DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made wherein a domestic priority of this application is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120. The PCT Application PCT/CN2024/072364, being filed on January 15, 2024.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application filed on August 18, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed March 30,2025 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to submit prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first inward contraction amount is less than the second inward contraction amount must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s)… a first protective layer, a first trace layer, a substrate layer, a second trace layer, a second protective layer, and a first electromagnetic shielding layer that are stacked in sequence… the fourth inward contraction amount is less than the fifth inward contraction amount …. wherein the first inward contraction amount is equal to or not equal to the fourth inward contraction amount, the second inward contraction amount is equal to or not equal to the fifth inward contraction amount , and the third inward contraction amount is equal to or not equal to the sixth inward contraction amount..…wherein the fourth inward contraction amount is less than the fifth inward contraction amount … wherein the seventh inward contraction amount is greater than or less than the third inward contraction amount; and the seventh inward contraction amount is greater than at least one of the first inward contraction amount and the second inward contraction amount; and the eighth inward contraction amount is greater than or less than the sixth inward contraction amount , and the eighth inward contraction amount is greater than at least one of the fourth inward contraction amount and the fifth inward contraction amount.…wherein a length of the first region of the first side edge (AA) is equal to a length of the second region of the second side edge (BB); or a length of the first region of the first side edge (AA) is not equal to a length of the second region of the second side edge (BB)….wherein the fixed portion of the flexible printed circuit board comprises at least two trace layers stacked in sequence, wherein any adjacent two trace layers of the at least two trace layers are respectively in a same layer as the first trace layer and the second trace layer…. ….wherein the seventh inward contraction amount is greater than the third inward contraction amount, and the seventh inward contraction amount is greater than at least one of the first inward contraction amount and the second inward contraction amount; and the eighth inward contraction amount is greater than or less than the sixth inward contraction amount, and the eighth inward contraction amount is greater than at least one of the fourth inward contraction amount and the fifth inward contraction amount… additionally see other claims.. Note that drawings should show each details with each possibilities mentioned in the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claims 1, the limitations “wherein the first trace layer has a first inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer …. the second trace layer has a second inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer …. and the first electromagnetic shielding layer has a third inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer” is indefinite or unclear.
All the terms “a first inward contraction amount”, “a second inward contraction amount” and “a third inward contraction amount” are wrongly classified. Note that an edge of the first trace layer is shorter by a distance which is in mm from an edge of substrate layer.
Therefore, defining “a first inward contraction amount”, “a second inward contraction amount” and “a third inward contraction amount” in term of amounts are incorrect as well as these terms are not part of corresponding layers, each one shows a gap from edge-to-edge layers.
Appropriate action is required.
Rejection of claim 3, the limitation “one of the first inward contraction amount and the second inward contraction amount is greater than 0 mm and is less than or equal to 0.3 mm” is indefinite or unclear.
Limitation in claim 3 directly conflict with the limitation the first inward contraction amount is less than the second inward contraction amount in claim 3.
Note that claim 3 should satisfy each possibility without any conflict. However, claim 3 is indefinite.
Rejection of claims 6 and 9, the limitation “wherein the first inward contraction amount is equal to or not equal to the fourth inward contraction amount, the second inward contraction amount is equal to or not equal to the fifth inward contraction amount, and the third inward contraction amount is equal to or not equal to the sixth inward contraction amount” is indefinite and unclear.
Note that there two possibilities exists in the world equal to or not equal to for comparing to things in term of size for any person including ordinary skill in the art; It appears that use of improper language in the claims without any reason given in specification of each possibilities and any person in the world without ordinary skill is able to choose blindly one possibility. Subject matter considered as ambiguous. Appropriate action is required.
Similar reason applied to claim 9.
Rejection of claims 4-18, claims 4-18 are rejected by the same reason applied to claims it depends on as mentioned above.
Rejection of claim 13, the limitation “wherein the fixed portion of the flexible printed circuit board comprises at least two trace layers stacked in sequence, wherein any adjacent two trace layers of the at least two trace layers are respectively in a same layer as the first trace layer and the second trace layer” is unclear on indefinite.
It is not clear how the fourth inward contraction amount is less than the fifth inward contraction amount ….wherein the fixed portion of the flexible printed circuit board comprises at least two trace layers stacked in sequence, then how adjacent two trace layers of the at least two trace layers are respectively in a same layer as the first trace layer and the second trace layer.
