Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 10-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0173149, hereby referred as Ling) in view of Xu et al. (Sub-reflectarrays for Reflector Surface Distortion Compensation, hereby referred as Xu).
Regarding claim 1,
Ling discloses,
A system for counteracting antenna movement in a directional antenna, comprising (see figure 6A and paragraphs Abstract and [0055]):
a feed horn for providing an electromagnetic signal (figure 3 and paragraph [0026], feed horns 3061-3064 and feed pattern 208 as disclosed in paragraph [0025] and figure 2);
and a main reflector for reflecting the electromagnetic signal arriving from the sub- reflector and transmitting the electromagnetic signal reflected from the main reflector (figure 6A, the two reflectors 116, see paragraph [0055]).
Ling does not disclose,
a sub-reflector for controlling a direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal provided by the feed horn; wherein the sub-reflector comprises a metasurface controllable to alter the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal by coordinated changes of phase over the sub-reflector surface.
However, Xu teaches,
a sub-reflector for controlling a direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal provided by the feed horn; wherein the sub-reflector comprises a metasurface controllable to alter the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal by coordinated changes of phase over the sub-reflector surface (the sub-reflector with a single feed of figure 1 and the figure teaches a main reflector as well. The sub-reflector comprises of metasurface “patches” as taught in chapter IV, section A and figure 7. Furthernore, see chapter IV, section C and chapter V).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a sub-reflector for controlling a direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal provided by the feed horn; wherein the sub-reflector comprises a metasurface controllable to alter the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal by coordinated changes of phase over the sub-reflector surface, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claim 2,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the sub-reflector comprises a plurality of controllable phase-controlling cells on the reflecting surface of the sub-reflector to change phase differently in different areas of the sub-reflector.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the sub-reflector comprises a plurality of controllable phase-controlling cells on the reflecting surface of the sub-reflector to change phase differently in different areas of the sub-reflector (figures 1 and 7, and Chapter IV , section A, the sub-reflector comprises of metasurface “plurality of patches”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the sub-reflector comprises a plurality of controllable phase-controlling cells on the reflecting surface of the sub-reflector to change phase differently in different areas of the sub-reflector, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claim 3,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the coordinated changes of phase are performed by coordinated changes of capacitance of the controllable phase-changing cells.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the coordinated changes of phase are performed by coordinated changes of capacitance of the controllable phase-changing cells (figures 1 and 7, and Chapter IV , section A, the sub-reflector comprises of metasurface “plurality of patches”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the coordinated changes of phase are performed by coordinated changes of capacitance of the controllable phase-changing cells, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claim 4,
Ling does not disclose,
a controller for controlling phase change of the electromagnetic signal reflected from the sub-reflector differentially and in coordinated manner.
However, Xu teaches,
a controller for controlling phase change of the electromagnetic signal reflected from the sub-reflector differentially and in coordinated manner (see the teaching of MEMS or varactor diodes-controlled elements 20-23 in chapter I, last paragraph of page 364).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein a controller for controlling phase change of the electromagnetic signal reflected from the sub-reflector differentially and in coordinated manner, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and to have an electronically reconfigurable element design.
Regarding claim 5,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the controller comprises an input for accepting a signal based on movement of the main reflector and output for controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal so as to counteract the movement.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the controller comprises an input for accepting a signal based on movement of the main reflector and output for controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal so as to counteract the movement (see the teaching of MEMS or varactor diodes-controlled elements 20-23 in chapter I, last paragraph of page 364 and figure 1 and 7 for the two reflectors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the controller comprises an input for accepting a signal based on movement of the main reflector and output for controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal so as to counteract the movement, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and to have an electronically reconfigurable element design.
Regarding claim 6,
Ling discloses,
a gyro component to provide the signal based on the movement of the main reflector (see reflectors in figure 6A and paragraph [0029] for disclosing gyro).
Regarding claim 7,
Ling discloses,
wherein the gyro component is attached to an antenna support component supporting the main reflector, or wherein the gyro component is attached to the main reflector, or wherein the gyro component is attached to the sub-reflector (figure 4A, sensor 414 comprises of gyro for the reflectors. See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 10,
Ling discloses,
wherein the system is configured to receive data related to quality of reception from a receiving antenna and uses the data to control the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal (see paragraph [0039] for disclosing the antenna 306 for receiving data).
