18, and 20-25 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boro.
5. Boro teaches a method for assembling a wind turbine, comprising:
placing a first tower section 222 in an upright position on a tower base (211,212,221); and
using an elevator assembly platform attached to a first tower section rack to elevate (the lugs are a rack as broadly recited, as the lugs are a series of mechanical fittings use to secure the ropes, a rack also being a structure to hold items), position and connect subsequent tower sections until the subsequent tower sections are located directly above the first tower section in a vertical tower assembly, figs. 5-8, wherein the elevator assembly platform performs vertical displacement operations and lateral displacement operations with respect to at least one component (tower sections and nacelle) of the wind turbine including the first and subsequent tower sections.
Should Applicant disagree that the lugs essentially act as a rack, as broadly recited, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the elevator assembly platform attached to a first tower section rack for stability.
6. Boro teaches the method of claim 5, Boro further teaching the elevator assembly platform comprises:
an elevator (winch);
a lateral displacement carrier (rack and pinion); and
at least one counterweight 121.
7. Boro teaches the method of claim 6, Boro further comprising:
transferring the at least one component of the wind turbine to a final location with the lateral displacement carrier, after vertically displacing the at least one component to a corresponding height with the elevator (see the progression from figs. 4-9).
8. Boro teaches the method of claim 6, Boro further comprising:
transferring the at least one component of the wind turbine to a height, wherein the at least one counterweight is placed on an opposite side of the lateral displacement carrier to compensate for a moment generated by a weight of the at least one component;
wherein once at a corresponding height, the lateral displacement carrier moves the at least one component for placement above a previously installed component and the at least one counterweight moves in an opposite direction for balancing, col. 10, lines 28-69.
12. Boro teaches the method of claim 6, Boro further comprising facilitating the vertical displacement operations with a rope hoist system comprising a winch 103, and the at least one rope hoist is located in the elevator as a part of a lifting system. Boro does not teach a rail in a vertical position connected to the tower section, and teaches a rope not a chain. Considering there is no drawing of the rail, no written disclosure of why it is needed when a winch and chain are apparently sufficient, and other vertical facilitating structures disclosed (rack and pinion and a winch hoist system), it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Boro to use a rail in a vertical position connected to the tower section, and a rope not a chain for strength.
13. Boro teaches the method of claim 5, Boro further teaching the components of the wind turbine further comprise a nacelle, fig. 12, and wherein the elevator assembly platform sequentially performs the vertical displacement operations and the lateral displacement operations to position the at least one component above a previously installed component, figs. 12-15.
14. Boro teaches the method of claim 6, Boro further teaching the components of the wind turbine are capable of being received from a sufficiently dimensioned and designed trailer into an adjustable incline loading ramp for easy loading into the lateral displacement carrier of the elevator assembly platform.
15. Boro teaches a system for assembling a wind turbine, comprising:
an elevator assembly platform(101 and winch) attachable to a first tower section rack (the lugs are a rack as broadly recited, as the lugs are a series of mechanical fittings use to secure the ropes, a rack also being a structure to hold items) to elevate, position and connect subsequent tower sections until subsequent tower sections are located directly above a first tower section in a vertical tower assembly, wherein the elevator assembly platform performs vertical displacement operations and lateral displacement operations with respect to at least one component of the wind turbine including the first and subsequent tower sections.
Should Applicant disagree that the lugs essentially act as a rack, as broadly recited, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the elevator assembly platform attached to a first tower section rack for stability.
16. Boro teaches the system of claim 15, Boro further teaching the elevator assembly platform comprises:
an elevator (winch);
a lateral displacement carrier (rack and pinion); and
at least one counterweight 121, wherein the elevator is configured to perform the vertical displacement operations, and the lateral displacement carrier is configured to perform the lateral displacement operations with respect to the at least one component of the wind turbine.
17. Boro teaches the system of claim 16, Boro further teaching the at least one component of the wind turbine is transferrable to a final location with the lateral displacement carrier, figs. 13-14.
18. Boro teaches the system of claim 16, Boro further teaching the at least one component of the wind turbine is transferrable to a height, wherein the at least one counterweight is placed on an opposite side of the lateral displacement carrier to compensate for a moment generated by a weight of the at least one component;
wherein once at a corresponding height, the lateral displacement carrier moves the at least one component for placement above a previously installed component and the at least one counterweight moves in an opposite direction for balancing, col. 10, lines 28-69.