It appears thar conflicting language is defined in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection of claim 18, the limitation “wherein in a direction perpendicular to the length direction of the bendable portion, an orthographic projection of the first region of the first side edge on the second side edge is not overlapped with the second region of the second side edge’ conflict or contradict with the dependent claim 9 of the application.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (WO2019183985 (cited reference), herein referred to as Wei) and Zhenhua et al. (CN21522582 9cited reference), herein referred to as Zhenhua).
Rejection of claims 1-2, Wei discloses a display device, comprising: a flexible printed circuit board and a display panel, the flexible printed circuit board being electrically connected to the display panel; wherein the flexible printed circuit board comprises a fixed portion and a bendable portion, wherein the fixed portion is connected to a back surface of the display panel, the bendable portion is connected to the fixed portion, and the bendable portion has a first side edge extending along a length direction (x) of the bendable portion ( Wei discloses that a display apparatus comprises a display panel and a flexible printed circuit (FPC). With reference to figure 10, one end of the FPC is fixed on the back surface of an AMOLED and connected to an integrated circuit (IC) (a fixed portion), and the other end thereof is connected to functional boards; and the FPC is bent between the two ends (a bendable portion being connected to the fixed portion), and necessarily comprises side edges; additionally see, page 5 , lines 25 to page 10, lines 37, and figures 1-12)
Wei fails to disclose the flexible printed circuit board comprises a first protective layer, a first trace layer, a substrate layer, a second trace layer, a second protective layer, and a first electromagnetic shielding layer that are stacked in sequence; wherein the first trace layer has a first inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer in a first region of the first side edge, the second trace layer has a second inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer in the first region of the first side edge, and the first electromagnetic shielding layer (16) has a third inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer in the first region of the first side edge, wherein at least two of the first inward contraction amount, the second inward contraction amount, and the third inward contraction amount are not equal (claim 1); wherein the first inward contraction amount is greater than or less than the second inward contraction amount, and the third inward contraction amount is greater than at least one of the first inward contraction amount and the second inward contraction amount .
Zhenhua discloses the flexible printed circuit board comprises a first protective layer (1, see figure 1 of Zhenhua), a first trace layer (2), a substrate layer (3), a second trace layer (4), a second protective layer (5), and a first electromagnetic shielding layer (6) that are stacked in sequence; wherein the first trace layer (2) has a first inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer (a reduced size of 2; a reduced size of 2 is between the first distance from the opening 11 to the edge of the base material layer 3 is 0.32 mm and the distance of the edge of the underlying circuit layer 4 shrinking relative to the edge of the base material layer 3 is 0.14 mm) in a first region of the first side edge (an edge of a first side), the second trace layer (4) has a second inward contraction amount (a reduced size of 4; the distance of the edge of the underlying circuit layer 4 shrinking relative to the edge of the base material layer 3 has 0.14 mm) relative to the substrate layer (3) in the first region of the first side edge, and the first electromagnetic shielding layer (6) has a third inward contraction amount (a reduced size of 7; the distance between the edge of the reinforcing steel sheet relative to the edge of the base material layer is 0.10 mm) relative to the substrate layer (3) in the first region of the first side edge, wherein at least two of the first inward contraction amount, the second inward contraction amount, and the third inward contraction amount are not equal (see figure 1 of Zhenhua).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Wei to have flexible circuit with arrangement as taught by Zhenhua in order to have reliably connection; also see abstract of the Zhenhua which discloses to reduce or avoid poor connection to SMT.
Rejection of claim 4-5, Wei in view of Zhenhua disclose the display device according to claim 1, wherein the bendable portion further has a second side edge extending along the length direction of the bendable portion the second side edge being opposite to the first side edge; wherein the first trace layer has a fourth inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer in a second region of the second side edge, the second trace layer has a fifth inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer in the second region of the second side edge, and the first electromagnetic shielding layer has a sixth inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer in the second region of the second side edge, wherein at least two of the fourth inward contraction amount, the fifth inward contraction amount, and the sixth inward contraction amount are not equal (claim 4); wherein the fourth inward contraction amount is greater than or less than the fifth inward contraction amount, and the sixth inward contraction amount is greater than at least one of the fourth inward contraction amount and the fifth inward contraction amount (claim 5) (see other side of the board in figures Wei in view of Zhenhua; same explanation apply for the second side as in rejection of claims 1-2 for the first side ).
Rejection of claim 6, Wei in view of Zhenhua disclose the display device according to claim 4, wherein the first inward contraction amount is equal to or not equal to the fourth inward contraction amount , the second inward contraction amount is equal to or not equal to the fifth inward contraction amount, and the third inward contraction amount is equal to or not equal to the sixth inward contraction amount (see other side of the board in figures Wei in view of Zhenhua wherein one possibilities “equal to or not equal” do exist for any board).