Regarding claim 11,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the main reflector is a parabolic reflector.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the main reflector is a parabolic reflector (figure 1, see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the main reflector is a parabolic reflector, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and to have an electronically reconfigurable element design.
Regarding claims 12,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the metasurface is planar.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the metasurface is planar (metasurface “patches” as taught in chapter IV, section A and figure 7. Furthermore, see chapter IV, section C and chapter V).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the metasurface is planar, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claims 13,
Ling, as modified, does not disclose,
wherein the metasurface is convex.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a convex metasurface by having a convex patch surface because convex, or generally curved, metasurfaces are particularly advantageous for applications requiring flexible, non-planar, or high-performance beam shaping, since such a modification is recognized by antenna skilled artisan and plane and concave reflectors are well-known in the antenna art for directing signals towards a certain desired direction.
Regarding claim 14,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the sub-reflector controls phase of the electromagnetic signal using a voltage applied to varactor diodes of the metasurface cells.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the sub-reflector controls phase of the electromagnetic signal using a voltage applied to varactor diodes of the metasurface cells (figures 1 and 7, and Chapter IV , section A, the sub-reflector comprises of metasurface “plurality of patches”. see the teaching of varactor diodes-controlled elements 20-23 in chapter I, last paragraph of page 364).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the sub-reflector controls phase of the electromagnetic signal using a voltage applied to varactor diodes of the metasurface cells, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and to have an electronically reconfigurable element design.
Regarding claim 15,
Ling discloses,
A method for counteracting antenna movement in a directional antenna, comprising (see figure 6A and paragraphs Abstract and [0055]):
providing an electromagnetic signal to a reflector (feed pattern 208 as disclosed in paragraph [0025] and figure 2); measuring movement of the antenna (se paragraph [0029]); and
reflecting the electromagnetic signal arriving to a specific direction (see paragraph [0055]),
wherein the controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector is based on the measured movement (see paragraph [0076]).
Ling does not disclose,
providing an electromagnetic signal to a sub-reflector; controlling a direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub- reflector; and reflecting the electromagnetic signal arriving from the sub-reflector to a specific direction, wherein the controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector is based on the measured movement.
However, Xu teaches,
providing an electromagnetic signal to a sub-reflector; controlling a direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub- reflector; and reflecting the electromagnetic signal arriving from the sub-reflector to a specific direction, wherein the controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector is based on the measured movement (the sub-reflector with a single feed of figure 1 and the figure teaches a main reflector as well. The sub-reflector comprises of metasurface “patches” as taught in chapter IV, section A and figure 7. Furthermore, see chapter IV, section C and chapter V).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate providing an electromagnetic signal to a sub-reflector; controlling a direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub- reflector; and reflecting the electromagnetic signal arriving from the sub-reflector to a specific direction, wherein the controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector is based on the measured movement, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claim 16,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the controlling the reflection direction of the electromagnetic signal comprises controlling a phase of the electromagnetic signal reflected from the sub-reflector.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the controlling the reflection direction of the electromagnetic signal comprises controlling a phase of the electromagnetic signal reflected from the sub-reflector (figures 1 and 7, and Chapter IV , section A, the sub-reflector comprises of metasurface “plurality of patches”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the controlling the reflection direction of the electromagnetic signal comprises controlling a phase of the electromagnetic signal reflected from the sub-reflector, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claim 17,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the controlling a phase of the electromagnetic signal comprises coordinated controlling of metasurface cells on a metasurface on the sub-reflector.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the controlling a phase of the electromagnetic signal comprises coordinated controlling of metasurface cells on a metasurface on the sub-reflector (figures 1 and 7, and Chapter IV , section A, the sub-reflector comprises of metasurface “plurality of patches”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the controlling a phase of the electromagnetic signal comprises coordinated controlling of metasurface cells on a metasurface on the sub-reflector, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claim 18,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the controlling of metasurface cells comprises altering capacitance of the metasurface cells.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the controlling of metasurface cells comprises altering capacitance of the metasurface cells (figures 1 and 7, and Chapter IV , section A, the capacitance of metasurface which is comprising of a plurality of patches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein wherein the controlling of metasurface cells comprises altering capacitance of the metasurface cells, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claim 19,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the altering capacitance of the metasurface cells comprises applying reverse DC bias to a varactor in the metasurface cells.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a varactor diode for the plurality of patches or surface because varactor diodes operated under reverse DC bias enable continuously tunable, high-Q capacitance, allowing antennas and metasurfaces to achieve dynamic frequency reconfigurability, wide impedance matching, beam steering, and low power consumption, since the examiner takes Official Notice that providing a varactor diode would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20,
Ling discloses,
wherein the measuring movement of the antenna comprises using a gyroscope to measure the movement (see reflector antennas in figure 6A and paragraph [0029] for disclosing gyro).