20. Boro teaches the method of claim 16, Boro further comprising the vertical displacement operations are facilitated with a winch hoist system comprising at least one winch, wherein the at least one winch is located in the elevator or ground as a part of a lifting system. Boro does not teach a vertical rail connected to at least one tower section among the subsequent tower sections, and the at least one winch is located in the elevator or ground as a part of a lifting system. Considering there is no drawing of the rail, no written disclosure of why a rail/winch is needed, and other vertical facilitating structures disclosed (rack and pinion and a chain hoist system), it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Boro to use a rail in a vertical position connected to the tower section for strength.
21. Boro teaches the method of claim 16, Boro further comprising facilitating the vertical displacement operations with a rope hoist system comprising a winch 103, and the at least one rope hoist is located in the elevator as a part of a lifting system. Boro does not teach a rail in a vertical position connected to the tower section, and teaches a rope not a chain. Considering there is no drawing of the rail, no written disclosure of why it is needed when a winch and chain are apparently sufficient, and other vertical facilitating structures disclosed (rack and pinion and a winch hoist system), it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Boro to use a rail in a vertical position connected to the tower section, and a rope not a chain for strength.
22. Boro teaches the method of claim 16, Boro further comprising facilitating the vertical displacement operations with a rope hoist system comprising a winch 103, and the at least one rope hoist is located in the elevator as a part of a lifting system. Boro does not teach a rail in a vertical position connected to the tower section, and teaches a rope not a chain. Considering there is no drawing of the rail, no written disclosure of why it is needed when a winch and chain are apparently sufficient, and other vertical facilitating structures disclosed (rack and pinion and a winch hoist system), it would have been a matter of obvious design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Boro to use a rail in a vertical position connected to the tower section, and a rope not a chain for strength.
23. Boro teaches the method of claim 16, Boro further teaching the elevator is configured to vertically displace the at least one component of the wind turbine to a corresponding height, and the lateral displacement carrier is configured to laterally position the at least one component at a final installation location, figs. 3-6.
24. Boro teaches the method of claim 16, Boro further teaching the at least one counterweight is positioned on an opposite side of the lateral displacement carrier to compensate for a moment generated by a weight of the at least one component of the wind turbine during lateral positioning, col. 10, lines 28-69.
25. Boro teaches the method of claim 16, Boro further teaching after the at least one component of the wind turbine reaches the corresponding height, the lateral displacement carrier moves the at least one component toward a placement location above a previously installed component while the at least one counterweight moves in an opposite direction to balance the elevator assembly platform, col. 10, lines 28-69.
Claim 19 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boro in view of Rabaut (12,523,197).
19. Boro teaches the system of claim 16, Boro further teaching the at least one winch is located in the elevator as a part of a rope drive system. Boro does not teach the vertical displacement operations are facilitated with a rack and pinion system comprising a rack and at least one pinion, wherein the rack is arranged in a vertical position connected to at least one tower among the subsequent tower sections, and the at least one pinion is located in the elevator as a part of a drive system. Rabau teaches it is old in the art to for vertical displacement operations to be facilitated with a rack and pinion system comprising a rack and at least one pinion, wherein the rack is arranged in a vertical position connected to at least element and the at least one pinion is located in body as a part of a drive system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the vertical displacement operations to be facilitated with a rack and pinion system comprising a rack and at least one pinion, wherein the rack is arranged in a vertical position connected to at least one tower among the subsequent tower sections, and the at least one pinion is located in the elevator as a part of a drive system for smooth lifting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
“Nothing in Boro discloses or suggests this claimed configuration. Instead, Boro's self- climbing work platform performs the lifting function relied upon by the Examiner. Boro does not disclose a separate elevator assembly platform attached to the erected first tower section that performs the recited assembly operations after placement of the first tower section”
Boro discloses the claimed configuration because Boro's self- climbing work platform performs the lifting function via rope and winch and discloses a separate elevator assembly platform attached to the erected first tower section that performs the recited assembly operations after first tower section placement as indicated in the rejection above.
“Boro does not disclose an elevator assembly platform attached to the first tower section, as now expressly recited in amended claim 1, that is configured to elevate, position, and connect one or more subsequent tower sections while performing both vertical displacement operations and lateral displacement operations with respect to at least one component of a wind turbine”
Boro discloses the elevator assembly platform attached to the first tower section via the rope/lugs, as recited, that is configured to elevate, position, and connect one or more subsequent tower sections while performing both vertical displacement operations and lateral displacement operations as indicated in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J KENNY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633