Rejection of claim 7, Wei in view of Zhenhua disclose the display device according to claim 4, but clearly does not disclose wherein the flexible printed circuit board further comprises a second electromagnetic shielding layer disposed on a side, away from the second protective layer, of the first protective layer; wherein the second electromagnetic shielding layer has a seventh inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer in the first region of the first side edge, and the second electromagnetic shielding layer has an eighth inward contraction amount relative to the substrate layer in the second region of the second side edge.
Examiner makes official notice that shielding layer in both side of the circuit board are well known and old in order to shield from EMI as well as reinforcement of the circuit board on the other side.
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Wei in view of Zhenhua to have shielding layer arrangement for the reason given in examiner official notice.
Rejection of claim 8, Wei in view of Zhenhua disclose the display device according to claim 7, but fails to disclose wherein the seventh inward contraction amount (a7) is greater than or less than the third inward contraction amount (a3), and the seventh inward contraction amount (a7) is greater than at least one of the first inward contraction amount (al) and the second inward contraction amount (a2); and the eighth inward contraction amount (a8) is greater than or less than the sixth inward contraction amount (a6), and the eighth inward contraction amount (a8) is greater than at least one of the fourth inward contraction amount (a4) and the fifth inward contraction amount (a5).
It would been obvious design choice to a slight change in contraction amount between two sides of conductors for multiple reason such as adjust current capacity; identify a particular side of conductor section, and /or adjust with size of pad, terminal, or connector of other device to reliably and securely connect with the other device.
Rejection of claim 9, Wei in view of Zhenhua disclose the display device according to claim 4, wherein a length of the first region of the first side edge (AA) is equal to a length of the second region of the second side edge (BB); or a length of the first region of the first side edge (AA) is not equal to a length of the second region of the second side edge (BB) (see sides of the board in figures Wei in view of Zhenhua wherein one possibilities “equal to” do exist for a length of the first region and the second region of the board).
Rejection of claim 10, Wei in view of Zhenhua disclose the display device according to claim 4, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the length direction (x) of the bendable portion (1b), an orthographic projection of the first region of the first side edge (AA) on the second side edge (BB) is at least partially overlapped with the second region of the second side edge (BB), or an orthographic projection of the first region of the first side edge (AA) on the second side edge (BB) is not overlapped with the second region of the second side edge (BB) (see sides of the board in figures Wei in view of Zhenhua wherein overlapping do exist for the first region and the second region in width of the board).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Zhenhua, and Baheti et al. (US20210125901, herein referred to as Baheti).
Rejection of claims 11-12, Wei in view of Zhenhua disclose the display device according to claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein a size of the first region of the first side edge and a size of the second region of the second side edge in the length direction of the bendable portion are greater than 5 mm and are less than or equal to a length of the bendable portion (claim 11) wherein a length of the bendable portion of the flexible printed circuit board is greater than 5mnm and is less than or equal to 90 mm (claim 12).
Baheti discloses wherein a size of the first region of the first side edge and a size of the second region of the second side edge in the length direction of the bendable portion are greater than 5 mm and are less than or equal to a length of the bendable portion (claim 11) wherein a length of the bendable portion of the flexible printed circuit board is greater than 5mnm and is less than or equal to 90 mm (claim 12) (see 201 in paragraph 0027 and figures of Baheti).
It would been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Wei in view of Zhenhua to have an arrangement of bendable portion as taught by Baheti so that electrical connection between device attached to one end to other end depending on, the design and/or the application of the device.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, Zhenhua, and Wen et al. (US20220418091, herein referred to as Wen).
Rejection of claim 17, Wei in view of Zhenhua disclose the display device according to claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein a length of the first region of the first side edge is not equal to a length of the second region of the second side edge.
Wen discloses wherein a length of the first region of the first side edge is not equal to a length of the second region of the second side edge (see inner side edge smaller than outer side edge in figure 1A of Wen ).
It would been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of Wei in view of Zhenhua to have an arrangement of bendable portion as taught by Wen so that ordinary sill in the art able has structure arrangement that one side of bendable portion connected to one side of other portion of the board and other side of bendable portion connected to other side of other portion depending on, the design and/or the application of the device.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various Display devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are rejected based on 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph. Claims 14-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note that allowable subject matter would be reconsider in case of broadening or changing scope of invention based on amendment and may/may not be allow based of reconsideration and/or search.
Communication
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PARESH PAGHADAL whose telephone number is (571)272-5251. The examiner can normally be reached 7:00AM-4:00PM, Monday - Thursday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Thompson can be reached on (571)272-2342. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847