Regarding claim 21,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector comprises calculating an antenna direction offset caused by antenna movement and controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector to reduce the antenna direction offset.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector comprises calculating an antenna direction offset caused by antenna movement and controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector to reduce the antenna direction offset (see the teaching of MEMS or varactor diodes-controlled elements 20-23 in chapter I, last paragraph of page 364 and figure 1 and 7 for the two reflectors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector comprises calculating an antenna direction offset caused by antenna movement and controlling the direction of reflection of the electromagnetic signal from the sub-reflector to reduce the antenna direction offset, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and to have an electronically reconfigurable element design.
Regarding claim 22,
Ling does not disclose,
The sub-reflector comprising a metasurface, wherein the metasurface is controllable to alter a direction of reflection of an electromagnetic signal by coordinated changes of phase over the sub-reflector surface.
However, Xu teaches,
The sub-reflector comprising a metasurface, wherein the metasurface is controllable to alter a direction of reflection of an electromagnetic signal by coordinated changes of phase over the sub-reflector surface (figures 1 and 7, and Chapter IV , section A, the sub-reflector comprises of metasurface “plurality of patches”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the sub-reflector comprising a metasurface, wherein the metasurface is controllable to alter a direction of reflection of an electromagnetic signal by coordinated changes of phase over the sub-reflector surface, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claim 23,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the sub-reflector comprises a plurality of controllable phase-controlling cells on the reflecting surface of the sub-reflector to change phase differently in different areas of the sub-reflector.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the sub-reflector comprises a plurality of controllable phase-controlling cells on the reflecting surface of the sub-reflector to change phase differently in different areas of the sub-reflector (figures 1 and 7, and Chapter IV , section A, the sub-reflector comprises of metasurface “plurality of patches”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the sub-reflector comprises a plurality of controllable phase-controlling cells on the reflecting surface of the sub-reflector to change phase differently in different areas of the sub-reflector, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and antenna such as having one or more of high gain and directional beamforming, controllable anomalous reflection, low profile and compact size, enhanced bandwidth, polarization control.
Regarding claim 24,
Ling does not disclose,
wherein the antenna is a directional antenna or a parabolic antenna.
However, Xu teaches,
wherein the main reflector is a parabolic reflector (figure 1, see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the antenna is a directional antenna or a parabolic antenna, as taught by Xu, into Ling in order to have an improved system and to have an electronically reconfigurable element design.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manholm et al. US Patent No. 12,176,627, hereby referred as Manholm.
Regarding claim 27,
Ling discloses,
A method for calibrating a directional antenna comprising (see Abstract and [0055]):
setting up a first, transmitting directional antenna to transmit in a first, initial direction (figure 4a antenna unit 4 and outdoor unit 3);
setting up a second, receiving antenna to receive the transmission of the first antenna (figure 4a, outdoor unit 3 and receiver antenna RX);
vibrating the first antenna, thereby scanning the transmitting direction of the first antenna at a plurality of different directions around the first initial direction (sweeping 111, see col. 7, lines 7-28);
recording reception power received at the second, receiving antenna at the plurality of different directions around the first initial direction (element RSSI which has a stored memory 12, see col. 7, line 40-65. See figure 4a); and
recording gyroscope readings from a gyroscope attached to the first, transmitting directional antenna (figure 4a, element 17, see col. 9, lines 7-17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rmili et al. US Patent No. 11196173, Etinger et al. US Pub. No. 2025/0253538.
/AWAT M SALIH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845